Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby De Dragon » November 15th, 2016, 7:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:lol
dont worry he will suprise you, it still have 3 years to hear more sheit. Rowley cannot touch him.
think his real name is colon the amount of sheit he spews

My guess is that certain people wants Imbert where he is and Rowley has to obey.

In no other universe would Imbert even be considered for this post in the first place he has zero qualifications and experience in this field whatsoever.

But I am a bit worried you say 3 more years we have with him, unfortunately its 20 more years as the UNC is in disarray and will not see government for 20 years to come. Anyone who thinks that the East West Corridor is going to vote for these same bunch of old fart cabal has to be delusional.

The politics has shifted. People seem now less tolerant of sheit and broken promises as was evidenced by the PP's single term in Gov't. The PNM would be wise to make note of this.

Postby rspann » November 15th, 2016, 7:37 am

Sad yes, one minute ED praising the PNM next minute he saying that Dr Rowley is a puppet of Imbert and the Financers and that Dr Rowley making serious judgement calls in appointing his most important cabinet minister.
Ed, what is different between an Indian cabal and a white cabal? Because essentially you are saying that a cabal is running this government too, just that it is an external cabal.

Postby sMASH » November 15th, 2016, 7:51 am

As intolerant or sh!if the people have become, they swing back to the standard opposition. And it tics and tocs...

We need constitutional reform, to institute a means of measuring performance, and a means of on recourse for misconduct or even non performance.

No matter who is n government,we need to hold them to a high standard. So we need to decide a standard, and devise a mechanism of holding.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 19th, 2016, 1:05 am

again
loads of important issues in this country and they wasting time on a roti bill
What is the outcome of it, is any body going to be arrested ? is any money going to be recovered ?
They just stalling for time. It seems like it is a code among thieves. talk rubbish and in the end nothing will happen.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby bluesclues » November 19th, 2016, 7:18 am

hong kong phooey wrote:again
loads of important issues in this country and they wasting time on a roti bill
What is the outcome of it, is any body going to be arrested ? is any money going to be recovered ?
They just stalling for time. It seems like it is a code among thieves. talk rubbish and in the end nothing will happen.

Headline news on 2 papers. Rowley must have control of the media like hillary and them. I would imagine that this rotigate is a simple issue of them classing the full catering services of roti/paratha, curry chicken, curry potato etc etc as just 'Roti', in the accounting. If is just roti skins alone then it would have to be 50,000 roti skins to justify that price.

Here is to doubting kamla pay $350 each for 1000 plain roti skin and nuttnchops.

Postby Gladiator » November 20th, 2016, 7:01 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
dont worry he will suprise you, it still have 3 years to hear more sheit. Rowley cannot touch him.

My guess is that certain people wants Imbert where he is and Rowley has to obey.

In no other universe would Imbert even be considered for this post in the first place he has zero qualifications and experience in this field whatsoever.

But I am a bit worried you say 3 more years we have with him, unfortunately its 20 more years as the UNC is in disarray and will not see government for 20 years to come. Anyone who thinks that the East West Corridor is going to vote for these same bunch of old fart cabal has to be delusional.

20 years!.... nah man Abu eh go let dem abuse the people for so long...

Postby De Dragon » November 20th, 2016, 9:19 am

Gladiator wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

20 years!.... nah man Abu eh go let dem abuse the people for so long...

Abu gone through.

Postby Redman » November 20th, 2016, 10:48 am

The best man to make the hard unpopular decisions is one you already disliked by most-he dont care what allyuh think.
This is probably his last go around.

encapsulate all the negative vibes into Imbert-then he declines in 2020.

Postby De Dragon » November 20th, 2016, 11:13 am

Redman wrote:The best man to make the hard unpopular decisions is one you already disliked by most-he dont care what allyuh think.
This is probably his last go around.

encapsulate all the negative vibes into Imbert-then he declines in 2020.

Trinidadians tend to broad brush though, so the criticism usually starts with" this F&(*$$^&$ Government....."

Postby Redman » November 20th, 2016, 4:27 pm

Agreed-but the reality is

Imbert is technically sound, savvy enough to know the system and get chit done.
By force of character,political weight or sheer obnoxiousness....and that what we need in the MoF.

I think he was a good choice for the job.

Works well cuz when the time comes nobody like him so he could go without too much lost goodwill

Postby De Dragon » November 22nd, 2016, 6:12 am

Redman wrote:Agreed-but the reality is

Imbert is technically sound, savvy enough to know the system and get chit done.
By force of character,political weight or sheer obnoxiousness....and that what we need in the MoF.

I think he was a good choice for the job.

Works well cuz when the time comes nobody like him so he could go without too much lost goodwill

If that is the plan, then apparently no one told Impsy, because he squandered the 5 years goodwill in the first 14 months. Impsy manage to rile up the suddenly docile unions, public servants and citizenry in that time.

Postby Redman » November 22nd, 2016, 7:37 am

all that boiling down fuh carnival....where you living?

Postby De Dragon » November 22nd, 2016, 10:28 pm

Redman wrote:all that boiling down fuh carnival....where you living?

Moruga

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 23rd, 2016, 6:25 pm

I read the PM said he promises development for Moruga

My UNC neighbor said that Rowley made a ass out Moruga people and disrespected them.

I am curious if anyone knows more about this story I just wanna know if my neighbor is lying as he has lied to me hundreds of times before.

Postby sMASH » November 24th, 2016, 8:00 am

Need to make time to hear out this whole thing, but seems interesting so far.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 24th, 2016, 9:44 pm

We all hold the Government to high standards. The problem is we do not have the money to file judicial review or persons to do Pro Bono work. Ask Afra Raymond how much it cost to take Dr. Hoe to court about the Invaders bay project. PNM support all the way until they got into office. Has he gotten any answers?

As for Moruga, under the PNM the bridge to the area collapsed. A PNMite while waiting for the bridge to fix, his car rotted away or so the story is told. A modern port Rowdy says. The people of the area can hold fish for local consumption and export some earning foreign exchange.

He really is suffering from dementia ..........

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » November 25th, 2016, 4:41 pm

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstor ... 32634.html

Letter: Disheartening to read that US has no confidence in Trinidad and Tobago's attorney general
Published on November 24, 2016

Dear Sir:

It was very disheartening to read in the daily newspapers that British Queen's Counsel James Lewis, representing the United States government, told a three-judge panel at the Court of Appeal in Port of Spain that the United States government did not have total confidence in the office of the attorney general to properly present the United States' argument before Justice James Aboud before whom the lawsuit is being heard at the High Court.

Lewis is representing the US government in a judicial lawsuit filed by former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, who is challenging the legality of the procedure being used to extradite him to the USA.

The learned QC, in response to a direct question from Chief Justice Ivor Archie as to whether or not the United States government did not trust the attorney general of Trinidad and Tobago to represent the USA’s interest, responded very candidly, “Well that is one way of putting it.”

Within the United States government, the attorney general is expected to operate with the highest level of integrity. The United States demands transparency, accountability, honesty and integrity from its highest law enforcement officer.

It is obvious that the Americans have been keeping tabs on what is happening within the Rowley-led administration in general and with the attorney general’s office in particular.

The United States government will not make such a bold, public statement in open court; it must have been done after careful consideration and it is quite obvious that the conduct of Faris Al-Rawi, since becoming attorney general in September 2015 gives them much cause for concern.

Why is Faris Al-Rawi still the attorney general of Trinidad and Tobago?

It is clear that Al-Rawi and his boss, Prime Minister Keith Rowley, do not understand that the legal right to hold public office is conditional and Al-Rawi had lost all moral authority to continue as AG since he is the subject of a police investigation

The Rowley-led administration has now embarrassed Trinidad and Tobago by having the United States government, a close important political and trade ally, declare that it does not have confidence in our attorney general.

Al-Rawi himself has continually bought the office of attorney general into disrepute and, in the short period of time that he has been AG, has failed to be an example of ethical standards.

Perhaps it is this assertion from the United States government that will force Prime Minister Keith Rowley to understand that his attorney general has failed to meet and upkeep the fundamental obligations of his office.

Keith Rowley needs to show that he is a national leader and rise beyond partisan politics by demanding Faris Al-Rawi tender his resignation forthwith before he does any further damage, not only to our political and legal institutions, but to the image and reputation of Trinidad and Tobago.

Capil Bissoon

Postby Redman » November 25th, 2016, 11:43 pm

Capil isn't aware of the term " conflict of interest "?

Or it isn't politically convenient to raise that obvious rationale?

Sheeit writing from a sheeithong

Postby rspann » November 26th, 2016, 6:41 am

Real sheit writer, because he misrepresented what was really said.http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161122 ... ck-lawsuit

If you read carefully and see the reasons he gave you will see that it has nothing to do with mistrust in Al Rawi himself(which is what Bissoon is trying to imply) but that they want to make the case airtight and know that future case depend on this one for precedence.

Postby De Dragon » November 27th, 2016, 12:13 pm

rspann wrote:Real sheit writer, because he misrepresented what was really said.http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161122 ... ck-lawsuit

If you read carefully and see the reasons he gave you will see that it has nothing to do with mistrust in Al Rawi himself(which is what Bissoon is trying to imply) but that they want to make the case airtight and know that future case depend on this one for precedence.

Capil is a dyed in the wool UNC, so of course he'd spin it that way. BUT the US doesn't have the confidence in either the local judiciary or DPP to resolve this matter to their satisfaction and in their interests. Their own counsel said so, much as he clarified that he wasn't specifically speaking of the AG, but the whole process, which to me is infinitely worse. We know the AG is incompetent and paternity dodging, but to have the whole profession thrown into suspicion of incompetence, or worse corruption...........

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 27th, 2016, 2:05 pm

The spin is that the usa dont have confidence in the competence of our local representation but they wouldnt say that directly to make you think that but that is what's being said and anyone who attempts to say that's the spin can be accused of making a spin but when everything spun and spinout, the pnm spinning top in mud on fatca and flipout deyself.

Postby rspann » November 27th, 2016, 2:16 pm

rspann wrote:Real sheit writer, because he misrepresented what was really said.http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161122 ... ck-lawsuit

Capil is a dyed in the wool UNC, so of course he'd spin it that way. BUT the US doesn't have the confidence in either the local judiciary or DPP to resolve this matter to their satisfaction and in their interests. Their own counsel said so, much as he clarified that he wasn't specifically speaking of the AG, but the whole process, which to me is infinitely worse. We know the AG is incompetent and paternity dodging, but to have the whole profession thrown into suspicion of incompetence, or worse corruption...........

Exactly!

Postby De Dragon » November 27th, 2016, 3:40 pm

rspann wrote:

Exactly!

People can't see past the "no confidence" and the subsequent clarification to realize that the US through its representative, said we were judicially deficient. Maybe Steve and Ish still burning chests?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 29th, 2016, 12:46 am

Well done Mr. Hosien Hope you enforce it. Seeing the positive changes in San Fernando under your leadership i know you will not disappoint.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161128 ... gn-garbage

Local Government Minister Kazim Hosein has advised all candidates who participated in today's Local Government elections to begin a clean-up campaign to remove all election flyers and banners.

Hosein said public health inspectors at the regional corporations would be mandated to visit all electoral districts to ensure the environment is clean.

He was speaking to the media after casting his ballot at the San Fernando Central Secondary School in the electoral district of Les Effort/La Romaine.

Hosein said, “The first thing I am going to do tomorrow is to send a release to all candidates that took part to start to clean up all posters, banners. That is their first task, whether successful or not. They need to go on the road as from tomorrow or the day after.”

And should they fail to clean up, he said, the candidates would face penalty.

Hosein said he would continue cleaning up the nation by tackling dilapidated buildings, derelict vehicles and graveyards.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2016, 9:12 am

This Kazim fellow really impresses me. From his work in the Sando Corporation to now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2016, 3:11 am

I have tried for years to convince my UNC neighbor that not everything in this world is race but it has never worked he will not listen. With no evidence whatsoever he claims the black man has never voted for an Indian Prime Minister, this staggers the sane imagination if you ask me.

One of the great problems this country face is people like him, it is these nasty old farts who corrupt and pollute the minds of the younger generation with race talk the belief that our problem must be race for there is no other possible answer. This then creates the environment required for corruption to breed.

Imagine he once threaten to kill me because he "suspected" I vote for PNM. Not long after he drink rum and cuss me up for not having the cure for "cancer" he claimed I know all about the moon and the planets things he can't see but yet I don't know the cure for cancer. I didn't bother to tell him about wikipedia since he computer illiterate. He once suggested that I should pick up drinking Rum as a hobby, he told his daughters that girls do not deserve an education, And just imagine this man was giving a 8 year old kid advice on life the other day.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 1st, 2016, 8:57 am

Well this morning I in the bar drinking meh stag. 8am bar now open man walk inside ask for his puncheon and proceeded to say god was a Trini he give up his citizenship because of Rowley and his dwarf and move to America .that is why Trinidad have so much problems.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » January 27th, 2017, 2:30 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170126 ... obel-prize

Faris deserves a Nobel Prize

Published on Jan 26, 2017, 9:00 pm AST
By Darryn Boodan

Dear Attorney General Faris Al- Rawi:
I am writing an open letter to you to let you know I shall be petitioning the Royal Swedish Academy to award you the Nobel Prize in Economics for 2017. That’s because I was awestruck by your speech to the American Chamber of Commerce last week, where you presented your radical new theory on business, telling those present: “It’s not every year you are bound to make a profit. Some years you can afford to make a loss.” You, Mr Al-Rawi, are a genius! You didn’t just rewrite the book on business. You tore it up, spit on it, and set it on fire.
Sir, your bold new economic theory, which I affectionately call Faris’s Objective Observational Law (FOOL), will surely change the world. Business owners like to cling to the silly old economic idea that making a profit is essential to running a business. Profits, they say, provide the incentive to take risks, develop new ideas and create employment. But by applying your FOOL theory, they can see that they are not bound to do any of those things. Who knew that the solution to our economic problems could have been solved simply by an attorney general rewriting the laws of supply and demand?
AG Al-Rawi, I especially like the way your FOOL theory reinforces what government ministers and trade union leaders who drive BMWs all know—that business owners who pursue profit are just greedy, selfish, capitalist pigs. The most exciting thing about your FOOL theory is how much it refutes the ideas put forth by the economist Milton Friedman. In his essay titled “The social responsibility of business is to make profit”, Freidman argues that pursuing “free competition without deception and fraud” is the only real social responsibility businesses have. By pursuing profit and fulfilling that responsibility they are inadvertently benefitting society—by boosting employment, economic growth and stabilising inflation. Friedman himself did win the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1976. But he was never a government minister in T&T, so he wasn’t as smart as you to formulate the FOOL theory.
Friedman isn’t the only one with crazy ideas about profits. Richard Turnbull, the director of the Centre for Enterprise, Markets and Ethics in the UK, proposes that making a profit is a moral responsibility for businesses. That’s because profits provide us with the excess wealth needed to transform society for the better. “Through distributing surplus through individuals in employment and investment, profit acts as a mechanism for the well-being of individuals and families,” says Turnbull. He adds: “Similarly, profit provides the means for philanthropy at every level, from an individual contributing to a local charity to the larger-scale activities of the philanthropist.”
Minister Al-Rawi, your FOOL theory brilliantly eliminates this need for private philanthropy or investment. When there is no profit, everyone can just turn to the government for money. Whether it’s for food cards, CEPEP, or collecting rent on empty posh buildings. And when the government runs out of money, it can just increase taxes on private businesses. And private businesses don’t have to worry if they don’t have the extra money. As you also told the audience at the American Chamber of Commerce, not making profit means you pay less tax. This means less tax for the government to spend on things like food cards and CEPEP and renting empty posh buildings. Thus your FOOL theory is a grand unifying theory, creating and linking a government with no money to private businesses with no money to people with no money. You sir, are a philosopher king!
Sir, Trinidad and Tobago is facing tough times economically. These times call for new and inspired ideas. I feel so proud to know that we have brilliant men at the helm. Men like our Minister of Finance, who crafts his policies based on whether or not people will riot against them. Men like our Prime Minister, who devised an ingenious plan to deal with high food prices—that we should all learn how to plant and peel cassava. And men like you, Minister Al-Rawi, who brilliantly deduced that the key to a prosperous society is businessmen not being bound to make a profit. You have set a high intellectual bar for your Cabinet colleagues to match, though I’m sure by next week someone will surpass it.
Sir, I’ll be cheering for you in Stockholm.
Sincerely
Darryn Boodan

Postby desifemlove » January 27th, 2017, 6:27 pm

even if PNM do nothing in five years, UNC has to prove it can be a good government. UNC only won handsomely in 2010 due to late Manning's incompetence and unpopularity, had Manning been well-liked, no way they'd have got 29 seats. they may have won, but not by that size.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » January 27th, 2017, 8:17 pm

Well One Alexandra Place should not have a price to it no Rental WELL “It’s not every year you are bound to make a profit. Some years you can afford to make a loss.”