Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

car

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby car » November 9th, 2016, 9:40 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:is not 7.5 million is

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161108 ... n-aug-2015

There is no evidence to suggest a $13 million payment was made to Bolt Trinidad Ltd this year, says Housing Development Corporation (HDC) managing director Brent Lyons.
Lyons was speaking on CNC3’s Morning Brew programme yesterday.
He, however, admitted the Bolt contract was for $13 million and that $12 million of the $13 million was paid in August 2015 while a further $102,000 was paid in April 2016.
Lyons said while the original contract was for $5 million there was a variation for $8 million, adding that this figure was paid because the scope of the contract that Bolt was hired to oversee increased and therefore the fee increased with it.

Variation cost almost twice the original bid price? :lol: :lol: Did this flunky say why it was suddenly paid when the invoice was being questioned?

Whenever a variation value is more then 10% of the original it is supposed to be re tendered. So somebody making a lil change.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 12:51 am

something positive
hope it actually works and not another gimmick

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-11- ... d-48-hours

The mending of potholes within 48 hours of receiving the report will be part of a coming aggressive Government Infrastructure and Rehabilitation Programme. Citizens will see a noticeable improvement in the nation’s highways and roads as over 100 new contractors take on almost 200 projects throughout T&T.

The announcement was made yesterday by recently appointed Minister of Works and Transport, Rohan Sinanan, at the launch of the Infrastructure and Rehabilitation programme at the ministry’s office at the corner of Churchill- Roosevelt Highway and Uriah Butler Highway Interchange, Valsayn.

“The fleet of trucks you see on display here today are part of the initiative to reduce timelines for conducting repairs on the nation’s highways and roads.

“Ultimately, the goal of the Highways Division is to mend potholes within 48 hours after receiving the report.” He said the programme is expected to engage over 100 contractors in the small, medium- and large-sized categories, adding the projects will create employment for about 1,000 people.

He said the Programme for Upgrading Roads Efficiency (Pure) division within the ministry has identified almost 200 projects throughout Trinidad for fiscal 2016 to 2017 which will commence this week.

The minister said a key element of the programme will be the establishment of an “Issues Repair Hotline”.

“Through our website http://www.mowt.gov.tt, you can upload pictures of the issue that has to be addressed, for example, a landslip or caving roadway, and complete the online form with the necessary details, such as location and contact information.

“The issue could also be reported via text or calling the hotline number 623-MEND or 623-6363.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 10th, 2016, 12:59 am

We will see indeed. Because its been a 48hr requirement for a while yet still they taking 4-6 weeks.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 5:25 am

off topic but this is how you deal with stuff
all these enquiries and years later nothing
case cannot call, nothing in Trinidad.
3 months in China

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/11/09/asia/ ... index.html

Postby sMASH » November 10th, 2016, 7:14 am

Damn, would that mean I can get my road paved since it hasn't been paved in Like 20 years?!

Just report all the potholes.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 7:19 am

send in pictures to the website and send a copy to " u report" on tv6

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 7:20 am

i hope this will work as some of those potholes can damage your tires

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 5:32 pm

While the PNM may not be perfect I agree, they are certainly doing a much better job than anyone else could have given the situation we are faced with in the turn of events with oil prices.

Postby sMASH » November 11th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Ummm, no.

Postby De Dragon » November 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

ED seems not to know whether he is coming or going.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 12th, 2016, 1:03 am

hoss you serious
    This have to be the worse finance minister in the history of Trinidad and Tobago. He is doing more harm than good to the economy . He may be the leader of the party but he should step back and say to himself, wait I dont know what I doing. He dont have to give up the post, just get guidelines/suggestions from people who know whats going on people, who in the finance industry, people who have vision on how to make the economy grow. Any idiot can be a minister but you need to have advisers who know what is going on and listen to them instead of thinking you know everything.
    I agree the pnm is doing good in some areas but still the corruption continues.
    The people of this country need to demand accountability, we need to see our tax dollars working for everyone in the country, not just a few. We need to put a stop to overpriced contracts.
    We need a minister of national security who can come out and ease the fears of the nation. Put the nation at ease let the population see that you are trying to do some thing. This is there chance to unify the nation instead they just creating more instability.
    They can all learn a thing from Mr. Sinannan. Less than a month in office already on the road, vocal on programs, launched a hotline to repair potholes giving the country hope. Was this program his - Most likely not he could not acquire the resources so quickly but now the nation knows about it.
    I am fed up of hearing about all the corruption done by the UNC government yet all of them are walking the streets. No one have been arrested. Finish the projects these are supposed to used for the people.
    Any contract over a certain amount should be published let the nation see who is getting them and for how much and how regular. All political parties should declare where there finances came from. Any body who donate to the party should not get contracts unless heavy scrutiny by independent persons/bodies. well a calypsion said we going Panama, some take it literal. lets see what land these ministers going to acquire with corrupt monies
    Last edited by hong kong phooey on November 12th, 2016, 1:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 12th, 2016, 1:14 am

^
    Pleasant night to you Mr Hong

I agree the problem of corruption is still here it has changed and is less than under the UNC but its still here.

I agree Mr Sinannan is certainly a bright spark in not just the PNM but in politics in Trinidad on the whole others can certainly learn a lot from him I fully agree with you on that one.

Perhaps Dr Rowley will consider moving Imbert as finance minister, One has to question though, how much better would another minister be for finance? that job is a lot harder than it looks, nearly every decision is going to piss off everyone. Note I am not in anyway defending the PNM but a lot of people just get an orgasm going off on bashing Imbert even though he has actually prevented this country from total collapse so far. If he is to be removed it would be interesting to see how things would play off and we have to be careful for what we wish for. They could replace him and things could end up getting far worse.

I agree he was never my first choice as Finance Minister and I felt the good Doctor should have picked someone else from day one. Whatever Dr Rowley's reason was for picking Mr Imbert as Finance minister we will never know. But I hope it was a good reason.
    Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 12th, 2016, 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 12th, 2016, 1:29 am

lol Dr Rowley move Imbert

I was a fan of Mr Rowley and had hopes for him, but

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 12th, 2016, 1:36 am

hong kong phooey wrote:lol Dr Rowley move Imbert

I was a fan of Mr Rowley and had hopes for him, but

Yeah I know the feeling. But what can we do? this is probably as good as it is going to get. The problem with this country is the people, we are a nation of corruption and incompetence. Trinis are too partisan when it comes to politics, they are rude and have little to no respect for their fellow man and their country they only want to eat ah food or scam someone. Look at how Trump met Obama and had a discussion on how they can both serve the people by working together for the greater good. You will never see that in Trinidad and this is our downfall.

The only other option is putting back the UNC in power and that well that is a story for another day. That ain't happening for the next 20 years because the East West corridor will never vote for a cabal and if they did it will be the same sheit as before. So realistically speaking, we have to hope Rowley can still manage to fix things. You got to have more faith in the good Doctor, Mr Hong. Because as you know we are fresh out of alternatives.

Have a good night Mr Hong.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 12th, 2016, 5:54 am

Ed in full pnm blogging mode.

Hommuch dah wukk does pay so? Just curious?

Wont lie, the strain tv series teaches the concept of human nature eh. And how they will sell out their ppl for personal and instant gratification and to hell with the longterm consequences.

Smh. Sympathy for the pnm this local govt election must start at 0-0-0.

Postby De Dragon » November 12th, 2016, 9:08 am

bluesclues wrote:Ed in full pnm blogging mode.

Hommuch dah wukk does pay so? Just curious?

Wont lie, the strain tv series teaches the concept of human nature eh. And how they will sell out their ppl for personal and instant gratification and to hell with the longterm consequences.

Smh. Sympathy for the pnm this local govt election must start at 0-0-0.

ED is one of those who feel, or in his case suddenly feel, that "less" corruption is somehow ok and not deserving of jail. Notice how he specifically says jail for PP/UNC members, but not for PNM corruption which he acknowledges. Scarfy and Co. were simply biding their time to lull the population, especially the dotish, gullible ones, into actually believing their spiel and song and dance. Now corruption and nepotism running rampant, while errant Ministers/MP's getting wrist slaps for mismanagement and contemptuous utterings like Impsbert

Postby desifemlove » November 12th, 2016, 5:30 pm

OK, so PNM is sheit, and they have the excuse "we ent got no money!" but if Kamla 2.0 coming back in five years,then what? What improved between 2010-15, there was "plenty development" supposedly, but not much in the areas that matter most like fighting crime, economic diversification, and healthcare and transport. what will she (or he, if it's Moonilal) do better? this is what the UNC should be doing from NOW if they want to get back in.

Postby desifemlove » November 12th, 2016, 5:41 pm

ED seems anti-PNM, fine. but if UNC is to come back, then explain, sir, how UNC WILL come back or CAN come back? despite an appeal that got thrown out, has she gone over why she lost? Do UNC supporters, since they cannot use PNM/EBC collusion as an excuse now, know why they lost, how to get back, and how to sustain two or more terms in office?

i have some ideas (like not much in fighint crime, no diversification, saying we will rise and not much out of it, much of the same as under PNM), but not sure if UNCs would agree (don't care if they do or not).

de dragon will say i'm closet PNM, only thing i'm in the closet for is if a shirt fell off its hanger.

Postby desifemlove » November 12th, 2016, 9:29 pm

http://www.looptt.com/content/economic- ... early-2017

Dunno if this constitutes an achievemen, but then the Governor himself says it's due to oil price rises. nothing will change.

Postby De Dragon » November 13th, 2016, 12:37 am

desifemlove wrote:ED seems anti-PNM, fine. but if UNC is to come back, then explain, sir, how UNC WILL come back or CAN come back? despite an appeal that got thrown out, has she gone over why she lost? Do UNC supporters, since they cannot use PNM/EBC collusion as an excuse now, know why they lost, how to get back, and how to sustain two or more terms in office?

i have some ideas (like not much in fighint crime, no diversification, saying we will rise and not much out of it, much of the same as under PNM), but not sure if UNCs would agree (don't care if they do or not).

de dragon will say i'm closet PNM, only thing i'm in the closet for is if a shirt fell off its hanger.

The PNM did do some good, but their continued measures that are harming the economy, emboldening criminals are turning people off. Then you have Impsbert openly being contemptuous toward people who have lost their livelihood, struggling to get by and Scarfy defending that sheit as "bedside manner issues" Added to this is Lie-Wari going after Jearlean John under secrecy, and bad-mindedness while his boyfriend Stuart Young jumping in if you even watch Lie-Wari crossways.

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2016, 9:00 am

Because we need some exact measures, because we should make the best use of the little we have, I don't think PNM has done some of the changes in the right way.
    Their changes didn't seem wise, just money grabbing, with pie-in-the-sky ideas to make money.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 14th, 2016, 5:08 am

ROFL

So he gonna ban online shopping?

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby bluesclues » November 14th, 2016, 12:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ROFL

So he gonna ban online shopping?

Hes defending the ammendment. Regardless it's time to withdraw support for colm. He needs to retire from politics.

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Nah man. The public wanted PNM, let them have PNM!

Me, if I not green next election, I red.

U can't give them one year to solve 5 years worth of squandering.

We also need to democracy and chill.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2016, 2:08 am

Yeah boy listening to this man I can't take it anymore with he nah.

That video what he said there, it doh get more dotish than that nah. Anybody plan on rioting until Rowley remove him from this post?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 15th, 2016, 2:30 am

dont worry he will suprise you, it still have 3 years to hear more sheit. Rowley cannot touch him.
    think his real name is colon the amount of sheit he spews

baigan

Postby baigan » November 15th, 2016, 2:57 am

hong kong phooey wrote:lol
    dont worry he will suprise you, it still have 3 years to hear more sheit. Rowley cannot touch him.

Idk why they haven't gotten rid of him already

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby bluesclues » November 15th, 2016, 3:02 am

baigan wrote:

He building enemies fast not just against himself but against the pnm as long as he is part of the cabinet. He will learn that it have more citizen votes than financier votes. But right now he just pelting away all support for pnm. I know first hand at least in arima it have plenty pnm supporters riding rally etc just for the money. They not voting no pnm. Whole families as large as 16+ members and noone voting for pnm. This election should send a strong message to mister colon.

baigan

Postby baigan » November 15th, 2016, 3:43 am

bluesclues wrote:
    baigan wrote:

He building enemies fast not just against himself but against the pnm as long as he is part of the cabinet. He will learn that it have more citizen votes than financier votes. But right now he just pelting away all support for pnm. I know first hand at least in arima it have plenty pnm supporters riding rally etc just for the money. They not voting no pnm. Whole families as large as 16+ members and noone voting for pnm. This election should send a strong message to mister colon.

Yep I agree

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2016, 4:04 am

My guess is that certain people wants Imbert where he is and Rowley has to obey.

In no other universe would Imbert even be considered for this post in the first place he has zero qualifications and experience in this field whatsoever.

But I am a bit worried you say 3 more years we have with him, unfortunately its 20 more years as the UNC is in disarray and will not see government for 20 years to come. Anyone who thinks that the East West Corridor is going to vote for these same bunch of old fart cabal has to be delusional.