Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2011, 8:41 pm

Lovely pics dean 8-)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 8:54 pm

more again...............
DSC02074.JPG
DSC02047.JPG
DSC01941.JPG
DSC01937.JPG
DSC01877.JPG
DSC01877.JPG (80 KiB) Viewed 1633 times
DSC01796.JPG
DSC01696.JPG
DSC01623.JPG

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2011, 9:00 pm

what does yr mandarin eat?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 9:03 pm

more...............
DSC02149.JPG
DSC02108.JPG
DSC02104.JPG
DSC02081.JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 9:09 pm

sharkman121 wrote:what does yr mandarin eat?

whatever stuff growing on the live rocks. have 2 of them in my concrete tubs outside the house. all it have in them is a hang on filter and a powerhead

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2011, 9:19 pm

guys,

I have a couple old school outside box siphon filters to get rid of cheap
600gph Supreme Superkings
brand new $150ea

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2011, 9:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:what does yr mandarin eat?

whatever stuff growing on the live rocks. have 2 of them in my concrete tubs outside the house. all it have in them is a hang on filter and a powerhead

thats nice to know, i thought they mainly ate copepods and would be hard to keep them without that.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 9:32 pm

well thats what they eating of the rocks. the amount of rocks i have (over 250 lbs) they multiply fast, so they happy. have the manderins since christmas

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 9:57 pm

lil bit again
5.JPG
DSC02514.JPG
DSC02489.JPG
DSC02476.JPG
DSC02469.JPG
Last edited by HondaB20B on April 26th, 2011, 1:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 23rd, 2011, 11:00 pm

if you guys watch carefully, you will realize that there are 4 big sailfin mollies living with my pair of black clownfish. they living together about 5 or 6 mths now.
Black clownfish and mollies.JPG

netsket

Postby netsket » April 24th, 2011, 7:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
netsket wrote:i saw it was mentioned that the tank was between 80F and 82F, I thought the temperature range for coral was 72F to 79F?? Please correct me if I was misinformed.

the general rule is infact to keep coral between 76-78f, however there has been alot of debate on the subject matter.
Aquarist claim that in the wild the temperature on reefs vary alot during the course of a single day, so why should this not be replicated in our tanks.
reefists also argue that keeping coral in that set zone also lowers the coral immunity by lulling it into a false sense of security in that if u keep yr coral at that temp all the time, should something happen and the temp does swing, the coral would lose its natural ability to cope with these changes as it does in the wild and wil die.

Many aquarist have kept coral within the range of 78-86f temperature swings on a daily basis succesfully. Of course having said that, what works for peter may not work for paul. And the are some coral that are more delicate than others which wouldnt tolerate vast temparature swings whatsoever.

Mushrooms and Leathers are generally more accomodative of temp swings than other corals.

Thats why i say i think im safe once the temp does really breach 84deg.

Hope this helps...

thx sharkman.

beautiful pics honda.....sometimes i even wonder if they local...so beautiful

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 24th, 2011, 8:04 pm

netsket wrote:beautiful pics honda.....sometimes i even wonder if they local...so beautiful

very much local....................... if i post up d other pics of the new tank i settin up, ah wonder what yuh might say.

Postby sharkman121 » April 24th, 2011, 8:23 pm

post d ting nah bai :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 24th, 2011, 9:34 pm

sharkman121 wrote:post d ting nah bai :mrgreen:

:poke: :poke:

Postby sharkman121 » April 24th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Its really yr plumbing i wanna focus on more than anything else.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 24th, 2011, 10:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Its really yr plumbing i wanna focus on more than anything else.

changed around all d plumbing recently. didnt take any new pics. less plumbing means less things to go wrong. Installed some unions and valves from the drain to the sump so that in case i have a leak or need to service something, i can shut it down and remove with ease. I installing my chiller outside.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 25th, 2011, 12:22 am

on another note, i didnt shim d tank stand with the tank on it. i shimmed the legs on the stand first, then put on the ply and shimmed that while using a 6ft level, burrowed suction cups and with the help from roro, redman and a few other kind folks (cost me some beers though........ small thing) we placed the tank back up and i rechecked the shims. if you have a 5ft tank and you want to level it........................ dont use a 2 or 3ft level. a 4ft is the least you should use. 5ft is the best. remember this tank you installing might be there some years so you better do it right the first time. what kinda paint you put on the tankstand and how did you prepare it

Postby sharkman121 » April 25th, 2011, 12:36 am

Yeh i used a 4ft level and shimmed the tank on friday. Tank just has to centre properly on the stand. Beginning to do my aquascape tomorrow and add sand. :mrgreen:

Noted to self not cutting any corners whatsoever on this build.

Used Rustoleum on tank stand to avoid corrosion.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 25th, 2011, 10:24 am

if you had some base rock to put first that would of been better. if you going a deep sand bed, then the rocks should go in first............ then the sand. Cause when fish or eel in your case starts to undermine, you realy dont want an avalanche to happen. a rock hitting the glass aint nice. had that in my 4ft when i had 2 yellow cheek gobies (never me again with those fish again)..................... i swear dat glass had crack

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » April 27th, 2011, 2:29 am

I lookin for live rock to buy who have it can be direct from the sea I would cure it my self I'm setting up a 8ft tank so I need a good bit of rock who can help???

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 27th, 2011, 5:49 am

eternal audio wrote:I lookin for live rock to buy who have it can be direct from the sea I would cure it my self I'm setting up a 8ft tank so I need a good bit of rock who can help???

Careful of live rock you taking direct from the sea cause sometimes you bring unwanted pests that you gonna bring into your tank. you talking $25-3500 in live rock to stock that tank. either check Raj or Santo

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » April 27th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Guys got a Mag drive 9.5 (950 GPM) submersible pump for sale
see below link to sale if interested

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=370120

Postby sharkman121 » April 27th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Build cmin along slowly but surely

Postby sharkman121 » April 27th, 2011, 9:24 pm

tomorrow is to aquascape, finish adding the sand, fill up with water, put picture moulding around tank

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 27th, 2011, 10:30 pm

lookin gd sharkman...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 27th, 2011, 11:51 pm

looking good so far. you checkrd the plumbing first?

what lights you ended up putting for your refuge

Postby sharkman121 » April 28th, 2011, 12:32 am

Plumbing? i aint start to plumb as yet. Tank gonna run with the two HOB skimmers plus the eheim canister i have till i complete the plumbing which may be next week. New skimmer supposed to come in by then as well.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 28th, 2011, 12:44 am

ok............
well i coming home later, so i might get to finish mine

Postby sharkman121 » April 28th, 2011, 12:47 am

when u comin up on this side? make a pass thru.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 28th, 2011, 12:52 am

passing in by raj on friday to pick up some stuff, will try and pass