3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 12th, 2009, 10:33 pm

so that only the yellow is in colour?
In Photoshop it's with layers and using what the healing brush to expose the lower coloured layer.

Or just use the phtobucket tool and selectively colour which part you want highlighted.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 12th, 2009, 10:56 pm

Ask Scully the owner of the Pic.

4eterc

Postby 4eterc » March 12th, 2009, 11:15 pm

oh ok thanks

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 12th, 2009, 11:29 pm

Dragist wrote:Ask Scully the owner of the Pic.

roflmao...Thanks...Pwnt!!!1

There are are a number of ways to get that effect, but they all share on thing in common, which is you start with one colour image.

For this image, I made a Black & White copy of the colour image, then went back to the colour version and cut out the flame in Corel PhotoPaint, cna then pasted it into the B/W image. Fairly simple really.

Now that I use photoshop, I would probably put the B/W image on the background, create a layer, put the colour image on that layer, create a layer mask and "reveal all" with a black brush, leaving only the flame behind.

obeiron

Postby obeiron » March 13th, 2009, 12:41 am

^-- Much faster way to do that effect. In the layers menu, add a new adjustment layer for Hue/Saturation. Click on the layer mask of the adjustment layer, then with a large soft edge paint brush, set the foreground colour to black and paint the flame back in.

tool-band

Postby tool-band » March 13th, 2009, 8:43 am

got this in an email today thought it may some use to you guys

http://aviary.com/home?worth1000

Over the 7 years since Worth1000 launched, I have been asked by thousands of people who viewed our Photoshop contests: How do I make images like the amazing Worth1000 entries?

Most were asking because traditional desktop software was simply too expensive or hard to learn. Seriously, $2,000 for editing tools?! It was time for a change. I decided it was my responsibility to the awesome design community at Worth1000 to be the one to do it.

So, I created Aviary.com

Aviary, is a suite of free design tools. Now anyone with internet access can use them without installing anything. You just need to visit Aviary and you're all set.

Aviary should be enough for anyone to get started making some really amazing images (and other types of media). Aviary also allows you to share and work on files with other people in the Aviary community, which makes it even easier to learn.

So far we have released 4 applications into public beta, with many more planned:

- Phoenix: a layer-based image editor (similar to Adobe Photoshop / Gimp)
- Raven: a vector editor (useful for logos / and clothing design)
- Toucan: a color editor
- Peacock: an effects editor

We even created an entire free education center where people can learn how to make awesome effects!

If you enjoyed Worth1000.com, I hope you'll also take the time to try out Aviary.com

At the very least, I encourage you to let anyone interested in image editing to know about it. Feel free to forward this email to a friend.

Postby tr1ad » March 13th, 2009, 10:04 am

still cant use photoshop fuh sh!t....

and i givin lightroom a trial... :oops:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 13th, 2009, 12:34 pm

I find Lightroom easier than PS and I have been using PS for 2 Years now Just added Lightroom to my workflow.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2009, 4:39 pm

^ lightroom has completely changed my workflow for the better

still need photoshop though

guru

Postby guru » March 13th, 2009, 7:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ lightroom has completely changed my workflow for the better

still need photoshop though

hear hear!!
not to mention that export to facebook plugin has made my life a breeze!

guru

Postby guru » March 13th, 2009, 7:22 pm

tool-band wrote:got this in an email today thought it may some use to you guys

http://aviary.com/home?worth1000

Over the 7 years since Worth1000 launched, I have been asked by thousands of people who viewed our Photoshop contests: How do I make images like the amazing Worth1000 entries?

impressive

guru

Postby guru » March 14th, 2009, 11:43 am

last night was entertaining...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 14th, 2009, 8:01 pm

in the extreme novice category but..

scully i can only get better from here

Postby r3iXmann » March 14th, 2009, 8:20 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:
Dragist wrote:Ask Scully the owner of the Pic.

roflmao...Thanks...Pwnt!!!1

There are are a number of ways to get that effect, but they all share on thing in common, which is you start with one colour image.

For this image, I made a Black & White copy of the colour image, then went back to the colour version and cut out the flame in Corel PhotoPaint, cna then pasted it into the B/W image. Fairly simple really.

Now that I use photoshop, I would probably put the B/W image on the background, create a layer, put the colour image on that layer, create a layer mask and "reveal all" with a black brush, leaving only the flame behind.

all that? :lol:

use the lasso tools,select the flame -> select inverse -> desaturate image

(optional) -> select inverse -> edit hue/saturation settings to give the flames more effect,or add a blur if you wish...that's what i did for some of my shots:

^ the last shot isnt mine,i merely edited it at the request of the owner of the car 8-)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 14th, 2009, 10:20 pm

how allyuh does edit those photos? I am honestly a novice & i eh even know how to use PS good now tryin out & wanna learn & explore..i know some ppl does take pics like a normal shot & then use PS to make it look cleaner...how you does do that? is it really possible? thanks advance

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 15th, 2009, 10:05 pm

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2009, 10:39 pm

this is a real good pic

crop out the gate in the background

cornfused wrote:Image

scully i can only get better from here

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » March 18th, 2009, 8:36 pm

oh hai

Image[/quote]

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 10:25 am

so all the photo-tuners in this forum, how many do it for a living or part time.

a pardner and i now entering the scene part time.

Postby tr1ad » March 19th, 2009, 10:33 am

i now learning

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 10:39 am

anyone did the photography programme that UWI offers?

any opinions on it? are there better in t'dad, is the course just a basic overview or indepth?

Postby tr1ad » March 19th, 2009, 10:42 am

scully and devi

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 19th, 2009, 10:58 am

I did the course at UWI. Skipped the first year and went straight into 2nd.

I'd recommend most people do the 1st year course, even though it starts from very basic, it primes you for what's coming next (well kinda).

And after seeing the work the first year people put out this year at their exhibition, I can gurantee you it's worth it.

Nothing can prepare you for the second year course. You'd probably spend years of reading to get what is imparted on you in that second year course. Stuff you didn't realise photography involved. It changes you from a phototakerouter to a photographer.

By the time you finish the second year course, you'll at least realise that you shoot a lot less frames to get the desired results.

This AFAIK is the only course available locally. Though there was word of an Associate Degree in Photography coming up in UTT, I'm not sure where that stands now.

I supplement my income with photography. Weddings, Portrait sessions, commercial, model portfolios, and surveys. I had intentions of leaving my job this year, and doing it full but then the economic sheit hit the fan, so I'm sticking with my guaranteed income for now.

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 11:15 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:I did the course at UWI. Skipped the first year and went straight into 2nd.

I'd recommend most people do the 1st year course, even though it starts from very basic, it primes you for what's coming next (well kinda).

And after seeing the work the first year people put out this year at their exhibition, I can gurantee you it's worth it.

Nothing can prepare you for the second year course. You'd probably spend years of reading to get what is imparted on you in that second year course. Stuff you didn't realise photography involved. It changes you from a phototakerouter to a photographer.

By the time you finish the second year course, you'll at least realise that you shoot a lot less frames to get the desired results.

This AFAIK is the only course available locally. Though there was word of an Associate Degree in Photography coming up in UTT, I'm not sure where that stands now.

I supplement my income with photography. Weddings, Portrait sessions, commercial, model portfolios, and surveys. I had intentions of leaving my job this year, and doing it full but then the economic sheit hit the fan, so I'm sticking with my guaranteed income for now.

THANKS for the advice.

while you were doing the programme, were you still offering your services or did you wait till you were done?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 19th, 2009, 1:37 pm

I was already charging for my services before the course, though I wasn't sure what I was worth.

After the course my rates went up and so did the number of clients :mrgreen:

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 1:41 pm

SWEET.

wat equip do u use ?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 19th, 2009, 3:46 pm

I have a few other bits and pieces but my main equipment is:

Canon EOS 50D, Canon 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon 70-200mm f4L, Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS, Canon 580EX, Manfrotto tripod & head

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 3:51 pm

wow.....u have a nice range of lenses there man.

guess if i start to make some money off of this i can upgrade.

do u think if you are going into the business, that for eg canon brand your body should not be a lesser model than the EOS 50D.

eg if you have a EOS 1000D or a 400D ?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 19th, 2009, 4:02 pm

^^^ I have seen work class photos taken with a XT/350D , It's not about the gear it's how you use it .

Take a look at some shots from the XT

http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon/eos ... _rebel_xt/

varung

Postby varung » March 19th, 2009, 4:09 pm

^^ hahaha

true true.....then i shouldn't have much fear about the equip then

i trying to learn some more on Manual option, to become more creative with my shots. i just feel using auto is a waste for a DSLR, but it has an easiness to it.

EG. for those here, when you covering important events eg weddings, where u only get one shot on candids, do u all, use the Manual or go with the safe Auto?