Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

DMan7

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:52 pm

Surely we have enough land to feed ourselves? Should lower our food import bill significantly.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:55 pm

DMan7 wrote:Surely we have enough land to feed ourselves? Should lower our food import bill significantly.

How does that explain all the imported cookies in the grocery? Cookies growing in the ground??

Postby hover11 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:56 pm

DMan7 wrote:Surely we have enough land to feed ourselves? Should lower our food import bill significantly.
The land was either used for the state or hdc houses....trinis had to choose food or housing basically.

Ex caroni 1975 workers can't even get their land allocations after so long...
Last edited by hover11 on August 22nd, 2022, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:00 pm

One thing Rowley was right about, these congonians nowadays not going in no hot sun to plant nothing

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:03 pm

:angel:
Mmoney607 wrote:

How does that explain all the imported cookies in the grocery? Cookies growing in the ground??

I'm referring to essential food being grown on the little land we do have. Cookies aren't essential.

Postby st7 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:07 pm

why post a four year old article?

lemme guess, you saw someone share it so you had to make an emotional post lol

Postby hover11 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:09 pm

st7 wrote:why post a four year old article?

Nope it shows that we still have no feasible plans regarding agriculture....

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2022, 7:12 pm

plan is to trade with guyana, which is feasible. we have skills, we could trade that for food

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:19 pm

DMan7 wrote::angel:
Mmoney607 wrote:

I'm referring to essential food being grown on the little land we do have. Cookies aren't essential.

Right but even if we grow Cassava and dasheen, we still going to be spending millions of us to import post and Kelloggs cereal

Postby hover11 » August 22nd, 2022, 7:21 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
DMan7 wrote::angel:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Right but even if we grow Cassava and dasheen, we still going to be spending millions of us to import post and Kelloggs cereal
We have foreign tastes and that isn't going to change no matter what.

Postby st7 » August 22nd, 2022, 8:57 pm

hover11 wrote:

this is already known and understood for however long so u showed it to be obvious?

nah, u didnt know article was 4 yrs old so you emotionally posted when u saw someone posted it on fb

ya get triggered like a lil beyotch lol

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 22nd, 2022, 11:55 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

this is already known and understood for however long so u showed it to be obvious?

nah, u didnt know article was 4 yrs old so you emotionally posted when u saw someone posted it on fb

ya get triggered like a lil beyotch lol

OH gosh, post something sensible for once nah man. Even your padna adnj making some sensible posts now and again

Postby st7 » August 23rd, 2022, 1:32 am

allyuh hadda stop posting so emotionally after being so easily triggered

here there everywhere on this forum is just spam from allyuh

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 23rd, 2022, 3:12 am

prices gone up yes but where are the shortages? no shortage of peas and beans, cooking oil, flour, rice, sugar and even no shortage of most foreign products of cereal, snacks, and frozen food which is cheaper than local produce. the whole doom and gloom of countries not exporting and climate change wreaking havoc, what ever happened to that? is it just the PNM mismanagement of the USD is why prices gone up?

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2022, 4:00 am

st7 wrote:allyuh hadda stop posting so emotionally after being so easily triggered

When last you check your pressure......man always beating up

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 23rd, 2022, 8:00 am

Prices real high in the US too. Some things even more than Trinidad.

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2022, 8:06 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Prices real high in the US too. Some things even more than Trinidad.
The value of your dollar is still higher than ours

matix

Postby matix » August 23rd, 2022, 8:10 am

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:allyuh hadda stop posting so emotionally after being so easily triggered

It’s an obsession

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 23rd, 2022, 8:18 am

hover11 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Prices real high in the US too. Some things even more than Trinidad.
The value of your dollar is still higher than ours

Cost of living is high....you only make some savings.....but it is a better quality of life.

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2022, 8:43 am

All of this trollers' financial analysis in this thread. And it's still just more stupidshitt that only makes sense to the indoctrinated.

*smh

Postby st7 » August 23rd, 2022, 10:12 am

hover11 wrote:

Postby st7 » August 23rd, 2022, 10:14 am

adnj wrote:All of this trollers' financial analysis in this thread. And it's still just more stupidshitt that only makes sense to the indoctrinated.

*smh

the experts :lol: :lol: :drinking:

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2022, 10:28 am

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Take care you get a heart attack.
...beat up level on 100 that's not healthy

Postby st7 » August 23rd, 2022, 10:34 am

mmmmmm k

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2022, 10:40 am

Anybody watching egg prices lately, by Christmas one egg might between 2 to 2.50

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2022, 10:42 am

Postby Rovin » August 23rd, 2022, 6:10 pm

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2022, 9:10 pm

Price Club Chaguanas has Kerrygold Unsalted 1 lb butter silver foil block on sale for $30. It's expiring soon, and they just put it all in the freezer and marked it down. Picked up 4 this evening, quite a deal! Will stay ok in the freezer for months so don't worry about the expiry date.

matix

Postby matix » August 26th, 2022, 9:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:Price Club Chaguanas has Kerrygold Unsalted 1 lb butter silver foil block on sale for $30. It's expiring soon, and they just put it all in the freezer and marked it down. Picked up 4 this evening, quite a deal! Will stay ok in the freezer for months so don't worry about the expiry date.

That’s a damn good price

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 10:12 pm

hope it have tomorrow

maj. tom wrote:Price Club Chaguanas has Kerrygold Unsalted 1 lb butter silver foil block on sale for $30. It's expiring soon, and they just put it all in the freezer and marked it down. Picked up 4 this evening, quite a deal! Will stay ok in the freezer for months so don't worry about the expiry date.