zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
Manning lost a landslide election.
He is of no threat to the PP establishment.
This PNM minority party isn't even on the radar for the UNC.
PNM can rule Tobago, they don't seem to favor white or injun ppl.
Habit7 wrote:Our real gas sector hero
By keith Subero
Story Created: Nov 23, 2014 at 11:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 23, 2014 at 11:49 PM ECT
It seemed like a grudging admission. It may have been his hope that his back-handed comment that “previous governments had focused on the natural gas industry” would have been overlooked. But there was the Energy Minister on November 11, announcing proposals for a US$1.4 million natural gas master plan, reminding the country that 18 years ago gas production had eclipsed oil production, and the industry “has not looked back since”.
“We are the third largest producers of natural gas in the Americas. We are the sixth largest exporter of liquefied natural gas in the world, and the largest exporter of ammonia and methanol in the world,” the minister boasted.
The minister, however, did not tell the full story. He did not add how T&T achieved that quantum leap onto the world stage, and he chose not to pay tribute to the persons who took us there.
Driving through Arima recently, I again reflected on the quality of life of the average shopper on its main street. “Look at their clothes. What is the difference, in lifestyle, between the Arima shopper and shoppers in other parts of the world that I have visited? T&T is, indeed, way above the rest of the Caribbean,” I mused.
A few of my colleagues still disagree—but I have held my position that the every T&T citizen should say a quiet prayer for the late prime minister Dr Eric Williams and for Prof Ken Julien, every day.
It was Dr Williams who created the architecture for our liberal democratic state whose institutions are being eroded by everyday assault.
And it was Dr Julien, then UWI professor of electrical engineering, who translated Dr Williams’ vision for the Point Lisas Industrial Estate to be transformed into a world-class energy platform. The industries developed in the estate vaulted T&T onto the world stage as an energy producer of significance.
Dr Julien returned again in the 1990s, leading a pioneering team—with the blessings of then prime minister Patrick Manning—that entrenched T&T’s presence further on the world stage—this time as the world’s first gas-based economy.
Last week I asked UWI lecturer, and respected petroleum economist, Gregory McGuire, to give me an estimate of revenues, first from the Point Lisas Estate, then the gas industry. He admitted that the data is there but needed to be refined.
“Point Lisas Estate has been around for 40 years. It has been a huge, huge financial plus for T&T. It had its negatives, its lean years in the 1980s, but overall millions have rolled out from there.
“The social impact has been tremendous. Just look at the spin-off industries in Point Lisas. For example, Super Industrial Services Co. (SIS) evolved from there into the giant it is today. John Williams Construction Co, too, is a major beneficiary.’’
I asked him to evaluate Ken Julien’s role in that transformation. “Pivotal!” Mc Guire asserted. “Prof Julien was central to the development of Point Lisas, and later the economic transformation of T&T in the 1990s.
“The T&T model is lauded in the industry, but this is only a part of his achievements, e.g. the e-Teck Industrial Park, planned for Tamana, and UTT are out of the mind of Prof Julien.”
Regrettably, it was because of his work in these two areas that the AG has filed a suit against Prof Julien, and the boards of the two institutions.
In the e-Teck lawsuit, the State is seeking to reclaim $30 million, and $12 in the UTT matter. At the same time, the AG is yet to explain to the country his reasons for not pursuing similar action against Environment Minister Ganga Singh for his alleged role in WASA’s cancellation of a contract with an Israeli company.
That matter was settled at the International Court of Arbitration in London and WASA was given 14 days to pay $100 million for breach of contract.
Trinbagonians all live Dr Williams’ dream, many enjoying it without even a vague understanding of its rudiments. To some Dr Williams may be just the name of a man who lived a long time ago.
Prof Julien, however, is still with us, enjoying international recognition for his work in academia and the energy industry.
Some believe Prof Julien is being vilified allegedly by bit players in their small game of political one-upmanship. But mention his name in the larger international energy community… and listen for the accolades.
Keith Subero is a former Express news editor, who has since followed a career in communication and management.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 58271.html
Habit7 wrote:Take that Gypsy and Anand
Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
How can you say that? You still have your neck
Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
how come Manning built a lot of Sat's schools?
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
how come Manning built a lot of Sat's schools?
1UZFE wrote:Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
not to smart arent U?
pioneer wrote:Manning was the best leader PNM ever had.
zoom rader wrote:1UZFE wrote:Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
not to smart arent U?
He can't help it as that is part of being PNM and that is how they think.
Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:1UZFE wrote:Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
not to smart arent U?
He can't help it as that is part of being PNM and that is how they think.
Well thats what I get for not being straight to the point about the apparent safety of your necks that connects to your arsehole allowing you to spew verbal diarrhoea on these forums daily
1UZFE wrote:Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
not to smart arent U?
mero wrote:1UZFE wrote:Crackpot wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:Again
not to smart arent U?
/irony
desifemlove wrote:Mr. Zoom, PNM did build plenty Hindu schools, namely under Sat's branch.
so what proof yuh have dat PNM/Krowley doh like Indo people?
desifemlove wrote:Mr. Zoom, PNM did build plenty Hindu schools, namely under Sat's branch.
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:Mr. Zoom, PNM did build plenty Hindu schools, namely under Sat's branch.
1. Name the plenty schools?
2. The Maha Sabha radio licence case remains perhaps the most famous discrimination case in the Commonwealth Caribbean under the PNM.
Learn about trini nah mamoo, are new legal immgrants are welcome.
Habit7 wrote:I remember how certain men a couple of weeks ago acted like the drop in oil prices below our budget estimate was a fluke and Howai can handle it...
Petrotrin sinking in debt and oil prices took a further tumble today.
I wonder when in this election year the govt is going to announce expenditure cutbacks? Then they can truly be a government working for me.
Energy Consultant says no ripple effect from drop in oil prices Email | Print | Last Updated on 27.11.2014
Published Date Share on Facebook Former Energy Minister and Energy Consultant Conrad Enil says a drop in global crude oil prices will not have ripple effects for T&T’s energy-driven economy.
Fears that a global drop in crude oil prices could impact negatively on T&T’s energy-driven economy stemmed from a Fitch Ratings publication.
However, the former Energy Minister said it is not likely that external oil shocks will shake up T&T's primarily gas-based economy.
"The Trinidad and Tobago economy today, thankfully, is more a gas-based economy than an oil based economy. What that means is in production terms, our reproduction, if you measure it in barrel of oil equivalent, it’s about under 100,000 in terms of oil and just over 800,000 or 900,000 in terms of gas. So we should be more concerned about the gas prices rather than oil prices."
He said an oil-based economy has the propensity for boom and bust - rising oil prices equal prosperity and decreasing oil prices would result in an economy in decline.
He explained that oil and gas trends do not operate in the same way.
"Whereas oil is a global business, gas primarily is regional. So for example in the past we have had very low prices in the US market but we have diverted to other jurisdictions and we have gotten very high prices. So there’s a lot more flexibility in terms of gas marketing than oil. The trick though is as shale gas becomes more of a reality over the longer term, your flexibility with global pricing or regional pricing might also change."
Mr. Enill said there seems to be a steady demand for gas.
"The characteristics of oil, in so far as the environment is concerned, is in many jurisdictions very negative. The better fuel as far as they are concerned is gas and then they move into CNG and renewables. The data I saw some time ago suggested that while the demand for gas did not grow, it did not in fact decrease. So there is still a large body of countries and individuals and organisations that depend on gas. We saw though that the demand for shale can increase."
The Energy Consultant said many industries continue to rely on oil and gas derivatives but he said T&T must develop into a Modern Industrial State and explore the possibility of turning gas into plastics
Habit7 wrote:I am glad to see your renewed trust in Trini media, now that it agrees with what you are saying
Nevertheless, even though we are a gas based economy, we still sell oil and it still contributes significantly to our revenues. Last night on news the current minister of energy expressed concerned over the shortfall of revenue from this.
Unlike you I try not to see these issues as UNC vs. PNM. These are T&T issues and I await the finance minister's address
http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-28 ... ouse-today
Habit7 wrote:I am glad to see your renewed trust in Trini media, now that it agrees with what you are saying
Nevertheless, even though we are a gas based economy, we still sell oil and it still contributes significantly to our revenues. Last night on news the current minister of energy expressed concerned over the shortfall of revenue from this.
Unlike you I try not to see these issues as UNC vs. PNM. These are T&T issues and I await the finance minister's address
http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-28 ... ouse-today
I remember how certain men a couple of weeks ago acted like the drop in oil prices below our budget estimate was a fluke and Howai can handle it...
Petrotrin sinking in debt and oil prices took a further tumble today.
I wonder when in this election year the govt is going to announce expenditure cutbacks? Then they can truly be a government working for me.
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:Mr. Zoom, PNM did build plenty Hindu schools, namely under Sat's branch.
1. Name the plenty schools, stop pussie footing around.
2. The Maha Sabha radio licence case remains perhaps the most famous discrimination case in the Commonwealth Caribbean under the PNM.
Learn about trini nah mamoo, are new legal immgrants are welcome.