T&T declares State of Emergency - 18th July 2025

Re: T&T declares State of Emergency - 18th July 2025

Postby redmanjp » Today, 3:08 pm

mero wrote:What happens after SOE where the real policing needs to happen and u cyah run in ppl house without warrant to put men in place?

Or this is just for a stats thing?

Btw 2 of my female friends were robbed at gunpoint and their vehicles stolen over the last month. Seems a be a new trend with the newer vehicles that harder to steal with the newer fobs. Better to steal the keys or kidnap the driver for a bit.

Their cards were also used at gas stations, fortunately one acted quick and blocked her cards immediately after. Idk how hard is for police to use this info and time stamps and see clear as day who the perps are at the gas stations.

u mean ttps have direct contact with the the bank? or u as the customer have to ask the bank where the card being used and then call the police? because the later option will not work quickly enough- dem bandits done already gone

Postby mero » Today, 4:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:
mero wrote:What happens after SOE where the real policing needs to happen and u cyah run in ppl house without warrant to put men in place?

Btw 2 of my female friends were robbed at gunpoint and their vehicles stolen over the last month. Seems a be a new trend with the newer vehicles that harder to steal with the newer fobs. Better to steal the keys or kidnap the driver for a bit.

Their cards were also used at gas stations, fortunately one acted quick and blocked her cards immediately after. Idk how hard is for police to use this info and time stamps and see clear as day who the perps are at the gas stations.

u mean ttps have direct contact with the the bank? or u as the customer have to ask the bank where the card being used and then call the police? because the later option will not work quickly enough- dem bandits done already gone

There are time stamps on your account you can see on online banking, also when you call the bank to block your card, they will tell you when and where last your card was used. Many stolen/ fruadulent cards are used at gas stations, esp with tap to pay.

Postby j.o.e » Today, 4:38 pm

Xander say no public plans or announcement …. But wait and see the difference.

However Xander also said Minister is not in charge of fighting crime but in providing resources.

Will give the benefit of the doubt for now.

Postby Chimera » Today, 5:05 pm

Those bank atm cameras does work? U know abroad u down always see footage from a atm camera when ppl getting robbed at the atm or their card being used and they asking for info. I have never seen that here.

Postby redmanjp » Today, 5:08 pm

mero wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

There are time stamps on your account you can see on online banking, also when you call the bank to block your card, they will tell you when and where last your card was used. Many stolen/ fruadulent cards are used at gas stations, esp with tap to pay.

yeah but as i said by the time u call ttps and they reach the gas station the bandit done gone - bankings apps even worse - my transactions dont show up till the next business day.

the only way is for ttps to have direct contact with the bank or u get an alert immediately once your card is blocked and it tells u where it is, or ttps have an arrangement with the bank to track stolen cards (not all cards obviously) via access to a special database.

Postby mero » Today, 5:22 pm

No one expects reliable ttps response time. What im getting at is most gas stations or establishments in 2025 esp concerning crime ought to have working cameras, esp around the cashier area and pumps.

There are time stamps that should pinpoint the actual time when the card was used and the person using the card. That should render some assistance

Postby mero » Today, 5:25 pm

Chimera wrote:Those bank atm cameras does work? U know abroad u down always see footage from a atm camera when ppl getting robbed at the atm or their card being used and they asking for info. I have never seen that here.

Yea they work. Unless its a a serious crime or serious damage of property, they wont release footage. Most banks handle their issues internally and rather not expose their vulnerabilities to the public. I see nuff vids of ppl mashing up and trying to steal atms

Postby redmanjp » Today, 5:42 pm

oh i see- yes the cameras can help along with the timestamps of the card usage.

as for releasing footage, it shouldn't be to the public, but they should cooperate with police and let them have access.

Postby MaxPower » Today, 5:56 pm

Anything works in T&T?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » Today, 6:00 pm

MaxPower wrote:Anything works in T&T?
Crime

Postby timelapse » Today, 6:11 pm

MaxPower wrote:Anything works in T&T?
Days of prayer and solidarity apparently.
Tell Trinis anything that involves actual effort and they vex