Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

SuperiorMan

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby SuperiorMan » October 1st, 2021, 3:57 pm

MaxPower wrote:I always keep myself clean and well groomed and my shirt is always tucked neatly in my trousers.

I change my handkerchief every day.

I am not the average oily face pot belly Trini in a vest and 3/4 pants with long finger/toe nails and dry patchy skin and vamping.

Hello MaxPower,

Are you a 1%?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 1st, 2021, 3:57 pm

So what food importers do with the meats etc that expiring? Do they just dump it? Isn't that basically wasting forex?

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 4:10 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I always keep myself clean and well groomed and my shirt is always tucked neatly in my trousers.

I am not the average oily face pot belly Trini in a vest and 3/4 pants with long finger/toe nails and dry patchy skin and vamping.

Hello MaxPower,

Are you a 1%?
Max is a pull bull entrepreneur bout one percent, he believes he is part of the one percent community due to whatever deluded reasoning he devised.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 1st, 2021, 4:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Also they need to look at expiration dates groceries not just giving away specials remember it's a business not a charity

Good point Jason.

Trinis googly eyes does light up big and pushing and shoving to get “buy 1 get one free”, “Special” and “Sale” items and unconcerned with the expiry date.
Tiki gold for the win

Ent. I never understood chocolate coated digestive an danish butter cookies. Them does taste bad. Prunes an raisin is 20 a lb yet no beat up. No black cake this christmas ah wah.

Postby bluefete » October 1st, 2021, 4:46 pm

hover11 wrote:Also they need to look at expiration dates groceries not just giving away specials remember it's a business not a charity

Good point Jason.

Trinis googly eyes does light up big and pushing and shoving to get “buy 1 get one free”, “Special” and “Sale” items and unconcerned with the expiry date.

Aye, why you shining me up for? My googly eyes does real light up when I see banded or close to expiry specials. I know that product is still good for at least the next 6 months.

Is allyuh "stush" people who deos get ketch with expiry date. But then again, allyuh could afford to buy the bestest aloo every day.

I am not nor will I ever aspire to be a 1%-er.

That means I max out (no pun at all) on close to expiry and 2-4-1 specials. That works really well for me.

You would be surprised to know how much money I have saved over the years.

So lef' googly eyes like me alone, please.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 6:03 pm

Pretty much
FB_IMG_1633125777356.jpg

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2021, 6:20 pm

hover11 wrote:Pretty much
FB_IMG_1633125777356.jpg
That's what idiots voted for

More taxes coming

Postby Rovin » October 1st, 2021, 6:28 pm

ent we like it so ...

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » October 1st, 2021, 6:31 pm

The PNM working for you!

If you are AV , Forris, Colm, Sabga, Hadeed, Aboud, Kalco, Sunior Jammy, Rohanee Sinnerman etc.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 6:34 pm

sam1978 wrote:The PNM working for you!

If you are AV , Forris, Colm, Sabga, Hadeed, Aboud, Kalco, Sunior Jammy, Rohanee Sinnerman etc.
You forgetting the minister of everything

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 7:09 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello MaxPower,

Are you a 1%?

Hello SuperiorMan,

Hope all is well my good man.

No bro, I’m not a 1% but i hang out with quite a few.

Good people that i aspire to be like.

People of vision!

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 7:11 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello MaxPower,

Are you a 1%?

Hello SuperiorMan,

People of vision!
Well there you have it Max is really a wanna be 1 percent straight from the horse's mouth

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 7:37 pm

hover11 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello MaxPower,

Are you a 1%?

Hello SuperiorMan,

People of vision!
Well there you have it Max is really a wanna be 1 percent straight from the horse's mouth

Nothing wrong with being a wanna be.

We all are wannabees until we reach our goals.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 1st, 2021, 8:29 pm

We import most of our food save and except for chicken and most vegetables .

Shipping costs from China to South America went up 443% and 64% between China and the east coast of the US. Shipping cost have really increased

Postby timelapse » October 1st, 2021, 9:45 pm

cornfused wrote:We import most of our food save and except for chicken and most vegetables .

Shipping costs from China to South America went up 443% and 64% between China and the east coast of the US. Shipping cost have really increased
Still import baby chicks quite a bit.

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2021, 11:04 pm

timelapse wrote:
cornfused wrote:We import most of our food save and except for chicken and most vegetables .

Back to the old days, when every had at least a few Yardley running around

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2021, 11:14 pm

timelapse wrote:

Red government People only know KFC and you expect dem to farm chickens

Postby De Dragon » October 2nd, 2021, 3:07 am

timelapse wrote:

Your perfume used to run around :lol:

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2021, 8:11 am

dis blasted autocorrect eh :lol:

Postby matr1x » October 2nd, 2021, 9:59 am

That autocorrect does jam you wrong time

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2021, 12:07 pm

But for real tho, this high food pricing thing really getting outta hand.
We as a country cannot sustain this practice, and the bubble not going warn us before it bursts.

Postby hover11 » October 2nd, 2021, 12:11 pm

88sins wrote:But for real tho, this high food pricing thing really getting outta hand.
We as a country cannot sustain this practice, and the bubble not going warn us before it bursts.
Remember our dollar is heavily overvalued and the government refuses to devalue it to show the real exchange rate , look how hard it is to get US , I had to pay 8.5 for 1 US cuz I urgently needed it , while some ppl selling it for 9. Food prices isn't the only concern on the table

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 3rd, 2021, 9:16 am

hover11 wrote:
88sins wrote:But for real tho, this high food pricing thing really getting outta hand.
Remember our dollar is heavily overvalued and the government refuses to devalue it to show the real exchange rate , look how hard it is to get US , I had to pay 8.5 for 1 US cuz I urgently needed it , while some ppl selling it for 9. Food prices isn't the only concern on the table
And devaluating it will help us how exactly? We have no exports, no investment opportunities, nothing in this place

Postby hover11 » October 3rd, 2021, 9:26 am

nick639v2 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
And devaluating it will help us how exactly? We have no exports, no investment opportunities, nothing in this place
You aware we doing more harm than good by keeping things the way they are seems you will be comfortable paying 10 dollars for 1US on the black market soon

I not even supposed to be using a black market but I have no choice because the bank can't release what I need you comfortable with that. How long do you think this could last?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 3rd, 2021, 5:34 pm

Once KFC price don't raise.

Postby Dave » October 3rd, 2021, 5:48 pm

Didn't kfc raise before restaurants reopened?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 3rd, 2021, 5:52 pm

A man can't survive on KFC alone

Postby hover11 » October 3rd, 2021, 5:57 pm

Dave wrote:Didn't kfc raise before restaurants reopened?
Remember that was just to compensate for the period they were closed during lockdown they have alot of overhead costs and franchise royalties must be made regardless of operations

Postby Dizzy28 » October 4th, 2021, 11:20 am

Dave wrote:Didn't kfc raise before restaurants reopened?

Yip they opened with a revised price list. They also implemented come other measures like charging $2 for switching your side in combos. They specify fries and for substituting with cole slaw you get charged $2 more.

Postby eliteauto » October 4th, 2021, 12:32 pm

DMan7 wrote:A man can't survive on KFC alone
Right now Royal Castle has no pepper sauce owing to the price of peppers, so is only the Colonel