Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

VII

Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 12:07 pm

The man should be commended for his restraint, what the hell you want him to drive or be driven in ? Sufferers always trying to bring people down to their level.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 12:11 pm

Last edited by VII on July 1st, 2021, 12:27 pm, edited 4 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 12:16 pm

Meanwhile third worlders beating up over half a Land-Cruiser.

Last edited by VII on July 1st, 2021, 12:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 1st, 2021, 12:35 pm

Actually you might be correct with VW. Is Bora you talking about?
I remember seeing some guys with some used Boras and Passats a while back when I was based up Couva side.
Had an Afro fella left his firm-wuk and was working on VW vehicles a few years back. But some certain model Bora he said used to give real problems.

As for the photo I think that was said to be "rfari"

And I agree the man coulda take a more expensive ride if he wanted to and not study with beatup.
Is not like ollor was even going to benefit from those taxes if he had to pay it.

If you want fancy car tax exempt, then let him be your role-model. Aspire to be like him. So you will have the same perks. Just make sure you could pay insurance and maintenance.

Also I don't think I ever heard of David Lee before.

Postby Rovin » July 1st, 2021, 12:44 pm

pee nm supporters does be happy when u show unc side doing d same sh1t & they even more content when unc buys a more expensive vehicle so their side looks a tad more conservative with taxpayers $

both sides supporters fighting up while driving beat up 20+yr old econo boxes but once their party's leaders driving bess car is like they living vicariously thru them

unc teef 100mil from d treasury buh we side only teef 95mil so we party still way better ... :roll:

Postby j.o.e » July 1st, 2021, 1:05 pm

Terrence buying or not buying a vehicle changes what ?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 1st, 2021, 1:12 pm

I think if he bought a 14 or Tiida the roads would magically become smooth.

Yeah boi Teary I hope you reading these comments so you know next time (2025) when PNM win again, hopefully you pick out something to make sufferer eye bun more.

I would suggest nothing cheaper than David Lee G63.
Remember you save the country from Covee (it coulda been much worse)
What David ever do to even come near your level?

Postby Les Bain » July 1st, 2021, 1:21 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Actually you might be correct with VW. Is Bora you talking about?
I remember seeing some guys with some used Boras and Passats a while back when I was based up Couva side.
Had an Afro fella left his firm-wuk and was working on VW vehicles a few years back. But some certain model Bora he said used to give real problems.

As for the photo I think that was said to be "rfari"

And I agree the man coulda take a more expensive ride if he wanted to and not study with beatup.
Is not like ollor was even going to benefit from those taxes if he had to pay it.

If you want fancy car tax exempt, then let him be your role-model. Aspire to be like him. So you will have the same perks. Just make sure you could pay insurance and maintenance.

Also I don't think I ever heard of David Lee before.

Yeah, Bora self.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2021, 1:32 pm

j.o.e wrote:Terrence buying or not buying a vehicle changes what ?

It changes nothing. But I think a big part of Politics not just here in Trinidad is Optics/PR.
Terry may not have done anything wrong from a legal or ethical standpoint however morally at a point when the country is in the state it is in it may definitely be construed as an issue.

Just as the perk of buying a tax/mvt free vehicle is Terry's right he has also placed himself in the spotlight of the public as a tradeoff and will be scrutinized at the public's leisure. Some may be apathetic whilst others may feel outrage as is both sides right.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 1st, 2021, 1:44 pm

It changes a lot. The country lost $300000 in taxes.

Postby j.o.e » July 1st, 2021, 1:47 pm

sam1978 wrote:

It changes a lot. The country lost $300000 in taxes.

Can’t lose what you never had. Perks of the job, every few years we talk about this and same beat up. Both sides fixing themselves. I prefer to talk about more constructive things.

Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby MaxPower » July 1st, 2021, 1:47 pm

Team,

What is the problem here?

A minister buy a lil vehicle and Trinis beating up?

A R35 now post up for sale for $650,000 and sold in minutes.

Who bought it? Imbert? Rowley? Kamla?

Allyuh stay in allyuh lane and stop counting people pockets.

Work with what you have and stay within your means even though it keeps yourself more fortunate than others.

Im sure the sufferers that beating up dont even donate a cent to those in need.

Btw, Teary is an ass in my books but allyuh need to dig a little deeper. His family is very active in some of the food drives.

Anyways, carry on with allyuh bling bling Prado.
Last edited by MaxPower on July 1st, 2021, 1:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby j.o.e » July 1st, 2021, 1:48 pm

Also if I was A Minister y’all would hate me because is nothing less that a V8 with Akrapovic exhausts barking in the capital.
If allyuh gonna pong me for car purchases I will make sure it burn allyuh chessss

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2021, 1:49 pm

beat up is about the tax exemptions they get and the overdoing it by certain ministers
and well the waste of usd
animal farm scenes

rajulakan

Postby rajulakan » July 1st, 2021, 2:06 pm

The cars are probably filled with smuggled in bottles of ketchup, mayonnaise and maraschino cherries.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 1st, 2021, 2:51 pm

j.o.e wrote:Also if I was A Minister y’all would hate me because is nothing less that a V8 with Akrapovic exhausts barking in the capital.
If allyuh gonna pong me for car purchases I will make sure it burn allyuh chessss

so much facts.

Postby Habit7 » July 1st, 2021, 3:03 pm

The issue is in the title of the thread. You would swear this is a luxury only afforded to ministers. But nearly all politicians, judges and several positions in the public service are granted this as travelling officers. Nearly all doctors in the public service can buy their cars and claim back for the taxes.

But because the govt is PNM and the minister is Deyalsingh it is an epic beat up. But when somebody in the camp decides that "let's be consistent and condemn all" you see the following response:

Screenshot 2021-07-01 093700.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2021, 3:08 pm

Zoom is Shoba Persad??

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2021, 3:11 pm

I remember when Range Rover was the instyle car
Literally everybody had to have one
From Brian Lara to bunji to every minister

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 4:16 pm

This isnt about PNM or UNC ,the point is his purchase was on the lower scale and the man should not be condemned for it...look at the man with the G63, a million and a half in lost revenue jump up there and which party he from anyway ? And he was an MP not even a minister in Govt actively working for the country, stop being disingenuous and stop the hate, even a farmer could get a waiver on a prado..

And like someone above said many more people in many areas of public service utilize this facility,even sportsmen and cultural figures have made successful requests before..

Stop the beat up its ridiculous..
Last edited by VII on July 1st, 2021, 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 4:27 pm

8-)

MaxPower wrote:Team,

What is the problem here?

A minister buy a lil vehicle and Trinis beating up?

A R35 now post up for sale for $650,000 and sold in minutes.

Who bought it? Imbert? Rowley? Kamla?

Allyuh stay in allyuh lane and stop counting people pockets.

Work with what you have and stay within your means even though it keeps yourself more fortunate than others.

Im sure the sufferers that beating up dont even donate a cent to those in need.

Btw, Teary is an ass in my books but allyuh need to dig a little deeper. His family is very active in some of the food drives.

Anyways, carry on with allyuh bling bling Prado.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 4:34 pm

Personally I think those taxes and duties are ridiculous in the first place..since I small we always have to pay MUCH more for less with automobiles here..that's real third world bullshitt,show me the government that can think beyond that and create and facilitate conditions for other more sustainable revenue streams and that's the government anyone should support.

As it stands just like the options on both sides it's same old same old...a man make a lil money and he want a nice car but it must cost as much as a house and in a couple years it ain't worth shyte..if we must be penalized for being successful the penalty should be much less and fixed across the board and they would actually collect more revenue because much more people would make such purchases..

CB Style

Postby CB Style » July 1st, 2021, 5:07 pm

Gladiator wrote:Don't know what all the beatup about the "Prado" is about. Its more of a 3rd world status symbol. For those who never drove one it handles like a boat. It heaves, yaws and rolls so badly it gives you motion sickness.

The Diesel Engine is weak and underwhelmig with a horrible transmission. Its noisy and letagic as hell. The inerior quality is one set of painted plastic and typical toyota lack of tech. As far as trinis and their Toyota "reliability" goes, i know an owner that had to replace the AC evaporator 3 times twice under warranty from TTTL... but hey its regarded as the "indian chariot"

Hello Gladiator,

All correct, it really is something how people are so amazed about Prados in Trini.

Anyways, what’s the “african chariot” though?

Hyundai Tucson or Kia Sportage???
Last edited by CB Style on July 1st, 2021, 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » July 1st, 2021, 5:10 pm

Where Terrence or the dealer HSM Marketing getting the forex to purchase tho?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 1st, 2021, 5:57 pm

VII wrote:Meanwhile third worlders beating up over half a Land-Cruiser.

get a load of mr big shot over here

Yeah of course a poor man would cry over spilt milk if things hard :?

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 6:13 pm

Deyalsingh milk spill on you ? What about Lee he ain milking ? Some people real backward yes...

Well go after the judges and doctors milk too..listen this is in the law ok,deal with it ,boldfaced much ?

ruffneck_12 wrote:
VII wrote:Meanwhile third worlders beating up over half a Land-Cruiser.

get a load of mr big shot over here

Yeah of course a poor man would cry over spilt milk if things hard :?
Last edited by VII on July 1st, 2021, 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » July 1st, 2021, 6:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:The issue is in the title of the thread. You would swear this is a luxury only afforded to ministers. But nearly all politicians, judges and several positions in the public service are granted this as travelling officers. Nearly all doctors in the public service can buy their cars and claim back for the taxes.

But because the govt is PNM and the minister is Deyalsingh it is an epic beat up. But when somebody in the camp decides that "let's be consistent and condemn all" you see the following response:

Screenshot 2021-07-01 093700.jpg
It's because Deyalsingh is a dead beat waste of time minster that does not serve the people.

Rowlair always have to apologise on his behalf

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 1st, 2021, 6:15 pm

The point is that the do not keep the vehicle for it's useful life . They change every two years and sell for a profit. That is high class double dipping. Most of them are millionaires and can afford to pay like anybody else. Blasted leeches.

VII

Postby VII » July 1st, 2021, 6:17 pm

They are entitled to it ok ....geez it's a perk people.

Hypocrites..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 1st, 2021, 6:27 pm

In all honesty, I think this tax exemption for politicians should be reviewed. Not saying pay all the taxes like regular plebs (then what's the point of holding high office), but maybe percentages of the entire amount.