Anand Ramlogan arrested & charged/2nd case dropped/new civil case

Re: Anand Ramlogan arrested & charged... AGAIN! Free money?

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2019, 11:56 am

yeah well that's what people trying to point out man. That attitude is not applied equally to everyone at all times. Only when it's time for political agendas to be schemed. Nowhere in this entire thread I am seeing anyone actually defending corruption, but talking about the hypocrisy of the ones who pointing the fingers.

VII

Postby VII » May 5th, 2019, 11:58 am

It has to start somewhere..but some can't see beyond their party card or race and religious differences and view proceedings objectively..

Sad for them..

Postby The_Honourable » May 5th, 2019, 12:05 pm

I believe many here don't have a problem of corrupt cases being started. Most times it does, it just does not lead to anything substantial in the end or gets stuck in the DPP office for years.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » May 5th, 2019, 12:44 pm

In Trinidad Indian culture is seen as a culture of self Interest. We do not believe that we can all rise together if each of us behaves morally. We seem to think nothing is wrong or peculiar about corruption since It is everywhere in our day to day lives. This I think leads us to tolerate corrupt individuals rather than correct them.

No race can be congenitally corrupt but any race can be corrupted by its culture. In the Hindu culture we are told to give god cash so we can anticipate an out-of-turn reward or favours. In the world outside the temple walls, such a transaction is named “bribe”.
If you are thought to believe that if God accepts your money in return for his favours, then nothing is wrong in doing the same thing giving money to a human in a high profile position. This is why Indians can be so easily corruptible. Indian culture accommodates and recommends such thinking.

So a absolutely and utterly corrupt politician can make a comeback Because we think it’s normal. We will never change.

So yeah we get rich quick and when we get caught in some under hand deal we say what about the 1% they should pay.

You only make a $100million while the 1% have a $100 billion u expect the same respect and protection. They can pay off everyone and everything to look the other way.

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2019, 1:31 pm

maj. tom wrote:yeah well that's what people trying to point out man. That attitude is not applied equally to everyone at all times. Only when it's time for political agendas to be schemed. Nowhere in this entire thread I am seeing anyone actually defending corruption, but talking about the hypocrisy of the ones who pointing the fingers.
Yup spot on

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2019, 1:41 pm

it seems there will be no preliminary inquiry with this plea type case unlike Piarco 15 years no start yet

first step is for the jamaican qc squealer to have his guilty plea finalized in the high court
and then they will use his evidence against these two, time will only tell.

with the current global money laundering accounting banking methods
if them boys guilty and any of that under table money passed in countries like US
they better watch out for future wire fraud charges from abroad
including friends and family who got pieces of that pie in those jurisdictions

this qc must be a very religious fella to be trying to buy salvation with a cancer diagnosis over his head

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2019, 1:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:yeah well that's what people trying to point out man. That attitude is not applied equally to everyone at all times. Only when it's time for political agendas to be schemed. Nowhere in this entire thread I am seeing anyone actually defending corruption, but talking about the hypocrisy of the ones who pointing the fingers.

You fell the suddenly resurgent PNM brigade don't know this? The problem is they've gotten an erection, so the blood isn't flowing to their brain, thus they fell for exactly what the timing of this charge, was meant to achieve.

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2019, 1:48 pm

pugboy wrote:it seems there will be no preliminary inquiry with this plea type case unlike Piarco 15 years no start yet

first step is for the jamaican qc squealer to have his guilty plea finalized in the high court
and then they will use his evidence against these two, time will only tell.

with the current global money laundering accounting banking methods
if them boys guilty and any of that under table money passed in countries like US
they better watch out for future wire fraud charges from abroad
including friends and family who got pieces of that pie in those jurisdictions

this qc must be a very religious fella to be trying to buy salvation with a cancer diagnosis over his head
This is like Roswell a big conspiracy.

Getting charged for conspiracy and receiving the money is two different things. PNM ppl yet to understand this .

All they know is injun get arrested so dem guilty as fvck.

The verdict of the court don't matter, if the PNM say you guilty then that's the truth.

Notice how the PNM media houses pumping this out.

As I say one half of the population are very guilable and stupid trinis.

Postby rspann » May 5th, 2019, 5:28 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:In Trinidad Indian culture is seen as a culture of self Interest. We do not believe that we can all rise together if each of us behaves morally. We seem to think nothing is wrong or peculiar about corruption since It is everywhere in our day to day lives. This I think leads us to tolerate corrupt individuals rather than correct them.

No race can be congenitally corrupt but any race can be corrupted by its culture. In the Hindu culture we are told to give god cash so we can anticipate an out-of-turn reward or favours. In the world outside the temple walls, such a transaction is named “bribe”.
If you are thought to believe that if God accepts your money in return for his favours, then nothing is wrong in doing the same thing giving money to a human in a high profile position. This is why Indians can be so easily corruptible. Indian culture accommodates and recommends such thinking.

So a absolutely and utterly corrupt politician can make a comeback Because we think it’s normal. We will never change.

So yeah we get rich quick and when we get caught in some under hand deal we say what about the 1% they should pay.

You only make a $100million while the 1% have a $100 billion u expect the same respect and protection. They can pay off everyone and everything to look the other way.

In one stroke of the brush, you paint all Indians as Hindu. There are also Christian and Muslim Indians along with other religions A little critical thinking before you type could lessen the racial bickering going on here. Also, are there no people of African descent who the corruption label can be attached?

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2019, 5:38 pm

rspann wrote:
The Bamboo Online wrote:In Trinidad Indian culture is seen as a culture of self Interest. We do not believe that we can all rise together if each of us behaves morally. We seem to think nothing is wrong or peculiar about corruption since It is everywhere in our day to day lives. This I think leads us to tolerate corrupt individuals rather than correct them.

In one stroke of the brush, you paint all Indians as Hindu. There are also Christian and Muslim Indians along with other religions A little critical thinking before you type could lessen the racial bickering going on here. Also, are there no people of African descent who the corruption label can be attached?
Oh grom let him bray nah.

I like when these ingorant ppl post these kind of racist remarks on Injuns

The poor fellar probably did not even know that there are African Hindus.

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2019, 7:28 pm

Real Bamboo mentality in some of these twits here trying to look smart.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 5th, 2019, 8:12 pm

It have rasta hindus too. Could find hindus who looking like Rowley all over India.

The question is can someone who looking like Rowley ever be accepted by Sat and the SDMS. What are the rules concerning such Zoomie?

Why you trying to act like what is practiced in India is accepted/practiced here. Stop ppaying fast with foolishness.

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Redress10 wrote:It have rasta hindus too. Could find hindus who looking like Rowley all over India.

The question is can someone who looking like Rowley ever be accepted by Sat and the SDMS. What are the rules concerning such Zoomie?

Why you trying to act like what is practiced in India is accepted/practiced here. Stop ppaying fast with foolishness.
Shango baptiste and Hinduism are closely linked. Off course Sat accepts African Hindus cause he don't see them as racist PNM ppl like yourself.

You can tune in to his radio program and learn rather than listen to i95.5

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2019, 9:34 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Is either you living under somebody dress sucking your thumb or you really don't know how pathetic our state institutions are in T&T.

Relevance?

Or did you think no one noticed your post clearly meant for the other ched with the caption "meanwhile" in an attempt to deflect? And the mods left with no choice, had to move that and another notable questionably moraled Tuner's post because of it's obvious irrelevance? If you don't respect your OWN ched, what am I to think of you?

Also, save all these schoolyard insults nuh? All these strange "dress" inspired insults from you lately are not necessary. It's like some kind of strange freudian - slip/speak. Take that sh!t up with yuh bush therapist, or save it for your little friends and lets stay on topic nuh?. All that chupid talk isn't called for. And you're not good at it. Sorry, but plain talk.

The_Honourable wrote:There are numerous examples across administrations where cases were brought and ended up with no convictions. Not only they fall through, some never even reach to trial. Remember the persons that was arrested during the 2011 SOE? It went to court? What happen? It fall down.

True, our justice system is chronically frozen, but "fall down?" Those persons arrested during the SOE went to court and were awarded cash for their wrongful arrest/imprisonments. What more do you need? The Life Sport collapsed because a judge ruled to quash the audit/report completed by the Central Audit Committee of the Ministry of Finance... and the list goes on. Technicalities, lack of political will, or something much worse. It's just the sad state of our judicial landscape. And no doubt a money laundering case could be even trickier, but no one is aware of what evidence the state has? are you? And are you saying we shouldn't try cases because of impending lawyers fees? Money laundering has been for too long been a low priority for addressing. Not to mention potentially bringing the criminals to justice themselves and probably even confiscation/recouping of assets. If the ched is supposedly about alleged corruption in the AG's office during the PP/UNC's term, then let's discuss that? Whaz the problem? From literally the get-effing-go of this issue, I have to scroll past multiple "well PNM did it too" posts before anyone could learn about the specifics in THIS effing case? Like literally less than a handful of posts in??? :lol: And that's not deflection?? And now i'm reading from a tuner who obviously pretends to be above the partisan fray saying that THAT wasn't an exercise in deflection itself and making excuses for what going on in here from these plebs?? And all while reprimanding the opposition for not doing the very same thing too?? It's no secret that ANY political entity that starts seeking to charge anyone with corruption would be hypocritical in itself, but what really going on here? What kinda hypocrisy vortex are we now entering? Interesting revelations in here though?

airuma

Postby airuma » May 5th, 2019, 9:56 pm

shogun wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Is either you living under somebody dress sucking your thumb or you really don't know how pathetic our state institutions are in T&T.

Also, save all these schoolyard insults nuh? All these strange "dress" inspired insults from you lately are not necessary. It's like some kind of strange freudian - slip/speak. Take that sh!t up with yuh bush therapist, or save it for your little friends and lets stay on topic nuh?. All that chupid talk isn't called for. And you're not good at it. Sorry, but plain talk.

When you condemn something and then go ahead and do exactly the same you demonstrate that you are not interested in a level playing field i.e. what's good for the goose is not good for the gander!

On another note, comments about money laundering and Dana Seetahal rolled in. I always thought that && spoke as if he was prepared on the morning of Dana's death and I also wondered if Dana Seetahal's killing was related to the fact that her sister held a senior position in the FIU.

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2019, 10:01 pm

airuma wrote:
shogun wrote:

When you condemn something and then go ahead and do exactly the same you demonstrate that you are not interested in a level playing field i.e. what's good for the goose is not good for the gander!

Did I though?

Or did I just ask him to take whatever issue he has up with the relevant person[s]? Food for thought.

airuma wrote:On another note, comments about money laundering and Dana Seetahal rolled in. I always thought that && spoke as if he was prepared on the morning of Dana's death and I also wondered if Dana Seetahal's killing was related to the fact that her sister held a senior position in the FIU.

Dana's own field of expertise, experience and focus had a lot more to do with that. Heard that point before though. I'm sure peripherally it was part of it. Anyways, let me say no more. Still wish she was around. We need people like her around now more than ever.
Last edited by shogun on May 5th, 2019, 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » May 5th, 2019, 10:10 pm

Shogun stop pretending to be intelligent just because you can type an essay. A whole paragraph of nonsense and wasting tuners time. I'll address the 2nd part since it is more relevant.

The cases fall down, not the justice system which is dead slow for how many decades. If the state not doing their part properly, the other side will just collect money in damages even if they were in the wrong.

I have no problem when the state is pursuing a persons or persons for corruption. My point is that from a history of cases, it does not lead to a conviction. Yes "it is a start", "we have to start somewhere", "we must go after money launderers" and all that... my concern is what happens in the end 2+ years from now. Jail or not?

airuma wrote:On another note, comments about money laundering and Dana Seetahal rolled in. I always thought that && spoke as if he was prepared on the morning of Dana's death and I also wondered if Dana Seetahal's killing was related to the fact that her sister held a senior position in the FIU.

I've heard that but it's in the realm of conspiracy, with many other conspiracies that surrounds her murder. Another conspiracy was that Anand call a shot on Dana to distract the population from "Prisongate" at the time. The only persons who know the truth is Rajaee Ali and company.

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2019, 10:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Shogun stop pretending to be intelligent just because you can type an essay. A whole paragraph of nonsense and wasting tuners time. I'll address the 2nd part since it is more relevant.

Maybe AFTER you stop using that very same excuse, every single time? It's like the last face-saver, while conveniently avoiding a single rebuttal tactic, you have left these days ? :lol: I mean, I'm not intelligent. I agree. Ignore me then? Very simple.

The_Honourable wrote:The cases fall down, not the justice system which is dead slow for how many decades. If the state not doing their part properly, the other side will just collect money in damages even if they were in the wrong.

I have no problem when the state is pursuing a persons or persons for corruption. My point is that from a history of cases, it does not lead to a conviction. Yes "it is a start", "we have to start somewhere", "we must go after money launderers" and all that... my concern is what happens in the end 2+ years from now. Jail or not?

Pretty over simplistic take there? But whatever works for you, I guess. There are so many moving parts involved. The best way to address the problem, is to put it to work. Not gonna lie, it might take time, but well worth the pay-off to me personally.
Last edited by shogun on May 5th, 2019, 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 5th, 2019, 10:30 pm

Redress10 wrote:It have rasta hindus too. Could find hindus who looking like Rowley all over India.

Shango baptiste and Hinduism are closely linked. Off course Sat accepts African Hindus cause he don't see them as racist PNM ppl like yourself.

Baptises identify as Christians. How they closely link to Hinduism?

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2019, 10:54 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Baptises identify as Christians. How they closely link to Hinduism?
Did you not read where I said " Shango baptiste "

It's time you stop posting and take a rest

Lawd PNM ppl head hard

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2019, 6:55 am

^ RIp Shang....................

Never mind!!!!!!!

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2019, 7:17 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ RIp Shang....................

Never mind!!!!!!!
What became of shango?

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2019, 7:25 am

airuma wrote:
shogun wrote:

On another note, comments about money laundering and Dana Seetahal rolled in. I always thought that && spoke as if he was prepared on the morning of Dana's death and I also wondered if Dana Seetahal's killing was related to the fact that her sister held a senior position in the FIU.

Trinidad is a place where your information could be 100% accurate, with some PROOF but due to our legal system not ascend to the quality of EVIDENCE and therefore 100% useless in a court of law.

That said- the Nexus point of Ms Francis,David West,GG and these events MUST have Ramlogan concerned.

Him being a main cabinet minister is also food for thought.
This being the Cabinet that approved the 26M tow job.

Postby The_Honourable » May 6th, 2019, 9:23 am

State moving to seize assets

Gov­ern­ment will seek to push two pieces of leg­is­la­tion in the com­ing weeks to al­low the State to re­cov­er prop­er­ties and oth­er as­sets from for­mer at­tor­ney gen­er­al Anand Ram­lo­gan and UNC Sen­a­tor Ger­ald Ramdeen.

A high-rank­ing in­sid­er at the Of­fice of the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al told Guardian Me­dia that the Gov­ern­ment in­tends to push the amend­ments to the Reg­is­tra­tion of Deeds Bill and push to have the Un­ex­plained Wealth Or­ders in re­spect of the Civ­il As­sets Bill pro­claimed to specif­i­cal­ly deal with the two men.

Both men were de­tained by of­fi­cers at­tached to the An­ti-Cor­rup­tion In­ves­ti­ga­tions Bu­reau (ACIB) for over 70 hours be­tween Wednes­day and Fri­day be­fore be­ing charged. The two are ex­pect­ed to ap­pear in court to­day.

Guardian Me­dia was told that Gov­ern­ment in­tends to push eight amend­ments to the Reg­is­tra­tion of Deeds Bill, cur­rent­ly be­fore Par­lia­ment, as it will form a ma­jor part of State’s case against Ram­lo­gan and Ramdeen.

Of the eight claus­es, it is Clause 3 which will aid the Gov­ern­ment’s case as it in­cludes two ad­di­tion­al in­dex­es for con­tracts for the sale of land and ben­e­fi­cial own­ers, “which be­comes nec­es­sary be­cause of amend­ments to the Com­pa­nies Act to deal with ben­e­fi­cial own­er­ship”. An­oth­er sub-para­graph in the Bill would in­sert a num­ber of new sub­sec­tions which in­cludes pro­vi­sions to “em­pow­er the Reg­is­trar Gen­er­al to keep an­oth­er in­dex for all in­stru­ments of trusts which are reg­is­tered un­der the Reg­is­tra­tion of Deeds Act”.

Ac­cord­ing to a high-lev­el in­sid­er at the Of­fice of the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al, the in­dex is a closed in­dex and for the pur­pose of the State’s oblig­a­tions un­der the Fi­nan­cial Ac­tion Task Force. Rec­om­men­da­tions can on­ly be ac­cessed by the Di­rec­tor of the Fi­nan­cial In­tel­li­gence Unit of T&T (the FIU) for the pur­pose of en­abling the FIU to do its analy­sis un­der the Fi­nan­cial In­tel­li­gence Unit of T&T Act.

The in­dex will al­so be open to an of­fi­cer of the Po­lice Ser­vice of the rank of Su­per­in­ten­dent or above at­tached to the fi­nan­cial in­ves­ti­ga­tions or fraud di­vi­sions, sole­ly for the pur­pos­es of in­ves­ti­gat­ing whether a crim­i­nal of­fence has been com­mit­ted un­der any law.

The in­dex is al­so open to the Chair­man of the Board of In­land Rev­enue and by or­der of the court.

Clause 4 of the bill is al­so rel­e­vant as it deals with prop­er­ties pur­chased out­side of the ju­ris­dic­tion of T&T even if it is pur­chased by a com­pa­ny or cor­po­ra­tion.

The Gov­ern­ment will al­so be mov­ing quick­ly to have the Un­ex­plained Wealth Or­ders in re­spect of the Civ­il As­sets Bill pro­claimed which will al­low the State to levy on the as­sets of those in­volved to re­cov­er mon­ey.

The high-rank­ing of­fi­cial at the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al’s of­fice told Guardian Me­dia that the State will move to seize the as­sets of the two men, Ram­lo­gan and Ramdeen, once giv­en the go-ahead from the courts.

The State will al­so seek to seize oth­er as­sets of both men in or­der to re­cov­er some of the $1.4 bil­lion spent un­der the Of­fice of the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al be­tween 2010 and 2015 in le­gal fees.

“The way the law works is that pro­ceeds of crime are re­cov­er­able,” the source said.

The of­fi­cial of the At­tor­ney Gen­er­al’s of­fice told Guardian Me­dia that the se­ries of laws passed in the past year were to deal with mat­ters just like these.

“They (Ram­lo­gan and Ramdeen) were charged un­der the Pro­ceeds of Crime Act for mon­ey laun­der­ing, if you look at Sec­tions 44 and 45, these are very se­ri­ous of­fences,” the source said.

The in­sid­er said that when the au­dit in­to the AG of­fice was com­plet­ed, it be­came “ob­vi­ous” that mon­ey was mis­man­aged.

Guardian Me­dia was al­so told that the whis­tle-blow­ing tes­ti­mo­ny by Queen’s Coun­sel Vin­cent Nel­son in­clud­ed the names of at least three oth­er lawyers who ben­e­fit­ed from le­gal briefs dur­ing the time Ram­lo­gan held of­fice.

The in­sid­er told Guardian Me­dia that of those three lawyers, there is enough in­for­ma­tion on one of them for the po­lice to act.

About the case

On May 1, Anand Ram­lo­gan was de­tained at the Pi­ar­co In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port by ACIB of­fi­cers at 4.15 am and tak­en to the of­fice at 33 In­de­pen­dence Square, Port-of-Spain.

Ramdeen was told that there was a war­rant out for his ar­rest and sur­ren­dered to of­fi­cers at the same ACIB of­fice around 7 a.m that same morn­ing.

It was re­port­ed that the two were held in con­nec­tion with in­for­ma­tion re­ceived from a whistle­blow­er, Queen’s Coun­sel Vin­cent Nel­son.

Nel­son ap­peared in court on Thurs­day un­der a plea bar­gain­ing deal which will see him plead guilty to three charges and tes­ti­fy for the State against Ram­lo­gan and Ramdeen.

By Fri­day night af­ter more than 70 hours in cus­tody, it was re­port­ed that both men were charged with three of­fences of con­spir­a­cy to re­ceive fi­nan­cial re­wards.

Ram­lo­gan was placed on a $1.2 mil­lion bail, while Ramdeen was placed on a $1.5 mil­lion bail.

Crit­i­cal sec­tions of

Pro­ceeds of Crime Act

44. (1) An of­fence com­mit­ted un­der sec­tion 45 shall be known as a mon­ey laun­der­ing of­fence and the term “mon­ey laun­der­ing” shall be con­strued ac­cord­ing­ly.

(2) The of­fence of mon­ey laun­der­ing is an in­dictable of­fence.

45. (1) A per­son who knows or has rea­son­able grounds to sus­pect that prop­er­ty is crim­i­nal prop­er­ty and who—

(a) en­gages di­rect­ly or in­di­rect­ly, in a trans­ac­tion that in­volves that crim­i­nal prop­er­ty; or

(b) re­ceives, pos­sess­es, con­ceals, dis­pos­es of, dis­guis­es, trans­fers, brings in­to, or sends out of Trinidad and To­ba­go, that crim­i­nal prop­er­ty; or

(c) con­verts, trans­fers or re­moves from Trinidad and To­ba­go that crim­i­nal prop­er­ty, com­mits an of­fence of mon­ey laun­der­ing.

(2) For the pur­pos­es of sub­sec­tion (1), a fi­nan­cial in­sti­tu­tion or list­ed busi­ness knows or has grounds to sus­pect that the prop­er­ty is crim­i­nal prop­er­ty, if it or he fails to take rea­son­able steps to im­ple­ment or ap­ply pro­ce­dures to con­trol or com­bat mon­ey laun­der­ing in ac­cor­dance with the Reg­u­la­tions made pur­suant to sec­tion 56.

(3) Where a per­son is charged with an of­fence un­der this sec­tion and the Court is sat­is­fied that the prop­er­ty in his pos­ses­sion or un­der his con­trol was not ac­quired from in­come de­rived from a le­git­i­mate source, it shall be pre­sumed, un­less the con­trary is proven, that the prop­er­ty is crim­i­nal prop­er­ty.

(4) For the pur­pos­es of sub­sec­tion (3), the stan­dard of proof re­quired by the per­son re­ferred to in that sub­sec­tion, shall be that ap­plic­a­ble in civ­il pro­ceed­ings.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/sta ... ize-assets

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2019, 9:29 am

It was coincidental that the day they arrested && I was in a presentation conducted by the Director of the FIU and he indicated that not one person has ever been successfully convicted of money laundering in Trinidad ever. In the few instances people are before the courts they end up being found guilty of other charges such as fraud.

Seems hard to believe but he is the expert.

Postby The_Honourable » May 6th, 2019, 9:55 am

RAMLOGAN: NO WEAPON FORMED AGAINST ME WILL PROSPER

Former Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and his attorney Pamela Elder speak with members of the media outside of the court Monday morning.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 6th, 2019, 9:56 am

^ well that's a really interesting stat.
Is it that money laundering is not properly defined legally?

airuma

Postby airuma » May 6th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:It was coincidental that the day they arrested && I was in a presentation conducted by the Director of the FIU and he indicated that not one person has ever been successfully convicted of money laundering in Trinidad ever. In the few instances people are before the courts they end up being found guilty of other charges such as fraud.

Are there any international ramifications if a previous high public office holder is found guilty of money laundering while in office? At the end of the day, himself investigating himself (himself = Trinbagonian) will almost never result in an unbiased outcome if we will all be tainted internationally as a result.
IMHO, if && is found guilty...... The Prime Minister who allowed it to happen unnoticed should hand in their resignation.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2019, 12:50 pm

airuma wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:It was coincidental that the day they arrested && I was in a presentation conducted by the Director of the FIU and he indicated that not one person has ever been successfully convicted of money laundering in Trinidad ever. In the few instances people are before the courts they end up being found guilty of other charges such as fraud.

Are there any international ramifications if a previous high public office holder is found guilty of money laundering while in office? At the end of the day, himself investigating himself (himself = Trinbagonian) will almost never result in an unbiased outcome if we will all be tainted internationally as a result.
IMHO, if && is found guilty...... The Prime Minister who allowed it to happen unnoticed should hand in their resignation.

FIU doesn't investigate. They are an administrative type FIU where other countries have investigative or hybrid type FIUs.

The law only allows for the FIU to refer a suspicious transaction/activity to one of either Commissioner of Police, Chairman of Board of Inland Revenue, Comptroller of Customs or Chief Immigration Officer.

Postby toyolink » May 6th, 2019, 2:40 pm

Since the state witness is the supposed conduit for money movement this should be a 'slam-dunk'.
He certainly would provide all the executed remittance payments and evidence of instructions rec'd.
……..Or would he?