Re: Hyundai Ioniq in Trinidad...

Postby PariaMan » November 11th, 2017, 10:07 pm

Really do not see this as pratical

Postby sMASH » November 11th, 2017, 10:09 pm

But usually cng takes 14 to fill. So multiply that by 8.5 and u get $119, which is how much cng to get 850 KM.
And I usually am Frugal with the gasoline, so a full tank is like 8000 KM to refill and it takes like $150.
So that is like $15 per 800 KM.

So 119 in cng and 15 in gasoline per 850 KM. 134 per 800 KM in cng/gasoline bifuel.

But that is at present cng price. They may double it some time, not now but in a timing.

Postby X_Factor » November 12th, 2017, 12:23 am

can you get more than 100km on the tank of cng?
strict highway runs, not crossing 80km wit A/c

the commute for the day is approx 70k return trip, so that means a fill up every day which not really practical atm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 8:15 am

This has been my point for the longest while.

From the driver's point of view high mileage driver's will have to go once a day and normal driver's twice a day. These are the people who will really benefit from CBC. Too me that is not practical.

Also if a lot of people convert there will simply not be enough gas stations to accommodate that high volume

Thus CNG while beneficial cannot be ramped up to the majority of driver's in TRINIDAD.

It may make sense for maxis and busses and businesses but not for private car owners

By far the better strategy for private car owners is hybrid .For about the same price you go once every 3 weeks with more or less the same mileage.

Gas stations and car dealerships will not back this since hybrid cars require less maintenance

That I believe is why governments are not pushing hybrids as much as CNG

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 8:18 am

Finally the ioniq cost is with a fuel that basically has zero or no subsidy while CNG is subsided which means the price can eventually rise

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 8:34 am

I see this whole CNG thing as a diversion. It keeps the population quiet with the idea that their is an alternative while knowing fully well that the alternative is not practical for a significant ramp up. At the same time big business is kept happy

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 12th, 2017, 12:49 pm

Seeing plenty Ioniq on the road for a car that less than 1 year old.

Massy sales person told me that Ioniq cannibalizing Elentra sales.

Just a matter of time until Hyundai/Massy start jacking up the prices of these cars.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2017, 1:01 pm

Padna put Burmac Cng in his 2.7 gas hilux
He gets about 130km per fill

He lives in Diego so he can fill up by flour mills or new station by starlite plaza

X_Factor wrote:can you get more than 100km on the tank of cng?
strict highway runs, not crossing 80km wit A/c

the commute for the day is approx 70k return trip, so that means a fill up every day which not really practical atm

Postby X_Factor » November 12th, 2017, 1:06 pm

^what size tank?
even if the fill up is every other day that wont be too bad
but every day, pressah

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2017, 4:23 pm

Yes... But it varied with the run, driving style, temperature, final refill pressure and if it switched off, let it rest a bit and switch it back on. I got a 10 Mins again.
Most on one refill was like 125km.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 4:27 pm

@x_factor like you have to fill everyday if you do not want to run out of CNG on second date

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2017, 4:28 pm

Cng us subsidized and they said they may increase it if more people adopt it.

One the hybrid has the functionality of 110v recharging,
It seems the better bet... For personal use and mass transit purpose.
That regenerative breaking is a game changer.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Non plug in hybrid like the current ioniq selling in Trinidad does not need plugging in at all

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2017, 4:31 pm

PariaMan wrote:@x_factor like you have to fill everyday if you do not want to run out of CNG on second date

It is a SIGNIFICANT drawback for the system. The standard 70l tank is huge, about 100 lb and only gives 100km. Refill frequency is a toll.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 12th, 2017, 9:43 pm

PariaMan wrote:This has been my point for the longest while.

From the driver's point of view high mileage driver's will have to go once a day and normal driver's twice a day. These are the people who will really benefit from CBC. Too me that is not practical.

Also if a lot of people convert there will simply not be enough gas stations to accommodate that high volume

Thus CNG while beneficial cannot be ramped up to the majority of driver's in TRINIDAD.

It may make sense for maxis and busses and businesses but not for private car owners

By far the better strategy for private car owners is hybrid .For about the same price you go once every 3 weeks with more or less the same mileage.

Gas stations and car dealerships will not back this since hybrid cars require less maintenance

That I believe is why governments are not pushing hybrids as much as CNG

The Ioniq still has the same maintenance schedule as the Elantra ... The Regen braking on the Ioniq is not very aggresive so you end up still using the brake pads to stop. Also the local model still has a normal Lead acid battery.

The tax exemptions on Hybrids we supposed to last 5 years and yet they have already been eroded ... The Hybrids available now to the Public tax free is the Ioniq, Prius C and the Vezel/Fit (which I do not recommend buying as they have had numerous problems/recalls in Japan). So very soon hybrids will not be a viable option price wise.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 10:32 pm

You forgot the Kia Niro at 220000 . Seems to be highly rated in foreign countries.

Also earlier on in the thread the Ioniq owner said that the service intervals was 15000 KM. very much doubt the elantra is that most likely 5000k.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 12th, 2017, 10:42 pm

Sorry forgot the Niro ... the latest of the line up. I wonder what the price will be once the tax exemptions are up about 100K more?

When I went to the Test drive event when it first launched the very well educated sales team said maintenance schedule is 5000 km or every 6 months.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2017, 10:46 pm

The owner synspz said 15000km which is what my research says in other countries.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 12th, 2017, 11:00 pm

Does the local dealer for Hyundai follow the "international" maintenance schedule for any other vehicle in their line up?

I can only report what the authorized local dealer (Massy) for Hyundai has said and that was 5000 KM or 6 months. Do you think Massy would be pushing to sell a vehicle that cuts their service earnings by 1/3?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2017, 11:19 pm

drchaos wrote:The Ioniq still has the same maintenance schedule as the Elantra ... The Regen braking on the Ioniq is not very aggresive so you end up still using the brake pads to stop. Also the local model still has a normal Lead acid battery.

To be clear, the lead acid battery is only for starting the gasoline motor. Not to run the electric motor. I know some people were confused by this.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 13th, 2017, 3:14 pm

PariaMan wrote:The owner synspz said 15000km which is what my research says in other countries.

I know of another Ioniq owner, Who does Valencia to POS daily. Got his car after mine. Already did his first service. And Massy told him to come back in another 5000km. Now, What they changed was, Oil filter, Checked alignment, Changed the oil, Checked lines, belts, brakes ETC, I'd try to get a copy of the invoice, But I'm thinking servicing every 5000KM might be a lil too soon? Unless they probably gonna change the brakes, transmission fluid and air filter etc at 10000km, I don't really see the point of going every 5000km. We'll see.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 13th, 2017, 3:20 pm

I wanted to go check out the Nero, It's supposed to be a crossover type hybrid.

Also, Driving the Ioniq without the AC is completely different. I should probably do it more often. Look at me still learning things.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 13th, 2017, 3:45 pm

Just got the specs sheet seems fully loaded

cryotec

Postby cryotec » November 13th, 2017, 3:45 pm

snypaz wrote:I wanted to go check out the Nero, It's supposed to be a crossover type hybrid.

Also, Driving the Ioniq without the AC is completely different. I should probably do it more often. Look at me still learning things.

Consume less gas?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 13th, 2017, 3:47 pm

Comes with sunroof
20171113_154948.jpg

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 13th, 2017, 4:00 pm

cryotec wrote:
snypaz wrote:I wanted to go check out the Nero, It's supposed to be a crossover type hybrid.

Consume less gas?

It does. Immediate power (I noticed a slight difference). I never drove without AC til last week. During traffic and on the highway Saturday night headed to Trincity for Kafta. Car was amazing. Had to slow down though citing speed traps. Gas mileage wasn't affected. Range actually went up.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 13th, 2017, 4:03 pm

PariaMan wrote:Comes with sunroof
20171113_154948.jpg

Does this come in different options though? Meaning are you gonna get the sunroof option at $220K?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 13th, 2017, 4:04 pm

From the info I get is just one option they selling

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 13th, 2017, 4:09 pm

Idk if I trust Kia and their service dept with a Hybrid. LOL. But I'd love to see the reviews locally if someone gets one. I'm not sure of the price, But ti's supposed to be a lil bigger than the Ioniq.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 13th, 2017, 4:12 pm

Price quoted 221000. Which is similar to the loaded Ioniq.