src1983 wrote:
lionofzion wrote:If short man removes subsidy it'll cost us:
Per Litre:-

$4.21 - Diesel
$4.53 - Super
$4.73 - Premium

Post calculation on how you come up with this nah

This can't be right.
Diesel without a subsidy would end up being priced higher than Super and probably even Premium.

I don't think diesel will be more than petrol prices here since we have such poor quality diesel!

Also I agree with having 2 diesel pumps. One for the trucks and one for SUVs and modern diesel engines. They just have to manage it properly.

Re: RE: Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 6th, 2016, 9:44 am

Pirate wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:
src1983 wrote:
lionofzion wrote:If short man removes subsidy it'll cost us:
Per Litre:-

$4.21 - Diesel
$4.53 - Super
$4.73 - Premium

Post calculation on how you come up with this nah

This can't be right.
Diesel without a subsidy would end up being priced higher than Super and probably even Premium.

I don't think diesel will be more than petrol prices here since we have such poor quality diesel!

Also I agree with having 2 diesel pumps. One for the trucks and one for SUVs and modern diesel engines. They just have to manage it properly.

True prices fluctuate. Sometimes diesel is more expensive than petrol. Our diesel is also exported so market prices influence the true price of it locally.

Also don't focus on the spec too much to decide what you think the price should be. Think of it like two qualities of diesel available, one with low sulphur and one with higher sulphur, both expensive with ULSD more expensive than higher sulphur diesel.

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby 16 cycles » April 6th, 2016, 9:59 am

Foreign flagged vessels enjoy the benefit of the subsidy presently when they refuel here?

Postby skylinechild » April 7th, 2016, 1:10 pm

16 cycles wrote:Foreign flagged vessels enjoy the benefit of the subsidy presently when they refuel here?

AFAIK....no they dont...they have to buy the fuel at the unsubsidized price.

someone mentioned that there are two pumps...one for locals and one for foreign boats....the pump used by foreign boats is obviously higher.....it was said they just pay someone to buy the fuel for them at the local pump...and bring it for them.... :?

ie they cant buy it themselves directly from the local pump so they ask any one to buy it for dem.....and giv dem a few $$$$

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 7th, 2016, 4:43 pm

Hearing super and diesel going up but premium not dropping in price.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 7th, 2016, 4:45 pm

Sigh...

Postby 1UZFE » April 7th, 2016, 4:53 pm

The other 94% will be affected.

Postby S_2NR » April 7th, 2016, 4:56 pm

Fun...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 7th, 2016, 5:25 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Hearing super and diesel going up but premium not dropping in price.

How very very dissapointing

Postby Morpheus » April 7th, 2016, 6:19 pm

No sense buying a car that uses super now. Better I keep meh premium gas guzzler

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 7th, 2016, 6:26 pm

Fellas hopefully my info wrong.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 7th, 2016, 8:18 pm

:( :(
Hopefully it is wrong. Although I honestly won't be surprised if it stayed the same.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 7th, 2016, 8:33 pm

It won't be complete removal but def a movement. From the sources I'm hearing at least a dollar on super..diesel may be slightly less at 80-90 cents

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2016, 8:37 pm

gas stations not full of panic buyers

Postby Morpheus » April 7th, 2016, 8:47 pm

pugboy wrote:gas stations not full of panic buyers

That is a surprise by itself...

Postby pete » April 7th, 2016, 8:50 pm

Here is the only place people seem concerned.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 7th, 2016, 8:53 pm

Maybe people forget a budget in April? I myself wasn't studying fuel prices.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 7th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Think most people forgot.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 7th, 2016, 9:32 pm

So basically the premium buyers just not subsidizing super as much as before? Premium users are punished imo.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2016, 9:52 pm

Did you ever notice that ALL the people who advocate for the removal of the gas subsidy have their business fixed already?

Karen Nunez Teixeira, Roger Hosein, Mariano Browne, Conrad Enill, The Olivierre lady ( Minister of Energy)

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 8th, 2016, 5:58 am

Well today is the day.
Let's see how it ends.
You all know that Europe was promoting LPG as a fuel in vehicles, maybe it's time to put some cooking gas tanks in and drive lol.
It's easier to get than CNG.
If someone has the capital they can open a 50/100 capacity CNG only filling station and ease the CNG problem currently.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 8th, 2016, 10:11 am

The problem is that trinis just don't believe in CNG. I told my father I was gonna install a CNG kit and he said don't waste my money on that garbage.. That it would just destroy my engine :/ . it's only afterwards when I explained and showed him what the kit comes with and the dotish high octane rating of CNG he became interested.. He wants to run a CNG injection similar to how aem methanol injection works.. In his car now lol.. CNG absolutely has to be promoted more to remove the negative perspective on it...

Postby skylinechild » April 8th, 2016, 10:49 am

infinite_RPM wrote:The problem is that trinis just don't believe in CNG. I told my father I was gonna install a CNG kit and he said don't waste my money on that garbage.. That it would just destroy my engine :/ . it's only afterwards when I explained and showed him what the kit comes with and the dotish high octane rating of CNG he became interested.. He wants to run a CNG injection similar to how aem methanol injection works.. In his car now lol.. CNG absolutely has to be promoted more to remove the negative perspective on it...

[cool story bro]

but in all seriousness....why must we convert to CNG when we can simply buy cars that use CNG and other types like ethanol...flex fuel....even diesel.....but our laws state u cannot import a RORO diesel car.....unsure how it wud apply to other types of fuels....

ie bringing down a car that uses a different type of fuel - ethanol ...flex fuel...etc

i wonder is the PM new mercedes uses CNG thou....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 8th, 2016, 10:58 am

skylinechild wrote:

On TAX money...

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 11:00 am

bluefete wrote:Did you ever notice that ALL the people who advocate for the removal of the gas subsidy have their business fixed already?

Karen Nunez Teixeira, Roger Hosein, Mariano Browne, Conrad Enill, The Olivierre lady ( Minister of Energy)

Underwear Stain Man, Bimbert,

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 8th, 2016, 11:14 am

skylinechild wrote:

[cool story bro]

but in all seriousness....why must we convert to CNG when we can simply buy cars that use CNG and other types like ethanol...flex fuel....even diesel.....but our laws state u cannot import a RORO diesel car.....unsure how it wud apply to other types of fuels....

ie bringing down a car that uses a different type of fuel - ethanol ...flex fuel...etc

The problem is nobody cares about alternative fuels.. In addition I'm sure there is a lot more money to be made from super and premium so why bother..

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 8th, 2016, 11:17 am

ADONI wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

On TAX money...

The motto of leaders in this country is "DO as I say, NOT as I do".

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 8th, 2016, 11:24 am

Postby eliteauto » April 8th, 2016, 11:27 am

infinite_RPM wrote:The problem is that trinis just don't believe in CNG. I told my father I was gonna install a CNG kit and he said don't waste my money on that garbage.. That it would just destroy my engine :/ . it's only afterwards when I explained and showed him what the kit comes with and the dotish high octane rating of CNG he became interested.. He wants to run a CNG injection similar to how aem methanol injection works.. In his car now lol.. CNG absolutely has to be promoted more to remove the negative perspective on it...

CNG is dead tech, I was discussing it yest with a senior economist, I told him a removal of the gas subsidy would result in increased costs to the consumer, he said no seeing as how Dominic Hadeed, the TTMA Assoc Brands etc had said they have provisions to absorb the increase as long as electricity doesn't go up, I explained to him that transport operators would increase their prices again he insisted they wouldn't as they would be encouraged to go CNG, at this point I had to explain that technocrats are woefully out of touch with what happens in the real world, they are absorbed with numbers and don't see the human and political costs. If CNG was economically attractive mass transport would have adopted it a long time ago, I asked where would the tanks go on large maxis (roof) how long would they last (1.5 days/as per current operation) and where would they fill (at present I think we have 9 CNG stations and 3 CNG "motherships") , considering the cost of conversion and the inability to fill 2000 maxis by 9 stations it's obvious maxi drivers would simply increase prices and continue business as usual to suggest otherwise is foolish. NGC is responsible for the CNG thrust so I asked is the fleet of the NGC 100% CNG? If it isn't how are you convincing anyone otherwise? PTSC imported CNG buses yet their CNG filling station at VMCOTT/City Gate hasn't taken off, last I checked they fill gas on the Beetham early on mornings . We need ppl who are up to date on tech and who can provide realistic real time info, sadly no Gov't has ever done that so more pie in the sky.

My take on the subsidy..... leave it alone it's one of the few REAL perks ALL citizens can enjoy in a country where the elite and their political cohorts/lackeys fill their pockets whilst the working poor suffer

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 8th, 2016, 11:29 am

mark2.0 wrote:http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/diesel_prices/

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/