90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Re: 90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2016, 6:44 pm

tourniquet wrote:How far have they reached with this?

Right now how much to t'ief being tendered out. The actual t'iefing will begin at years end, when hastily formed PNM companies will be registered. After all is WTN!

Most likely rfari will get a contract, since PNM stole election we no longer see rfari posting as a paid blogger.

Postby De Dragon » June 8th, 2016, 4:00 am

Right now how much to t'ief being tendered out. The actual t'iefing will begin at years end, when hastily formed PNM companies will be registered. After all is WTN!

Most likely rfari will get a contract, since PNM stole election we no longer see rfari posting as a paid blogger.

Mebbe he get it arready and dais why we eh seeing he.

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2016, 12:06 pm

Mebbe he get it arready and dais why we eh seeing he.

Nah PNM stop his payments but Habit7 still carries on in his HDC house

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2017, 11:18 pm

lookie what i found floating round fassbook...

not only i think that we have more pertinent matters to spend money on, than that stadium...

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » March 28th, 2017, 7:35 am

not only i think that we have more pertinent matters to spend money on, than that stadium...[/quote]Image

abbow

Postby abbow » March 28th, 2017, 8:07 am

by the time that place open, we will have to fork out another $90,000,000.00 to refurbish it...

Postby Ben_spanna » March 28th, 2017, 8:09 am

abbow wrote:by the time that place open, we will have to fork out another $90,000,000.00 to refurbish it...

well the way politics works in Trinidad if UNC ever regains power then they will say it needs 1 Billion to repair from lack of use and then all of their Friends and financiers will get the Dollaz, and We the people will continue to suffer while all our money gets siphoned out.

Average

Postby Average » March 28th, 2017, 8:35 am

Lol So no money is being siphoned out under the pnm right? We just going to let them have their way?

Postby sMASH » March 28th, 2017, 9:03 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
abbow wrote:by the time that place open, we will have to fork out another $90,000,000.00 to refurbish it...

well the way politics works in Trinidad if UNC ever regains power then they will say it needs 1 Billion to repair from lack of use and then all of their Friends and financiers will get the Dollaz, and We the people will continue to suffer while all our money gets siphoned out.

5 years in power, all the money in the treasury, and a goodish economy, and they still didn't see fit to revisit that project. imagine, a notorious band of thieves opting to not venture into an avenue to make millions of dollars in contracts...

Postby Les Bain » March 28th, 2017, 9:06 am

Utter social media failure on Udecott FB post with the aerial shot of the Brian Lara cash drain.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2017, 9:27 am

Les Bain wrote:Utter social media failure on Udecott FB post with the aerial shot of the Brian Lara cash drain.

The UWI Eng lecturer who is one of the more frequent posters on that photo thinks it showcases the excellent work by the Project Management MSc cohort of UWI Engineering faculty and is an overall good project for the country though.

Postby Les Bain » March 28th, 2017, 9:31 am

Les Bain wrote:Utter social media failure on Udecott FB post with the aerial shot of the Brian Lara cash drain.

The UWI Eng lecturer who is one of the more frequent posters on that photo thinks it showcases the excellent work by the Project Management MSc cohort of UWI Engineering faculty and is an overall good project for the country though.

Excellent work? He's one of them eccentric lecturers who always attempting to be provocative on social media?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2017, 9:38 am

Most lecturers tend to be eccentric IMO

airuma

Postby airuma » March 28th, 2017, 11:14 am

The best lecturer that the MSc Project Management has, described the Uff report as an investigation into the failure of project management in Trinidad and Tobago... Must not be a project management lecturer then!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 28th, 2017, 12:16 pm

What's the actual cost so far though?

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2017, 1:20 pm

tourniquet wrote:What's the actual cost so far though?

Somewhere in the 1.3-1.4 BILLION dollar range for that piece of sheit. I cringe every time I pass there and see that disgusting waste of money and corruption pit. A Bird's Nest, or a Camp Nou or a Maracana at the end of the day might have assuaged our outrage, but that fugly one dimensional monstrosity? Never!

VII

Postby VII » March 28th, 2017, 1:24 pm

Somewhere in the 1.3-1.4 BILLION dollar range for that piece of sheit. I cringe every time I pass there and see that disgusting waste of money and corruption pit. A Bird's Nest, or a Camp Nou or a Maracana at the end of the day might have assuaged our outrage, but that fugly one dimensional monstrosity? Never!

Yep truly outrageous how it was left to deteriorate and not remedied sooner..at the end of the day it isn't PNM or UNC money jump up,good to see that it can be put to some use,but good sporting programs need to be implemented to fully utilize all our facilities..we have a hell of a lot of facilities for a small country but they must be properly utilized to the benefit of wider society.

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2017, 1:39 pm

VII wrote:

Yep truly outrageous how it was left to deteriorate and not remedied sooner..at the end of the day it isn't PNM or UNC money jump up,good to see that it can be put to some use,but good sporting programs need to be implemented to fully utilize all our facilities..we have a hell of a lot of facilities for a small country but they must be properly utilized to the benefit of wider society.

A stadium conceptualized for the 2007 World Cup, and whose cost went from $375 million to 1.3-1.4 BILLION dollars, and the "outrage" is that it was left "to rot" :roll: Oh gosh 2NR is the greatest yes! :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2017, 1:40 pm

Careful what you wish for. After the facility is built money has to be spent on upkeep.
Maracana today
Capture.JPG

And the Birds Nest friendly between Man U and Man City had to be cancelled last year because of a poor pitch
2.JPG
2.JPG (33.29 KiB) Viewed 2984 times

Postby sMASH » March 28th, 2017, 3:17 pm

VII wrote:

When the caulk ball hit one ah Dem in their head, where they doing the ct scan to see how serious the injury is?

When u don't have disposable income, taxing the populace dry, firing people left right and center, preaching to tighten belt and eat cassava, renovating that stadium is at worse financially reckless, and at best throwing good money behind bad.

Postby sMASH » March 28th, 2017, 3:20 pm

Chile hadda get pampers, milk and medicine,,, but at least yuh finally get to put on the flare kit on the wetman.

matix

Postby matix » March 28th, 2017, 9:43 pm

When finished it will be around 1.7 billion

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 29th, 2017, 12:01 am

with a stadium everybody could go exercise and then everybody will be healthy so no need for hospital
next thing to be built is a church

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 29th, 2017, 3:18 am

Trinbagonians are not appreciative of the infrastructural progress of their country, the administration is trying to give the people a product to rally behind to promote unity and good sportsmanship.

After the Kamla administration spent money on a Brazillian firm to build a highway, this administration is proving that you don't need to hire foreign to waste money, you can hire local and waste less, or more depending. It proves we don't need any help or foreign interference we are a self sufficient nation, we can thief, or misappropriate our own tax payer funds ourselves. A good message in these times when foreign exchange is so hard to come by. It reinforces the message of patronizing local.

Secondly as we all know we have a crime problem in this country, a problem that affects mainly at risk youth. We also know that one of the preeminent solutions to this is sport. Sport is one of the best tools in the crime fighting arsenal, more so than a DNA registry, sport is proactive, a registry reactive because only after the fact can we check the crime scene for DNA. This stadium will help to facilitate the athletic training of youth and as such it will be helpful in lowering the crime rate.

Thirdly in light of the increased instances of heart disease, and diabetes in Trinidad and Tobago a stadium is the best place to get exercise, it is a subtle message to the public that they need to exercise more, if they do they will be healthier and as such they will not need to go to the doctor as much solving the health care crisis. We may get to a point where we may be so healthy that we as a country can get by on only one CT scanner or none for that matter, we may never need another new hospital which means that the Couva hospital need not be opened saving the Government millions, which could be spent to build even more stadia, thus helping to further the cycle of positivity and endless benefit for the country.

Postby Les Bain » March 29th, 2017, 6:53 am

hong kong phooey wrote:with a stadium everybody could go exercise and then everybody will be healthy so no need for hospital
next thing to be built is a church

They could restart Manning's seer woman church. Thais a cool 6 billion, 2 decade project right dey.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 29th, 2017, 9:15 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Trinbagonians are not appreciative of the infrastructural progress of their country, the administration is trying to give the people a product to rally behind to promote unity and good sportsmanship.

After the Kamla administration spent money on a Brazillian firm to build a highway, this administration is proving that you don't need to hire foreign to waste money, you can hire local and waste less, or more depending. It proves we don't need any help or foreign interference we are a self sufficient nation, we can thief, or misappropriate our own tax payer funds ourselves. A good message in these times when foreign exchange is so hard to come by. It reinforces the message of patronizing local.

Secondly as we all know we have a crime problem in this country, a problem that affects mainly at risk youth. We also know that one of the preeminent solutions to this is sport. Sport is one of the best tools in the crime fighting arsenal, more so than a DNA registry, sport is proactive, a registry reactive because only after the fact can we check the crime scene for DNA. This stadium will help to facilitate the athletic training of youth and as such it will be helpful in lowering the crime rate.

Thirdly in light of the increased instances of heart disease, and diabetes in Trinidad and Tobago a stadium is the best place to get exercise, it is a subtle message to the public that they need to exercise more, if they do they will be healthier and as such they will not need to go to the doctor as much solving the health care crisis. We may get to a point where we may be so healthy that we as a country can get by on only one CT scanner or none for that matter, we may never need another new hospital which means that the Couva hospital need not be opened saving the Government millions, which could be spent to build even more stadia, thus helping to further the cycle of positivity and endless benefit for the country.

Are any stadiums in Trinidad open to the public for their use?

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2017, 9:20 am

How many people would be able to use the highway, and how many people would be able to use the stadium?

THe highway has a great return on investment than the stadium .

Yes u are correct, sport is AN avenue to help keep the youth from crime.
Spending money on one large mega structure wasn't the solution to that problem.
Or does the youth who will fall prey to crime dimly come tarouba?

The solution to the problem of youth/crime was to take that same ginormous amount of money and develop the grass roots facilities AROUND THE WHOLE BLASTED COUNTRY. Focus efforts on the hotspots, have a network around the country.
This way, u affect more of the nation's youth and have sport feel less elitest.

Massive stadiums, national tramlines, blimps for policing.. PNM and the worst ideas... good for spending the treasury down, but no real return on investment. Especially reckless when u need to tighten ur belt as a government.

VII

Postby VII » March 29th, 2017, 1:30 pm

Surely beats 'Lifesport' and 'Colour me orange'...show me a concrete block or even a painted stone from any of those programs and I'll show you blatant corruption wastage and nepotism..even murder..

Unno slight..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2017, 1:43 pm

This will be a big corruption scheme, anybody can see that. Nobody is going to spend $90 million on a useless stadium down south behind god back unless it has racket in it. That $90 million could be better spent on boosting tourism, solving crime and most importantly AGRICULTURE. At a time when we do not have foreign exchange and so much money is wasted on importing food that can be grown right here even boosting diary cattle industry we are wasting $90 million on some jackass stadium that has 0 use behind god back?

VII

Postby VII » March 29th, 2017, 2:15 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This will be a big corruption scheme, anybody can see that. Nobody is going to spend $90 million on a useless stadium down south behind god back unless it has racket in it. That $90 million could be better spent on boosting tourism, solving crime and most importantly AGRICULTURE. At a time when we do not have foreign exchange and so much money is wasted on importing food that can be grown right here even boosting diary cattle industry we are wasting $90 million on some jackass stadium that has 0 use behind god back?

Imagine how much more the billion or more from 'lifesport' and 'colour me orange 'could've done,even to help offset the shortfalls we face today in the first place...

Imagine the kinda tourism campaign that money could've provided as a preemptive measure or diversification drive..

And you prefer the stadium and hundreds of millions go to total waste than to be salvaged for 90 million? Why so you can say "look at that pnm white elephant" lol allyuh jokey bad yes... down with pnm and unc...up with T&T..and T&T has the newest cricket ground in the world,it's up to authorities now to make it as 'feasible' as a Gov't sports ground can be..

I certainly look forward to seeing my first game there as a citizen of T&T...

What ever happened to it collapsing because of the unstable foundation anyway? Who started that talk and what's the issue with salvaging our asset? You prefer pass and see it as an old PNM ghost stadium or as a modern functioning Brian Lara Stadium?

Hospital next!!