Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

Val

Re: Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

Postby Val » April 8th, 2024, 7:08 am

hindian wrote:IMG_3856.JPG

Fellas any one have experience with this type of pump? It’s a Leo jet pump according to Google. It was given to me because the person changed it out to go with a Goulds. It’s working as far as I can tell but missing all the pressure switches/ smart head. My question is, what would this have come with originally? A smart head or pressure tank and switch and which on would be recommended to buy?

Get a pressure switch and pressure tank. That is compatible on pretty much any pump and is more reliable than those smart heads trying to emulate a proper VFD.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 8th, 2024, 8:34 am

Val wrote:

Fellas any one have experience with this type of pump? It’s a Leo jet pump according to Google. It was given to me because the person changed it out to go with a Goulds. It’s working as far as I can tell but missing all the pressure switches/ smart head. My question is, what would this have come with originally? A smart head or pressure tank and switch and which on would be recommended to buy?

Get a pressure switch and pressure tank. That is compatible on pretty much any pump and is more reliable than those smart heads trying to emulate a proper VFD.
Smart heads do not emulate a vfd my friend.
What they do is emulate a pressure switch.
They also provide dry run protection which a pressure switch and tank does not.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 9:59 am

does a smart head regulate the water output ?
or does it only do switching on/off at full pump output?

Val

Postby Val » April 8th, 2024, 2:31 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
Val wrote:

Smart heads do not emulate a vfd my friend.
What they do is emulate a pressure switch.
They also provide dry run protection which a pressure switch and tank does not.

Nothing of that size / cost can truly emulate a VFD, I agree. What you're trying to avoid is exceeding the OEM start/stop cycle on the motor to reduce the average current draw over a period.

Starting amps are much higher than running amps, and if your pump can start, fill a sizeable diaphragm tank for a minute then shut off, rather than start and stop several times in that minute, you'll not only save power, but you'll also put less wear on the start capacitor and the motor windings.

Dry run protection is always best with a float. Even on VFD's that detect a sudden pressure drop, it's never foolproof. And with a float, you can set it to be a little higher than empty to have a reserve in case you need to bypass for any reason. Not sure how you'd do that with a smart head.

Most good pumps have built-in overheat protection on the motor windings anyway, so in a dry run situation and the pump heats up, the motor will eventually shut it down, but this isn't a guarantee of avoiding damage.

Val

Postby Val » April 8th, 2024, 2:32 pm

pugboy wrote:does a smart head regulate the water output ?

switching on/off I believe, there isn't much literature on it. Can't see how it would modulate frequency anyway, and if it could, certainly the sinusoid wouldn't be clean.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 2:42 pm

unlikely a smart head could act as a vfd since the motor is designed to work at certain rpm constant and not like modulated via voltage or current

a cycle stop valve comes close to that
it throttles the pump output mechanically like a pressure regulator
when it throttles down the psi the pump is basically churning and burning less current

and in heavy usage situations reduces stop starts
however for small usage there will still be start stops

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 8th, 2024, 4:13 pm

No it does not regulate water output.
It switches the motor on and off based on pressure setpoints.
Full output or no output

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 4:18 pm

well a smart head could very likely make pump use more current since a pressure tank provides a kinda buffering whilst the tank is being drawn down

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
No it does not regulate water output.
It switches the motor on and off based on pressure setpoints.
Full output or no output

hindian

Postby hindian » April 8th, 2024, 6:16 pm

After reading the comments I think I will go with the tank and pressure switch. Do I buy the smallest tank? Because I don’t have heavy water usage at any point and I live in a flat house with 3 persons including myself. Also, what will be the purpose of adding more air to the tank? Is it necessary for it to performance wise or leave it at stock pressure whatever that is?

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2024, 7:19 pm

get the largest you can afford
not the lil 1gal ones

the air pressure inside the pressure tank is supposed to somewhat match the pressure switch setting
if it’s too high then the pump won’t put much water into the tank so it will short cycle a lot

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 10th, 2024, 6:33 pm

As said as large as you can afford or multiple tanks

Postby alfa » April 10th, 2024, 6:38 pm

Pressure tank pressure should be 2psi less than the cut in pressure of the pressure switch for proper operation

Postby Ted_v2 » April 16th, 2024, 5:54 am

smart head is failure imo, pressure switch and tank all day everyday.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2024, 7:14 am

why yuh think it have so many on the shelves selling

Postby alfa » April 16th, 2024, 7:38 am

Anyone knows how a smarthead detects when there is no water in the inlet line? I don't believe there is a rotating flow sensor of any kind

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2024, 8:26 am

it’s prob some kind of press switch or reed switch

Postby maj. tom » April 16th, 2024, 8:33 am

It's a water pressure transducer. Very tiny and inside it is basically a diaphragm which is pushed to close a circuit when pressure is applied, then connected to a logic circuit to turn the head on or off.

Postby alfa » April 16th, 2024, 8:57 am

maj. tom wrote:It's a water pressure transducer. Very tiny and inside it is basically a diaphragm which is pushed to close a circuit when pressure is applied, then connected to a logic circuit to turn the head on or off.

Thanks for the info.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2024, 9:39 am

they need to make that to put on the suction line as a protection instead of having to use float switch

Postby X_Factor » August 13th, 2024, 9:26 pm

That cast iron part cracked by the bolt while re assembling after changing the shaft seal
Does anyone know where i can get that part?
IMG_20240813_200929.jpg

Postby goalpost » December 18th, 2024, 3:41 pm

Guys, my Pentax 1hp has a 30/50 switch. I find when it reaches about 38 or so psi it drops quickly to 30 before pump kicks in. This results in a water fluctuation in my faucets.

Is this normal? If not how can it be rectified?

Postby goalpost » December 18th, 2024, 3:41 pm

Additionally can anyone recommend some reliable guys who deal with pumps in EW corridor?

Skillys

Postby Skillys » December 18th, 2024, 3:48 pm

goalpost wrote:Guys, my Pentax 1hp has a 30/50 switch. I find when it reaches about 38 or so psi it drops quickly to 30 before pump kicks in. This results in a water fluctuation in my faucets.

Buy a goulds waterpump.

Postby alfa » December 18th, 2024, 3:52 pm

goalpost wrote:Guys, my Pentax 1hp has a 30/50 switch. I find when it reaches about 38 or so psi it drops quickly to 30 before pump kicks in. This results in a water fluctuation in my faucets.

Could be wrong pressure in the pressure tank. It's supposed to be 2psi less than the cut in pressure which in this case would be 28 psi

Postby goalpost » December 18th, 2024, 4:04 pm

alfa wrote:

Could be wrong pressure in the pressure tank. It's supposed to be 2psi less than the cut in pressure which in this case would be 28 psi

Thanks I was thinking so. But how do I rectify? I am not handy.

Postby alfa » December 18th, 2024, 4:17 pm

goalpost wrote:
alfa wrote:

Thanks I was thinking so. But how do I rectify? I am not handy.

Lock off water inlet, switch off pump and open a tap to bleed off all water and trapped pressure. Use a regular tire gauge to check the tank pressure. If it's too low use a tyre inflator to inflate or screw out tank and take to a gas station with one. If pressure is too high simply bleed it off from the valve on top the tank

Postby goalpost » December 19th, 2024, 8:39 am

I hear you. Thanks, but I'm not confident to do any of those things. Is this the job of any plumber or must it be a 'pump' man?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 9:37 am

goalpost wrote:I hear you. Thanks, but I'm not confident to do any of those things. Is this the job of any plumber or must it be a 'pump' man?

pump man.

Check this guy, he did some work for me to convert a smart head to pressure tank.

He services etc on-site.
https://www.facebook.com/trinipumprepairs

Reece.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 19th, 2024, 9:54 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
goalpost wrote:I hear you. Thanks, but I'm not confident to do any of those things. Is this the job of any plumber or must it be a 'pump' man?

pump man.

Check this guy, he did some work for me to convert a smart head to pressure tank.

He services etc on-site.

Reece.

My smart head pump giving trouble. It doesn't come on automatically anymore. We need to switch it on and off manually each time and once you switch off the outlet the pump wouldn't come back on unless you reset it. Since it's one of those chinese cheap one I'm thinking I am gonna just get a branded one like Gould or Pentax.

Whats the reason for moving from a smart head to a tank?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 10:01 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

pump man.

He services etc on-site.

Reece.

My smart head pump giving trouble. It doesn't come on automatically anymore. We need to switch it on and off manually each time and once you switch off the outlet the pump wouldn't come back on unless you reset it. Since it's one of those chinese cheap one I'm thinking I am gonna just get a branded one like Gould or Pentax.

Whats the reason for moving from a smart head to a tank?

I had some water quality issues - smart heads never lasted more than 18-24 months on my side (tried allllll the brands of s/heads available). This last time, it stuck open and ran until the water boiled, top pipe thermal fatigued and blew out.

Just got fedup and decided to go back old school.

SquareD pressure switch (30/50)
WellXtrol pressure tank

some people have luck with smart heads. Not me. I don't want this ever again.