Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2014

TriniAutoMart

Re: Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2013

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 13th, 2013, 1:49 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/letters/2013- ... cember-25v

Eid was supposed to be celebrated on Thursday, August 8. The Government in their wisdom gave the holiday on Friday, August 9. Long weekend, perhaps? Divali is supposed to be celebrated on Sunday, November 3. Monday, November 4 should be a public holiday. The Government is giving the holiday on Saturday, November 2. The St Joseph by-election is Monday, November 4. Any connection?

Madam Prime Minister, you will pay the the political price. The religious heads will say what you want them to say. Muslims and Hindus are the Government’s greatest supporters. Why the disrespect? The battered wife syndrome? Will they still be loyal no matter what is done to them? Is Christmas still December 25, 2013?

AV Rampersad
Princes Town

Postby pioneer » October 13th, 2013, 2:00 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/letters/2013-10-13/christmas-still-december-25v

Eid was supposed to be celebrated on Thursday, August 8. The Government in their wisdom gave the holiday on Friday, August 9. Long weekend, perhaps? Divali is supposed to be celebrated on Sunday, November 3. Monday, November 4 should be a public holiday. The Government is giving the holiday on Saturday, November 2. The St Joseph by-election is Monday, November 4. Any connection?

Madam Prime Minister, you will pay the the political price. The religious heads will say what you want them to say. Muslims and Hindus are the Government’s greatest supporters. Why the disrespect? The battered wife syndrome? Will they still be loyal no matter what is done to them? Is Christmas still December 25, 2013?

AV Rampersad
Princes Town

This is a bunch of rubbish, not surprised it has been posted by the guardian who doesn't believe in facts.

The moon for eid was NOT spotted locally/in our region on the weds, eid could have never been the thursday.

AV Rampersad need to throw his/her frame.

Next :arrow:

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2013, 2:05 pm

Amazing how ppl still think that anything they read in trini media has tobe true.

Postby pioneer » October 13th, 2013, 2:10 pm

Well they incapable of independent research and rational thought, wha we go do bai?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 13th, 2013, 2:12 pm

zoom rader wrote:Amazing how ppl still think that anything they read in trini media has tobe true.

it's only true when it syncs up with their own beliefs

anyway, this is just another good reason to remove all religious holidays as public holidays

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Whey ha ghee the cheapest?

Postby pioneer » October 13th, 2013, 2:25 pm

I see people stockin on up Ghee in pricesmart

Postby K74T » October 13th, 2013, 2:38 pm

Cow Brand is still the main flick? Or it have others now?

Postby pioneer » October 13th, 2013, 2:43 pm

Is only one brand I know

Postby Ted_v2 » October 13th, 2013, 8:00 pm

Me too.

I hadda try wax deyas this year.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 13th, 2013, 8:01 pm

cow brand does the best.....

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 13th, 2013, 9:32 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/letters/2013-10-13/christmas-still-december-25v

AV Rampersad
Princes Town

This is a bunch of rubbish, not surprised it has been posted by the guardian who doesn't believe in facts.

The moon for eid was NOT spotted locally/in our region on the weds, eid could have never been the thursday.

AV Rampersad need to throw his/her frame.

Next :arrow:

Didn't agree with the standpoint myself.
I think the 2nd is actually correct now after researching it on my own.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 14th, 2013, 2:06 pm

PRESS RELEASE: Shedding light on the selection of Divali dates
OCTOBER 12, 2013 AT 8:27 PM
Friday October 11th, 2013

SWAHA Press Release – Clearing Divali Date Confusion (PDF Version)

Why is there confusion about the date of Divali every year? SWAHA believes in enlightened ritualism, and strives to educate the public on the rationale behind our Hindu festivals and practices. Annually, there is some confusion among the Hindu community and the wider public as to why there is a lack of agreement on the dates of certain religious festivals – especially Divali. We believe that by publishing an explanation for date selection, there would be a greater awareness of how and why a given date is chosen.

The first and foremost principle is that the dates for Hindu festivals calculated for India cannot be used in Trinidad and Tobago, or for any other city the world. The earth is an oblate spheroid (flattened sphere) with different time zones and variable length days in different cities. Given the latitude and longitude of a particular city, global astrological factors as well as local factors such as local sunrise and sunset are used to determine the date and time for religious observances. This means that a date for a religious celebration must be calculated and determined for each major location around the world. India is almost nine and a half hours ahead of Trinidad and Tobago. Even if this time difference is accounted for and Indian religious dates are adjusted, they still cannot be used, as the local factors (such as sunrise, sunset etc.) in Trinidad and Tobago still have to be taken into account.

Secondly, Hindus use a lunisolar calendar, meaning that the calendar is based on the moon’s celestial motion around the earth. In this calendar, a central concept is that of a lunar day or tithi. A lunar day is not like a 24 hour mean solar day that we are all familiar with. Instead, these lunar days are of variable length. Therefore, one lunar day may extend beyond a 24 hour solar day, or two lunar days may fit within one 24 hour solar day. Therefore, in combining these lunar days with our 24 hour solar calendar days, it is evident that there will not be a one-to-one correspondence. Because of this, there would be apparent variation in the length of Hindu festivals from year to year according to the solar calendar, but it would be correct according to the lunar calendar. An example is the second Nav Raatri period this year (2013) which spans 8 solar days, but in actuality spans 9 lunar days.

Thirdly, there are various systems of Hindu astrological calculation that are currently utilised. Some are based on ancient general formulas and rules-of-thumb that give approximate planetary positions. Other systems adopt a scientific, data driven approach and use modern methods of observation and calculation. SWAHA subscribes to the latter view, and we utilise calculations based on data from NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Ephemeris (positions of planets at a given time). These calculations lead to accurate planetary positions in accordance with astronomical observation as opposed to older methods of calculation that can produce large errors. Discrepancies therefore arise in calculations depending on which system is used, and this impacts the resulting selected dates for religious observances.

Divali is observed on the night of the new moon lunar day (amavas) in the dark half (krishna paksha) of the month of Kartik. In Trinidad and Tobago, the new moon lunar day starts at approximately 10:43:05 am on Saturday 2nd November and ends at approximately 08:49:56 am on Sunday 3rd November. Therefore, if Divali were held on November 3rd, activities essential to the observance of Divali such as the performance of puja and the lighting of deeyas in the night would be after and not during the new moon lunar day period. It is therefore the position of SWAHA that Divali should be observed on the evening of Saturday 2nd November 2013.

Paramacharya Pt. Hardeo Persad

Spiritual Head, SWAHA

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 14th, 2013, 2:31 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:PRESS RELEASE: Shedding light on the selection of Divali dates

Divali is observed on the night of the new moon lunar day (amavas) in the dark half (krishna paksha) of the month of Kartik. In Trinidad and Tobago, the new moon lunar day starts at approximately 10:43:05 am on Saturday 2nd November and ends at approximately 08:49:56 am on Sunday 3rd November. Therefore, if Divali were held on November 3rd, activities essential to the observance of Divali such as the performance of puja and the lighting of deeyas in the night would be after and not during the new moon lunar day period. It is therefore the position of SWAHA that Divali should be observed on the evening of Saturday 2nd November 2013.

Spiritual Head, SWAHA

all well and good if the lunar day begins and ends with those times and would be a sort of common sense solution. however, i can find no source, to corroborate those times. all sources, except trini have new moon (lunar day) beginning on morning of november 3rd and not on Nov. 2nd.

i really would like to know where they getting those time frames from.

also what does this Hindu Guru have to say about the partial solar eclipse that will follow the 2nd on Sunday 3rd?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 14th, 2013, 2:46 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:PRESS RELEASE: Shedding light on the selection of Divali dates

Spiritual Head, SWAHA

all well and good if the lunar day begins and ends with those times and would be a sort of common sense solution. however, i can find no source, to corroborate those times. all sources, except trini have new moon (lunar day) beginning on morning of november 3rd and not on Nov. 2nd.

i really would like to know where they getting those time frames from.

also what does this Hindu Guru have to say about the partial solar eclipse that will follow the 2nd on Sunday 3rd?

New York is celebrating on the 2nd also, I'm sure if you do proper inquiries you'll find more out

Postby K74T » October 14th, 2013, 2:48 pm

rocknrolla wrote:also what does this Hindu Guru have to say about the partial solar eclipse that will follow the 2nd on Sunday 3rd?

Swaha

Postby Rainman » October 14th, 2013, 3:07 pm

My esophagus is ready.

Postby rfari » October 14th, 2013, 4:20 pm

laaardddd. i craving a geera pork and buss-up-shirt now

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 14th, 2013, 4:31 pm

so wait the Maha Sabha say the 2nd and Sat say the 2nd from the get go and everybody gone mad buh Swaha say 2nd and everybody saying okay? lol i in a mad zone yes

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2013, 4:32 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:so wait the Maha Sabha say the 2nd and Sat say the 2nd from the get go and everybody gone mad buh Swaha say 2nd and everybody saying okay? lol i in a mad zone yes

What do you expect Swaha is pnm so it had tobe true.
But once agian the media is to blame for mis information and trying to cuase mischief

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 14th, 2013, 5:06 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:so wait the Maha Sabha say the 2nd and Sat say the 2nd from the get go and everybody gone mad buh Swaha say 2nd and everybody saying okay? lol i in a mad zone yes

them earno bout questioning authority. as far as im concerned these fellars pull these times out of a magic hat.. look swaha and maha sabha times different and all hahahahaha

listen yes, man go dead with partial eclipse of sun on the sunday following when everybody celebrate conquering darkness.. is level darkness in we mc. regardless of these spiritual accreditations if that new moon starts on the 3rd against all hindu claimants..it gonna be real sad. they discredit themselves.

Cid

Postby Cid » October 14th, 2013, 5:09 pm

Taken from the papers on friday... This basically hits the nail on the head..... If the optimal time for worshiping a particular personality is @ the time of the sun rising for example.... And you go an compensate for a 9hr time difference and do your worship at night... It makes no sense... India and india time is not the constant. The position of the moon and sun at your location is the constant.

Postby rfari » October 14th, 2013, 5:12 pm

So swaha is unc now? Wha chubble...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 14th, 2013, 5:13 pm

rocknrolla wrote:look more ting

http://www.vercalendario.info/en/moon/t ... -2013.html

Information about this eclipse
This animated image shows the shadow of the moon and its path on the map during the solar eclipse. Only the regions shaded by the moon may view this partial solar eclipse. The date and time displayed in this image are international date and time, therefore, they might not apply to your country. However, to know the date and exact time of partial solar eclipse in your country, you can see the table below.

http://www.weatherforyou.com/reports/in ... &submit=Go
San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago

Nov. 3 5:54AM 5:57PM 11:56AM ---- phase New Moon

the times are corroborated by nasa where these sites get their times and dates and cycles from.
as you can see it quite clearly states, the new moon begins on Nov. 3rd at 5:54am(moonrise) and ends 5:57pm(moon set) with the New moon being directly overhead at 11:56 am

there can be found.. NO SOURCE that states anything to the contrary.. the whole world wrong including nasa apparently. sat really try to pass this one boy? NAH!

are the times procured by sat a total fib to justify the adjustment?

coated for extra pleasure.. moon shadowing the sun in our region november 3rd(partial eclipse of sun whooooole day), it will be the new moon doing so according to all sources.

man tell me look for other sources.. i cant find none.. show me de nasa data dey. times date and full data set in gif animation.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 14th, 2013, 5:17 pm

like Sat wah a nex earthquake ooaarrr?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 15th, 2013, 12:12 pm

When I use 2nd November, I get this data:
U.S. Naval Observatory
Astronomical Applications Department

Sun and Moon Data for One Day

The following information is provided for Chaguanas, Trinidad (longitude W10.5, latitude N61.4):

Saturday
2 November 2013 Universal Time - 4h

SUN
Begin civil twilight 03:26
Sunrise 04:14
Sun transit 08:26
Sunset 12:37
End civil twilight 13:24

MOON
Moonset 11:51 on preceding day
Moonrise 02:41
Moon transit 07:31
Moonset 12:09
Moonrise 04:08 on following day

Phase of the Moon on 2 November: waning crescent with 1% of the Moon's visible disk illuminated.

New Moon on 3 November 2013 at 08:51 (Universal Time - 4h).

When I use 3rd November, I get this data:
U.S. Naval Observatory
Astronomical Applications Department

Sun and Moon Data for One Day

The following information is provided for Chaguanas, Trinidad (longitude W10.5, latitude N61.4):

Sunday
3 November 2013 Universal Time - 4h

SUN
Begin civil twilight 03:28
Sunrise 04:16
Sun transit 08:26
Sunset 12:34
End civil twilight 13:22

MOON
Moonset 12:09 on preceding day
Moonrise 04:08
Moon transit 08:25
Moonset 12:32
Moonrise 05:34 on following day

New Moon on 3 November 2013 at 08:51 (Universal Time - 4h).

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/cgi-bin/aa_pap.pl

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 15th, 2013, 12:24 pm

I goh hold divali on the 4th yes, god cyah listen to all ah we at once

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » October 15th, 2013, 7:41 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:I goh hold divali on the 4th yes, god cyah listen to all ah we at once

Postby pioneer » October 15th, 2013, 9:20 pm

First time in history all this beatup over divali?

wow

Allyuh celebrating divali for god, or for show?

Postby S_2NR » October 15th, 2013, 9:25 pm

When nagar starting?

I want to set the date and know not to venture south of grand bazaar. I giving allyu the whole highway to palance and park up