MASS MEET - twas bess!

baffleplate

Re: MASS MEET - twas bess!

Postby baffleplate » February 4th, 2013, 11:51 pm

Sigh. Fella, you sound young but that concept was totally dun with the Car Crazy series of shows a while back.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2013, 11:53 pm

Garage Fresh™ wrote:

I like the direction this thread is heading in now.

When you say the best of the best you not talking gear heads alone right?

nope we mean :

best drag cars parked on checkered color vinyl, best rally and circuit cars parked in a row... best of the best vip and executive, classy cars on display... stanced cars, drift cars, mini trucks, slammed cars with air, lifted 4x4s, bikes, SQ audio..... predator doing a lil demo, atomic bomb doing a lil demo, rc cars drifting, a lil break dancing, plenty food on sale, plenty companies representing, a well run bar, not competitions, but awards.... that kinda thing....

Something huge with the best of anything, in all categories on display and demo - something we have never seen since the days of southex in gulf city and zacx car show in mid centre.

something not about clashes and competition, but rather comradery and presenting our automotive excellence to the rest of the world.... we can maybe take a page or 2 from SEMA events, and make it an annual thing... because Tobago Easter show is really losing it's sting, most people just go now for the lime.

Remember doh sema is a trade show, we model after sbn which had everything you speak of but took a big hit after the resession hit and nopi pulled out.

I really can't say the competitions could go away because fact is it pays the bills and jump high or low, financiers/sponcers will go if the crowd goes because these shows are a big business to some.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 12:00 am

Garage Fresh™ wrote:when promoters locally, stop holding car shows to make plenty money - and start hosting shows to contribute to building and advancing the local car culture scene, for generations to come...
The standard of events will rise and the income will be effortless... and in abundance.

Quality > Quantity.

most of our shows are actually "Car Fetes & Pong Out"

No, no you see you are stigmatizing carshows again. There is more in a carshow than just what you remember which is why I've said ill hold an open invite for you anytime you are ready (will inbox dates so we could arrange something)

GoS

Postby GoS » February 5th, 2013, 12:00 am

remember when it had southtex in gulf where it had three days where these guys use to display there rides those was the days

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 12:03 am

GoS wrote:remember when it had southtex in gulf where it had three days where these guys use to display there rides those was the days

And I stood behind the original green civic for about 20mins to hear it play?

And jan was there? I was young as f*ck but there still.

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » February 5th, 2013, 12:05 am

GoS wrote:no ofence GF but stance in trinidad some years now eh i remembe my father telling me themuse to join steel rims and stretchin the tires i talking about in the 1980`s eh ppl just because it started to sie and u guys form this group to keep it alive doh mean u start it eh get all yuh facts right

and even way before that it was done with escorts, cortinas, V8 powered old school cars... dating as far back as the 1960's - we are not unique to anything in Trinidad, except maybe the Steel Pan and Soca - every single thing from our internet, television and trends are imported. Nothing starts here first...

Stance is not just fitting wide rims and stretching tires, and then dropping low - it has an entire lifestyle that follows it. The term stance was coined in a few Import Tuner magazines back in 2004, it meant a wide aggressive look - Since 2009, the term 'stance' has gone main stream and represents so many different things, to so many people all over the world. All rice aside, it has become known as a global standard - which is :

Your wheel fitment and tire combo, along with your suspension setup - plays an integral part in achieving an 'aggressive' appearance. Whether its 16" steelies on a hatchback civic slammed low, cambered and poked - or an EvoX with a full track setup, sitting on 10.5" deep concaved wheels - all round, wrapped in ToyoR888... under a full widebody kit, on HKS coilovers. sitting wide and flush...

What's the difference? why call the civic rice? ... its just a civic, isnt it? Stance is a lifestyle, where both owners can appreciate each other's 'aggressive' look - since that is what the meets are all about... appreciative gatherings of people and their cars.

even if we had all that back in the 1980's... we didn't have the internet, to show it to the world.. and connect with eachother.
Last edited by GarageFresh on February 5th, 2013, 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » February 5th, 2013, 12:08 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
GoS wrote:remember when it had southtex in gulf where it had three days where these guys use to display there rides those was the days

And I stood behind the original green civic for about 20mins to hear it play?

And jan was there? I was young as f*ck but there still.

I ran out of Celebs wondering *wtf was that ???
sounded like thunder and an earthquake combined...
6 strokers, not so ?

those were the days...

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 12:16 am

Yep, Southex 98 in the heliport I think was the best show of my life.

Postby tr1ad » February 5th, 2013, 12:29 am

Before the hissy fit raise ... Best to move this thread

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » February 5th, 2013, 12:37 am

tr1ad wrote:Before the hissy fit raise ... Best to move this thread

Postby tr1ad » February 5th, 2013, 12:39 am

Well stay calm and as I used to tell you when you now was starting up this thing.....

Relax

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » February 5th, 2013, 12:40 am

tr1ad wrote:Well stay calm and as I used to tell you when you now was starting up this thing.....

Relax

:wink: point taken.

Postby joker » February 5th, 2013, 12:44 am

SO BACK TO THE major issue @ hand

baffleplate is the raj with the vigo orr?

baffleplate

Postby baffleplate » February 5th, 2013, 12:59 am

joker wrote:SO BACK TO THE major issue @ hand

baffleplate is the raj with the vigo orr?

Lord. Fella. Because i see ur emotional void that needs to be filled, lemme acknoledge you before u can't sleep or flog that wood.

I am not the vigo person.

Just a performance purist who doesn't believe in the form > function. Don't drop low for aesthetics and try calling it by some fancy marketing name just to be different or rather differentiate/ distance yourself from one car culture to gain acceptance by another while adopting the very same elements that's key to the mix. BS. Simple science is there is intended purpose performance for, lowering, wide rims, off sets, camber and so on. If your primary motive is just to "look" aggressively low while parked up.....sorry, remaining static then u are a ricer to me Accept it, live and move on. Drop low....er sorry...slammed is the same thing and unless your dropping like a DTM car is for performance where other suspension areas are taken into account to compensate, then you orn folly.

call a spade a spade, stanced cars are no different from the show cars the try to distance themselves from. Although thru marketing it may seem different. Stanced cars; unless there is a suspension team to find that perfect setup to maximize traction above just looking good, a stanced vehicle is just good for driving normal, which defeats the purpose of a performance vehicle to begin with.
Last edited by baffleplate on February 5th, 2013, 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby joker » February 5th, 2013, 1:16 am

Lord. Fella. Because i see ur emotional void that needs to be filled, lemme acknoledge you before u can't sleep or flog that wood.

ROFL

steupes i well say we would ah flame somebody tonight yes.

Postby SR » February 5th, 2013, 6:30 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:It's two a's in Shirvaan mate 1wink

No disagreements to your statements/accomplishments and such, I agree on some points but I'm abit tired on this end so ill just say your invite to an Mk show Riaz, is open anytime you wish, just message me and ill set it up. Cause I'd really like to see the sigma that carshows have come to be known as changed (dangerous/ enjoyable/ rajfete etc).

For 2013 I'd like to see shows where the 4x4 guys can display their stuff, the stance guys can have their time and the gallery cars can have their space but we need cooperation on all sides mate. Iirc you said you were stepping away from GF for a bit? Who is now "in charge"?

this usually up to the promoter of the event and unfortunatly

there is the misconception that these attractions do not fill spectators at the gate but a "dj" does.....

as for nopi pulling out it did not affect sbn the fall in the american economy is what affected events in the US

in a true car show competition format

"stanced" vehicles will fall under the category of tuner jam

http://www.iasca.com/page/TunerJam

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 5th, 2013, 6:31 am

joker is ah raj that wud never unnastand anything beyond his bmx with 4 10" zebras for bass and 2 8" funkypop fur mids...

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 5th, 2013, 8:52 am

:/

[thread save]

[/thread save]

Postby X2 » February 5th, 2013, 9:53 am

WTF am I reading in this thread ?

baffleplate wrote:... Don't drop low for aesthetics and try calling it by some fancy marketing name just to be different or rather differentiate/ distance yourself from one car culture to gain acceptance by another while adopting the very same elements that's key to the mix. BS. Simple science is there is intended purpose performance for, lowering, wide rims, off sets, camber and so on. If your primary motive is just to "look" aggressively low while parked up.....sorry, remaining static then u are a ricer to me Accept it, live and move on. Drop low....er sorry...slammed is the same thing and unless your dropping like a DTM car is for performance where other suspension areas are taken into account to compensate, then you orn folly.

call a spade a spade, stanced cars are no different from the show cars the try to distance themselves from. Although thru marketing it may seem different. Stanced cars; unless there is a suspension team to find that perfect setup to maximize traction above just looking good, a stanced vehicle is just good for driving normal, which defeats the purpose of a performance vehicle to begin with.

^^ Yea... pretty much THIS.

Props to you for the promotion, pics, vids, etc... but allyuh feel doing a car meet organised on the internet is new and fresh ? lol

Please.... doubles lime alone buss that file !

Guys... a car meet in Trinidad is not new, it's not fresh... you maybe are trying to be different... which is great but don't fool yourself or others... and try not to disrespect where it all came from...

'Stance' ... call it a car club...call it a meet... call it car show... just don't call it 'new'...

People been tuckin' all 4s for many, many years....

GoS

Postby GoS » February 5th, 2013, 10:04 am

EXODUS wrote:joker is ah raj that wud never unnastand anything beyond his bmx with 4 10" zebras for bass and 2 8" funkypop fur mids...

smh

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » February 5th, 2013, 10:22 am

Garage Fresh™ wrote: Our meets are so much more than just 'stance' and rims... you need to attend one, to know it.

Garage Fresh™ wrote: So this will be our last thread post on trinituner.com , with respect to these gatherings.

Garage Fresh™ wrote: THESE ARE NOT spectator events, it is designed for the enjoyment of those that actually participate in these gatherings

just to recap :
attend one to learn and appreciate the lifestyle.
you not going to advertise the meets on tuner
if we don't have a car that meet the standards of this event we cannot attend to learn and appreciate the lifestyle.

why does this sound like segregation of a clique :?
then people are talking about unity, building the automotive fraternity, having meets where everyone can enjoy under the same roof.sigh*

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 5th, 2013, 10:29 am

heres a fine example of a members s15
stanced for form+function .... or is it the next rice???

i posted some examples of a couple other "stanced/garagefresh" cars on page 2
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=481757&start=30 <- take a look and read before you reply
form+function

we're about that style/fitment/lifestyle & peformance - and there are enough pics and examples if you still don't get the idea

don't expect ALL of the cars at our meets to be up to your high expectations, but the quality at each meet is definitely improving

others in this thread are just beating up as they do with ALL the other "stance" threads that were here before, maybe they were somewhat offended before or not "accepted " at some point in time

at the end of the day we still do our thing and our meets grow everytime
its just a hobby- we do it for the pics and the lime
nobody makes money off this either
dont beat up..

6000+ Likes on facebook, thats 6000+ people that doesnt share the same opinion as you
http://www.facebook.com/GarageFreshTrinidad

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 1:54 pm

^^actually I'm one of those likes so technically I share the same opinion as myself so yea :/

Postby cinco » February 5th, 2013, 2:11 pm

remember when mismatched coloured panels were the sign of a true ricer...
and GF said men in the meet where revving their engines and that annoyed the security...

Postby shogun » February 5th, 2013, 4:08 pm

copper_shot wrote:Image

Preferred the old front bumper/lip. Car still sweet though.

Postby DVSTT » February 5th, 2013, 5:54 pm

This car is awesome!

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2013, 6:11 pm

i do prefer function over form, but it is nice to show off the form sumtimes. these meets don't demonstrate the function, but in future, what i hope to achieve, is the opportunity to meet and talk shop with other people. it's not a matter of competition or seein who is bess, but a matter of being in an area conducive to dialogue. the other times the cars may be seen might be in competition, and the owners might not have the time and patience to indulge.

Postby X2 » February 5th, 2013, 7:09 pm

Guess which of these cars has the best/lowest drag coefficient...

ImageImage

Of course... it's the Lumina van...

To be relevant...form must follow function... otherwise we'd all be driving minivans.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 7:13 pm

that evo is winz

Postby Rooki3 » February 5th, 2013, 9:06 pm

these vids are similar to the ones u guys do, same choice of music etc