Tuner Cooking Thread.

Sacchetto Boutique

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » February 26th, 2013, 9:46 am

Anyone has a good local recipe for home made beef burger patties???
Is is bettre to use powdered seasonings or fresh seasonings? bc i sometimes watch diners, drive ins and dives on food network and alot of the places use ground seasonings for their meats.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » February 26th, 2013, 11:13 am

pugboy wrote:all my smokers built a few years ago and don't have space for anymore, lol

2013 project recently started
DSC_7878.jpg

pugbuy Do you use the applewood coals or normal coals???? Where can i get the applewood coals?????

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 26th, 2013, 11:14 am

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Anyone has a good local recipe for home made beef burger patties???
Is is bettre to use powdered seasonings or fresh seasonings? bc i sometimes watch diners, drive ins and dives on food network and alot of the places use ground seasonings for their meats.

Burger Patties really are a personal choice thing as far as seasonings.
But the staples for a good sound pattie are usually Meat, Seasonings, Egg and Breadcrumbs.
The egg and breadcrumbs serve as bindings to hold the meat together so your pattie doesn't fall apart.

As far as seasonings, it depends, if you are cooking the pattie right away, I'd recommend fresh seasonings, ground/blended chive, garlic, pimento, shadon beni.. are the basics.
If however you are making patties to freeze and store, I'd recommend the dried seasonings, as they have been through a 'curing' process and will be stablised enough to not 'upset' the meat during the freezing/thawing process.

Basically Fresh is always better, yuh eating the pattie now, use fresh seasoning. A lot of places in the states when catering to fast foods and mass producing WILL use dried seasonings as it is more cost effective.

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2013, 7:38 pm

If your patties can't stay intact without an external agent, your fat ratio is too low, again personal preference if you want low fat burgers, but the fat holds everything together and adds a megaload of flavor that you can't get with anything else. If you use something like a foreman grill, you reduce some of the fat and still get flavor, just not as juicy unless you sub in eggs or oil. I like combination patties pork and mixed ground beef cuts ;D

Postby X_Factor » February 26th, 2013, 9:50 pm

gonna order a meat grinder/sausage maker soon
the type of minced meat we get is really poor

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I use the regular crap guyanese coals you buy in a crocus bag
and get 50% dust
those guyanese must laugh at the trinis who import containers of charcoal from them

I am in the camp for less seasoning in beef burgers
I think a good patty should be like a steak and require little internal seasoning

if you have a kitchenaid mixer
there is a grinder which works ok

Postby meccalli » February 26th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Salt, pepper, cayenne My unholy trinity lol.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 28th, 2013, 9:35 am

X_Factor wrote:gonna order a meat grinder/sausage maker soon
the type of minced meat we get is really poor

You can say that again..
It's rather disturbing.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 28th, 2013, 9:43 am

Got some authenthic cassareep from a colleague who went guyana.

Since the first time I heard of pepperpot I always wanted to try it. Does anyone know any recipes for Traditional Guyanese Pepperpot?

I googled it, but some of them are so completely different that I'm not sure what to try. Looking for first hand knowledge here...

Postby dougla_boy » February 28th, 2013, 9:52 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Got some authenthic cassareep from a colleague who went guyana.

Since the first time I heard of pepperpot I always wanted to try it. Does anyone know any recipes for Traditional Guyanese Pepperpot?

I googled it, but some of them are so completely different that I'm not sure what to try. Looking for first hand knowledge here...

ask tr1ad

:| :| :| :|

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » February 28th, 2013, 11:47 am

Thanks Pandora! I wana try making some soon. I have a george foreman grill

Postby Trini Hookah » February 28th, 2013, 12:50 pm

Where you all got your George Foremans?

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » February 28th, 2013, 1:06 pm

got mine as a gift but i saw alot of them being sold at 'fair n square' next to food basket in chag. They have a few "as seen on tv" prods

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 28th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Where you all got your George Foremans?

Fens

snatman

Postby snatman » February 28th, 2013, 3:08 pm

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Anyone has a good local recipe for home made beef burger patties???

i dunno man, my homemade beef patties has only black pepper as seasoning.
I add salt when its being cooked. Extra flavours, toppings could be added when making the burger IMO

streetKING

Postby streetKING » March 3rd, 2013, 1:33 am

no meat .....only seafood these days ,dinner last night........
IMG_0650.jpg
IMG_0653.jpg
IMG_0655.jpg

Postby meccalli » March 3rd, 2013, 7:06 am

Nice curry crab!

Postby shogun » March 3rd, 2013, 4:54 pm

Kebabs lookin' good man.

Postby shogun » March 3rd, 2013, 5:05 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Where you all got your George Foremans?

Fens

Need to get one myself. The non-stick coating on mine, wearing away in places.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 11:01 pm

streetKING gadd bai..... muh mouth water dey yess

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 4th, 2013, 7:43 pm

I gonna try to make a smoker. Ill keep you guys updated.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 4th, 2013, 7:51 pm

just had...kfc from the nuwave oven. Its the best thing to use when heating up cold kfc fries. Makes them taste better and as if they were just fried. Takes out alot of the oil too which i love. Its a decent machine altho my hubby thinks the conventional ovens produce a better tasting "baked" product. I like the nuwave bc u can put frozen solid food in it and it'll cook it reasonably fast with nice results.

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2013, 9:09 pm

build smokers and eating results will fast become an obsessive sickness.

anybody here ever do any sous vide cooking ?

Postby dougla_boy » March 6th, 2013, 11:02 am

made tuna last night......sans mayo and all that crap...basically i just seasoned it up with out the water with pimentoes, chive, celery, chadon beni and some onion. gonna make again later and add tomatoes and post a pic......

snatman

Postby snatman » March 6th, 2013, 1:05 pm

dougla_boy wrote:made tuna last night......sans mayo and all that crap...basically i just seasoned it up with out the water with pimentoes, chive, celery, chadon beni and some onion. gonna make again later and add tomatoes and post a pic......

you shouldn't be eating tuna so often tho

http://www.nrdc.org/health/effects/mercury/tuna.asp

Postby dougla_boy » March 6th, 2013, 1:14 pm

snatman wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:made tuna last night......sans mayo and all that crap...basically i just seasoned it up with out the water with pimentoes, chive, celery, chadon beni and some onion. gonna make again later and add tomatoes and post a pic......

you shouldn't be eating tuna so often tho

http://www.nrdc.org/health/effects/mercury/tuna.asp

wow.....never would have thought tuna cud eff u up like that!

good to know! would post pic next 3 days!

Postby meccalli » March 6th, 2013, 7:48 pm

Any predatory fish will contain mercury, particularly as they get larger due to bioaccumulation. When you thinking about tuna, consider what species are you eating and size. Canned tuna most of the time is from false albacore or skipjack which are usually harvested in 5-10 lb ranges so hardly anythign to worry about there.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2013, 8:01 pm

One thing though, the japs eat the most tuna and are amongst the oldest living people

Postby meccalli » March 6th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Exactly, its all about a balanced diet. I know a lady in her 90's in our church and the only fish she eats are the mackerels, shark, seatrout- basically top of the chain predators with the perceived highest levels of mercury.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 8th, 2013, 1:47 pm

where sells dolphin?