Noted on the CC? I've done two engine changes in the past 10 years on one car. The receipt was always attached to the CC by LO, never 'noted'. Up to this day if I pay for a CC (done three times in the past three years) for that car there are no changes from the original.Terran wrote:The engine change was handled by the previous owner. As I said, it is noted on the certified copy he gave me BEFORE we effected the transfer. On the copy provided by LO, there is no such engine change.
Six years later, I don't think I can convince them that my copy is genuine and that theirs is wrong - which it is.
r3iXmann wrote:the inspection certificate ^
Terran wrote:LO's copy of the document does not have the new engine number
anywhere on it, just where I became the new owner of the car. Strange.
Terran wrote:I have to go back on Monday to rectify this, but I doubt I can convince them to fix it more than they will instruct me to line up and do a change of engine - which was clearly done by the previous owner back in October 2005.
crazybalhead wrote:But yunno, most cars on the road do NOT have stickers. And the police (I passed close to at least five in the last two days) don't seem too concerned. It needs to be done, but since the act was proclaimed, how do they expect people to get this done in a short time? The infrastructure just not there!
wagonrunner wrote:Entries are supposed to be recorded in a log book of sorts, before the amended CC should have been issued. Because you have a "scratch and change", and not a CC with only the new #, chances are it was never logged, so I also think you'd have to do it over.
Had your CC had the new # only, and they issued a CC with the old one. Then the log would have shown it was changed. You can still ask.
wagonrunner wrote:car, with new engine.
receipt for same. (you can even make a receipt from yourself to yourself for $1). seriously.
go to inspection pit, They'll give you a form to complete.
they'll check current number against receipt, and sign form.
go to cashier with form. pay i think was $40, receive chit. (not an updated CC)
you now have proof of engine change.
That's acceptable for inspection. Inspection peeps would staple chit to current CC.
Terran wrote:wagonrunner wrote:car, with new engine.
receipt for same. (you can even make a receipt from yourself to yourself for $1). seriously.
go to inspection pit, They'll give you a form to complete.
they'll check current number against receipt, and sign form.
go to cashier with form. pay i think was $40, receive chit. (not an updated CC)
you now have proof of engine change.
That's acceptable for inspection. Inspection peeps would staple chit to current CC.
Breds, this was NOT as simple as it sounded.
I got to Licensing Office at 8:06am and joined the line - which moved along fairly quick. Upon approaching the inspector, I was asked for my form and he got vex when I told him I was expecting him to provide it. He then hardly gave me a chance to explain myself, and dismissed me by saying that I needed an affidavit. He didn't even offer to tell me where and who would do this for me readily, but an officer standing nearby recommended K. Mohammed - the snackett/bar across the road from Licensing Office.
Mr Mohammed had 2 other customers before me, and still took 2 hours to produce a typed page indicating that my engine change was not done by me, but MAYBE by the previous owner. Amidst doing this, he had to attend to his business, customers and staff, answer the phone, eat and taste the food that he sells. He asked me on numerous occasions to bare with him another "2 minutes" while he tasted the yams because they were too hard, or while he signed documents for other customers who came AFTER me. It was painful, and absolutely frustrating waiting for this document, which was not even GLANCED by the officer on duty when I returned to have the engine change effected. He did NOT even observe the number of the engine in my car. He just told me to close the bonnet, move my car to the car park and pay the fee ($35).
I was eventually out of there by 11:45 - just to acquire a slip of paper that proves I paid for an engine change - and I have to guard it with my life. Another officer said to give it "2 weeks" before the new engine number can be effected on my certified copy.
For anyone wishing to do an engine change in the future, I would recommend that you get the form yourself (it's yellow) beforehand, and fill it out. Write down your new engine number in the "Change" field, sign and date the document. Carry an original invoice from the establishment where you bought the engine - they may not accept anything else unless you accompany this document by an affidavit. This is what I was told by another officer. If you bought the engine from a friend or an individual, you will be asked to swear by affidavit.
In my case, I had no original documents as the previous owner supplied me with copies before we effected the transfer. Even then, the inspecting officer should have noted that the number of the engine in the car vs the certified copy ought to match. The previous owner HAD effected all of this before, but Licensing Office did not update their records - leaving me in this situation. After today's experience when the officer signed my form without verifying the engine number, it is easy to see why they are constantly in a mess. I just have to be thankful that the certified copy I got last Friday has my name on it as the current owner because anything else would have implied that my vehicle is not legally mine, and that I evaded paying the transfer tax by not formalizing the transfer of ownership.
r3iXmann wrote:d phoq![]()
i didnt do all that
the officer didnt even watch my receipt or check the engine..he asked me to call out the number for him
the longest part of the process was him telling me off that 'sumitomo tyres is d bess tyres' and 'dat integra shouldnt idle so high'
RGF Asset Management wrote:Heads up everyone,
my wife told me that there were number of police and licensing officers on the EMR in the vicinity frank's tyre shop in El Dorado.
She said that she did not notice if they had pulled anyone aside at the time because it was in the midst of rush hour traffic. She isnt sure what they were out looking for but i am guessing that this is the start of many more such exercises to enforce this inspection thing.
Word to the wise, sort out all yuh sort outs. It has begun.