Re: Patrick Manning in hospital

Postby shogun » August 1st, 2012, 9:05 am

But the man got quite the welcome?

t12

Postby t12 » August 1st, 2012, 3:02 pm

Patos back, thats good to see, i hear Panday want to host a welcome back ceremony for him.

wonder what he will have to say...

Postby BrotherHood » August 1st, 2012, 3:46 pm

BrotherHood wrote:How alyuh so? The man was in a coma. Regardless of what he did or didn't do for the country, pay the man his respects and be glad he is still alive. Whatever he wishes to do from here on is his choice and nothing any of you that beating up in here can do about it.
pugboy wrote:so when the country is bankrupt
and you and your family, children have no future
hope you still think the same way.

Do you think of those billionaire African/Haitian dictators the same way whilst their citizens suffer ?

You missing my point. I not talking about his political exploits as Prime Minister of T&T or what he has done or not done for the country ok. The man was very sick, he is back and the most we can do is wish him well and goodluck in his future endeavours.
If he chooses to get back into the grime of politics, can you stop him? NO. So hush yuh dotish MC.

Postby brams112 » August 1st, 2012, 4:13 pm

People don't always greet the ones who gave them alot with a good mind,sometimes they have no other choice but to go because they may loose everthing.

Postby shogun » August 1st, 2012, 4:16 pm

^Whut?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 1st, 2012, 4:18 pm

shogun wrote:^Whut?

they doh have much, and they fraid if they didn't go, manning will raid dem house and done tek it all awayz...

Postby brams112 » August 1st, 2012, 4:26 pm

They are the gimmee gimmee children.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 1st, 2012, 4:33 pm

Some of you in here acting like you are immune to illness

Postby De Dragon » August 1st, 2012, 4:37 pm

Appeal Court reinstated the private charge brought against him by the woman. Welcome back Patos..........

Postby Greypatch » August 2nd, 2012, 9:08 am

Welcome Back Mr. Manning

Bareback

Re: Welcome Back Mr. Manning

Postby Bareback » August 2nd, 2012, 10:19 am

Okay, so according to some de PP just as corrupt as de PNM. So, why didn't they extend that corruption in paying for Manning's medical bills, which no doubt included a luxury place for Breakfastes to stay, and pay off de doctor to pull off an Achmed (keel eeem)............... We coulda cover death, funeral and lower Breakfastes costs all in one shot!!!!!!!!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 2nd, 2012, 1:02 pm

Bareback wrote:Okay, so according to some de PP just as corrupt as de PNM. So, why didn't they extend that corruption in paying for Manning's medical bills, which no doubt included a luxury place for Breakfastes to stay, and pay off de doctor to pull off an Achmed (keel eeem)............... We coulda cover death, funeral and lower Breakfastes costs all in one shot!!!!!!!!!

Have you ever left Trinidad to visit other countries?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » August 2nd, 2012, 1:47 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Bareback wrote:Okay, so according to some de PP just as corrupt as de PNM. So, why didn't they extend that corruption in paying for Manning's medical bills, which no doubt included a luxury place for Breakfastes to stay, and pay off de doctor to pull off an Achmed (keel eeem)............... We coulda cover death, funeral and lower Breakfastes costs all in one shot!!!!!!!!!

Have you ever left Trinidad to visit other countries?

I take it this is a feable attempt at a $h!t up, so go ahead, I'm waiting!

Postby noshownogo » August 2nd, 2012, 2:21 pm

:popcorn:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 2nd, 2012, 2:37 pm

TriP wrote:

Thousands of PNM SUPPORTERS GREETED PATRICK MANNNING HOME this evening at PIARCO!

Yeah I saw it on TV. Saw an old lady with a broom and all. Smh.

So why exactly do we need to welcome him back?

Postby Habit7 » August 2nd, 2012, 2:42 pm

toyota2nr wrote:So why exactly do we need to welcome him back?

I know saw your Corolla E120 in the carpark :D

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 2nd, 2012, 3:23 pm

^^^ Yeah but I real catch meh tail to park because you park your Bedford real bad again.

:evilbat:

Postby brams112 » August 2nd, 2012, 9:07 pm

toyota2nr wrote:^^^ Yeah but I real catch meh tail to park because you park your Bedford real bad again.

:evilbat:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: yeah but the leader and his cohorts did not even go to see the man we,poor fellah had to wear a strap to hold up his right hand.he looked real badly off.

Postby rfari » August 2nd, 2012, 9:13 pm

Frail as he looked, aunty k make sure brisk brisk the day after she acknowledge dr eric williams and his contribution to our independence. She knw wha time it is too. Time tuh wrap up the 'snatch and grab' activities

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 10:04 pm

rfari wrote:Frail as he looked, aunty k make sure brisk brisk the day after she acknowledge dr eric williams and his contribution to our independence. She knw wha time it is too. Time tuh wrap up the 'snatch and grab' activities

Well at least someone else seeing what about to transpire.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2012, 11:26 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2012, 11:43 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Man ... 37446.html

Manning not ready to go public
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 2, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 2, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Former prime minister Patrick Manning is not ready to make public appearances.
And he needs more time before publicly speaking about his health and his future in politics, Manning told the Express in a brief telephone interview yesterday.
It was the first time Manning was speaking to the media since his return home on Tuesday night and his voice was soft and frail.
Manning said, "I will be staying out of the limelight for a bit."
Asked about how he felt about his return, Manning said, "I will let you know in due course."
Manning returned to his Sumadh Gardens, Vistabella, home after spending almost six months in the United States undergoing medical treatment. He was transferred to a hospital in Washington, DC, two weeks after he suffered a stroke on January 23.
The cost of his treatment was funded by the State at around US$91,000.
Scores of supporters greeted him at Piarco International Airport on Tuesday night, displaying placards about Manning and the People's National Movement (PNM), the party he once led.
His wife Hazel Manning, who accompanied him, said on Wednesday, "We are very happy to be back home." She said they both needed additional rest. She said no special plans were made for his homecoming.
Members of his San Fernando East constituency welcomed Manning with open arms and said they were looking forward to possible changes.
San Fernando Mayor Dr Navi Muradali said he was looking forward to working with him, adding that his return "will assist with the development of the city".

Postby BrotherHood » August 2nd, 2012, 11:50 pm

Yea let the man take a good rest. People feel a stroke is the common cold.

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » August 3rd, 2012, 8:10 am

Gwan dog.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 3rd, 2012, 4:33 pm

Trinidad Guardian editorial.

Sometimes you just have to let go!

Sorry, Mr Manning can’t lead again
Published:
Friday, August 3, 2012

Text Size:

It is encouraging and welcome news that former prime minister Patrick Manning has returned home after his extended stay abroad while he received treatment for the stroke he suffered early this year. However, even after six months of therapy, Mr Manning’s startlingly frail appearance when he landed at Piarco was unmissable. With his right arm in a sling presumably to keep it from falling at his side, his left arm holding a supportive cane and him being buttressed with loving care by Mrs Manning, the effects of what has been described as a “mild stroke” have obviously had a serious impact on his health. There were more revelations at his return. The large and exuberant welcome that Mr Manning received appears to have been organised by a faction within the former ruling party which imagines that somehow Mr Manning can be returned to lead the PNM, with the ultimate goal of returning him and the party to govern T&T.

The ranks of the party faithful should, however, be under no delusion that the population as a whole would accept Mr Manning once more as a potential leader. The Manning administration was voted out of office largely because of the unacceptably arrogant style of governance of the former prime minister and the massive mismanagement and the allegations of corruption and waste of resources that overshadowed whatever good he did during his term in office. Those including the PNM MPs who were part of the spectacle at Piarco who harbour thoughts of a return to power for Mr Manning should wake up to the reality. Sadly, it appears that Mr Manning himself may be the driving force behind this ill-conceived attempt to present him as a leader in exile, waiting in the wings to make a triumphant return by popular acclaim. A welcome of the kind displayed at Piarco could not have been orchestrated without his agreement. The camping out at Piarco and the rallying around the disgraced leader evince the split in the PNM between those who still yearn for the glory days of Mr Manning and those who are determined that the party should move ahead, and who realise there must be no distractions from a single goal. That goal should be to transform the still battered and bloodied PNM into a party that can function as an effective parliamentary Opposition and convince the electorate that it is a viable alternative to the Government of the day. For the PNM to come back from that massive rout and to function as an effective Opposition, especially given its so greatly reduced parliamentary numbers, it must close ranks. Two years after the election defeat, it is shocking that it still has not done so.

The Piarco welcome and the trappings of the return of the “maximum leader” could not have happened at a worse time for the country or the PNM, as the People’s Partnership Government is left to move from one serious set of errors to another without a break in its stride. The messianic return is also indicative of an outdated belief in the cult of the leader that has no place in the politics of the 21st century. The present PNM leader, Dr Keith Rowley, has shown himself to be refreshingly immune to the temptation to encourage that kind of hero-worship. What is needed now is for the opposition party to demonstrate that it has the capacity to be a united, organised unit.
To continue to hope to reinstate Mr Manning is misguided and is not in the best interest of the party, the country or Mr Manning himself. His days in the driving seat are done.
Editorial

Postby gt4tified » August 3rd, 2012, 8:48 pm

That ^^^^ is the p!ss@$s level of editorial writing that discourages me from reading anything written by the local media.

Maybe Hamid Ghany shoulda write it instead. :| :| :|

Postby Greypatch » August 4th, 2012, 1:03 pm

patios need to chill recover and take it easy.

enjoy your retirement dan....

Postby K74T » January 8th, 2014, 7:09 pm

:bump:

The Honourable Patrick Manning has stated that he will be returning to parliament this Friday.

Welcome back 8)

Postby Morpheus » January 8th, 2014, 7:16 pm

Awaits UML (whey he in truth?), ZR and co.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 8th, 2014, 11:32 pm

mp salary sweet enno