San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby wagonrunner » October 11th, 2013, 1:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Can't wait for the highway to reach Siparia so that I could go by cousin Palackdharrysingh each weekend to eat some fried Quenk Wantons and not have to worry about alignment going off and suspension being damaged.

Which roads are you using?
Doing santa flora at my pace through the three major routes, and over the last two alignment checks, it has stayed the same.

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 11th, 2013, 2:44 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
HURRY wrote:Just so you know... they NEVER had a problem with this part of the highway, and said so repeatedly in the media... but like under your rock doh get Radio 610 oh wha?

How come they dont? Dont highways spoil the enviroment, take up agricultural lands,cause corruption, spoil the 'pristine beauty of the landscape with concrete and aphalt', increase the carbon foot print etc, etc, etc,etc, lie,lie.lie.?

Shut yuh ****

Why yuh ain't hunger strike in pt.lisas and cry fuh the environment?[/quote]

I think you misunderstand me i was trying to show that the reasons same reasons they give for not building one section of the highway can be applied to ANY section

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 11th, 2013, 3:24 pm

A handfull of people dont want the Debe to Mondesir section highway because they would have to move and it is inconviencing them. THAT IS THE ONLY REASON THEY DONT WANT IT! To stop the highway they have enlisted a bogus "enviromentalist' to highlight their cause claiming enviromental issues which is false since they have recommended the destruction of a mangrove swamp to avoid their homes. How can such individuals be enviromentalists? The route they have condemmed have no mangrove.
They claim there will be flooding which is totally untrue because the area presently does not flood even though there are already embankments for secondary road and houses. the water simply passes beneath the road embankments
They lie about agriculture telling the people up north this is a food basket area which is totlly untrue, people dont encourage their children in agri in this area, including the protesters
They claim the lagoon will be destroyed when the fact is 99.8% of the lagoon will remain untouched. In fact 2/3 of the section they have condemmed is on undulating lands.
They claim the cost is too high, but the cost is for the entire highway including the section they want, it is laughable for them to suggest that the section the want will have no corruption, isnt it the same contractor and the same govt?
All over this country communities have separated and propered, the highway will present greater convenience for commerce and education, faster transit times sothat families can spend more time together to help with homework etc
Note: The HRM is posting on Facebook and youtube but not allowing comments. They are afraid their lies will be challenged.
Last edited by HURRY on October 11th, 2013, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 11th, 2013, 3:28 pm

^^^aye we know all dat long time....good reminder for those who may not know

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » October 11th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Im using that new extension everyday. Wonder if the protesters using it as well lol. But its really great. Benefits me alot.

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 11th, 2013, 3:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:

HRM in an attempt to deceive, cannot use an actually map drawn to scale to illustrate their point. They have to resort to caricatures which could only fool the unlearned or ppl from North who have no idea where these places are. Their original re-route was rubbished by the Armstrong report so they are now coming with this infeasible drivel.

You say you dont want destruction but recommend the highway to pass through a mangrove swamp to avoid your homes. The greatest enviromental destruction will occur at this point in the entire project more than at any other location. crabs, fishes, oysters, otters, etc
Massive cost? what is the cost per sq ft to build through the swamp which is 3 to 6ft below sea level as compared building on solid ground which you condemmed
You want to upgrage existing secondary roads to high speed roads to kill people children living there? Whose lands will be acquired to upgrade these roads. So you did a cost benefit analysis on this? How fast can we drive around 90 deg bends every 1000feet. Only a mad person would suggest substituting a highway with secondary roads

Postby Habit7 » October 11th, 2013, 4:38 pm

I never said those things.

I said use a real map and show if the highway truly passes through any "mangrove swamp."

I agree with the Armstrong report that the HRM proposed re-route is unworkable but, there wasn't the proper clearances given for the h'way to proceed. Nevertheless, tell your friends stop deceiving ppl and show a real map of the area.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 11th, 2013, 4:41 pm

HURRY wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
HURRY wrote:Just so you know... they NEVER had a problem with this part of the highway, and said so repeatedly in the media... but like under your rock doh get Radio 610 oh wha?

How come they dont? Dont highways spoil the enviroment, take up agricultural lands,cause corruption, spoil the 'pristine beauty of the landscape with concrete and aphalt', increase the carbon foot print etc, etc, etc,etc, lie,lie.lie.?

Shut yuh ****

Why yuh ain't hunger strike in pt.lisas and cry fuh the environment?

I think you misunderstand me i was trying to show that the reasons same reasons they give for not building one section of the highway can be applied to ANY section[/quote]

Nope, I understood you

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 11th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:I never said those things.

I said use a real map and show if the highway truly passes through any "mangrove swamp."

I agree with the Armstrong report that the HRM proposed re-route is unworkable but, there wasn't the proper clearances given for the h'way to proceed. Nevertheless, tell your friends stop deceiving ppl and show a real map of the area.

Sorry, my comments were directed to those in the video

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2013, 12:43 am

More otters may be affected, says zoo
By Carolyn Kissoon carolyn.kissoon@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 11, 2013 at 9:34 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 11, 2013 at 10:57 PM ECT

The protected river otter discovered in a watercourse near the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin construction site in Mon Desir may not be alone.
Delvert Charleau, zookeeper at the Emperor Valley Zoo, believes there is an otter population which needs to be protected.
Charleau and colleague zookeeper Walter Bonyun visited the site in response to yesterday’s Express front-page photograph, which showed an otter in the river near where bulldozers are clearing land.
It was Express photographer Trevor Watson who spotted the animal about 30 metres away from the highway segment being developed between South Oropouche Junction and the contentious Mon Desir overpass on Thursday. Watson returned to the site yesterday and took the zookeepers along.
Charleau said, “I believe we need more scientific knowledge in terms of conservation to study the area because it appears as though there is an otter population in that area. We just saw one otter in a picture. We don’t know exactly how many otters living inside that area. We need more research being done in that area, so we will know what we are about.”
Charleau suggested a reserve be created in the area to prevent people from interfering with the natural settings for the animal.
The zookeepers were unable to find any otters at the site yesterday. However, they left confident the animals will not be affected by construction of the mega road project.
“We noted that a considerable amount of habitat is still intact. We didn’t see any otter that is reported in the papers that was trapped. We felt the otter in the paper didn’t look hungry and starving. There was no otter trapped when we got there. There is a small portion of the river that will be compromised, but they are going to put culverts in the river to allow the river to continue to flow. The bulk of the river is still intact,” he said.
Charleau said the animal will be able to go further down into the river. “The otter, we believe, [is] supposed to be all right, once people don’t go in there and further compromise the habitat,” he said.
Charleau said the Emperor Valley Zoo was assured construction of the highway will not affect the animal’s habitat.
The waterway in which the animal seems to be trapped appears to be the Tarouba River, which runs parallel to the highway construction and over which, according to the highway design plan, the Tarouba River bridge is due to be built, where the river intersects with the highway.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mor ... 66991.html

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 12th, 2013, 6:32 pm

[quote="Highway Re-Route"]The Case -:
Last edited by HURRY on October 12th, 2013, 6:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

HURRY

Postby HURRY » October 12th, 2013, 6:40 pm

HRM:The Ministry of Works wants to build two (2) highways from Point Fortin. One goes from Point to Mon Desir, along the Mosquito Creek to San Fernando. We are not challenging this highway. This one is a bonus for the people of deep South who suffered for too long.

Reply:This is the section you should have condemned because as an ‘environmentalist’ you should know that the most delicate eco system in the entire lagoon exists at mosquito creek where all sorts of creatures such as crabs, fishes, oysters,eels, shrimp etc breed and grow, yet you say go ahead and build in this area you don’t object. While fasting yourself to death you had the support of the armchair environmentalists who didn’t have a clue of your deceit. You also claim that families will be disrupted but don’t care about those at St. Marys junction since they are not your friends. You recommend a highway right through their community!

*HRM:The other one is a 6 foot high, 9.1 mile embankment through the Oropuche Basin, passing through thirteen communities from Mon Desir to Debe. This one will create massive dislocation, flooding, and alienate fertile lands.

Reply:As far as dislocation goes, lots of abandoned lands are in the same area, you could hold a fast to demand that genuine residents be relocated in close proximity to where they live, the whole country will support you on this. In any case having to relocate in this small country will not kill anybody, people have been doing that long before they had the convenience of cell phone, 3 car per house and internet, it is so much easier now. All these people have relatives living abroad for decades yet they are still close.

*HRM: It will generate metropolitan sprawl in peaceful, well-knit, empowered communities. We are against this madness. This is highway robbery, make-work for contractors - make work to build it and make work to clean up when the floods hit.

Reply:Metropolitan sprawl will come regardless; the evidence is there, what was Debe, Penal, Siparia and environs like 20yrs ago? We need the highway to deal with Metropolitan sprawl since we will bypass the towns at high speed without having to go through them as is at present. You are suggesting there will be corruption, then be a good citizen and tell us how you plan to stop it in the section you approve so that we can apply it overall.

HRM: We want the repair and widening of roads in this area, as well as the use of outlying secondary roads to create connectivity in this area.

Reply:How will you widen roads without acquiring people’s property? Oh I understand, that’s OK as long it is not CERTAIN people’s property! You just said you didn’t want metropolitan sprawl and now talking about improving the roads, what will that bring? Oh I understand, you are just grasping at straws.
So you are going to use country roads with numerous 90 deg bends and speed bumps to substitute for a highway! What about the pedestrians on these roads? What about the schools, churches and temples supermarkets playgrounds, rumshops,etc that will have high speed vehicles on their door step? You want to kill people? THIS IS THE SCIENCE OF THE HRM AND THE ARMSTRONG COMMITTEE YOUHAVE BEEN TALKING ABOUT? Ha! Ha!

*HRM: This Mon Desir to Debe is overkill, unnecessary, too costly, corrupt, violent, bogus and frankly, a dumb deal for Trinidad and Tobago.

Reply: This highway will be with us for thousands of years and will have to be upgraded in the future, the same way our present highways are being done. The question of overkill does not arise.
After it is built and 300,000 people use it on the first day its necessity will be proven. If you have a conscience you will stand at the Debe intersection on mornings and evenings and see the proof
The most violent section of this highway is through the mangrove and that has your blessing
The most costly section per sq ft is through the mangrove and that has your approval If we wait another 20 yrs it will cost a hundred billion!
As far as corruption goes you need to indicate how you will stop this in the section you approve
As Far as dumb goes when succeeding generations hear a man tried to stop this highway they will say “What a DUMB fool”

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2013, 12:18 am

HURRY wrote:Reply: This highway will be with us for thousands of years
i just scanned the previous post and saw this. it showed me way too much.

Amie-1

Postby Amie-1 » October 13th, 2013, 2:17 am

It's so sad to say kublalsingh has never experienced the traffic I have on that creek every single day of my life but wants to fight against it...which doesn't affect nor benefit him.

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2013, 11:29 am

Amie-1 wrote:It's so sad to say kublalsingh has never experienced the traffic I have on that creek every single day of my life but wants to fight against it...which doesn't affect nor benefit him.
:roll: you have a personal traffic plan nah.

Postby RBphoto » October 28th, 2013, 12:27 am

Hurry, great reply to hRM.

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2014, 6:32 pm

Sooo....from what I understand the Boodhai family are squatters and the highway passing through their settlement.

That and an $80k was handed out somwhere along the lines to paint a bad picture and stop the highway.

Postby pioneer » March 1st, 2014, 6:32 pm

80k?

That can't even pay for ah sylphy

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2014, 6:40 pm

Thats 80 more than what squatters have.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 1st, 2014, 7:00 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Sooo....from what I understand the Boodhai family are squatters and the highway passing through their settlement.

That and an $80k was handed out somwhere along the lines to paint a bad picture and stop the highway.

correct is right. squatters.
My uncle land across the road from them is already bought over my the Hiway people since last year. so IDK

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 1st, 2014, 9:44 pm

always had a crush on shereen .. wonder if she wah come live by me.

grad

Postby grad » March 2nd, 2014, 4:47 am

the government moving to slow. they should be paying off persons who already accepted the package and demolishing and clearing those areas. there should be only patches of land where persons like the bodhais live.

Also kublalsingh said that a businessman came up to him while they were protesting in POS and gave him 80g's "jus like that". theres a link somewhere on youtube with fazeer asking him how they finance their lawyers etc, i just cant find it right now

dreadman

Postby dreadman » March 2nd, 2014, 8:02 am

i went to school with one of the Boodhai's(almost 20 yrs ago) and to see that they only care about themselves and not the improvemnt in their lives to come and their families are disgusting. y are they not fighting for the houses that are being built on agricultural land? bcause it not affecting them. i used to take 45 mins from penal to pt lisas now i take 30 mins.

Postby pioneer » March 2nd, 2014, 10:29 am

Environmentalist protesting for the environment, yet he didn't say a word about the multiple oil spills.

consistency/10

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2014, 10:32 am

Cuz the jokey contractor who paying him doh care about the environment

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 2nd, 2014, 10:51 am

contractor or contractors who will be affected by the hway

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 2nd, 2014, 8:04 pm

pioneer wrote:Environmentalist protesting for the environment, yet he didn't say a word about the multiple oil spills.

consistency/10

I thought I was the only one thinking bout that

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2014, 8:43 pm

MonsterPower wrote:contractor or contractors who will be affected by the hway

well how can one be "affected" when they squatting on government lands, decided to put up million dollar structures on them after being served notice years ago and now fighting for settlement for lands that doesn't belong on them....

Postby De Dragon » March 3rd, 2014, 10:48 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

well how can one be "affected" when they squatting on government lands, decided to put up million dollar structures on them after being served notice years ago and now fighting for settlement for lands that doesn't belong on them....

Usual squatter fackery again!

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 3rd, 2014, 11:36 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

what do you guys really expect about those lagoon etiquette ppl??? radio 610 still big in dem parts of trinidad yuh know!!