BBQ question to coal or not to coal

slow323

Postby slow323 » February 28th, 2010, 1:51 pm

try this a lamb leg rubbed with jerk seasoning not the powdered kind and Dijon mustard, the type with rough grains i suggest you leave this for at least 24hrs

done this many times before slow cook in oven and then finish on grill on high heat

soft meat combined with a slightly crispy skin, makes a bess cutters also

Postby SR » February 28th, 2010, 2:05 pm

X_Factor wrote:SR, how it tastin?

was it moist n stuff?

used hickory wood chunks on the gas grill to give it a nice smoked flavour

came out pretty good for my first attempt

didnt get to inject any marinade but nice flaovour right tru

next i'll try it with whole chickens

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2010, 4:41 pm

^ there is a place in chase village right after the triangle, when u make the left turn
5 or 6chickens for 100.00 and its REALLYYYYY good yuh cant go wrong at all....
really good for using whole

Postby SR » February 28th, 2010, 5:04 pm

it halaal??

i just cut the turkey in half and cooked as 2 pieces

will do the same for the chicken but the experiment was the smoked flavour with just a handfull of the chunks...........not chips

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2010, 6:17 pm

my uncle who is muslim also buys there so im guessing it is...i cant say for sure though...anyone here knows where im talking about and can confirm?

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2010, 10:48 am

Any of you guys buy stuff from"The gourmet genie" in sando?

I now see a flyer here for them

100% Angus USDA steaks and tenderloins,venison,escargot

Fish Steaks like mahi mahi, king fish,grouper etc

Squid ink,caviar, scallops, lobsters

Gourmet Cheeses

Jamaican blue mountain coffee :)

Postby SR » March 24th, 2010, 11:13 pm

BBQ people

looking for the protection gloves for BBQ

nothing too big just for heat protection while working on the grill

does anyone know where slees this locally

not looking for the silicone gloves used for kitchen ovens

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2010, 7:55 am

i took a pair of regular kitchen gloves and coated it with hitemp silicone
wear a surgical gloves and spread it on
if you want it neat you will have to do a couple fingers at a time so they dont stick together

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby X_Factor » May 30th, 2010, 1:40 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Ronco-KN3005BLGEN ... 5&sr=1-115

whats ur thoughts on this brand of knives?...im thinking about gettin this set but im not sure about the brand...if not..
it will be this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000XH ... PDKIKX0DER

btw, its grilling week on FN...learnt some nice stuff!!
to bad i dont eat beef as well, a T bone steak looked like it would taste awesome!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 30th, 2010, 1:57 pm

allyuh fellas could rel cook boy, tried my hand at it some time and lets just say I was not successful :?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » May 30th, 2010, 6:59 pm

real men does where gloves,,,, lol

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 20th, 2010, 3:10 am

A few weeks ago I got hooked on cooking a curry duck after seeing Sean from Street Power work his Trini skills on ah Canadian duck. Ah paid close attention to his techniques but forget the part about the skin. So what's it going to be? Skin on or skin off?

He patch the curry first (no oil at all) then drop in the well seasoned duck.. He mussbe use like 15 cloves of garlic on that duck, but ah eh goh lie - It Lash!!
Nothing better than cooking ah duck in a shop full of fast rotaries and talking bout how Manning fark up "we" country.

Will post progress pics as soon as the action start

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2010, 10:00 am

usually we put a little oil in the curry and u can also add a little "massala" to give it that nice dark colour
roast the skin on the duck till it gets sligtly burnt
no one wastes the skin locally i rather that than the meat itself!!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 20th, 2010, 1:04 pm

operation bun dong the house has started..

Skin was roasted but I did a 50/50 ratio of skin to no skin.. I added no oil in hope of the skin & fat rendering down to add some flavor & keep it off the bottom. Right now I have bigger issues on meh hand. Ah trying to figure out how to ship a plate of duck, goat & provision for meh brother Crispeed down in Florida.

*runs off to call Fedex

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2010, 1:20 pm

fired up the small smoker with some dinosaur bones(beef short ribs)
with montreal steak rub

Postby SR » June 20th, 2010, 3:38 pm

not imressed with the steak rubs alone

the meat needs a bit more seasoning for my tastes

just did chicken lamb and some beef short ribs on the gas grill as well as pineapple :)

used one piece of hichory wood chunk which lasted for the entire session for the smoked flavour

burners on the lowest setting

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 20th, 2010, 3:44 pm

Update...

Goat lash with a lil whiskey for flavor.. Duck was so-so, but will try it again in a few weeks. This was definitely an outdoor adventure. Can't imagine the whole house smelling like curry if cooked indoors.

Next project is to pick up 2 55 gallon VP fuels - Methanol drums to make a smoker. Found some plans online & got barrels at a friend's shop. Hope to finally start this project by the end of July.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2010, 3:51 pm

this year's welding project gonna be a backwoods style smoker
my 2 smokers dont cater for medium size capacity

Weber Smokey Mountain - small capacity
Stumps Clone - large capacity, long run 12hours+

http://www.smoked-meat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6649

if anybody is interested and has access to a brake/shear sheet cutting machine I would be more than willing to build a pair as the labour wouldn't be much more to weld up a second

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 20th, 2010, 3:59 pm

I can either do a single barrel vertical smoker or a double barrel setup.. I would like to keep the car theme by painting the barrels in the same VP fuels color with matching logo etc. Maybe add aluminum smoke vents similar to IC piping. I have all the material to do it but finding the time is proving to be difficult.

mark

Postby mark » September 17th, 2010, 4:32 am

Where can you get the propane tanks re-filled?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 17th, 2010, 6:47 am

Rahamut either in Sando or Trincity by Johnson & Johnson.

Maybe this may help with the design.

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cm/popu ... _Plans.pdf

Postby SR » September 17th, 2010, 11:57 am

north plant on gaston st chaguanas or trincity industrial estate

did a lamb leg this weekend
325 for 3 hrs
did some slits down to the bone and stuffed my home made version of jerk seasoning
marinate for 24hrs
came out reel good and can be served hot with mash potatoes or cold sliced for sandwiches

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 26th, 2010, 11:12 pm

Well fellas, I still haven't gone to pickup my 2 55gal VP Fuels steel drums to make my smoker but that didn't stop me from experimenting today :mrgreen:

I came up with a clever idea of pressure cooking the well seasoned ribs (mustard,dry & green seasons) in apple juice & with a hint of liquid smoke to give it that smokey flavor.. Ribs were washed, towel dried then I applied wet rub consisting of mustard, worcestershire sauce, dry & green season.. I added seasoned ribs to pressure cooker then filled cooker with 3 cups of apple juice,1/2 cup of bbq sauce & some liquid smoke. The idea was to use the high pressure and heat to break down the meat in record time, while adding flavor from the liquid smoke, apple juice & season..
After cooking for 40 mins in my 12lb pressure cooker, the ribs were tender and falling off the bone.. The season & liquids penetrated the meat and could be tasted all the way through. To give it more flavor & texture, I threw them on the grill then glazed them with bbq sauce to get that nice "bark" on the outside.. I tried both beef & pork ribs tonight. They both came out tender and perfect. Total time involved was under 1hr.

Beef ribs hot off the grill

Wet rub for ribs

Pork ribs with wet rubs stacked in pressure cooker

Simmering/steaming liquid - Apple juice, bbq sauce etc

Liquid added to pan.. It was 1/2 way up to the ribs. Just enough liquid to steam 4lbs of ribs for 40mins.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 27th, 2010, 6:41 am

Looks great guy .....Instead of the apple juice I used the onion soup mix from Hi Lo (IGA Brand) & it came out great with some fresh green seasoning. BTW where did you get the local beef ribs from.

Postby SR » September 27th, 2010, 9:05 am

hmm
i in the mood for a nice bbq chicken this weekend yes

definatly gonna do an apple seasoning soak for at least 24hrs and then a light dry rub and cook it slow and low

Postby X_Factor » September 27th, 2010, 4:26 pm

^ call mih wen yuh done nah
and btw, orchard apple juice is a waste...get the Vibe apple juice...flavour is alot more present in that one

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2010, 4:38 pm

recently acquired junk, might try doing gas assisted

Postby X_Factor » September 27th, 2010, 4:44 pm

^ what u hav in mind?

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2010, 5:41 pm

the blue water pressure tank will be the main pit
gonna put one of the freon tanks below as the firebox, might join 2 together

a second one will be put and if possible a gas ring burner in it
they gonna be joined to the top tank with 3" aluminized muffler pipe.

I don't expect the freon tanks to last forever but I need the practice with my mig
good thing is I can always cut them off and weld back another

NP selling 18ga raw steel barrels, they a bit pricey though almost $500
but might be worthwhile if my project works with the fireboxes below

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2010, 6:49 pm

joined 2 for the firebox, they are actually good thickness metal
maybe 16ga, definitely thicker than a 55gal drum
easy to weld, no blowouts

have to cut good holes for the 3 inch pipe to run between them and the main chamber
then cut doors