IM_A0221.JPG
IM_A0127.JPG
IM_A0161.JPG

rookie

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby rookie » April 8th, 2012, 7:39 am

That's not the kinda thoughts u wanna put to people that now getting in to the industry @mudboy

Postby AllTrac » April 8th, 2012, 7:46 am

but it is a sobering fact. As with anything both on land and sea, there are risk.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 8th, 2012, 9:04 am

It could happen.................
user541188_pic26517_1237345575.jpg
4568885597_4edb6978b8.jpg
4568885597_4edb6978b8.jpg (115.13 KiB) Viewed 3198 times
The-Deepwater-Horizon-oil-006.jpg
The-Deepwater-Horizon-oil-006.jpg (29.01 KiB) Viewed 3222 times
9062145.jpg
Last edited by Mudboy on April 8th, 2012, 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » April 8th, 2012, 11:40 am

mudboy....*cringe* :-(

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 8th, 2012, 1:56 pm

It can and does, sadly. All the tech in the world didn't stop it a few years ago and couldn't if something happened now.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2012, 6:31 pm

rookie wrote:Fire and gas Detronics and process nuflo rosemout etc

Rouemount is hart based?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 9th, 2012, 10:40 pm

Have to say this was a very interesting thread. I have a friend who was really bright in school, an old Pres boy. Back in the early 80s went san f'do tech, did MET, topped the class, straight A student. Got a job offshore, spent one night on the rig, got on a chopper the next day, went home and never went back.

He became a school teacher and got married and had kids. Hes very happy today.

Never went offshore again, I guess its not for everybody.

Geodude, you sound like a very intelligent young man, you could do just as well on shore. Go where your heart leads you. You have your youth, lots of time to do whatever you want.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 9th, 2012, 10:55 pm

Normally people pay off for house and one vehicle and then scrambling to get a land job. Geodude doh seem to care to leave the field now after he has those.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 9th, 2012, 11:12 pm

Another thing, some good advice for you young fellars. when yuh getting married, is good to have your woman sacrifice with you, side by side, when you getting house and land. Dont give them everything easy easy so.

When you give them everything easy, they dont appreciate it. If yuh have trouble in yuh marriage, they will want to take it from you.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2012, 11:31 pm

the first three tings she gettin is line. lolz, juss kidding.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 10th, 2012, 3:04 am

djaggs wrote:Have to say this was a very interesting thread. I have a friend who was really bright in school, an old Pres boy. Back in the early 80s went san f'do tech, did MET, topped the class, straight A student. Got a job offshore, spent one night on the rig, got on a chopper the next day, went home and never went back.

He became a school teacher and got married and had kids. Hes very happy today.

Never went offshore again, I guess its not for everybody.

Geodude, you sound like a very intelligent young man, you could do just as well on shore. Go where your heart leads you. You have your youth, lots of time to do whatever you want.

:lol: :lol: :lol: them sando tech fellas

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » April 10th, 2012, 3:55 am

ahhhh just tek a pee over the railing...lmao

i will share some pics for u guys tom
Last edited by smr_fingers on April 11th, 2012, 1:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » April 10th, 2012, 3:56 pm

13''strong wrote:I consider this to be the hardest thing i ever tried to accomplish , i finished my course with 9 other students 2 got through with jobs and 5 decided to give up because they over heard others saying that you don't get alot of time out there so they fear that they will be back home in a while hunting for jobs all over again ... I look at it as i'll use the time wisely and gain experience so by the time i get back i'll have new experiences to attach to my resume ,i'm also a struggling job seeker but i'm not giving up .....any help will be greatly appreciated ....@geodude hope u did"nt forget me pal any help possible ....

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=431884

this might be the"foot in the door" u lookin for

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 10th, 2012, 6:59 pm

smr_fingers wrote:ahhhh just tek a pee over the railing...lmao

i will share some more pics for u guys tom

Nah is arite. I eh want to see pics of dat.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » April 10th, 2012, 9:40 pm

alluh men puttin me in place so i delete them
Last edited by smr_fingers on April 10th, 2012, 11:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby nervewrecker » April 10th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
13''strong wrote:I consider this to be the hardest thing i ever tried to accomplish , i finished my course with 9 other students 2 got through with jobs and 5 decided to give up because they over heard others saying that you don't get alot of time out there so they fear that they will be back home in a while hunting for jobs all over again ... I look at it as i'll use the time wisely and gain experience so by the time i get back i'll have new experiences to attach to my resume ,i'm also a struggling job seeker but i'm not giving up .....any help will be greatly appreciated ....@geodude hope u did"nt forget me pal any help possible ....

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=431884

this might be the"foot in the door" u lookin for

link eh wukkin.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 10th, 2012, 9:45 pm

Check out the not so rigandhelicopter legal camera use nah!
Either way, cool pics. Need to do a video from the helideck of a floater. That'll scare some people.

Postby Damien » April 10th, 2012, 9:46 pm

hmmm like they lift the ban of phones on platform and chopper

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » April 10th, 2012, 11:00 pm

hmm nice pics dude !

Postby janfar » April 10th, 2012, 11:20 pm

smr, were those pics taken the first time u went offshore???

dougla25

Postby dougla25 » April 10th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Fellers you all know which companies hiring ops ppl ?? been looking for a job over a year now and it real frustrating now..

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 11th, 2012, 3:52 am

Damien wrote:hmmm like they lift the ban of phones on platform and chopper

Whut?

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » April 11th, 2012, 8:13 am

dougla25 wrote:Fellers you all know which companies hiring ops ppl ?? been looking for a job over a year now and it real frustrating now..

think british gas was takin people d other day.....

bgh

Postby bgh » April 11th, 2012, 8:16 am

dougla25 wrote:Fellers you all know which companies hiring ops ppl ?? been looking for a job over a year now and it real frustrating now..

Check out jobs.bhpbilliton.com and search under Trinidad,
there were a few posting for ops recently and some others now.

dougla25

Postby dougla25 » April 11th, 2012, 8:35 am

Thanks check out the BG site..

Postby pete » April 11th, 2012, 9:11 am

Mudboy wrote:

Whut?

BG doesn't allow phones on their platforms / choppers.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 11th, 2012, 10:33 am

pete wrote:
Mudboy wrote:

Whut?

BG doesn't allow phones on their platforms / choppers.

and maybe the only company that does......

Postby Sky » April 11th, 2012, 12:10 pm

I just handed the pilot my phone and yelled "FLIGHT MODE" at him. He look at it, hand me back and give me a thumbs up. So I record this.
On the rig itself, the company man said I'll need a hot work permit to record anything on the main deck with any device that's not intrinsically safe.