TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

mojosodope

Re: TSTT (bmobile) 4G hotspot experience.........

Postby mojosodope » April 29th, 2011, 10:36 pm

There's a little confusion so let me attempt to make it clear
Blink's Mobile broadband, whether it be Turbo, the rest of their usb modems, or their new '4G' hotspot Mifi uses the WiMax technology while connected to 4G & the EVDO data only network when on 3G

As far as I know TSTT has/had an EVDO Rev a network and foreigners that are on Verizon roam on this network while they are here.

The general public does not have access to this network for voice communication at all.

BLINK '3G' = EVDO REV A
BLINK '4G' = is that pathetic piece of sheit called WiMax

hope that helped

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 29th, 2011, 10:52 pm

rodfarva wrote:Chiney
Its fast. Works great for streaming youtube, pages load quick but the server connection time is like most mobile internet...not as good as the wired stuff.

Its not a world of difference from EVDO, but a definate improvement
I didnt bench it, becoz Im lazy :lol: and because I wasnt really looking for low pings or anything more than 2-3mbit

The modem is really my old man's so I havent used it much, but i get a 4g connection about 50% of the times ive used it

great

so i can at least expect to browse and sheit good right..

its for net on the go really..dont expect to be downloading movies and sheit

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 29th, 2011, 11:12 pm

mojosodope wrote:There's a little confusion so let me attempt to make it clear
Blink's Mobile broadband, whether it be Turbo, the rest of their usb modems, or their new '4G' hotspot Mifi uses the WiMax technology while connected to 4G & the EVDO data only network when on 3G

As far as I know TSTT has/had an EVDO Rev a network and foreigners that are on Verizon roam on this network while they are here.

The general public does not have access to this network for voice communication at all.

BLINK '3G' = EVDO REV A

hope that helped

Correct indeed.

And while WiMAX is 4G technology, TSTT shouldn't even be calling it 4G..... they're advertising this thing at 2mbits! That is 3G speeds man.......well in fact, 3G has long surpassed that...reaching 42mbits with the latest release.

Honestly, I still get consistently faster speeds on the old (almost ancient now) EVDO system. As well as far better coverage.

With EVDO, I routinely got between 1 to 2mbits at home. With WiMAX (when it connects) I barely get 1Mbit.....and then the connection drops every 5 minutes and sometimes it refuses to connect at all especially at nights.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 29th, 2011, 11:24 pm

Bizzare wrote:I just wan't to know of the fastest and most reliable wireless plan that EXISTS in Trinidad, available to the average man without getting technical about it :lol:
Office is/would be Port-of-Spain so signal is not an issue.

Once your in an urban or remote area with good coverage you should be cool, it'll be good if you could borrow someone's device to try out. TSTT's WiMax uses 2.5GHz compared to their EVDO which I believe is in the 800MHz band. They say that WiMax covers 75% of populated areas, for example even Toco has WiMax.

Postby Bizzare » April 29th, 2011, 11:28 pm

^^ Thanks for the info. I was really going for the EVDO but they said all out of stock :? and thats when I heard about this 4g Hotspot.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 29th, 2011, 11:30 pm

shaneelal wrote:
Bizzare wrote:I just wan't to know of the fastest and most reliable wireless plan that EXISTS in Trinidad, available to the average man without getting technical about it :lol:
Office is/would be Port-of-Spain so signal is not an issue.

Once your in an urban or remote area with good coverage you should be cool, it'll be good if you could borrow someone's device to try out. TSTT's WiMax uses 2.5GHz compared to their EVDO which I believe is in the 800MHz band. They say that WiMax covers 75% of populated areas, for example even Toco has WiMax.

yeah but do you know what's their definition of a populated area?
it's areas such as liming hotspots i.e Toco Maracas etc and cities such as port of spain and san fernando. I've seen the actual coverage map for the WiMax and it's not impressive.

Even with the recent launch of the hotspot I heard today from a guy who consults with TSTT/Blink on the installation and expansion of WiMax sites that they are in fact cutting back the service but I did not have a chance to inquire more into the subject.

Postby Sky » April 29th, 2011, 11:33 pm

with WiMax the download speed is as advertised. Nice and solid. But the latency is a bish. For people like Bizzare who don't wanna get technical, that means when you say ping, the website takes a little while to say pong.
Skylinechild, it will take a while for that network to get crowded. They're actually testing their 4G network with these wimax thingamabobs. the wimax service is exclusive, meaning you HAVE to live in bush and have no hope and other for them to give it to you.
On a side note, digicel also has their wimax network up (don't quote me), but they weren't as smart as tstt. While they test theirs on the inside, tstt charging ppl to test theirs :lol:

Which is also why we're not getting 3g here. why go 3g when they have 4g out already?
So if you have no problem paying for beta service, the 4G is the way to go.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 29th, 2011, 11:35 pm

Devourment wrote:
mojosodope wrote:There's a little confusion so let me attempt to make it clear

BLINK '3G' = EVDO REV A

hope that helped

Correct indeed.

And while WiMAX is 4G technology, TSTT shouldn't even be calling it 4G..... they're advertising this thing at 2mbits! That is 3G speeds man.......well in fact, 3G has long surpassed that...reaching 42mbits with the latest release.

Honestly, I still get consistently faster speeds on the old (almost ancient now) EVDO system. As well as far better coverage.

With EVDO, I routinely got between 1 to 2mbits at home. With WiMAX (when it connects) I barely get 1Mbit.....and then the connection drops every 5 minutes and sometimes it refuses to connect at all especially at nights.

exactly WiMax is dead, they should be rolling out HSPA+, and I know someone on here is going to beyotch about cost/profit analysis so I'll just say this now, they made a bad investment into a technology that was already dying, failed to implement it to acceptable standards, and lost a shitload of money.

I know it's not as easy as it sounds so don't give me that either but they really need to consider COMBINING that sheit they call blink mobile broadband and bmobile like a normal service provider so we could finally have 3G on our phones and carry around a working MiFi in our pockets if we want. Yeah we have a smaller consumer base than AT&T, Verizion etc, but come on man we could do better, the problem here is that people don't give a damn.

*rant over*

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 29th, 2011, 11:44 pm

Sky wrote:with WiMax the download speed is as advertised. Nice and solid. But the latency is a bish. For people like Bizzare who don't wanna get technical, that means when you say ping, the website takes a little while to say pong.
Skylinechild, it will take a while for that network to get crowded. They're actually testing their 4G network with these wimax thingamabobs. the wimax service is exclusive, meaning you HAVE to live in bush and have no hope and other for them to give it to you.
On a side note, digicel also has their wimax network up (don't quote me), but they weren't as smart as tstt. While they test theirs on the inside, tstt charging ppl to test theirs :lol:

Which is also why we're not getting 3g here. why go 3g when they have 4g out already?

let me correct you there, WiMax theoretical download speeds are faster than LTE or almost any other 4G technology, The current revision of WiMax allows up to around 40Mb/s, cool that fine so far..

What TSTT/Blink is offering is 2Mb/s download with ridiculously high ping.

Fine they are developing, but what people fail to understand is that TSTT couldn't make up their damn mind and created 3 different types of networks and the only one that works relatively well is the GSM voice. (their GPRS/EDGE data is sheit)

Their EVDO rev A data works relatively well but our phones aren't allowed to use it. (for example Verizon phones are able to roam with both voice and data)

and their WiMax network is not compatible with any damn GSM phone as far as I know, phones that work on networks like Sprint are able to use WiMax I think but seriously?

They could have created One good network that combined it but as far as I'm concerned they didn't know wtf they were doing.

Thanks.

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 12:28 am

If ulyuh want to discuss 3G and 4G and why Trinidad so... etc..
GO HERE:
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=340930&start=30

Lets keep one thread for all TSTT 4G discussions please.

mojosodope

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby mojosodope » April 30th, 2011, 12:34 am

haha boss, well that worked.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 1:04 am

is the WiMax service only being offered to certain customers?

I went in to tstt with the intention of getting the Wi Max but they turned me down......saying that it was for customers with whom they cannot supply the landline for.....

Seeing that I reside in an area where I can get the landline they said no Wi Max for me.......

are they 4 real ppl?

Can anyone in here workin TSTT or sumthing hook me up? I mean I paying for the service....I ent begging them for it free......

brickman

Postby brickman » April 30th, 2011, 1:36 am

Seems like a fella on tstt forums have it.

"By now everyone knows that TSTT has launched the mobile 4G WiMAX/WiFi Hotspot in your pocket product for up to 5 users, unlimited $349/mth. (2 yr. contract. It is 2MBits down, but although the rep at TSTT boasted that "is 4G!" and upload is also 2MBits, it is sadly only about 56KBits (sometimes a little faster). So it's barely usable for any intensive uploads, but the downloads are passable most times. What this product represents is mobility and convenience, with a 4hr. battery life and about a 20 foot usable WiFi radius. 4G coverage is okay generally around Trinidad & Tobago, but can be spotty. Would be nice if TSTT was to actually "crank up" the speed a little and work on stronger coverage. By definition it's 4G WiMAX, but at a minimal level."

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 1:56 am

yeah brickman......the hotspot seems okay but IMHO i find that it is too expensive......!!!

If digicel launches something similiar and tstt gets some competition that will be great!!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 30th, 2011, 9:33 am

smeone mentioned digicel might have something?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 30th, 2011, 10:12 am

Sky wrote:with WiMax the download speed is as advertised. Nice and solid. But the latency is a bish. For people like Bizzare who don't wanna get technical, that means when you say ping, the website takes a little while to say pong.

Your most likely misinformed about Digicel Trinidad, they currently use low capacity radios at the cell sites for access backhaul, they don't have the infrastructure to handle large amounts of traffic. They will have to upgrade microwave links, core and probably lease fibres for their core. TSTT probably has fibres to more than 95% to their sites.

My take is that TSTT was looking for a replacement for their EVDO network and somehow WiMax was more economical to them and a proven technology. They should be looking to change out their GSM network within the next two years, where we should see HSPA+ implemented.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 30th, 2011, 10:39 am

shaneelal wrote:

Your most likely misinformed about Digicel Trinidad, they currently use low capacity radios at the cell sites for access backhaul, they don't have the infrastructure to handle large amounts of traffic. They will have to upgrade microwave links, core and probably lease fibres for their core. TSTT probably has fibres to more than 95% to their sites.

My take is that TSTT was looking for a replacement for their EVDO network and somehow WiMax was more economical to them and a proven technology. They should be looking to change out their GSM network within the next two years, where we should see HSPA+ implemented.

Honestly, if that were the case 3G UMTS should have been the obvious choice, not wimax.

Also, about Digicel, I' ve heard Digicel Trinidad has been begging Digicel Group for 4 years now for the funding to go UMTS....also I've heard they just got it :)

If that's true, TSTT is dead.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 30th, 2011, 11:59 am

by the time they implement a reliable data network the rest of the world will already have 5G & 6G lmao

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 30th, 2011, 12:29 pm

i dont kno how dead tstt might be.
cuz as far as the public has seen..

digicel boil down like bhagi and have tstt walkin all over them really......

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 1:40 pm

Chiney wrote:smeone mentioned digicel might have something?

in the other thread they thought the red spots ads (Blink's HS ad) were theirs. It wasnt.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 3:05 pm

would be great if digicel comes up with something!!!

Competition is always great for us the consumers!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 3:44 pm

got it just a few mins ago!

works GREAT!!

sceens later!

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 2nd, 2011, 4:01 pm

worth the 475 a month?

Postby Bizzare » May 2nd, 2011, 4:03 pm

Chiney, give it a week and come back and let us know how reliable it iz. K Thanks

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 4:15 pm

paying the 349 a month

using it as we speak.. we will see how it goes..

4ghotspot2.jpg
4ghotspot1.jpg

Postby ismithx » May 2nd, 2011, 4:47 pm

yea chiney. give it a week or two then feel the usual blink 'love'..... it does drive you batty sometimes...

what does? oh well yuh will find out.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 4:57 pm

sad thing is..and i will show u the device ismithx next time u up for classes.. is that i never had problems with blink..even adsl...

but we will see

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 2nd, 2011, 5:19 pm

Chiney, we look forward to your unbiased review of the product, looks good so far. What area are you using the service?

brickman

Postby brickman » May 2nd, 2011, 5:21 pm

Put up pics of the device nah?Meanwhile I suffering waiting on blink installation a month now :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 5:24 pm

the device is a BLINK branded Franklin R536
picture that blank..with an orange BLINK Broadband logo

i tried the service so far from trincity to maracas valley st.joseph..where i am right now and currently using.

gettin 2mbits where i reside at the moment.

the route i took waz as follows:

left trincity via cinema entrance/exit
took the highway all the way to pizzahut/kfc by kaydonna. lost signal briefly by fedex and just after uwi for short periods..
then took southern main road to curepe..
took the back road ( river side road ) into the valley and got a few dead spots when i was between high hills..
other than that..service throughout.

will see how it goes
so far i am satisfied!

the lil thing gets warm tho!! :shock: