Day Traders - Forex Market

Re: Day Traders - Forex Market

Postby Team Loco » October 6th, 2010, 9:39 am

selling the Aud/jpy right now. indicators seem strong bearish. made 33 pips thus far

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2010, 9:44 am

sweet
I still never traded cross currencies
nex time tell me nah

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » October 6th, 2010, 10:01 am

Team Loco wrote:selling the Aud/jpy right now. indicators seem strong bearish. made 33 pips thus far

how much yuh want for d audi ?

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2010, 10:10 am

u ever get de headliner done over in your VaWdi?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » October 6th, 2010, 7:13 pm

Bai one thing after another, was out of the country for a bit, came back and the week I was supposed to drop it by him I ended up breaking my foot...so car park up till i can drive it again lol

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2010, 7:44 pm

need me to drive it for u?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » October 6th, 2010, 7:53 pm

Yea sure if you don't mind wearing a hat while you drive, thats how low the headliner is now lol

Postby MG Man » October 12th, 2010, 1:27 pm

made some wick scalps on the NZD and AUD against the US this morning
just chasing 10 pip targets

Something I picked up from an FXCM live video:
try to trade strong vs weak currencies...........I've always focused on the majors
Right now I lookin at the GBP/AUD, which is at a 25 year low and seems to have no end
also lookin to short the GBP/USD...............looking for it to take out the previous low

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2010, 6:21 pm

so you selling the gbp against aud?

That will be pegged to the performance of commodities-Aus and CAD are essentially commodity driven

LAter

Postby MG Man » October 12th, 2010, 6:37 pm

yup
I learned that a while back
I only just started looking at cross currencies tho

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2010, 6:58 pm

So you playing for the AUS to strengthen against the GBP

and the GBP to strengthen against the USD?

hmmmmmmm
I will stick in meh corner and hold the Halliburton,Gold,Hecla Mining and New Gold

I cant even sell the short posit-no bid

muddaKANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Later

Postby MG Man » October 12th, 2010, 7:16 pm

I not trading them tho
I just watching to see what happens and how I can learn from it
There is a lot going on in the market and even the experts can;t always agree on where currencies are going. The CAD is a good example............will it retrace, or go short again...........crude alone is not enough of an indicator right now, so I'm staying out
Same for the Euro....it broke the 14000 price, but will it retrace or continue its 21 day rally? The experts seem divided.
Redman, your insight, as always is always appreciated

Postby Redman » October 13th, 2010, 2:35 pm

Ok Ive sold half the position on the Halliburton 2012 calls with a 30 strike- Paid 4.7 sold them at 9.1

Have the GLD 2012 calls 170 strike paid 5.3 and theyre at 7.25-

HL bought at 5
NGD is a result of a merger and my cost basis is some where in the $2 range
So Im 24% in cash

And the puts are worth less
muddakant

Later

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 6:54 am

Daily news off FXCM's site

Forex: Bank of England Minutes Reveals a Three Way Split, U.S. Dollar Tumbles Against All Major Currenices
By Michael Wright, Currency Analyst

Read more at: Forex @ DailyFX - Forex: Bank of England Minutes Reveals a Three Way Split, U.S. Dollar Tumbles Against All Major Currenices http://www.dailyfx.com/forex/fundamenta ... z12tZWB6uv

The British Pound halted its three day decline against the U.S. dollar as price action reversed course at the 50-day moving average. During the overnight trade, the Bank of England minutes were released, and for the first time in almost a year, the minutes showed a three way split. As expected, policy maker Andrew Sentance pushed for a rate hike of twenty five basis points for the fifth consecutive month as consumer prices remain at their elevated levels. On the other hand, Adam Posen voted to increase the asset purchase target another 50 billion pounds. Taking a closer look at the meeting of the minutes, policy makers said that inflation risks in “either direction remain great,” and went onto add that they see a weaker recovery in the second half of the year compared to the first half. At the same time, some members thought that the need for more stimulus had increased. With uncertainty in U.K.’s economic prospects gaining pace the spit amongst committee members will likely widen in the upcoming months.

In the currency markets, the GBPUSD dropped after the minutes were released but quickly erased those losses as the greenback remains under pressure after rallying across the board yesterday on the back of China’s decision to hike rates, thus leading the buck to benefit from risk aversion. However, today’s tumble in the dollar may simply be a slight consolidation before the greenback resumes its northern journey. It is worth noting that after working its way into a descending channel for a month, the dollar index broke out of this range yesterday and now looks poised to push higher.

Meanwhile, the EURUSD halted its three day decline, and now looks poised to test 1.3865. Despite today’s advance downside risks remains as the pair managed to break and close below the 10-day moving average yesterday, while the MACD crossed over to the downside during the same period. Looking ahead, the pair may shift towards 1.3500, but we could see increased volatility during its voyage towards that level as a slew of third quarter earnings are expected to be released before, during, and after the bell today, which could further fuel risk appetite. The economic docket for the Euro-zone was fairly muted as EUR traders were faced only with the German producer prices for the month of September. Figures topped expectations, rising 0.3 percent after holding flat the month prior, while the annualized rate climbed 3.9 percent. This is of particular importance in that an advance in producer prices may be passed onto the consumer, thus serving as a leading indicator to inflation. On the newswire overnight, European Central Bank executive board member Juergen Stark said that budgetary forecasts need to be improved, while EU’s Rehn said that pre-crisis global imbalances are reemerging. Going forward, I expect the ECB to hold interest rates until at least the second quarter of 2011 as uncertainty in the bloc’s growth remains.

The greenback dropped against all its counterparts, with the Australian dollar leading the advance amongst the majors, climbing some 0.88 percent. The economic docket in the world’s largest economy is fairly light today but should not be overlooked. Fed officials Charles Plosser and Jeffrey Lacker will speak about regulation and the economic outlook respectively and these speeches should be closer monitored, with focus towards any indication of quantitative easing. At the same time, the Fed’s Beige Book economic report will be released at 18:00 GMT, and is expected to show that the recovery is no longer losing momentum at a rapid pace.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 6:56 am

Redman, they also have stuff on commodities:

Crude Oil Plunges on China Interest Rate Hike, Gold Gets Pounded on Dollar Rebound

Commentary: Crude oil got slammed in Tuesday’s session after China raised interest rates for the first time in three years. The commodity slumped $3.59, or 4.32%, to settle at $79.49. The Chinese central bank increased its benchmark rate by 25 basis points, sending deposit rates to 2.25% and one-year lending rates to 5.56%. Given how overbought crude oil and risk assets in general had become, this was the catalyst traders were looking for to lock in profits. But the door is quite narrow when everyone is looking to exit as once, thus we saw huge moves across the board.

Fundamentally this does not change things much, but risks are always increased when monetary conditions tighten. China is still in the process of orchestrating a soft landing, and in that regard they have been largely successful so far, but with crude at the upper end of a 1-year range, it’s not surprising to see a move lower. As China represents about 40% of this year’s global demand growth, it is the single most important driver of oil fundamentals on the demand side. Any notable developments in the country are thus magnified by traders in the short-term, and that’s how we got such a large decline.

Our outlook remains the same. Look to buy crude oil on the dips, but we wouldn’t pull the trigger until the low to mid-$70’s. The global economic recovery is on track and crude oil should stay well bid in such an environment. Gains will be extremely gradual, however, as supply is ample at this time. Thus, active trading is required to outperform.

Technical Outlook: After prolonged consolidation, prices finally made good on a Bearish Engulfing candlestick pattern put in on 10/7, breaking below support at the 23.6% Fibonacci retracement of the latest upswing ($81.20) to pause just ahead of the 38.2% level at $79.21. The 23.6% Fib has now been recast as resistance, with continued selling targeting the 50% level at $77.60.

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 8:23 am

sourness
in the article I posted re Forex, the author mentioned looking for the Euro to test the 1.3865...
At the time, the market was about 24 pips away..............I should have sold it
grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
market just tested it and pulled back
other than that, I not seeing ANY opps today............zip.........nada..............none
Keep in mind today has several fundies, all of which can be seen on forexfactory.com
I always stay out of the market before fundamental announcements come out..........too hard to predict, and random blips / corrections can eat up your stop losses

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2010, 12:45 am

Sometimes you get lucky
I came home and looked at my charts and noticed every currency spiked at 9:15pm
I had my 15 min charts open and every chart had just began to retrace
I have no clue what caused this spike, but it was across the board, and HUGE on the JPY
Typically, such anomalies retrace immediately back to the previous candle
I took a chance and sold the JPY on the way back down, first for 21 pips, then again for 16
I was pretty certain it would retrace, as it just failed to take out the previous high, plus prior to the spike, it was making lower highs and lower lows, a good indication it would retrace...............
I wish now I had done it with the GBP and AUD for another 60 pips or so, but greed never pays
The little green arrows show the opening and closing of both sells

The second sell was riskier tho, and even tho it paid off, I should have not taken it
You can tell by the lowest green arrow that I got out at just the right time, as that candle closed bullish

I took the first trade at US$1.00 / pip and the second at US$5.00 a pip
I did not want to take the chance and go for US$10
I still made US$127.00...............not bad for 2 hours work :-)

guest1

Postby guest1 » November 28th, 2010, 2:28 am

Last edited by guest1 on August 9th, 2012, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2010, 7:15 am

well it's free so no maths there :-)

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 10:34 pm

fairly safe trade tonight for any of you guys who demoing or trading small....

GBP in a nice uptrend in the daily against the Euro
On the 4 hour, it's been waving nicely in a 120 pip range...
potential for it to rally in a couple hours when London opens
Keep an eye on forexfactrory.com after midnight for fundies before jumping in

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 10:41 pm

additional support for this analysis form my broker
GBP/USD Channel Creating Short-Term Opportunities
By John Rivera, Currency Analyst

The GBP/USD has seen its volatility spike to start the week as the Pound and greenback take turns falling out of favor. U.K. fundamental releases on the week showed a weakening housing market and sticky consumer prices which reflect the BoE’s conundrum. Policy makers recognize that there is existing slack in the economy but are handcuffed with inflation above their 3.0% threshold. Meanwhile, concerns that the new proposals for take cuts and unemployment benefits in the U.S. will push the budget deficit to alarming levels, has started to weigh on the dollar. The opposing dimming outlook has kept the pair within established formations. Additionally, the upcoming FOMC meeting could see overall markets quiet which makes this highly liquid pair an attractive scalping target.

The converging 20 and 50 Day SMA’s at 1.57470 and 1.58755 respectively has confided price action over the past week. The technical levels have proven to be significant support and resistance barriers. Meanwhile, a medium term channel continues to hold true to form and is providing target level for traders to enter and exit positions. We can see this when focusing in over the past few days as both bounds have thwarted several tests.

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 5:27 am

still waiting on a clear signal
this is why I said demo or small traders, ie micro accounts
Why? Because nobody really trades December...daily ranges tend to be small and the market volatile
By mid-January I'll be trading again.......but ti's still good to watch the market and continue trying strategies
I still think there's gona be a sell signal soon...maybe when US opens in a couple hours

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 9:37 am

just checked back the fundamental announcements
a 4:00am release is what caused the GBP to break the trendline and continue falling..hence my advice earlier to check forexfactory.com before committing...
we'll see in a couple of hours if this trendline break will hold or if the GBP will continue it's rally

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 8:49 am

Patience
Patience is waiting for a clear entry signal
Not acting on a hunch or a gut feel
Waiting for the indicators to all agree
Take the AUD/USD daily here:
We have a rally that's been going on for some time now, breaking the previous high, and not even pulling back until the last three days
This looks to be a retracement, and the rally will continue as the USD continues to be soft
So what do you do?
I'm using the MACD indicator to give me my entry signal to buy
It's already crossed ont he daily, but not yet on the 4 hour chart, so I'll wait
Even though my simple and moving exponential averages have turned down, they are still parallel and not converging, so it's a good indicator that this is just a retracement and it will continue to rally
Resist the temptation to scalp the retracement in the smaller time frames, unless you want a quick 10 - 20 pips. I personally would not, as there is already indecision on the 60 min chart, and some spinning tops already appearing, to signal an impending change in direction back to the larger trend
Patience.........

sweaty

Postby sweaty » March 5th, 2011, 11:46 am

MG Man,do u still trade on the market? and if so,what program do u use? or available to use.....i attended an online MTI Caribbean seminar but the prices for their books jus a lil too steep for now

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2011, 12:52 pm

I switched from MTI's trading platform to one from my new broker, FXCM

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 5th, 2011, 1:03 pm

MG Man wrote:I switched from MTI's trading platform to one from my new broker, FXCM

MG you ever did money transfers from your account to a local account with FXCM?How was it and are there any problems,taxes,hidden fees etc to look out for?

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2011, 2:40 pm

the only charge is the cost of the bank transfer, and that's up to your bank.......

Lance

Postby Lance » March 5th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Anyone looking to get acquainted with Forex can use www.Bullbearings.co.uk

It should give you guys a nice simulation on Trading..From Forex, Stocks, Spread Betting, CFD etc....They start you off with 100K..

We use it for school. I'm currently Leading the University with just under 900K in Forex profits. Grated that it is easier when trading with Monopoly money

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2011, 4:50 pm

correct
when it's your own money it's a whole different dimension
no amount of demo trading can prepare you