*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby RASC » December 2nd, 2009, 6:45 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EKAbBiN7WeY&hl=en_US&fs=1&color1=0x3a3a3a&color2=0x999999" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed>

Postby 16 cycles » December 2nd, 2009, 9:40 pm

best posts rasc

Postby crazybalhead » December 3rd, 2009, 9:24 am

That is real basic basic stuff. A must watch for a person new to audio.

I saw a pic in RORO's homes for sale thread with somebody's bose system with all five speakers in front. I didn't cringe, but I did steups. :x

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 4th, 2009, 8:14 am

great vid RASC!

Postby RASC » December 4th, 2009, 8:17 am

16 cycles,ru$$ell, Thanks...

That should clear up ALOT of misconceptions for the newbies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 10:42 am

crazybalhead wrote:That is real basic basic stuff. A must watch for a person new to audio.

I saw a pic in RORO's homes for sale thread with somebody's bose system with all five speakers in front. I didn't cringe, but I did steups. :x

LOL well the first mistake they made was spending money on Bose :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » December 4th, 2009, 10:53 am

Did some freq response measurements this week. Stink 40Hz peak by me. :x :x

Can't find a better location for the sub yet. :x :x

Anybody knows of parametric EQ's for sale in T&T???

Might have to upgrade to a plate amp with a built in EQ! :mrgreen:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 11:16 am

^ what receiver and what sub?

Postby crazybalhead » December 4th, 2009, 11:21 am

Sony STR DE 475.

Homemade sub. Parts express 250W plate amp and a hollywood excursion sub. ported and Tuned to 24Hz.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 12:24 pm

^ that came out in 2001, plan to upgrade the receiver?

the new ones with Audessy, YPAO, MCACC or similar features may help you sort that out instead of investing in complex EQ's and then having a time trying to get things right - you'll be fiddling forever rather than just setting it and leaving it as the newer receivers allow you to do.

Plus now you would want to get something with HDMI 1.3 and Dolby TrueHD support for future HD content.

just IMHO

Postby crazybalhead » December 4th, 2009, 12:27 pm

Eventually it will be upgraded. Thing is, I have so much extra junk that hardly gets used eh.

Speakers, a ole cassette player, another two channel amp/ tuner.

Postby SR » December 4th, 2009, 1:38 pm

i gonna get rid of my system soon

NHT speakers and an older JVC 5.1 integrated amp

honeslty i dont use it at all

going back to 2 channel audiophile

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 4th, 2009, 1:52 pm

anyone know where sells really really long Toslink cables? looking for something around 15/25ft.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 4th, 2009, 4:14 pm

SR wrote:i gonna get rid of my system soon

What are you planning to go too?

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2009, 6:27 pm

I went that way long time ago,
I prefer the sound of flea powered efficient fullrange systems now
my sub is barely on just to put a little bottom end
after a while you begin to dislike hearing processed sound

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 4th, 2009, 6:48 pm

makes sense

audiophile ftw, musical reproduction the way it was meant to be!

Postby SR » December 4th, 2009, 7:37 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

amp
http://dls.se/en/home/prod.html?produkt=en_646

cd player
http://dls.se/en/home/prod.html?produkt=en_647

floor standing speakers
http://dls.se/en/home/prod.html?produkt=en_641

active sub
http://dls.se/en/home/prod.html?produkt=en_419

still saving for the amp and cd player though
reviews

http://dls.se/econtent/files/629/amp-cd ... y_2009.pdf

its a bit pricy still but got to hear the amp and cd player already and all i can say was

WOW

but its really for the audiophile purist

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 4th, 2009, 8:12 pm

SR wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

amp

cd player

floor standing speakers

active sub

reviews

its a bit pricy still but got to hear the amp and cd player already and all i can say was

WOW

hmm interesting,been in tons of home theater and audiophile forums and not once have i heard anyone mention DLS,then again,i know wharfdale's are really good,but only available in UK,probably thats why.

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2009, 8:16 pm

^I hope you are not one of those forum/review afficionados

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 4th, 2009, 8:19 pm

^far from,i am a klipsch whore though :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 8:26 pm

SR wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

amp

cd player

floor standing speakers

active sub

reviews

WOW

I call dibbs on a listen when you get it set up!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 4th, 2009, 8:57 pm

SR wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

amp

cd player

floor standing speakers

active sub

reviews

WOW

I'd like to hear it too ... When I do go back to dedicated 2 channel (and I will), for me it'll be something from the Vandersteen signature line:

http://www.vandersteen.com/vandersteen_001.htm

Postby SR » December 4th, 2009, 10:25 pm

should have the budget version set up in the back porch by the end of january

Postby X_Factor » December 5th, 2009, 6:51 pm

im seeing HDMI 1.3 cables selling

does all hdmi stuff work with that cable?..or is it item specific?like u need to hav a 1.3 hdmi dvd player?
and how u know if u hav a 1.3device?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2009, 7:47 pm

X_Factor wrote:im seeing HDMI 1.3 cables selling

does all hdmi stuff work with that cable?..or is it item specific?like u need to hav a 1.3 hdmi dvd player?
and how u know if u hav a 1.3device?

HDMI 1.3a/b is the latest version of HDMI that is standardised by manufacturers.

HDMI 1.4 has been released but not yet widely used.

all are backward compatible

HDMI 1.3 cables will work perfectly on devices with an older version of HDMI

Most devices now will have HDMI 1.3 ports
buying an HDMI 1.3 ensures maximum data rate and support for the latest standards in HD formats.

Devices compatible with the new HDMI 1.4 standard will be launched in 2010

Do some reading/googling
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

http://www.hdmi.org/

don't even think about waiting for HDMI 1.4 if you are looking at buying audio/video stuff now

HDMI 1.4 is for 4K ultra HD (thats 4096 x 2160 res) and will put 1080p in the shade.

There is nothing supporting that res now and probably not for a year or two - and it will be as astronomically expensive as regular HD was in 2003.

7. HDMI 1.4 won't work with your existing HDMI-equipped gear

The official word from HDMI.org is that "most of the new features introduced in HDMI 1.4 will require a new HDMI chip to enable, and cannot be upgraded via firmware." That said, with 3D TV in its infancy and 720p/1080p HD TV only just gaining a consumer foothold, HDMI 1.3 still delivers the goods. You could argue that you don't even need an integrated data channel, as new TVs and set-top boxes are now including Ethernet jacks as standard.

8. You'll need to buy a new high-def TV

It's all very well providing support for 4K x 2K resolutions and 3D, but this means that your current 1080p telly just won't cut it in tomorrow's Ultra HD/3D future.

9. You'll need to buy new HDMI cables

The new HDMI 1.4 spec will muddy the waters with new cables – a Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet (which supports data rates up to 720p/1080i) and a High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet (featuring 1080p support, Deep Color and 3D support). An Automotive HDMI cable will also be available for in-vehicle video distribution. Oh, and don't expect them to come cheap.

10. We won't see HDMI 1.4 devices until mid-2010

Next year's Consumer Electronics Show should see several HDMI 1.4-compatible devices introduced from the big CE manufacturers. We might even see HDMI 1.4 on show at IFA in Berlin. Bizarrely, NXG has already announced a Black Pearl Series HDMI 1.4 cable, despite the fact that there's absolutely nothing to plug it into.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 6th, 2009, 10:13 am

someone was asking me if PSB's are available locally,i told them i'm not to sure,anyone could assist?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 6th, 2009, 10:33 am

i think the company that used to sell PSb closed up shop!

tell them to google canada! its Canadian and you get it much cheaper there!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2009, 10:40 am

^
Sanch Electronix Ltd.
23 King Street
St. Joseph, Trinidad Tel: 868-663-1384
Fax: 868-645-2205

it's on the PSB website
http://www.psbspeakers.com/distributors#Trinidad

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 6th, 2009, 10:43 am

^thanks,will relate info to him

Postby crazybalhead » December 7th, 2009, 9:31 am

Duane, you and I have different philosphies when it comes to this yes.

I moved the subwoofer around a few places and got the 40Hz peak to behave itself, and some extra boost at 20-25Hz while I was at it.

Sounds great now!

NOW I may upgrade. I always feel you should try the simpler approach first before throwing too many electronics behind an issue.