Local Rock Music & Bands - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Cjruckus » August 31st, 2009, 11:31 am

buzz, you better stop before men start uploading some of your "originals"

they make bands like overdose sound like metallica.

Postby Hook » August 31st, 2009, 3:41 pm

buzz wrote:look @ pop rock Laughing it was ALL a ploy to make money. bands had to "conform" to certain "rules" ? wtf that was no concert it was a bloddy competition how sad is that? now i never said they claimed for it to be a concert but they did try oh so hard to make it seem so... it was the biggest local "rock" show, so ancorage saw ppl as far pt fortin to toco to witness this fcukery...

sadly enough many naive bands conformed to "competing" as they thought it was a way to making it somewhere... i remember all to clearly the BS they gave the MC's to say at every ancorage finals, always something to the effect "that there are many producers in the crowd here tonight" #Rofl

You've never actually competed, have you?

Pop Music Awards while yes, it WAS a money-making scheme (c'mon, u think anyone does that only for the love of it?) was actually intended to help bands as well. Not for those reasons you stated, but in terms of prizes.
The prizes in those days were recording packages, the full packages, so that bands would have an opportunity to produce their own music of a decent quality (which was, and still is VERY expensive).

The judging criteria had to be covers simply because of the judges. Nobody was willing to sit through (potentially painful) compositions and judge artistically what these bands created. This wasn't "Trinidadian Idol", it was a covers competition with rules. U had to chose covers to highlight your bands skill, versatility, performance and on-stage presence. Fin.

Sadly, certain bands capitalized on it and kept winning repeatedly and thus becoming "famous" for it. The standard was poor in those days eh, remember that, so while they weren't the greatest, they were better than the competition (and well, there was politics aside but thas another story).

Bands weren't "naive" for conforming to the rules of a covers competition to try and win a recording package to get their own original music out, that's like calling people naive for conforming to rules and a job to make money to pay the rent. C'mon man, grow up a little.

BTW, yes there were producers in the audience...maybe not "many" but good producers no less.

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 2nd, 2009, 9:55 pm

Is Cjruckus who i think he is.......Hmmmmmmmm

Postby Hook » September 2nd, 2009, 10:12 pm

yup....CJ is the lead singer/guitarist for Jointpop.....Mr. Gary Hector

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 3rd, 2009, 11:52 am

DAMM.......Is it really ? A lot of hate there Cjruckus. I still can't believe that is Gary.
I will have to call Damon to confirm this. :o

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 11:56 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 3rd, 2009, 12:19 pm

wth is going on in this thread?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » September 3rd, 2009, 12:35 pm

Andy

Postby Andy » September 3rd, 2009, 1:54 pm

sexy_ke70_chick wrote:dread i wen to celebrate with a gf at josef's in chag last night to find out u have to pay for $20 to listen to some rock band play, i was desperate to lime so i decided to stay ....get a few free beers nevertheless i was heartbroken becuz i wanted to have fun and hear sum Supercat, Buju or Movado! :?

Waaayyy what you went to celebrate in Josef's.............???? LMAO you went Josef's in Chag, what kinda celebration is that????? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby A172 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:13 pm

Andy.....wha Damon say?

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 3rd, 2009, 2:15 pm

What? Orange Sky dont' sell out shows??? LOL...maybe not in Trinidad but look at this crowd

value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fg9Kb5FcsaY&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
Last edited by joe_d_boss on September 3rd, 2009, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:15 pm

I buy a black juzzy in sugarwarnus and a black tight levi's, and ah have a ole boots too. I go fit een if I go one ah dem rock shows???

:oops: :oops:

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » September 3rd, 2009, 2:17 pm

joe_d_boss wrote:What? Orange Sky don't sell out shows??? LOL...maybe not in Trinidad but look at this crowd. Orange Sky has a countless amount of really hot groupies and models that have sex with the band daily...

value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Fg9Kb5FcsaY&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby st7 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:19 pm

sugarwarnus hahahhaha

Postby st7 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:19 pm

man do ah repost yes

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 3rd, 2009, 3:30 pm

joe_d_boss wrote:
joe_d_boss wrote:What? Orange Sky don't sell out shows??? LOL...maybe not in Trinidad but look at this crowd. Orange Sky has a countless amount of really hot groupies and models that have sex with the band daily...

This is Trinidad :roll:

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 3:34 pm

1yawn

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » September 3rd, 2009, 9:31 pm

Mudboy wrote:
sexy_ke70_chick wrote:dread i wen to celebrate with a gf at josef's in chag last night to find out u have to pay for $20 to listen to some rock band play, i was desperate to lime so i decided to stay ....get a few free beers nevertheless i was heartbroken becuz i wanted to have fun and hear sum Supercat, Buju or Movado! :?

a broke loser.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Andy wrote: Waaayyy what you went to celebrate in Josef's.............???? LMAO you went Josef's in Chag, what kinda celebration is that????? Laughing Laughing Laughing

well im a broke loser so where else u expect me to go? Zen?

Postby Hook » September 3rd, 2009, 9:36 pm

^^^ yuh see what yuh start?! eh?! EH?!

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 9:46 pm

he / she got attention so it's all gooooooooooooooooood :?

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » September 3rd, 2009, 9:46 pm

:P but i am or else if i had plenty money like allyuh blingers inside here i mighta go shakerz or sumwhere else ..............so im sry i was really high wen i post it lol its not like i don't like rock, i LOVE Linkin Park esp d chinee fella :D

Postby buzz » September 3rd, 2009, 9:46 pm

1sigh

*goes back to index page*

Postby buzz » September 3rd, 2009, 9:48 pm

its not like i don't like rock, i LOVE Linkin Park esp d chinee fella

ok now leave you own thread before i kill you :|

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 9:48 pm

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 3rd, 2009, 9:49 pm

Pathetic :roll:

Postby gt4tified » September 3rd, 2009, 10:00 pm

Andy wrote:

Waaayyy what you went to celebrate in Josef's.............???? LMAO you went Josef's in Chag, what kinda celebration is that????? :lol: :lol: :lol:

No, she actually went to Josef's Curepe but mistyped cuz she was drunk.....didn't you get the memo? :?

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » September 3rd, 2009, 11:43 pm

sexy_ke70_chick wrote:its not like i don't like rock, i LOVE Linkin Park esp d chinee fella :D

don't ever put linkin park and rock in the same sentence again... ever!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » October 7th, 2009, 9:13 pm

gt4tified wrote:
Andy wrote:

No, she actually went to Josef's Curepe but mistyped cuz she was drunk.....didn't you get the memo? :?

is curepe any better? :roll:

Postby gt4tified » October 7th, 2009, 11:12 pm

^^^ No, and daz wha ah sayin! :lol:

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » October 8th, 2009, 1:02 am

:fist: