God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 7:22 pm

hmm, i find the prices a bit steep... but they do send to trinidad

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 23rd, 2008, 11:59 am

IMO....best thing to do is buy your guitar from a shop. Nothing comes close to playing a guitar for a half hour or so to actually feel and get connected to the axe. Every axe, (even the same model) feels different.

In fact....best you buy a plane ticket....go to the US, pick up the guitar and fly back down cause that might actually be cheaper than buying a guitar from a local shop.

That is....if you can find a good quality guitar locally.

Postby Cjruckus » November 23rd, 2008, 12:22 pm

Surprisingly Live and Loud does have an impressive selection of Decent guitars to choose from. Their PRS SEs arent bad at all.

I'm currently out of a Strat though.
It needed a setup badly so its in the shop until Monday.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 27th, 2008, 3:42 pm

anybody have a delay pedal or know of one FS?

Postby Cjruckus » November 27th, 2008, 9:29 pm

well since GBBT is being a gear slut, i should do the same

WTB Reverb pedal.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 28th, 2008, 7:39 am

a slut i am - samaroo's elec. (mid centre mall) has behringer and boss pedals at about 100-200 mark up on the landed price of such pedals...

want either the behringer vintage delay, or the electro harmonix vintage....

waiting for that place in maritime plaza tuh get hopefully...

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 28th, 2008, 6:42 pm

Reverb Pedal?.......Amp reverb not good enought?

Looking to get a Line6 pod plus next.

IMO......local guitar prices i've seen in live and loud, Simons and that other store in San Fernando are way above what you can get them for abroad. Ack...i mean.......$3500 for an Ibanez Gio? Good lord people!!!!

Postby Cjruckus » November 28th, 2008, 9:00 pm

seanf3000 wrote:Reverb Pedal?.......Amp reverb not good enought?

Looking to get a Line6 pod plus next.

IMO......local guitar prices i've seen in live and loud, Simons and that other store in San Fernando are way above what you can get them for abroad. Ack...i mean.......$3500 for an Ibanez Gio? Good lord people!!!!

Most Real Amps don't come with reverb or effects built-in.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 29th, 2008, 12:09 am

true....but then theres the fender bassman

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 29th, 2008, 12:27 am

hey fellas i now seeing this thread,i got an esp ex-50 with some double humbucker pickups, but i want to replace them with some emg pickups for the type of music our band does to get a more aggressive palm mute effect. can u recommend a guy who can do this without any problems??? gona be running this on a line6 amp and zoom pedal, we bought our drum kit today, also does anyone know of anyone selling a stratocaster???

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 29th, 2008, 2:05 am

hmmm....you can try some of the guitar stores for someone who can install the new pickups. I installed a pair of Dimarzios one of my ibanezs in October. For a set of EMG actives you would also need a spot for the 9volt battery to power the pickups.

Its not that difficult, but you need to make sure you can make a tidy solder job.

Postby Sky » November 29th, 2008, 2:47 am

trdboy wrote:hey fellas i now seeing this thread,i got an esp ex-50 with some double humbucker pickups, but i want to replace them with some emg pickups for the type of music our band does to get a more aggressive palm mute effect. can u recommend a guy who can do this without any problems??? gona be running this on a line6 amp and zoom pedal, we bought our drum kit today, also does anyone know of anyone selling a stratocaster???

Live n loud will do it for you, or InDeForest from here.
As for the strat, you'll need to give more info than that because there's a million different models. The one I knew of was sold last week.

Heads up folks. Live n loud sellin 2 boss stomp boxes for someone going at $300 each. a Flanger ( the purple one, i think that's the super flanger) and a chorus ensemble. Bess prices if you want that stuff.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 29th, 2008, 2:33 pm

Im feeling nostalgic for an OS-2 overdrive/distortion, usual story, lent mine out and didnt get it back.
EMGs are easy to install, once, as seanf3000 points out theres room for a battery, the worst case scenario is having to install a separate battery pack, which involves routing and drilling the back of the body, but the battery pack is available locally, and its a more convenient setup.

Postby Cjruckus » November 29th, 2008, 10:09 pm

trdboy wrote:hey fellas i now seeing this thread,i got an esp ex-50 with some double humbucker pickups, but i want to replace them with some emg pickups for the type of music our band does to get a more aggressive palm mute effect. can u recommend a guy who can do this without any problems??? gona be running this on a line6 amp and zoom pedal, we bought our drum kit today, also does anyone know of anyone selling a stratocaster???

Ill sell you my red one for two souls, some frankincense, an arm, a leg, and 12,000 cash but it must come in singles in a briefcase.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 30th, 2008, 2:23 am

got an os-2... wtt for a great delay pedal

Postby Sky » November 30th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Anyone ever used a Digtech RP500? just stumbled on it and I must say wow. I had an RP300 and it's amp mods were sweet. It got the mesa triple rec spot on with tone and the Twin was sweet. Didn't use any of the others. The effects they said were based on popular pedals, but apparently they couldn't name them. But the RP family had a downfall....their knobs. They wouldn't last gigging. I guess mine survived because it spent most of it's life hooked up to my pc.

Then they broght out the audio DNA chip for the GEN series that mixed different amp mods. I heard they did it well. Sounded like you actually had 2 amps plugged in, but never used it.

Now they're using the same audio DNA in the 500, with a serious arsenal of effects, they did away with the silly plastic switches and employed the metal ones, and included tap tempo and the ability to bypass all amp mods (basically giving you a pedal board of stomp boxes).

SCREAMER (Based on an Ibanez® TS-9)
TS 808 (Based on an Ibanez TS-808 Tube Screamer)
SPARKDRIVE (Based on a Voodoo® Lab Sparkle Drive®)
OD OVERDRIVE (Based on a Guyatone® Overdrive OD-2)
DOD 250 (Based on a DOD® 250 Overdrive/Preamp)
RODENT (Based on a Pro Co RATâ„¢)
MX DISTORTION (Based on an MXR® Distortion +)
DS (Based on a Boss® DS-1™ Distortion)
GRUNGE (DigiTech® Grunge®)
ZONE (Based on a Boss MT-2 Metal Zone®)
DEATH METAL (DigiTech Death Metalâ„¢)
GONKULATOR (Based on a DOD® Gonkulator Ring Modulator)
8TAVIA (Based on a Roger Mayer Octaviaâ„¢)
FUZZLATOR (Based on a Demeter Fuzzulator)
CLASSIC FUZZ (Based on a DOD Classic Fuzz)
FUZZY FACE (Based on an Arbiter® Fuzz Face™)
BIG PI (Based on an Electro-Harmonix® Big Muff Pi®)
REDLINE (DigiTech® Redline Overdrive

Check that bomb squad :shock: and that's only for distortion. The sucky part is that they all share one switch and can only use one at a time, but you can work around that with the presets.

I was feeling a BOSS GT-10 because they gots the tone, but if digitech pulled off all those tones like they did with the RP300's mesa, I'm sold. I wont pay an extra 200 usd for the loop station the boss has.

Why a multieffects pedal? Tube amps don't give you the headphone option. And fya bun state amps. I'll take my chances on digital tube emulation.

Postby Cjruckus » November 30th, 2008, 3:50 pm

The problem with digital Tube Emulation is that the sound coming from the amp sounds Mic'd. That is a deal breaker when you need to cut through the mix imho.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 1st, 2008, 9:58 am

For amp simulation IMO...you cant beat the line6 POD line up.

Been checking opinions on these multieffects units. The Digitech was OK...but the POD XT and X3 were the leaders in cheap amp sim.

Although imo still cant beat a good tube amp. Simulation still doesn't sound close enought. Esp when trying to create feedback and harmonics tones.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 1st, 2008, 10:10 am

i heard the new valvetronix line from VOX is good? you can simulate the AC30 without paying your ass out for an AC30... and it uses tubes?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2008, 10:15 am

^uses tube in pre-amp stage for tube like sound. I wanna get one of these.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 1st, 2008, 10:17 am

they're not badly priced...

the 50 watt uses a celes speaker

www.guitartrader.com

Postby Sky » December 1st, 2008, 12:00 pm

You get some of the tube response from the preamp stage, but you don't get the tone from the power amp stage. A lot of harmony central reviews hated on the line up. Also Marshall's valvestate series has the same thing, tube preamp. But they bring teh suck I was told.
Line 6 might have better tone than digitech, I can't dispute that. I only used the Spider 3 amp ( it has all the pod 2.0 features). But they both suck with durability. Hopefully this rp500's tougher with the new design.

Postby Sky » December 1st, 2008, 12:42 pm

You get some of the tube response from the preamp stage, but you don't get the tone from the power amp stage. A lot of harmony central reviews hated on the line up. Also Marshall's valvestate series has the same thing, tube preamp. But they bring teh suck I was told.
Line 6 might have better tone than digitech, I can't dispute that. I only used the Spider 3 amp ( it has all the pod 2.0 features). But they both suck with durability. Hopefully this rp500's tougher with the new design.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 1st, 2008, 1:00 pm

i find those brands: zoom, line 6, logitech etc... just not cool... i'd rather be cool and ignorant with my Vox or Marshall sh!t...

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 1st, 2008, 3:05 pm

Well youre halfway right, sadly Marshall and Vox are full of those crap designs as well, even the modern "all tube" marshalls with multiple channels leave alot to be desired regarding reliability and construction quality, everything is under spec. The only good things are the hardcore vintage reissues, even the vintagemodern is a box of crap imo. Marshall was the pinnacle of quality along with fender and hiwatt back in the day, just sad now.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 1st, 2008, 3:08 pm

hiwatt gone through now ent??

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 1st, 2008, 3:24 pm

Quite the opposite, when the owner Dave Reeves died in 1980 or so, for a few years they did some changes he would not have approved of, with some pcb replacing handwiring and multichannel design. But since then the brand name Hiwatt has been in dispute, with several different manufacturers using the name Hiwatt in different countries, but they are all trying to outdo each other on the quality. Anything from Harry Joyce, Reeves amplifiers, Fernandez Hiwatt or Audio Bros Hiwatt, or the original Dave Reeves era Hiwatt are pretty much the same original design and the Rolex of tube amps.
I gots mine.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 1st, 2008, 3:29 pm

http://www.gilmourish.com/?page_id=102

did a google:

Sound City 50Plus

This Sound City is a Mark 4 from 1973, one of the last models made before SC closed down. The SC amps was originally designed by Dave Reeves who later founded Hiwatt. In essence, Sound City and Hiwatt are two identical amps with identical parts, but the Hiwatts are wired by hand which makes them more relieable and expensive. The tone is very similar and few can tell the 50Plus from a Hiwatt.
The cabinet is fitted with 12″ Weber Thames (ceramic) speakers and the head with 2 x EL 34 JJ Electronics and 3 x ECC83 and 1x ECC81, all TADs. I have also adjusted the bias for as a clean tone as possible.
There’s no effect loop, reverb channel or presence control and only a master volume knob.

nice vintage stuff... yuh got some serious gear there boy

Postby buzz » December 1st, 2008, 3:39 pm

boss is the boss :|

Postby Sky » December 1st, 2008, 3:51 pm

God Bless the Black Top*, why you wanna trade that SG?
is it this one?
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/prod ... sku=518291