COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43344 cases, 1244 deaths, 5097 active, 37003 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 6:32 pm

hover11 wrote:Every man is his own island...the facts are the facts children were not a factor in hospitalizations until this point , what variable entered the equation if Delta is not here?
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:Since the lockdowns started, people have been finding all kinda ways to party (private zess). Yet no kids were reported of having covid or furthermore seriously ill from such. However,as soon as yall start vaccinating people children allyuh get eight cases? Then want to blame it on parties ? Cool. The people ain't gonna be sheep forever eh, soon enough the majority would wake up and see what's going on.
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:You willing to let your child take the chance if you had to make the choice?
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:https://868media.com/2021/08/26/tt-schoolboy-diagnosed-with-pericarditis-after-receiving-pfizer-vaccine/

Soon you will see alot of young persons developing hearth conditions

that same site also denying the pandemic even exists

https://868media.com/2021/03/12/tt-isnt-facing-a-pandemic-12-proofs/

but contrast the risks of the vaccine with the fact that 8 kids are in hospital for covid.

take the chance with the vax or the virus? so far we have 2 adverse events but 8 kids currently with severe covid in hospital. there may have been hospitalized cases before this as well. of course you have to know your kids medical history which includes allergies etc. and have a chat with a pediatrician .

is like you in a burning house and have to jump from a 2nd or 3rd storey window- u cud get injured by the jump but to stay is more likely u will be injured or killed.
Tell them Hoover. We are so fortunate to have a free thinker like you to guide us instead of the so called experts. We would do well to let you advise and implement the response.
I don't know of any information that says that there were no children hospitalized before August.

---------

Young children dying in Brazil as Gamma variant surges

11:37am Jun 22, 2021

Brazilian hospitals overwhelmed by new cases

Young children in Brazil are dying from coronavirus, as its national death toll ticked past 500,000 yesterday.

On top of the rising number of child deaths, researchers in Sao Paulo believe the P1 variant, also known as the Gamma variant, is killing an unusually high number of pregnant women and unborn babies.

The Brazilian health ministry states 1122 children under the age of 10 have died since the start of the pandemic, but one research group claims the number is closer to 3000.

NGO Vital Strategies said more than 1000 children have lost their lives this year alone.

Some experts believe Brazilian paediatricians are reluctant to conduct COVID-19 testing on young children, allowing the virus to cause sometimes fatal sickness.

The tell-tale symptoms of the virus – runny nose, coughing and sore throats – are common among the young, which means doctors can miss a proper diagnosis.

https://www.9news.com.au/world/gamma-va ... 478805cd27
Last edited by adnj on August 26th, 2021, 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43344 cases, 1244 deaths, 5097 active, 37003 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 6:35 pm

Exactly my point.....that would have made news and the ministry would have highlighted such at once , so what occurred or warranted these alleged eight children to be admitted for hospitalization if the only variant we are currently facing is Gamma
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Every man is his own island...the facts are the facts children were not a factor in hospitalizations until this point , what variable entered the equation if Delta is not here?
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:Since the lockdowns started, people have been finding all kinda ways to party (private zess). Yet no kids were reported of having covid or furthermore seriously ill from such. However,as soon as yall start vaccinating people children allyuh get eight cases? Then want to blame it on parties ? Cool. The people ain't gonna be sheep forever eh, soon enough the majority would wake up and see what's going on.
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:You willing to let your child take the chance if you had to make the choice?
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:https://868media.com/2021/08/26/tt-schoolboy-diagnosed-with-pericarditis-after-receiving-pfizer-vaccine/

but contrast the risks of the vaccine with the fact that 8 kids are in hospital for covid.

take the chance with the vax or the virus? so far we have 2 adverse events but 8 kids currently with severe covid in hospital. there may have been hospitalized cases before this as well. of course you have to know your kids medical history which includes allergies etc. and have a chat with a pediatrician .

is like you in a burning house and have to jump from a 2nd or 3rd storey window- u cud get injured by the jump but to stay is more likely u will be injured or killed.
Tell them Hoover. We are so fortunate to have a free thinker like you to guide us instead of the so called experts. We would do well to let you advise and implement the response.
I don't know of any information that says that tgete were no children hospitalized before August.

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 6:40 pm

hover11 wrote:Exactly my point.....that would have made news and the ministry would have highlighted such at once , so what occurred or warranted these alleged eight children to be admitted for hospitalization if the only variant we are currently facing is Gamma
adnj wrote:
wing wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

I don't know of any information that says that tgete were no children hospitalized before August.
Gamma variant. See edits above.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 6:58 pm

i think there were in fact a few cases of kids in hospital before but not this many at once. gamma is in itself a bit more severe than the original strain.

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2021, 7:10 pm

868media aka the onion?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 26th, 2021, 7:51 pm

same result as when we were 8 deaths and when they give the vaccine cases triple in number to 50 plus a day in april up from 15 or so in march. the vaccine is the killer.

redmanjp wrote:

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 7:54 pm

I just find it very convenient or coincidental that the moment they decided to vaccinate children all of a sudden the spotlight is on 8 kids that were hospitalized
daring dragoon wrote:same result as when we were 8 deaths and when they give the vaccine cases triple in number to 50 plus a day in april up from 15 or so in march. the vaccine is the killer.

redmanjp wrote:

Postby Dizzy28 » August 27th, 2021, 7:45 am

My cousin who lives next to me died in Couva this morning having been admitted yesterday. She was 66 but had diabetes and HBP. Her GP said she had a stroke on Wednesday and referred her to a hospital but on arrival at Mt Hope they put her in the Covid tent and tested her with the test coming back positive.

She had both shots but Saturday would make it two weeks from her 2nd one so not fully vaccinated.

As an aside I went and assisted putting her in the car to go doctor on Wednesday as after 1 hour EMS still hadn't answered the phone. She was unmasked but I was. Officially the doctors at Couva told my cousin's son no worries if you fully vaccinated, just monitor for around 5 days for any symptoms. Obviously my wife and mother a bit worried for me.

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2021, 7:56 am

^ sorry for your loss. do you know which vaccine she got?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 27th, 2021, 8:06 am

redmanjp wrote:^ sorry for your loss. do you know which vaccine she got?

Thank You.
She had Sinopharm

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2021, 8:17 am

Please accept my condolences.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 27th, 2021, 8:36 am

adnj wrote:Please accept my condolences.

Thank You. Right now the hardest thing is really the social distancing. I live where the 3 closest houses to me are cousins, 8 houses away is another and one road away is another. The Village is also very close knit and typically by now would have been at least a hundred persons at the home.

For me I generally hold no regrets but just have some sadness as she for the first time since doing it didn't come and tie a Rakhi for me weekend gone because she knew my household fairly strict with our protocols.

Postby matr1x » August 27th, 2021, 8:37 am

Well sheit.

Dawg, I am sorry for your loss.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » August 27th, 2021, 8:51 am

adnj wrote:Please accept my condolences.

Thank You. Right now the hardest thing is really the social distancing. I live where the 3 closest houses to me are cousins, 8 houses away is another and one road away is another. The Village is also very close knit and typically by now would have been at least a hundred persons at the home.

For me I generally hold no regrets but just have some sadness as she for the first time since doing it didn't come and tie a Rakhi for me weekend gone because she knew my household fairly strict with our protocols.

Wish you and your family comfort during these trying times.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 27th, 2021, 9:14 am

Sorry for your loss, this past year and a half has been brutal and seen the loss of many loved ones due covid and non covid related causes.

Postby hover11 » August 27th, 2021, 9:30 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/e ... ium=social

Strange I thought the hospital would test All patients regardless of symptoms or not

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 27th, 2021, 10:21 am

hover11 wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/elderly-patients-worried-over-covid-scare-at-sando-hospital/article_2a0db89c-0733-11ec-8cd7-ef7bd69e7578.html#utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social

Strange I thought the hospital would test All patients regardless of symptoms or not

Testing remains a joke 20 months into a pandemic but yet still the CMO getting honorary doctorate.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 27th, 2021, 10:46 am

There is alot of talk going around that our Actual figures are not being expressed and that it may in fact be more than twice the statistics of Active cases roaming freely... But carry on with unessential shopping and liming .....

Postby hover11 » August 27th, 2021, 10:54 am

URP Employee Charged with Immunization Card Scam

TERRY GARIB appeared before Magistrate Armina Mohammed-Deonarinesingh yesterday charged with forgery of immunization cards with intent to deceive.

The accused was not called upon to plead as the charge was laid indictably by PC Jagroop of the San Fernando Police Station.

The 52-year-old Unemployment Relief Programme (URP) employee of Mt. Stewart Village, Princes Town, was placed on $150,000 bail and was ordered to surrender his passport as part of his bail conditions.

He will reappear before the San Fernando Magistrates’ Court on September14th.

The incident arose out of a report made by security personnel at the San Fernando General Hospital who observed that the accused was allegedly distributing immunization cards concerning COVID-19 vaccinations to persons hired by him to prepare same.

During the course of the investigation, detectives allegedly discovered that a man used a template of a genuine COVID-19 immunization card to make the cards. He was later seen distributing the fake cards.

The suspect was also reportedly found to be in possession of a stamp which bore the words “The Ministry of Health” and which originated from the Ste Madeleine Health Facility.

SEE ACCOMPANYING PHOTOGRAPH

Corporate Communications Unit
August 27th, 2021
END
FB_IMG_1630075962694.jpg
FB_IMG_1630075962694.jpg (11.49 KiB) Viewed 1432 times

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2021, 10:54 am

Ben_spanna wrote:There is alot of talk going around that our Actual figures are not being expressed and that it may in fact be more than twice the statistics of Active cases roaming freely... But carry on with unessential shopping and liming .....
Actual numbers for nearly every nation are higher than what is being reported. To get actual numbers, EVERYONE would need to be tested.

The estimated number of daily infections is currently about 1200 cases.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 27th, 2021, 11:37 am

adnj wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:There is alot of talk going around that our Actual figures are not being expressed and that it may in fact be more than twice the statistics of Active cases roaming freely... But carry on with unessential shopping and liming .....
Actual numbers for nearly every nation are higher than what is being reported. To get actual numbers, EVERYONE would need to be tested.

Their model keeps predicting an upcoming spike,I noticed it's been pushed back but their model also relies on the quality of data. ... Which presents a problem as things have changed a bit.

I've noticed a few things recently which indicates we aren't testing enough or making testing easier/more accessible

1. My friend's uncle had mild Covid symptoms after being exposed to someone with Covid at a wake. He was fully vaccinated with Sinopharm though. He went in to get tested at St James and was turned away by them saying if he fully vaccinated why he coming to get tested.

2. Another fully vaccinated person I know had symptoms jus a few days ago and when I told her to get tested she didn't want to believing that even if she had it, the tests were still pointless as all her family vaccinated. I left her alone but next thing I see is that she gone for a haircut. Steups.

Postby hover11 » August 27th, 2021, 11:42 am

Could it be this would also be the same behaviour when persons come from the airport and are fully vaccinated even though they had a covid positive person sitting next to them on the flight.
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:

Their model keeps pedicuring an upcoming spike,I noticed it's been pushed back but their model also relies on the quality of data.

I've noticed a few things recently which indicates we aren't testing enough or making testing easier.

1. My friend's uncle had Covid mild symptoms after being exposed to someone with Covid at a wake. He was fully vaccinated with Sinopharm though. He went in to get tested at St James and was turned away by them saying if he fully vaccinated why he coming to get tested.

2. Another fully vaccinated person I know had symptoms jus a few days ago and when I told her to get tested she didn't want to believing that even if she had it, the tests were pointless. She said all her family vaccinated so what's the point. I left her alone but next thing I see is that she gone for a haircut. Steups.

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2021, 12:00 pm

Irrespective of where the actual data lies within the confidence interval (the graph is the centerpoint), what you can take away with a very high level of confidence:

- infections are not likely to decrease this year.
- deaths are not likely to decrease this year.
- the number of infection cases are greater than what is actually being captured by testing.

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2021, 4:38 pm

adnj wrote:

that projection assumes delta arriving i suppose? if not i wont expect it to increase as vax rates increase. but it would increase once delta arrives. of so expect another lockdown at the worst possible time of the year- the Christmas shopping season!

Postby hover11 » August 27th, 2021, 4:43 pm

Christmas season is the period with the most gatherings ,also more family from foreign visiting so wouldn't doubt it
redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:

that projection assumes delta arriving i suppose? if not i wont expect it to increase as vax rates increase. but it would increase once delta arrives. of so expect another lockdown at the worst possible time of the year- the Christmas shopping season!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 27th, 2021, 4:49 pm

It would be good if people post their replies to messages below the quoted text rather than above it. That is really weird and disorienting.

Postby hover11 » August 27th, 2021, 4:51 pm

9 deaths
FB_IMG_1630097440833.jpg

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2021, 4:51 pm

Repost

COVID-19 vaccines may trigger superimmunity in people who had SARS long ago

Aug. 18, 2021

Almost 20 years before SARS-CoV-2, a related and even more lethal coronavirus sowed panic, killing nearly 10% of the 8000 people who became infected. But the 2003 outbreak of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) may have left some survivors with a gift. Former SARS patients who have been vaccinated against COVID-19 appear able to fend off all variants of SARS-CoV-2 in circulation, as well as ones that may soon emerge, a new study suggests. Their formidable antibodies may even protect against coronaviruses in other species that have yet to make the jump into humans—and may hold clues to how to make a so-called pancoronavirus vaccine that could forestall future outbreaks.

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2021/08 ... s-long-ago

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2021, 5:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:

Model inputs include:

- for the southern PAHO, Delta will only start to influence projection but Gamma remains dominant.

- vaccination rates are expected to increase due to changing attitudes and availability.

- Beta variant at zero percent dominance.

- 65% vaccine acceptance.

- mobility is 20% below baseline

- mask wearing is at 80%.
Last edited by adnj on August 27th, 2021, 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 27th, 2021, 5:15 pm

Deaths continue to be very high at 7 a day, all these lives could have been saved if they took the vaccine.