Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2020, 2:54 am

pugboy wrote:Anybody have experience with granite counter that was badly stained?

Have a grey granite counter which was stained brown by spoilt fruit.
A guy tried sanding but to no avail.
You can try blotting with a clean cloth and bleach or baking soda. There is lots of info on the web.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 6th, 2020, 6:59 am

Scene

Will organise something next week
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Aye Shakes, yuh know any backhoe man in Grande boi?
Need a lot of land cleared

Dass with the hardware has one($1800 with the driver)...a guy after woody has one as well, same price...his name is rudy...Id get his number
I was planning to call Videsh to do the job if i didnt get anyone else, but he does be rel busy.

Rudy working for us now on a next job, but the dont have the backhoe now.

Lol

Grande too small yes

Videsh driver working SGRC and he has the backhoe home by him in wallenville....

Or you could check DG

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 6th, 2020, 3:44 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody have experience with granite counter that was badly stained?

Have a grey granite counter which was stained brown by spoilt fruit.
A guy tried sanding but to no avail.
What he sand it with? Granite it's very porus, so it would have soaked in to stain it, that's why you use a sealer and polish on the granite right after you install it

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2020, 4:30 pm

Looking for the sandpaper type stickers you stick on slippery tiles like in showers etc
They usually come in patterns shaped like flowers etc

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2020, 5:01 pm

pugboy wrote:Looking for the sandpaper type stickers you stick on slippery tiles like in showers etc
Must it be in patterns? I bought some years ago for an outdoor shower but it wasn't locally. Maybe a pool supply store would carry them.

The only thing I have seen around is black treader tape.

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2020, 5:06 pm

who have the black treader tape ?

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:Looking for the sandpaper type stickers you stick on slippery tiles like in showers etc
Must it be in patterns? I bought some years ago for an outdoor shower but it wasn't locally. Maybe a pool supply store would carry them.

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2020, 5:26 pm

pugboy wrote:who have the black treader tape ?

adnj wrote:

Peakes sells it by the foot. They may have it in basic colors like yellow, red, blue, etc.

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 7th, 2020, 5:27 pm

I have seen it in Allied.

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2020, 5:45 pm

great

adnj wrote:

adnj wrote:

Peakes sells it by the foot. They may have it in basic colors like yellow, red, blue, etc.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 17th, 2020, 7:42 am

Duane. Have you done anything since or gotten any quotes? Fill me in as I exploring options to cover or coat the same driveway is did a few years ago.
carluva wrote:I had a similar issue Duane. I am looking for one of my previous posts but can't ATM.

Anyhow, do a screed mix on top the existing concrete. You can easily go as thin as 1.5" with a screed.

I did mines with Coosal's a few years ago. It was a sharp sand, 3/8" aggregate mix, with fiber reinforcement. I troweled finished but I will advise a power float finish. If your existing surface is sound(ish) it will need to be pressure washed, etched and then primed with a bonding agent prior to pouring the mix. If you have cracks, deal with those by channeling open the crack and then filling with an epoxy joint sealant. Once you are done with the pour, cut a few control cracks on the fresh floor.

The end result is a superb floor that can take the weight of vehicles, and with a finish that will be ideal for tiles, acid wash, epoxy or decorative concrete.

Crete art is nice but be prepared to fork out muy dinero. You can also check SCL as they have some decorative options.

Why don't you check the same guy who did the screed in your garage?

I did this with the garage floor and the iSONEM screed,
Better I just use that and not apply the epoxy to it. I prefer the look of the raw concrete there.

s-k-mo

Postby s-k-mo » February 20th, 2020, 10:44 am

marcop2487 wrote:
Kronik wrote:
marcop2487 wrote:Goodnight folks. Does anyone know the average price to do a foundation for a 2 storey house? Most of the quotes I'm getting range between $150k to $200k. The variance of $50k is quite high.

Also, would you'll recommend using steel I and H beams instead of making box columns and beams?
Well you would need to give a size to start with. And the type of soil you have also affects that cost as it would determine how deep they have to go and that would affect labor and concrete costs.
And how much of the foundation are you talking about, slab, columns, beam and decking?
It's a 37 ×30 2 storey design. Flat land. Soil compact and doesn't require any filling.

45x30 with a 20x20 garage cost me 240k labour and material

Didnt use decking pan...went the traditional way

Hey

If you don’t mind could you pm me. I’m looking to build and start my foundation this year n I’m looking for contacts for the construction

Was the workmanship and quality good?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 20th, 2020, 12:17 pm

carluva wrote:Duane. Have you done anything since or gotten any quotes? Fill me in as I exploring options to cover or coat the same driveway is did a few years ago.

Not yet, on another project but I’ll see about it soon.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 20th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Hmmmm. New trinituner headquarters coming soon
carluva wrote:Duane. Have you done anything since or gotten any quotes? Fill me in as I exploring options to cover or coat the same driveway is did a few years ago.

Postby rspann » February 20th, 2020, 2:36 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Hmmmm. New trinituner headquarters coming soon

Nah. He building a safe room to store the money when Pastor Vin give him it back.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Spanner, where you suggest are good places for buying roofing material(especially the sheets)...two years ago I saw a man with a caramel brown roof, now it looking like a white board...face palm...not sure if they were PVF2 coated...

Postby rspann » February 20th, 2020, 3:14 pm

I stick with Varma and Lifetime. There are a few other good ones but I have my lil ranks there in terms of pricing and delivery times. I could call Varma , place an order without paying a cent ,have it same day if I'm collecting or next day free delivery and pay when they deliver. Plus their colours are guaranteed for years. The boss lady says twenty thirty years you safe.
I now did a matte black roof (it's sorta gray though) Lifetime win with that one.

Postby rspann » February 20th, 2020, 3:17 pm

If you want a quote, call Lifetime caroni ask for Jeremy . Tell him spanner refered you and to give you my discount. Call my name by Varma too. Spann not spanner though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2020, 5:59 pm

rspann wrote:If you want a quote, call Lifetime caroni ask for Jeremy . Tell him spanner refered you and to give you my discount. Call my name by Varma too. Spann not spanner though.

THANK YOU SIR SPANN

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2020, 7:23 pm

I have pvf sheeting from lifetime bought 1998 that still holding good colour.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2020, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:I have pvf sheeting from lifetime bought 1998 that still holding good colour.

I guess it makes sense to pay the extra $$ for that option yes

Postby rspann » February 20th, 2020, 9:29 pm

rspann wrote:If you want a quote, call Lifetime caroni ask for Jeremy . Tell him spanner refered you and to give you my discount. Call my name by Varma too. Spann not spanner though.

THANK YOU SIR SPANN

No, every body else could call me spanner. I doh mind, but by Varma they know me as spann.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 21st, 2020, 5:21 am

where has the best price on concrete board ? i noticing people using that on the outside of they house if they do a lil extension instead of blocks and tiling it instead of painting so i studying to try it, either dat or use the underceiling material as the outside wall.

Postby rspann » February 21st, 2020, 6:36 am

Not all concrete boards good. CW in El Socorro on the corner by the highway has a good one and Commercial Representations in Macoya. Use fiberglass tape and Basecoat on the joints and surface and you have a product just like if it was blocks and plaster. The only thing is, it's more expensive in the long run if you factor in framing and sheeting both sides. Labour is specialised so that adds up. I use it to close up spaces or any minor changes where blocking up is a challenge. Recently used it on one of those houses where they used glass around the top , you can't even tell it's not concrete.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 24th, 2020, 5:51 am

just ah lil outside store room i want to block around. studying if to go blocks, concrete board, or galvanize sheeting ( the smooth under ceiling) size is 10 x17 any recommendations ?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 24th, 2020, 11:18 am

I would always say build for the future once you can afford to.

10x17 is a good size storeroom to put some tanks on later on. That said, consider building out of filled concrete blocks with proper foundation and steel embedded throughout the cores of the blocks so that you can tie the same into a decking later on. You don't have to do the decking now, as a roof will suffice. Later on if you choose, you will have a sound structure to support a decking.

If not, the I would recommend blocks. Regardless of what you use, once it's meant to be a permanent structure, a good floor and foundation is needed. All other methods would need framing which would send the cost up. Blocks are the way to go. You could even do 4" concrete blocks and point them out instead of plaster them. It'll look good too.

But, I would stick to my original recommendation cause once you going blocks, there would be a small incremental investment to get a structure that I recommended.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 24th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Has anyone built a fish pond? I've been looking to do one for a few years and finally want to bite the bullet.

It'll be about 32 inches below grade and about 8 inches above.

What's better? Concrete base and filled blocks or the pond liner? I can't get the latter locally so it'll have to be sea freighted. So cost wise, what'll be more economical.

The shape is an 'L' with an inside width of 3 feet and the long side of the 'L' 15 feet and the short side of the 'L' 6 feet.

Thoughts welcome.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 24th, 2020, 2:07 pm

carluva wrote:Has anyone built a fish pond? I've been looking to do one for a few years and finally want to bite the bullet.

What's better? Concrete base and filled blocks or the pond liner? I can't get the latter locally so it'll have to be sea freighted. So cost wise, what'll be more economical.

The shape is an 'L' with an inside width of 3 feet and the long side of the 'L' 15 feet and the short side of the 'L' 6 feet.

Thoughts welcome.

Looking to do same in a few months with a waterfall. Irregular size though.
From research, liner is obviously significantly easier with a lower fail rate, but getting to size is difficult

carluva

Postby carluva » February 24th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Yup. The cost of the liner I sourced in the 'L' shape is about USD1300.

The I'll factor about TTD2000 for freight and clearing.

So that's over TTD10k for liner. How would blocks compare?

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 4:06 pm

If you go with blocks it's cheaper ,but you must do it properly otherwise it leaks. Also you must do a bond beam or at least do a deck to secure to walls from moving, since it will cause cracks between the wall and the floor. Then coat with Diamond Brite.

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2020, 4:10 pm

carluva wrote:Has anyone built a fish pond? I've been looking to do one for a few years and finally want to bite the bullet.

Thoughts welcome.

Bro they breed free water Talapia in " plastic / canvas house pool " available on Amazon .

There is a German Engineer in Freeport who has successfully been doing this for years .

The quality is exceptional .