Official BlackBerry Thread

Daran

Re: RIM on the verge of....

Postby Daran » June 30th, 2012, 9:15 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
Daran wrote:Look at the big failures of this mobile techwar.

Microsoft, Nokia & RIM......it's time three of them come together.

We get the hardware from Nokia, Security and BBM from RIM, but unfortunately a Microsoft OS....which is still better than the offerings from Nokia & RIM.

scuse me?

uve been asleep for the past 6 months havent u?

and microsoft made a pass at RIM and they chose to fight it out on their own..

Not for the first time, Google made a pass at RIM too without much succuess.

RIM will fail, it is inevitable. I was simply stating that if the 3 big failures of this war (nokia, microsoft & RIM) got together, the would be an excellent third alternative to IOS and Andriod.

original_lollybob

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby original_lollybob » July 1st, 2012, 11:32 am

^naw
microsoft and nokia dont need RIM

wp8 has announced full enterprise security features so RIM doesnt hold the enterprise trump card anymore

on the consumer side they have BBM, but the 3rd party apps are pretty awesome so...

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 1st, 2012, 8:32 pm

Seeing that rim is essentially dead what will happen to bbm?

firstchoicett

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 1st, 2012, 8:35 pm

^ get replace a few years ago someone broke the BBM code and got it working on other smart phones . Today the only reason ppl buy BB is for BBM but with what's app and other messengers coming up good BB in 4 fire.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 1st, 2012, 8:49 pm

firstchoicett wrote:^ get replace a few years ago someone broke the BBM code and got it working on other smart phones . Today the only reason ppl buy BB is for BBM but with what's app and other messengers coming up good BB in 4 fire.

I raised this point in the Android thread a few days ago, and several so-called wise men were of the opinion that people by blackberries today because of the security :shock:

Even RIM knows that the only strength the phone has right now is BBM, hence they tried to make it more social, with all these bbm connected apps, but if you ask those wise guys, being able to post your twitter/facebook statuses to BBM is a security strength :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » July 1st, 2012, 8:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Seeing that rim is essentially dead what will happen to bbm?

I don't think they are dead yet, they would always have some users, remember there are a lot of people out there that are totally oblivious to the alternatives that exist, while a lot more people using whatsapp on their bb, iOS and Android has a multitude of chat clients that are pretty good and much more social oriented.

One complaint I get from a lot of people though is that bbm is very hands off with regards to information, a lot of chat clients use a phone number, email or Facebook/twitter account to add users. Bbm is a pin system, that means you don't have to give any personal information, and it's easy to just delete someone, permanently.

RIM is still to slow to adapt and release though, I think they only have one software programmer doing everything :lol:

Postby tr1ad » July 1st, 2012, 9:04 pm

yup they basically have one programmer
i don't think RIM is down for the count, but again it's up to the consumers

as a person that has tried many a smartphone, i keep coming back to RIM products for the keyboard and push email ( yes it's faster than the rest of other devices "push" email )
as for the apps, i dont really care for those, and there will always be people with that concept about the apps

time will tell what's instore for RIM
i foresee a comeback

firstchoicett

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 1st, 2012, 10:18 pm

achillies wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:^ get replace a few years ago someone broke the BBM code and got it working on other smart phones . Today the only reason ppl buy BB is for BBM but with what's app and other messengers coming up good BB in 4 fire.

I raised this point in the Android thread a few days ago, and several so-called wise men were of the opinion that people by blackberries today because of the security :shock:

Even RIM knows that the only strength the phone has right now is BBM, hence they tried to make it more social, with all these bbm connected apps, but if you ask those wise guys, being able to post your twitter/facebook statuses to BBM is a security strength :lol:

security is a zero last year BB was hacked and the whole system went down . I personally don't find the software stable .

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 1st, 2012, 11:46 pm

I'm sorry but rim is dead. They are hemorrhaging cash AND sales are down nearly 50% with no new models insight to stir sales. They laid off one third of their staff, basically lied about the release date of bb10 phones and can't even give you a release date for bb10 phones. No, q1 2013 is not substantial as it's a 4 month window(which also misses Christmas sales and back to school sales). At this stage they have two quarters to get through and no one can really trust their word on sticking to a release date for their phones.

Sure people pay for bis and bes but who do subscribers pay when a company goes bellyup? The hardware side is the source of frustration and the real reason they are currently posting loses in spite of a profitable bis service.

firstchoicett

RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby firstchoicett » July 2nd, 2012, 7:24 am

I'm happy with my 4S 64 doing much more then any BB and I have what's App.

Postby noshownogo » July 2nd, 2012, 7:54 am

I share similar sentiments to tr1ad, I don't think RIM is dead. They are ripe for a revival.

Being in this position sometimes is best for out of the box thinking. BB10's Q1 2013 release was harsh for loyal customers and busy devs but word from the conferences recently was that BB10 is much more friendly to code for and dev interest is at an all time high.

BBM is still also one of the best chat apps out there as well.

Let us not forget the position Apple was in several years ago. RIM still has a worldwide base of 70million users. Market is decreasing in developed countries, yes, but it is growing in emerging markets.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 2nd, 2012, 8:27 am

noshownogo wrote:I share similar sentiments to tr1ad, I don't think RIM is dead. They are ripe for a revival.

Being in this position sometimes is best for out of the box thinking. BB10's Q1 2013 release was harsh for loyal customers and busy devs but word from the conferences recently was that BB10 is much more friendly to code for and dev interest is at an all time high.

BBM is still also one of the best chat apps out there as well.

Let us not forget the position Apple was in several years ago. RIM still has a worldwide base of 70million users. Market is decreasing in developed countries, yes, but it is growing in emerging markets.

Oh I agree.

When you have nothing to lose, you have everything to gain. But RIM is stubborn. They have NOT been innovating their way out of it. It has nothing to do with hardware of OS. But marketing and bring something new to the table in ways we interact with out phones.

They just sat and let Apple and Google take business from right under them, refusing to change their direction. As if the two biggest companies crashing wasn't a sign of the times. They saw Nokia and Motorola crash and burn in front of them but refused to take it as a sign.

But what are they doing NOW to turn things around? I would love for them to survive but they are letting people down.

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 10:04 am

firstchoicett wrote:security is a zero last year BB was hacked and the whole system went down . I personally don't find the software stable .

really ?

hacked?

the software is stable enough for my needs as a business user, android and apple is not suited for my needs....

majority of folks want the apps and games, it boils down to preference as i said before
you can be a photographer, use either a point and shoot or a dslr...

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 10:06 am

firstchoicett wrote:I'm happy with my 4S 64 doing much more then any BB and I have what's App.

much more in terms of????

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 2nd, 2012, 11:00 am

blackberry will always be the "business" phone and that's the clients of their main customers....as tr1ad said, their push is the best on the market. having tried all as well i'm swayed more to iOS because of apps and interface but again it comes down to the user. RIM's security is also the best there is but like our own local market, the seller for bb is BBM and nothing else. I had a blackberry since the days when ppl were like "whey u going with that big phone boy" I still own one and it's mainly because of bbm, bbm groups etc for organizations im a part of.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 2nd, 2012, 11:30 am

tr1ad wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:I'm happy with my 4S 64 doing much more then any BB and I have what's App.

much more in terms of????

yes please tell us more

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 2nd, 2012, 1:05 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:blackberry will always be the "business" phone and that's the clients of their main customers....as tr1ad said, their push is the best on the market. having tried all as well i'm swayed more to iOS because of apps and interface but again it comes down to the user. RIM's security is also the best there is but like our own local market, the seller for bb is BBM and nothing else. I had a blackberry since the days when ppl were like "whey u going with that big phone boy" I still own one and it's mainly because of bbm, bbm groups etc for organizations im a part of.

Perhaps.

The issue is RIM extended their phones into the consumer market without making them consumer devices. So when the iPhone and Android phones came on the scene, RIM had nothing to compete with them.

They gone too far now. They need to stay and do well in the consumer market to survive. Enterprise alone will kill them. And even in enterprise, people are switching to iPhones. Windows 8 is also the sleeping giant. Microsoft already have a solid enterprise backbone.

What will happen to BB then? What happens to BBM in a world where free Wifi is becoming commonplace and data plan prices coming down?

Postby ismithx » July 2nd, 2012, 2:31 pm

tr1ad wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:security is a zero last year BB was hacked and the whole system went down . I personally don't find the software stable .

really ?

hacked?

the software is stable enough for my needs as a business user, android and apple is not suited for my needs....

majority of folks want the apps and games, it boils down to preference as i said before
you can be a photographer, use either a point and shoot or a dslr...

yeah right, then how come me and my friends does have so much complaints about it?

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 2:39 pm

complaints? fella i am not RIM mgmt

my phone never freezes, battery drain is definitely not a problem for me
emails with ease from 4 email accounts, pdf, excel, docs open fine for me, conference calling is such an easy thing with the phone, hell even in may i used my NFC capability to make purchases in stores in the us

what is so unstable with the OS?

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 2nd, 2012, 2:41 pm

eh thread bombing initiate:

I have a 9700 for sale, if anyone interested check ma signature.

smith you and yuh friends using it for BBM alone oar?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 2nd, 2012, 2:43 pm

tr1ad wrote:complaints? fella i am not RIM mgmt

my phone never freezes, battery drain is definitely not a problem for me
emails with ease from 4 email accounts, pdf, excel, docs open fine for me, conference calling is such an easy thing with the phone, hell even in may i used my NFC capability to make purchases in stores in the us

what is so unstable with the OS?

got a 9900 last week.....got tired of my torch freezing...lol....

again it basically comes down to the user and what they expect from the device.....

how many ppl were willing to switch to blackberry if there was no bbm??

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 2:44 pm

i was thinking the same thing the "i only have it for bbm"

if the OS so unstable; used by millions around the world, maybe you should get an iPhone or android device

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2012, 2:45 pm

It's good that you have no issues with you BB. However many many others have issues causing mild annoyance to heavy frustration from say a bricked phone. The thing that is most important is you say you are happy with your BB and I'm guessing you would buy one again. The problem I have with RIM on BB10 is that there is NO new phone for satisfied BB users to purchase. You can't go an entire year without releasing a new flagship model in this current market. If you are going to do that then you better have deep pockets and well RIM pockets ain't that deep. Hopefully they can hold out AND deliver on their promises though.

Postby ismithx » July 2nd, 2012, 2:46 pm

most if not all of my friends using bbm, i using a bb just because my next phone died and i don't want to buy a new phone now. I don't feel like putting out money for bbm, it will also kill my battery....

and triad, my padna have NEW torch, 4months or so, and the battery already down to a day.... :|

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 2:51 pm

i have been a RIM user for over 6 years, never had a problem
cept for the storm but that phone was a mistake

i also have a 9900, it doesn't last a full 24hrs, example today, i started work at 6am, i'm now at 50% battery life remaining, spent most of the day on my phone, not the office phone and bbm
i dont have foursquare running all the time, i dont have or care to have apps that suck my battery
the most used app that drains my battery is BBM i guess
it that what you mean by an unstable OS?
if it's battery life, the simple backlight setting has a different result if turned to a short time
also remember a full touchscreen such as the torch will take a lot of battery life

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 2:52 pm

RIM has failed many users in the release dept

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 2nd, 2012, 2:56 pm

Smith before you complain make sure yuh using d thing properly eh -_-

The only problem I have with BlackBerry is the 3.15MP camera that it was sent out with(I know newer models have better) but then again, that's not what the BB was made for.

I have had mine for two years and not an issue with it.

Question to tr1ad: Are you using the OS it came with, or you upgraded? I'm running Hybrid OS from crackberry.

Postby 16 cycles » July 2nd, 2012, 3:02 pm

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 2nd, 2012, 3:07 pm

one app i realised that screwed with the memory on a blackberry is facebook....it download tooooo many unnecessary things and just suck resources.....

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2012, 3:08 pm

i've tried hybrid before on the 9000 and the 9800 they did make a difference with OS6, i tried 2 different hybrids with OS7, but the difference wasn't noticeable...
currently with the release of 7.1.0.523 i'm considering attempting my own hybrid build
but with this os release for the 9900 with it comes device analyzer, battery monitor and even resource monitor... so even if say foursquare is a resouce hog, it will shut it down automatically