*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2011, 11:05 pm

^ ok cool

You plugged the flow box into the TV and then ran the optical from the TV to the receiver?
How come you didnt plug the flow box into the receiver directly?

Postby X_Factor » December 12th, 2011, 11:17 pm

cause i was thinking, (which may be wrong) if i did that, then to watch tv i would need to put it on...and most of the time we dont need the HT speakers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2011, 11:24 pm

^ I guess, but TV sounds better with the HT speakers!
Even if it's just stereo

most of these flat panel TV's have great picture but terrible audio.

with a universal remote, you wont even notice that you're turning on multiple devices since everything comes on and goes to the proper setting with one ON button.

Postby pioneer » December 12th, 2011, 11:27 pm

Some TV's and receivers have an auto turn-on/off feature too

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2011, 11:43 pm

^ true, via HDMI unless you want to use the older 12v triggers

Re:

Postby 16 cycles » December 14th, 2011, 8:31 am

16 cycles wrote:LOL....i was thinking same thing as Duane....rotel etc etc...and then the tv...

no sweat...all systems take time..

not a home theatre system above

avalon speakers, esoteric sacd, Einstein amp, isoclean power, jorma connects

best i ever heard in life...

person was setting up a home theatre with same products...might pass and take better pics of everything

ru$$ell wrote:^The pic is local,and from the looks of it,doesnt look like a HT room,but a dedicated 2 channel Stereo room.The gear (from what i gathered by 16 cycles) - avalon speakers, esoteric sacd, Einstein amp, isoclean power, jorma connects

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327&hilit=silverline&start=120

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327&p=4011384&hilit=silverline#p4011384

did not want to clutter that thread so to clarify....

i was in houston in 09 looking for some audio equipment and stumbled across a high end distributor who ran the business out of his home - rel cool chap - that was his set up.

carried my dad a few months after and was invited for a demo of the set up and the launch of some other new stuff....

it is a dedicated 2 channel room and probably the best set up i might ever hear....

i've seen/heard some high end stuff here, not on that level but just as epic (electrostatic speakers - Martin logans in 2007 / set up in Sound Basin - Bryston pro amps with westlake speakers etc)

in the search of audio equipment, i'm always surprised at the humility of audiophiles locally and the set-ups that i stumble across- reference series amps / speakers etc....

industry has gone HT now......

Postby crazybalhead » December 14th, 2011, 11:22 am

All I can say about that is "WOW", I can't even imagine how that would sound

Humes

Postby Humes » December 16th, 2011, 7:57 pm

I askin this again, but serious this time.

TV, AV receiver w/ speakers, HTPC.

Will the AV receiver process the sound from the HTPC and send it to the speakers (which are attached to the receiver)?

Also, it will be one HDMI cable between the HTPC and receiver, and one cable between the TV and receiver, correct?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 16th, 2011, 8:12 pm

Humes wrote:I askin this again, but serious this time.

TV, AV receiver w/ speakers, HTPC.

Will the AV receiver process the sound from the HTPC and send it to the speakers (which are attached to the receiver)?

Yup. You can either let the receiver use it's built in amplification to power the speakers or send the audio to the tv.

Also, it will be one HDMI cable between the HTPC and receiver, and one cable between the TV and receiver, correct?

Yup again. HTPC>HDMI cable>Receiver>HDMI cable>TV

This is how my setup is. Just using a laptop instead of a custom HTPC. 8-)

Humes

Postby Humes » December 16th, 2011, 9:22 pm

Thanks, glad I made sure.

New Breed

Postby New Breed » December 16th, 2011, 9:40 pm

hey guys i wanna setup a back light for my tv ( did not look tru 80pg 2 c if it was mentioned) what allyuh use for back light..... tanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhWLknv4 ... re=related

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2011, 9:54 pm

^ you don't have to read all 80 pages, just use the topic search

I searched for lighting strips:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327&p=5851986&hilit=lighting+strips#p5851986

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 16th, 2011, 11:41 pm

I want one that changes colour according to what on the screen

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 17th, 2011, 1:23 am

^ then you will have to buy a Phillips TV with Ambilight

remember the circuitry that controls the light needs to feed off of the HDMI signal.
So if you try to build this yourself, your lights will need an HDMI cable plugged into it.
There are a few DIY ambilight replicas on the net
http://dhowdy.blogspot.com/2011/09/diy- ... rites.html

LiveLight Project
http://www.livelightproject.com/

LightPack

they all seem to run via a USB feed which means your source needs to come from a PC and not from a PS3 or standalone DVD/Bluray player etc

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2011, 9:34 pm

Getting a bit of an issue here with my set-up. I've connected the Flow digital box to the receiver via RCA, and then receiver to TV via HDMI. I'm hearing audio, but the screen is blue. Receiver is a Onkyo s3400.

Any idea what's happening here, and how I can fix it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 17th, 2011, 9:55 pm

some receivers have a setting that you need to enable to get video from a component source - had that problem when setting up my Wii

check your receiver's setup manual

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2011, 10:05 pm

I will, but just by the by, how'd you end up fixing yours? What was the setting?

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Can't say I've identified any fix to the issue after reading through the manual. There are two sections on component and composite settings, but nothing worked for either.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2011, 11:33 pm

I think I've found the solution online. Going to test it now.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2011, 11:55 pm

On Amazon: http://goo.gl/coAY8

Remember, this receiver does not convert a A/V response to HDMI, so if its HDMI in, it is HDMI out, and if it is Composite in, then composite out.

http://www.hifivision.com/home-theater/ ... l-stb.html

Basically you cannot mix input and output type for video signals (Component/Composite/HDMI). HT-S3400 doesn't convert between types of video signal. Which means you cannot have video input in Composite and get video output in HDMI or Component. The video input & output have to be the same type.
You have connected your video output via HDMI, so to get video on your TV the video input has to be HDMI, which means you will have to connect TATA Sky STB via HDMI IN.
But then you have a regular TATA Sky STB and it doesn't have HDMI output. So the only option to get video via HT-S3400 is as follows:
TATA Sky STB(Composite OUT)---Composite Cable--->(Composite IN)HT-S3400
HT-S3400(Composite OUT)---Composite Cable--->(Composite IN)Sony TV

I've connected the composites between the cable box and the receiver. The problem seems to be connecting another set of composites between the receiver and the TV. The receiver's only composite outs are for TV/DVR...none for cable. So it seems to me that the audio is going one place and the video is headed to another. I might be interpreting this the wrong way, though.

Anyway, the problem persists. I'm wondering if I just have to tool around with the inputs a bit.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 18th, 2011, 12:19 am

If your first quote is true for that model then you're screwed.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 18th, 2011, 12:53 am

The only solution I've found requires me to switch inputs, which kinda defeats the purpose of the device. I guess it's just an extra two button presses, but still.

Postby pioneer » December 18th, 2011, 12:59 am

Mine doing the same thing however mine does convert composite to hdmi

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 19th, 2011, 12:55 am

hey guys, i got a set of harman kardon soundsticks 3 for sale...check it out...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=412507

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 19th, 2011, 1:15 am

holy sex that thing is sex

Postby crazybalhead » December 19th, 2011, 7:02 am

RAPTOR ISA BORSE ALLYUH HEAR!!!!! THAT IS ALL.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 19th, 2011, 7:14 am

Raptor is one of the best and most honest businessman I have dealt with in a long time. I bought a LED tv from him around the middle of the year. A few weeks ago an issue developed in which some led's loosing yellow colour. Technician checked it out based on the description I gave.
Yesterday he swapped out the TV for a new one.....cudos Richard...will continue dealing with him
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on December 19th, 2011, 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » December 19th, 2011, 7:18 am

Same experience.

Postby SR » December 19th, 2011, 8:36 am

i still prefer 2 channel over ht

most sytems i have heard setup for ht do not sound that great for musical audio
mid range and high freq defination is not clear and at times too bright causing ear fatigue

resurected my nht zero ones with a cheap sherwood 2 channel amp from radio shack and just by speaker placement on the wall and the angle downwards

audiophile quality is 7 out of 10 as well as imaging based on seating position is about a an 8/10
obvioulsy a better amp will make a difference but system is used by my dad 99% of the time and for his age it wont make a difference to him other than how much it cost
used monster speaker wires another deal from radio shack henry st when they were clearing out old stock
db drive rca cables tin foil sheilded mostly because of the lengths i needed besides we use them in cars built for competition with great success and cost less than 100 bucks
the nht's are over 10 years old but still sound better than some brand new speakers on the market
switched to blink entertainemt from flow and the audio quality is much better so i am also running the audio from that thru the system and the music channels sound like good quality mp3's and close to cd quality on some channels

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2011, 9:09 am

most home theatre sets are setup for watching movies, not audiophile music listening.

watching a HD movie in stereo is like watching half the screen - alot of the effects are done through the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio that make the movie experience as the director intended.