COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43344 cases, 1244 deaths, 5097 active, 37003 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » August 26th, 2021, 7:37 am

paid_influencer wrote:

yea this is legit a good read. This is actual good analysis published in a peer-reviewed medical journal.

as an aside, if you want AZ (and there are good reasons for wanting AZ), this is a good time to get it. numbers down to <300 daily (less than 50 doses per mass-vaxx site) -- plenty of parking, no lines, walk straight through (took 35 minutes start to finish at SAPA @8am in the morning this week).

Yup we also have J&J as well, one shot and that’s it.
Dunno why they using this for rural areas …

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43344 cases, 1244 deaths, 5097 active, 37003 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2021, 7:46 am

Hover11 yes they can bring it, it's less likely but definitely possible.

Our system should change to what Barbados and many other places have done. Even if vaccinated quarantine for at least 2 days and do a PCR test on the 2nd day. If you negative you can go free.

It's not 100% either but it reduces the number of Delta seeds in the population.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2021, 7:54 am

Less likely since if 10 persons who were vaxxed and 10 persons unvaxxed both groups exposed to the virus in community the 10 vaxxed will be less likely to become fully infected to become a spreader than the unvaxxed.

However this is not an excuse for a vaxxed person to not follow standard safety protocols.
Unfortunately in USA a lot of vaxxed persons going around as normal and partying etc.

Dohplaydat wrote:Hover11 yes they can bring it, it's less likely but definitely possible.

Our system should change to what Barbados and many other places have done. Even if vaccinated quarantine for at least 2 days and do a PCR test on the 2nd day. If you negative you can go free.

It's not 100% either but it reduces the number of Delta seeds in the population.

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 8:00 am

^^ The USA has the highest prevalence of COVID infection of any large country. Blame it on the population.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2021, 11:29 am

Two new cases of delta variant detected in Trinidad

Two additional cases of the delta variant of covid19 have been detected in TT, bringing the total number of cases to five.

The variant was detected in two people who recently returned to Trinidad from the US and Guyana respectively.

In a release on Wednesday, the Health Ministry said the results were confirmed at 6.09 pm.

It said the two people provided negative PCR tests, taken 72 hours before their arrival, as required by the quarantine protocols.

It said swabs were taken from them after arrival which tested positive for covid19.

Both patients were isolated at a state step-down facility and will remain in isolation until they meet the enhanced discharge criteria for persons with covid19 variants of concern.

The release said the presence of the delta variant was confirmed via gene sequencing at the laboratory of the Faculty of Medical Sciences, UWI.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/08/26/two-ne ... -trinidad/

Postby timelapse » August 26th, 2021, 11:36 am

adnj wrote:^^ The USA has the highest prevalence of COVID infection of any large country. Blame it on the population.
Buh adjn, the people hassis rights!

Postby Ben_spanna » August 26th, 2021, 11:39 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Two new cases of delta variant detected in Trinidad

Two additional cases of the delta variant of covid19 have been detected in TT, bringing the total number of cases to five.

The variant was detected in two people who recently returned to Trinidad from the US and Guyana respectively.

In a release on Wednesday, the Health Ministry said the results were confirmed at 6.09 pm.

It said the two people provided negative PCR tests, taken 72 hours before their arrival, as required by the quarantine protocols.

It said swabs were taken from them after arrival which tested positive for covid19.

Both patients were isolated at a state step-down facility and will remain in isolation until they meet the enhanced discharge criteria for persons with covid19 variants of concern.

The release said the presence of the delta variant was confirmed via gene sequencing at the laboratory of the Faculty of Medical Sciences, UWI.

Both patients were tested Positive after how many days of them being in Trinidad and during that time were they in State quarantine or were they elsewhere? if they were has the state begun any contact tracing?? This is why other countries are fearing better with numbers because their procedures are much more efficient and pro-active.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 26th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

Both patients were tested Positive after how many days of them being in Trinidad and during that time were they in State quarantine or were they elsewhere? if they were has the state begun any contact tracing?? This is why other countries are fearing better with numbers because their procedures are much more efficient and pro-active.

They shouldve just copy and paste the blasted media release in the papers.

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2021, 1:14 pm

hover11 wrote:The vaccinated just coming right in. Isn't it a fact now that both carry the same viral load which they can spread be it reduced or not ? All should be quarantined
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:I thought I alone realised that. The very first time they reported delta they made it their duty to put that the passengers were unvaccinated. So I would really love to know if these people were or weren't. This PCR test is very inefficient.
Gem_in_i wrote:They were unvaccinated and had gone into quarantine?

yes this time they don't make it clear whether they were vaccinated ppl who were allowed to go home and then tested +ve and only placed in step down facilities after the +ve results, or un vaxxed in which case they would have immediately gone into state supervised quarantine.

it could be the case that a vaxxed person goes home or more lilely an unvaxxed child of that vaxxed parent who is also allowed to go home may end up being more of a threat due to the relaxed protocols for vaxxed passengers.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 26th, 2021, 2:00 pm

The only solution really is vaccination anything else will just give you a reprieve till the next wave

Iceland have 90 percent vaccinated and no deaths since May
Ben_spanna wrote:

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2021, 2:05 pm

https://nypost.com/2021/08/24/fauci-ear ... ion-death/

Fauci: Early use of monoclonal antibodies can cut risk of hospitalization, death up to 85%

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 2:09 pm

aaron17 wrote:https://nypost.com/2021/08/24/fauci-early-use-of-monoclonal-antibodies-can-reduce-hospitalization-death/

Fauci: Early use of monoclonal antibodies can cut risk of hospitalization, death up to 85%

so why is WHO not giving it EUA ? or why is T&T so strictly adhering to WHO that we can't even consider an FDA EUA authorized drug? there will always be those who end up in hospital so while the vaccine which i myself took is good it can't be the one and only thing we have to beat this virus.

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 3:17 pm

Regeneron Inks Deal to Sell Covid-19 Treatment to U.S., Even as Usage Lags

“This new agreement effectively pushes the price of the cocktail to $2,100 per dose/administration, which seems to be higher than the price of other antibodies purchased by the government.”

https://www.barrons.com/articles/regene ... 1610545649

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 3:20 pm

FDA revokes EUA approval for some N95 masks

https://www.pennlive.com/coronavirus/2021/08/fda-warns-health-care-workers-to-stop-using-n95-masks-made-by-one-chinese-manufacturer.html

Airborne, rather than droplet spread may be the main way Covid is spread

https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/coronavirus/126194048/airborne-transmission-of-covid19-more-widespread-than-previously-believed--study

“To date, the issue of ventilation has not been adequately addressed in the New Zealand setting, and this will be an important consideration for controlling the Covid-19 pandemic and preventing future respiratory disease outbreaks.”

The authors said attention needed to be given to ventilation, airflow, air filtration, UV disinfection and mask fit to better understand airborne transmission.

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2021, 4:15 pm

FB_IMG_1630008509320.jpg

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 4:44 pm

https://868media.com/2021/08/26/tt-scho ... r-vaccine/

Soon you will see alot of young persons developing heart conditions
Last edited by hover11 on August 26th, 2021, 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2021, 4:52 pm

212 new cases
6 deaths

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 4:59 pm

hover11 wrote:https://868media.com/2021/08/26/tt-schoolboy-diagnosed-with-pericarditis-after-receiving-pfizer-vaccine/

Soon you will see alot of young persons developing hearth conditions
Heart Inflammation In Teens And Young Adults After COVID-19 Vaccine Is Rare, CDC Says

Officials say the side effect is extremely rare

The CDC says the findings do not change the basic recommendation that all people 12 and older should receive either the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine. However, the CDC recommends that if a person develops myocarditis after the first dose, a second dose should be delayed until the condition has fully resolved and the heart has returned to a normal state.

"The facts are clear: this is an extremely rare side effect, and only an exceedingly small number of people will experience it after vaccination," officials said in a statement. "Importantly, for the young people who do, most cases are mild, and individuals recover often on their own or with minimal treatment. In addition, we know that myocarditis and pericarditis are much more common if you get COVID-19, and the risks to the heart from COVID-19 infection can be more severe."

Health experts agree that the benefits of being protected from COVID-19 outweigh the risks of developing this temporary heart condition from a vaccine. "There's no zero risk proposition," says Dr. Brian Feingold, medical director of the heart transplant program at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. "If you're statistically going after what's safest, the data right now stacks up [to show] that vaccines are absolutely the safer route."

https://www.npr.org/2021/06/23/10095226 ... -rare-cdc-
Last edited by adnj on August 26th, 2021, 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 26th, 2021, 5:00 pm

K74T wrote:212 new cases
6 deaths

Yea Roshan

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 5:01 pm

hover11 wrote:https://868media.com/2021/08/26/tt-schoolboy-diagnosed-with-pericarditis-after-receiving-pfizer-vaccine/

that same site also denying the pandemic even exists

https://868media.com/2021/03/12/tt-isnt-facing-a-pandemic-12-proofs/

but contrast the risks of the vaccine with the fact that 8 kids are in hospital for covid.

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 5:03 pm

You willing to let your child take the chance if you had to make the choice?
redmanjp wrote:

but contrast the risks of the vaccine with the fact that 8 kids are in hospital for covid.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2021, 5:03 pm

texas and florida state hospitals running at or near capacity presently(again)
and guess what, ppl starting to come for vaccines now
wonder why

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 26th, 2021, 5:17 pm

Numbers fluctuating wildly...

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 5:20 pm

hover11 wrote:You willing to let your child take the chance if you had to make the choice?
redmanjp wrote:

A rational parent would look at the risks and choose the safest path forward for their kid.

Vaccine - some risk
No vaccine - lots of risk

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 5:27 pm

wtf wrote:Numbers fluctuating wildly...
There isn't much change if you look at the rolling averages of both deaths and cases. Averages have been steady for about the last six weeks.

That kind of plateau is usually indicative of another surge in cases approaching.ImageImage

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Well more ppl are out so I would expect cases to be 300 soon and then increase further
adnj wrote:
wtf wrote:Numbers fluctuating wildly...
There isn't much change if you look at the rolling averages of both deaths and cases. Averages have been steady for about the last six weeks.

That kind of plateau is usually indicative of another surge in cases approaching.ImageImage

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 6:01 pm

hover11 wrote:You willing to let your child take the chance if you had to make the choice?
redmanjp wrote:

take the chance with the vax or the virus? so far we have 2 adverse events but 8 kids currently with severe covid in hospital. there may have been hospitalized cases before this as well. of course you have to know your kids medical history which includes allergies etc. and have a chat with a pediatrician .

is like you in a burning house and have to jump from a 2nd or 3rd storey window- u cud get injured by the jump but to stay is more likely u will be injured or killed.

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 6:03 pm

Since the lockdowns started, people have been finding all kinda ways to party (private zess). Yet no kids were reported of having covid or furthermore seriously ill from such. However,as soon as yall start vaccinating people children allyuh get eight cases? Then want to blame it on parties ? Cool. The people ain't gonna be sheep forever eh, soon enough the majority would wake up and see what's going on.
redmanjp wrote:

take the chance with the vax or the virus? so far we have 2 adverse events but 8 kids currently with severe covid in hospital. there may have been hospitalized cases before this as well. of course you have to know your kids medical history which includes allergies etc. and have a chat with a pediatrician .

is like you in a burning house and have to jump from a 2nd or 3rd storey window- u cud get injured by the jump but to stay is more likely u will be injured or killed.

wing

Postby wing » August 26th, 2021, 6:22 pm

hover11 wrote:Since the lockdowns started, people have been finding all kinda ways to party (private zess). Yet no kids were reported of having covid or furthermore seriously ill from such. However,as soon as yall start vaccinating people children allyuh get eight cases? Then want to blame it on parties ? Cool. The people ain't gonna be sheep forever eh, soon enough the majority would wake up and see what's going on.
redmanjp wrote:

Tell them Hoover. We are so fortunate to have a free thinker like you to guide us instead of the so called experts. We would do well to let you advise and implement the response.

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 6:30 pm

Every man is his own island...the facts are the facts children were not a factor in hospitalizations until this point , what variable entered the equation if Delta is not here?
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:Since the lockdowns started, people have been finding all kinda ways to party (private zess). Yet no kids were reported of having covid or furthermore seriously ill from such. However,as soon as yall start vaccinating people children allyuh get eight cases? Then want to blame it on parties ? Cool. The people ain't gonna be sheep forever eh, soon enough the majority would wake up and see what's going on.
redmanjp wrote:

Tell them Hoover. We are so fortunate to have a free thinker like you to guide us instead of the so called experts. We would do well to let you advise and implement the response.