COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 42233 cases, 1196 deaths, 5966 active, 35071 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2021, 12:28 am

DMan7 wrote:71/6

if ave daily cases have dropped then in 2 weeks we should see a similar effect with deaths- though it should have dropped due to that il6 drug :roll:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43033 cases, 1225 deaths, 5340 active, 36468 recovered in T&T

Postby Kenjo » August 23rd, 2021, 7:07 am

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:71/6

if ave daily cases have dropped then in 2 weeks we should see a similar effect with deaths- though it should have dropped due to that il6 drug :roll:

We using interleukin 6 in Trinidad now ? That’s for treating hospitalized patients who already would have spread the disease . A year and a half later and people praising weekend low counts

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 42233 cases, 1196 deaths, 5966 active, 35071 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » August 23rd, 2021, 7:16 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Are we disputing that bill gates is a very rich and powerful man? He doesn't fund vaccine research?? What was doing with Jeffery epstein??? George soros is a nobody???? There arent many organizations around the world dedicated to trying to centralize governance away from sovereign states and countries who don't comply are ostricized?????
Also related:
Bill Gates interacts with Chataigne salesmen, Lee van Cleef, Kurt Cobain,Dole Chadee,the koolaid man, Glenn Quagmire and Count von Count.
Moral: mind yuh damn business and make sure covid doesn't kill you.Unless you want to die, and it has Lanate for that

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 7:42 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Why was Dr fauci giving grants to the Wuhan Institute of Virology? Why did Dr fauci use the chaos of a new administration (Trump) coming in to reverse the ban on funding of gain of function research that the Obama administration instituted? Why didn't they listen when US intelligence said that the lab was doing research that required bsl4 under bsl2 conditions? Why didnt Peter daszak disclose his relationship with the Wuhan institute of Virology when he and other scientists dismissed the possibility of a lab leak in a lancet letter in early 2020? Why did Dr fauci also dismiss the lab leak hypothesis early in 2020 and then the said Peter daszak sent him an email to thank him for publicy dismissing the lab leak hypothesis?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 43033 cases, 1225 deaths, 5340 active, 36468 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 7:48 am

44seconds of video

Postby timelapse » August 23rd, 2021, 7:56 am

^Which vaccine you get bro?

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:11 am

still waiting..
using kn95 outside...staying home , avoiding ppl..even wearing masks at home. I doubt anybody doing that part

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:13 am

3Ws man, you still have to do it even when vaccinated so nothing changes, you doing the right thing don't drop your guard.
aaron17 wrote:still waiting..
using kn95 outside...staying home , avoiding ppl..even wearing masks at home. I doubt anybody doing that part

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:18 am

hover11 wrote:3Ws man, you still have to do it even when vaccinated so nothing changes, you doing the right thing don't drop your guard.

3 ws's yes..i do
I always see alot of ppl not washing their hands while handling their mask. Its a no no in my book.

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:23 am

pfizer seems tempting with fda approval but many will argue its still to short . Even me.

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 9:29 am

aaron17 wrote:
hover11 wrote:3Ws man, you still have to do it even when vaccinated so nothing changes, you doing the right thing don't drop your guard.

3 ws's yes..i do
I always see alot of ppl not washing their hands while handling their mask. Its a no no in my book.
.....Image

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:30 am

What's this new DNA vaccine India using? Hype?

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:35 am

Only rushing the process so they can mandate it. Remember this is business , forget about saving lives as we all know in trinidad, money talks and can fast track anything
aaron17 wrote:pfizer seems tempting with fda approval but many will argue its still to short . Even me.

BUG

Postby BUG » August 23rd, 2021, 9:42 am

hover11 wrote:Only rushing the process so they can mandate it. Remember this is business , forget about saving lives as we all know in trinidad, money talks and can fast track anything
aaron17 wrote:pfizer seems tempting with fda approval but many will argue its still to short . Even me.

hover11, LARPER Chaos et al: Professional Goal Post Movers

Postby bluefete » August 23rd, 2021, 9:46 am

Lord Have Mercy:

2 shot of Sinopharm are good enough for me. I am not in this booster thing. But I cannot remember if we had boosters for polio, tetanus, diphtheria etc.

At least, I am not the only one questioning why we need to take booster shots. Plenty more money to be made.

Doctors question the optics and the scientific rationale behind the plan for COVID-19 booster shots in the U.S.
Last Updated: Aug. 23, 2021 at 8:24 a.m. ET

The decision to give out extra doses of Moderna and Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccines pits federal health officials who say the shots may not protect people from severe disease in the future against the public-health experts who disagree with their logic.

“It just doesn’t make sense on the surface,” said Dr. Paul Offit, director of the Vaccine Education Center at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. “This whole effort of giving a third dose will, frankly, do little to get us on top of this pandemic because the issue here is not boosting the vaccinated. The issue is vaccinating the unvaccinated.”

The majority of COVID-19 hospitalizations and deaths are occurring in people who are unvaccinated. Only about 60% of the U.S. population who qualify for a shot are fully immunized, though vaccination rates are increasing.

However, federal health officials, citing concerns about waning immunity, announced last Wednesday that the Biden administration plans to allow adults in the U.S. who are fully vaccinated with the mRNA vaccines developed by Moderna Inc. MRNA or Pfizer Inc. PFE and partner BioNTech SE BNTX, 7.91% to get a third dose starting Sept. 20 with a few caveats.

“I don’t think it’s true that just because you start to see fading of immunity defined as increasing incidence of asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic disease that therefore means the [waning] protection against serious illnesses is right around the corner. It could be three years from now. It could be four years from now.”— Dr. Paul Offit, director of the Vaccine Education Center at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

The extra dose must be administered at least eight months after the second shot, only to those age 18 and older, and will likely be made available first to higher-risk people, including residents of nursing homes and healthcare workers or those who were vaccinated back in December and January.

The White House’s plan appears to be dependent on authorization from the Food and Drug Administration, a recommendation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, and a stamp of approval from the CDC itself. (These steps are part of the normal process of bringing vaccines to Americans during the pandemic.)

That said, how the plan was announced and the rationale behind the decision has perplexed some infectious-disease physicians.

Telling Americans about a plan before the FDA or the CDC have weighed in makes it seem like a “political decision, as opposed to a scientific decision that is being made by the appropriate regulatory agencies,” said Dr. Céline Gounder, an infectious disease specialist and epidemiologist for the NYU Grossman School of Medicine who was a member of President Biden’s COVID-19 Advisory Board. “The process doesn’t feel like it’s being followed.”

Beyond the optics of the announcement, Gounder and other experts have questioned the science used to back the decision.

Health officials cited three studies that showed breakthrough infections are increasing but the risk of hospitalization and death among the vaccinated remains low. But in their public comments, they hinted at a different set of worries for the future.

“We are concerned that the current strong protection against severe infection, hospitalization and death could decrease in the months ahead,” CDC director Dr. Rochelle Walensky said Wednesday.

The experts interviewed for this story say it’s not a logical leap to begin offering boosters now because protection against hospitalization and death could decline in the future. Traditionally, science and data lead the decision making in medicine. (That said, no one disputes that the vaccines are less effective against the delta variant, which is thought to make up nearly all cases in the U.S.)

“I don’t think it’s true that just because you start to see fading of immunity defined as increasing incidence of asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic disease that therefore means the [waning] protection against serious illnesses is right around the corner,” Offit said. “It could be three years from now. It could be four years from now.”

This is why Offit viewed the highly publicized data that came out of the outbreak in Provincetown, Mass., as a good thing. His take? No one died, only four vaccinated people were hospitalized, and most of the roughly 450 infections were mild or moderate.

“The goal has always been to prevent serious illness, to keep people out of the hospital, to keep them out of the ICU, to keep them from dying,” Offit said.

A changing stance on COVID-19 booster shots

The White House’s U-turn on booster shots is frustrating to many, in part because officials came out against them so strongly up through the second week of August.

Six weeks ago, the CDC and FDA said COVID-19 booster shots were unnecessary; Dr. Anthony Fauci, Biden’s chief medical advisor, said the same thing then, as did National Institutes of Health director Dr. Francis Collins.

Then, a week ago, officials said some people with weak immune systems, like organ-transplant patients, will be allowed to get a third dose but the general public did not need one. “Other individuals who are fully vaccinated are adequately protected and do not need an additional dose of COVID-19 vaccine at this time,” FDA acting commissioner Janet Woodcock said Aug. 12.

The following day, the CDC’s Dr. Kathleen Dooling said that while certain immunocompromised people may need a booster, “other fully vaccinated individuals do not need an additional dose right now, according to presentation slides.

This all changed with Wednesday’s announcement.

For Gounder, it makes a lot of sense to also give an extra shot to people who are older than 80 and those who live in nursing homes. These are individuals who are less likely to have robust immune systems and breakthrough infections for them are more likely to mean severe disease and possibly hospitalization.

In addition, giving an extra dose to someone who is immunocompromised is a different strategy than “boosting” the general population, in part because some of those individuals never mounted an immune response at all with the first two doses, Gounder said. In some of these cases, the third dose only helped some but not all of those types of patients develop an antibody response.

“Those three groups, I think there’s good evidence to giving extra doses,” she said. “It’s when you start to look at the rest of the population that it’s not clear.”

That’s why both Gounder and Offit say that the best value for the COVID-19 vaccines is making sure they get to people who are unvaccinated and unprotected against the delta variant.

“If you look at communities that have high vaccine rates, they have very low disease rates and areas that have low vaccine rates have very high disease [rates],” Offit said. “The vaccine is working. It doesn’t work if you don’t get it.”

Read the studies that informed the CDC’s decision for booster shots:

• New COVID-19 Cases and Hospitalizations Among Adults, by Vaccination Status—New York, May 3—July 25, 2021

• Sustained Effectiveness of Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna Vaccines Against COVID-19 Associated Hospitalizations Among Adults—United States, March—July 2021

• Effectiveness of Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna Vaccines in Preventing SARS-CoV-2 Infection Among Nursing Home Residents Before and During Widespread Circulation of the SARS-CoV-2 B. 1.617.2 (Delta) Variant—National Healthcare Safety Network, March 1—August 1, 2021

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/docto ... eid=yhoof2
Last edited by bluefete on August 23rd, 2021, 9:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 9:49 am

I have a question for you all:
When vaccines were made for the flu? so technically you can get a shot every year. Eg if it was 10 years....u can get 10 shots?

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 9:54 am

hover11 wrote:Only rushing the process so they can mandate it. Remember this is business , forget about saving lives as we all know in trinidad, money talks and can fast track anything

There is no need for vaccines to have full approval for mandated use. So long as the usage is covered by the approval, emergency or otherwise, the challenge in that regard is moot.

The EUA was created as a way to fast-track vaccine delivery and usage in times of war.

-------

Ultimately, it was the War on Terror that would give rise to emergency use authorization. After the events of September 11, 2001 and subsequent anthrax mail attacks, Congress enacted the Project Bioshield Act of 2004. The act called for billions of dollars in appropriations for purchasing vaccines in preparation for a bioterror attack, and for stockpiling of emergency countermeasures. To be able to act rapidly in an emergency, Congress allowed FDA to authorize formally unapproved products for emergency use against a threat to public health and safety (subject to a declaration of emergency by HHS). The record indicates that Congress was focused on the threat of bioterror specifically, not on preparing for a naturally-occurring pandemic.

FDA’s newfound EUA authority would be used relatively sparingly for the first 16 years following its enactment. During that time, its most extensive use was in combating the H1N1 swine flu pandemic of 2009 by authorizing medical equipment and existing influenza drugs. Health policy experts would look back on the use of EUA against H1N1 as an overall success. It would also be used (pursuant to an amendment allowing for preemptive EUAs) to authorize occasional countermeasures in anticipation of MERS, Ebola, Zika, and other epidemics, none of which ultimately materialized in the United States.

https://blog.petrieflom.law.harvard.edu ... n-history/

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 10:02 am

FDA has approved alot of things and then recalled it. I don't think this will change much for the ones who doesn't want the vaccine.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 23rd, 2021, 11:57 am

aaron17 wrote:I have a question for you all:
When vaccines were made for the flu? so technically you can get a shot every year. Eg if it was 10 years....u can get 10 shots?

Yes, I probably have gotten 6 shots for the flu in the last 10 years or so.

Not me and the flu, I was a phlegm factory and coughing non-stop for a month.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 23rd, 2021, 11:57 am

hover11 wrote:FDA has approved alot of things and then recalled it. I don't think this will change much for the ones who doesn't want the vaccine.

And why is it you don't want to take the vaccine?

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 12:00 pm

hey-im-trying-to-rationalize-here-facts-get-in-the-way.jpg
hey-im-trying-to-rationalize-here-facts-get-in-the-way.jpg (65.52 KiB) Viewed 1595 times

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2021, 12:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

oh ok

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 12:17 pm

Will this approval lift public confidence in vaccines or will it raise questions among the undecided, due to the fact that the regulatory body is being partially funded by the entities they are supposed to regulate.

This approval was fast tracked we all know it , does approval validate or encompass long term effects no it doesn't. I will wait and be on the outside looking in let people rush for the vaccines. We all know how money talks you can get anything fast tracked that doesn't only apply to Trinidad just saying.
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:FDA has approved alot of things and then recalled it. I don't think this will change much for the ones who doesn't want the vaccine.

Postby timelapse » August 23rd, 2021, 12:41 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Cannabis roots soaked in Vermouth will exorcise the phlegm from you.
Mix : 1 entire cannabis root chopped up and soaked in a bottle of vermouth.Keep in a dark cool place for 6 weeks.Dose is a tablespoon per day for about 10 days.Strain it before drinking/shotting it

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 23rd, 2021, 1:22 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Why was Dr fauci giving grants to the Wuhan Institute of Virology? Why did Dr fauci use the chaos of a new administration (Trump) coming in to reverse the ban on funding of gain of function research that the Obama administration instituted? Why didn't they listen when US intelligence said that the lab was doing research that required bsl4 under bsl2 conditions? Why didnt Peter daszak disclose his relationship with the Wuhan institute of Virology when he and other scientists dismissed the possibility of a lab leak in a lancet letter in early 2020? Why did Dr fauci also dismiss the lab leak hypothesis early in 2020 and then the said Peter daszak sent him an email to thank him for publicy dismissing the lab leak hypothesis?

Allyuh does never tackle the issues. Always resorting to personal attacks or sarcasm when you all are confronted with anything you didn't hear on CNN.

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 1:25 pm

If it's not part of the script they just improvise until they are back on track again
Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Allyuh does never tackle the issues. Always resorting to personal attacks or sarcasm when you all are confronted with anything you didn't hear on CNN.

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 1:32 pm

hover11 wrote:Will this approval lift public confidence in vaccines or will it raise questions among the undecided, due to the fact that the regulatory body is being partially funded by the entities they are supposed to regulate.

This approval was fast tracked we all know it , does approval validate or encompass long term effects no it doesn't. I will wait and be on the outside looking in let people rush for the vaccines. We all know how money talks you can get anything fast tracked that doesn't only apply to Trinidad just saying.
Dohplaydat wrote:

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 1:39 pm

hover11 wrote:If it's not part of the script they just improvise until they are back on track again
Mmoney607 wrote:

Postby hover11 » August 23rd, 2021, 1:40 pm

Tell me if you don't think it is possible ?
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Will this approval lift public confidence in vaccines or will it raise questions among the undecided, due to the fact that the regulatory body is being partially funded by the entities they are supposed to regulate.

Dohplaydat wrote:

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2021, 1:51 pm

hover11 wrote:Tell me if you don't think it is possible ?

Dohplaydat wrote:

Last edited by adnj on August 23rd, 2021, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.