COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 42233 cases, 1196 deaths, 5966 active, 35071 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » August 18th, 2021, 5:18 pm

So the J&J reach then?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 42233 cases, 1196 deaths, 5966 active, 35071 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2021, 5:19 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:194 / 4

When they give out 20 j&j? And no children get Pfizer today?

Also the grim milestone of 1200 deaths.
Flood dan

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2021, 5:27 pm

And unvax will say child deaths will increase once the chid vax starts.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 18th, 2021, 5:32 pm

K74T wrote:So the J&J reach then?

Dr. Parasram we should be asking you that. :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2021, 5:38 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:And no children get Pfizer today?

Today was the first day giving out Pfizer to teenagers so there won't be any figures tabulated until the report tomorrow

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2021, 5:38 pm

COVID Update:
• Tests: 294321 (+655)
• Cases: 42427 (+194)
• Active: 5901 (-65)
• Death: 1200 (+4)
• Recovery: 35326 (+255)
• Vaxxed (1st Dose): 461528 (+3537)
• Vaxxed (2nd Dose): 339267 (+9530)
• Mortality Rate: 2.8%
• Population Tested: 21.0%

Postby aaron17 » August 18th, 2021, 5:50 pm

Is there a breakdown of death in ages (like a current graph)?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 18th, 2021, 5:55 pm

pugboy wrote:not a grim milestone,
only 2-3% die according to some here and once its not anybody related to you its neither here nor there as 98% chance you will survive if you get covid

That's your case fatality rate ... The actual death rate is way lower.

Also we don't actually know if those people died from covid or with covid. Also having a 33% chance getting a false positive on the PCR test means you went into the stats without even having had covid.
Last edited by drchaos on August 18th, 2021, 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2021, 5:55 pm

the 1 shot J&J going under which number- 1st dose or fully vax? or both?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 5:56 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Covid 19 is a respiratory virus. They made up all that handwashing bs at the start and obviously they don't want to remove it because it would look like yet another flip flop.

And masks. If you all believe in masks so much, then go to a hospital with covid patients wearing a cloth mask.

cloth masks are to prevent the wearer from spreading the virus to others, not necessarily to protect himself- for that you need the N95 or KN95.

Well find some people with covid, let them wear cloth mask and spend an hour with them in an enclosed environment. You let me know the results.

Why do you all think in such absolutes? There will be reduced risk of spreading, not no risk so it's still worthwhile.

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2021, 5:57 pm

drchaos wrote:
only 2-3% die according to some here and once its not anybody related to you its neither here nor there as 98% chance you will survive if you get covid

but do the asymptomatic cases really have good immunity? if not there still a 2% chance they can get it again and die.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 18th, 2021, 6:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:Covid 19 is a respiratory virus. They made up all that handwashing bs at the start and obviously they don't want to remove it because it would look like yet another flip flop.

And masks. If you all believe in masks so much, then go to a hospital with covid patients wearing a cloth mask.

cloth masks are to prevent the wearer from spreading the virus to others, not necessarily to protect himself- for that you need the N95 or KN95.

Well find some people with covid, let them wear cloth mask and spend an hour with them in an enclosed environment. You let me know the results.

Why do you all think in such absolutes? There will be reduced risk of spreading, not no risk so it's still worthwhile.

Yup even if it reduces your chances by a mere .00000000000000000000001% its still better than nothing right? :lol:

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2021, 6:07 pm

cases dropped down when our mask mandate was introduced last August/September did it not?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 18th, 2021, 6:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:cases dropped down when our mask mandate was introduced last August/September did it not?

Ya think we should return to wearing masks and 6ft distance?

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Na you safe you don't need to wear any masks and be as close to ppl as possible...when you vaccinated like yourself covid becomes a myth
DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:cases dropped down when our mask mandate was introduced last August/September did it not?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 18th, 2021, 6:40 pm

hover11 wrote:Na you safe you don't need to wear any masks and be as close to ppl as possible...when you vaccinated like yourself covid becomes a myth
DMan7 wrote:

Yup just ask Israel.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 7:38 pm

drchaos wrote:

Also we don't actually know if those people died from covid or with covid. Also having a 33% chance getting a false positive on the PCR test means you went into the stats without even having had covid.
"When performed under laboratory conditions, the UK Government estimates that PCR tests should never show more than 5% false positives or 5% false negatives. However, studies performed under real-life conditions suggest false negatives may be more commonplace."

https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/false ... ctable-pcr

#foolsdatmakeshitup

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 7:45 pm

So it safe to say these are highly unreliable
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

"When performed under laboratory conditions, the UK Government estimates that PCR tests should never show more than 5% false positives or 5% false negatives. However, studies performed under real-life conditions suggest false negatives may be more commonplace."

#foolsdatmakeshitup

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 7:57 pm

hover11 wrote:So it safe to say these are highly unreliable
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

#foolsdatmakeshitup
Explain how you define "highly unreliable" and then read that again.

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 8:07 pm

While they are saying laboratory conditions and practical settings have shown that , real world use has shown

https://www.google.com/amp/s/mobile.reu ... SKBN22F0KF

President queries Tanzania coronavirus kits after goat test

How does a goat and paw paw test positive for covid?

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 8:42 pm

hover11 wrote:While they are saying laboratory conditions and practical settings have shown that , real world use has shown

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 8:58 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:While they are saying laboratory conditions and practical settings have shown that , real world use has shown

Didn't get to it yet? The article that you cited:

DAR ES SALAAM (Reuters) - Coronavirus test kits used in Tanzania were dismissed as faulty by President John Magufuli on Sunday, because he said they had returned positive results on samples taken from a goat and a pawpaw.

Magufuli, whose government has already drawn criticism for being secretive about the coronavirus outbreak and has previously asked Tanzanians to pray the coronavirus away, said the kits had “technical errors”.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKBN22F0KF

speaks about a national leader that was anti-COVID.

Tanzania is in the midst of a COVID surge and they now have a new president that is actively pushing vaccinations.
Tanzania President Launches COVID-19 Vaccination Campaign

DAR ES SALAAM, TANZANIA - Tanzania's President Samia Suluhu Hassan got vaccinated against the coronavirus Wednesday to kick off the country's first vaccination campaign. It’s a sharp turnaround from her predecessor, the late John Magufuli, who claimed vaccines were dangerous and that prayer had saved Tanzanians from the pandemic.

https://www.voanews.com/covid-19-pandem ... n-campaign

There is a new president because the one that had the COVID goat test kits DIED OF COVID.

John Magufuli: Tanzania's president dies aged 61 after Covid rumours

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-56437852

Now:

You may have pinpointed the one time when a national leader not only likely tried to cover up a COVID-19 outbreak in their own country but also very likely died of COVID-19 in the process.

... and I will bet you any amount of money that you didn't even know it.

What else might you be talking about that you have no clue about?
Last edited by adnj on August 18th, 2021, 8:58 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2021, 9:08 pm

them fellas keep posting old crap news

Postby Country_Bookie » August 18th, 2021, 9:22 pm

Allyuh fellas real have patience to keep engaging the anti vaxxers on this forum. Notice every time someone provides concrete evidence to refute their claims, they raise some other fake news or some other rumour they hear. It's like a merry go round.

Seems like anchoring bias, where they made up their mind before getting the facts and seeing the evidence and now they can't admit to themselves they were wrong so they just keep parroting the same nonsense to justify their wrong position. Either that or they just desperate for attention.

Postby st7 » August 18th, 2021, 9:38 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Allyuh fellas real have patience to keep engaging the anti vaxxers on this forum. Notice every time someone provides concrete evidence to refute their claims, they raise some other fake news or some other rumour they hear. It's like a merry go round.

Seems like anchoring bias, where they made up their mind before getting the facts and seeing the evidence and now they can't admit to themselves they were wrong so they just keep parroting the same nonsense to justify their wrong position. Either that or they just desperate for attention.

+1200

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2021, 10:00 pm

excellent observation
they like to keep going in circles

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 18th, 2021, 10:58 pm

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

#foolsdatmakeshitup

That 5% you quoted for false positives is out of all the tests done. When you select the cases that were positive only you end up with over 30% being false positives.
Which means out of 100 positive cases around 30 would be false positives.

If you had a few working brain cells you would understand how statistics work.
Sorry but you have been baffled by bull sheit and you have been found wanting.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2021, 11:52 pm

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

#foolsdatmakeshitup

That 5% you quoted for false positives is out of all the tests done. When you select the cases that were positive only you end up with over 30% being false positives.
Which means out of 100 positive cases around 30 would be false positives.

If you had a few working brain cells you would understand how statistics work.
Sorry but you have been baffled by bull sheit and you have been found wanting.
You are confused a bit. That error will rollup if the number of true positive cases is 1/7th the total tests given or less.

e = error (5%, 0.05)
f = fault (30%, 0.3)
N = number of tests given
P = number of true positive patients

fP = (N-P)e
f/e = (N-P)/P
f/e = (N/P)-1

0.3/0.05 = (N/P)-1
6 = (N/P)-1
7 = (N/P)
7P = N

Just algebra - no statistics.

The 5% false positive (testing errors) increases in significance as the prevalence of infection (defects) in the population declines. That last part is statistics.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 1:46 am

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Yup even if it reduces your chances by a mere .00000000000000000000001% its still better than nothing right? :lol:

Once again, I cannot believe anyone can be this stupid and ignorant by now. Masks do significantly reduce the spread of Covid-19. Here's a paper showing just that, but given your views it might be way beyond your reading level.

An evidence review of face masks against COVID-19

Public mask wearing is most effective at reducing spread of the virus when compliance is high

https://www.pnas.org/content/118/4/e2014564118

And note, the more airborne Covid becomes (aka delta) the more important masks are at reducing the spread, as social distancing indoors becomes almost pointless.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2021, 7:46 am

they dont understand that masks greatly reduce the aerosol "spraying" spread into the air around
they keep thinking that a mask allows scents/farts to pass so all air coming out to spread

but they never fart naked to realise how much more it quickly stinks up the room

likewise breathing in through a mask reduces your "sucking" intake air velocity so less chance of sucking in contaminated air from further away.