***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby Rovin » November 13th, 2019, 10:20 pm

yes i already knew all that

i dont deliberately watch american news like others do but u cant help but of hearing when stuff goes down there , d american media loves to push it on u whether u care about it or not, its on d tv , net or printed media

good thing T&T doesnt seriously have d kind of problems they have ...

Postby Rovin » November 20th, 2019, 5:50 pm

GEMINI MAN came out online , it was arite , had some moments but nothing spectacular ... 7\10

GOOD BOYS , decent comedy , writers cuda make it even funnier , its a good watch ... 7\10

Postby shogun » November 22nd, 2019, 9:51 pm

Not a movie, but EP:3 of The Mandalorian though? Like where this thing headed.

Who knew Yoda was Gizmo without fur, by the way?

Postby hydroep » November 23rd, 2019, 6:42 am

Took in Taxi Driver (1976), Scorsese's earlier work to which people have been comparing Joker. There are similarities but while the former is more realistic in its portrayal of the protagonist's "descent into chaos" it's definitely not as dark as Joker.

Good watch...7/10.

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2019, 7:53 am

NYC was quite a mess in the 1970s and that was the feeling among the general population there. The acting was phenomenal portraying that. The story was dark and real for its time. Things like that were never seen in cinema before. Same as Apocalypse Now. Blew everyone's mind in 1979. Now it takes a lot more violence and scare tactics for a cinema audience.

Postby sMASH » November 23rd, 2019, 10:41 am

first page mention, finally got around to seeing. hurt locker. interesting movie. not a must see, i would rate it in the same range is appocolypse now and taxi driver. shows u a side of people u dont really see, but yet exists.

Postby Rovin » November 23rd, 2019, 11:35 am

saw taxi driver a while back , 70s movies were very unique , d actors , directors , cameramen & everybody else involved used to really give it their all in time where CG didnt exist , i actually prefer it that way nowadays they rely too heavily on CG to prop up poor storylines ...

Postby goalpost » November 27th, 2019, 4:48 pm

Today was Netflix day

The Irishman: Martin Scorsese is a masterful storyteller and this is a top notch movie. 9/10.

Fractured: good stuff until the final twist which wasn't as surprising and pretty dark. 7/10

Postby goalpost » November 27th, 2019, 4:48 pm

Note that The Irishman was 3.5 hours long

Postby Rovin » November 27th, 2019, 7:18 pm

finally saw rambo last night , yea he buss up dem mexican badguys violently but nothing really innovative\original here , subpar storyline .... 5\10

Postby Rovin » December 1st, 2019, 7:25 pm

goalpost wrote:Today was Netflix day

The Irishman: Martin Scorsese is a masterful storyteller and this is a top notch movie. 9/10.

Fractured: good stuff until the final twist which wasn't as surprising and pretty dark. 7/10

so i take in this last night

its actually 3hrs 20mins long [10mins of end credits] , which has to be d longest movie i can recall myself viewing

yes i wud agree with that 9\10 rating , imo its up there in d top 10 with d rest of mafia\gangsters films

very good but we cuda do with a shorter view time maybe 2.5hrs max .... 1\2 way i took a break , gone bathe , feed my dog\cats & come back to watch d 2nd 1\2 .....

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 1st, 2019, 10:30 pm

Rovin wrote:

its actually 3hrs 20mins long [10mins of end credits] , which has to be d longest movie i can recall myself viewing

yes i wud agree with that 9\10 rating , imo its up there in d top 10 with d rest of mafia\gangsters films

very good but we cuda do with a shorter view time maybe 2.5hrs max .... 1\2 way i took a break , gone bathe , feed my dog\cats & come back to watch d 2nd 1\2 .....

Reminded me of the intermissions during indian movies in the old cinemas there. 2 movies in one for ya money yes lol. Never saw The Irishman tho, may take it in a day.

Postby goalpost » December 2nd, 2019, 7:02 am

I streamed a South Korean film called "Parasite" last night & holy sheit, what a great movie. Didnnt expect this movie to have so many twists.
Easily a 10/10 & the best I saw this year.

Postby mero » December 2nd, 2019, 9:52 am

goalpost wrote:I streamed a South Korean film called "Parasite" last night & holy sheit, what a great movie. Didnnt expect this movie to have so many twists.
Downloaded it a while now, still eh watch it yes

Will either take in this or the Irishman today

Postby maj. tom » December 2nd, 2019, 6:08 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Hoffa
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Sheeran

nice read before you take in The Irishman film. The only criticism I have is that they really could have cast younger people to fit the timeline. They look old from the start despite the make up, and that knowing the timeline they're supposed to be younger. Frank was born in 1920, Hoffa in 1913. By the late 1950s they would not have appeared that old as in the film. But i know these stars and director Martin Scorsese go wayyyyyyy back and spark together in a film. But still, there are many just as talented younger men out there.

Postby Rovin » December 12th, 2019, 11:05 am

^^^ time to read all dat u cuda finish watch d movie :mrgreen:

so anymore of u watch it yet ? ... its a must see , it shud have been released in public cinemas rather than on netflix , dunno how netflix recovers its millions on a high budget movie like this

Postby goalpost » December 12th, 2019, 4:53 pm

mero wrote:
goalpost wrote:I streamed a South Korean film called "Parasite" last night & holy sheit, what a great movie. Didnnt expect this movie to have so many twists.

Take een Parasite yet?

Saw I Lost My Body on Netflix. Pretty weird but overall pretty good. 8/10.

In terms of television:

Fleabag: hilarious & wonderfully inventive 10/10.
Conversely Chernobyl was brilliant dark drama 10/10.

Postby sMASH » December 12th, 2019, 9:23 pm

water world, for those in the Victoria county

Postby hydroep » December 12th, 2019, 9:58 pm

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw...Jeezus Christ, yuh ever had to watch a movie over a few days because it so boring? Over the top action sequences couldn't save this one: 4/10.

Rambo: Last Blood was a nice mix between "Taken" and "I Spit on your Grave". One part of the story was very stupid but the kills were extremely satisfying...:twisted:
7/10

Postby mero » December 13th, 2019, 10:59 am

goalpost wrote:
mero wrote:

Take een Parasite yet?

Saw I Lost My Body on Netflix. Pretty weird but overall pretty good. 8/10.

In terms of television:

Fleabag: hilarious & wonderfully inventive 10/10.
Conversely Chernobyl was brilliant dark drama 10/10.
Nah boy. End up discovering Peaky Blinders and lock in that 100.

Cant believe I never watch this before.

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2019, 11:07 am

Waiting for the series to done before I start that.

Postby mero » December 13th, 2019, 11:47 am

maj. tom wrote:Waiting for the series to done before I start that.
You gona wait till 2021 for that boy?

Stop starve yourself

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 13th, 2019, 11:50 am

hydroep wrote:Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw...Jeezus Christ, yuh ever had to watch a movie over a few days because it so boring? Over the top action sequences couldn't save this one: 4/10.

Rambo: Last Blood was a nice mix between "Taken" and "I Spit on your Grave". One part of the story was very stupid but the kills were extremely satisfying...:twisted:
7/10

Rambo just showed people new ways of killing others :lol: but I'm a Stallone fan so it would pass...I just hoping for another Expendables...didn't even bother to watch Hobbs and Shaw.....Fast and Furious 9 is out in April or May next year, not sure how I feel about that nuh

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 13th, 2019, 12:07 pm

6 Underground real action came out today on Netflix good action , Michael bay director

Postby Redman » December 13th, 2019, 12:17 pm

Rovin wrote:

There is a 30min session with Scorcesse,Pachino,De Niro and Pesci where they talk about the movie etc,
Great follow up to an excellent movie.

Postby sMASH » December 13th, 2019, 7:09 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:6 Underground real action came out today on Netflix good action , Michael bay director

[megatron voice] YESSS[/magatron voice]

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 15th, 2019, 6:47 pm

sMASH wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:6 Underground real action came out today on Netflix good action , Michael bay director

Opening car chase scenewow camera angles director MB he’s crazy .

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2019, 5:23 am

ruffrider27 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Opening car chase scenewow camera angles director MB he’s crazy .

movie was sh!t. entertaining but annoying. i like it though, could not look away. might want to buy alfa romero stocks after that opening car chase, lol.

i would recommend as a lime movie, sumting to watch when u dont really want to pay attention to the movie.

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2019, 7:10 pm

^^^hmm i go check dat out

last movie i saw was MOB TOWN , mildest not so exciting mob movie maybe ever but its ite 5\10 ....

Postby stev » January 1st, 2020, 2:44 am

FORD V FERRARI!!!!

a must watch!!!