COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40889 cases, 1151 deaths, 5911 active, 33827 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2021, 3:51 pm

hover11 wrote:That could quickly change when Delta is predominant
DMan7 wrote:I told y'all there isn't going to be any more lockdowns and restrictions. The PM started his speech saying we have to learn to live with the virus and it will be amongst us for a long time. The burden of responsibility will now be on the public to agree to get vaccinated and no more lockdowns and restrictions.

Exactly. The US states with the lowest vax rates are higher than us and their hospitals are full. We will be worst off if Delta is spreading with the low rates we have.

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40889 cases, 1151 deaths, 5911 active, 33827 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2021, 3:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I told y'all there isn't going to be any more lockdowns and restrictions. The PM started his speech saying we have to learn to live with the virus and it will be amongst us for a long time. The burden of responsibility will now be on the public to agree to get vaccinated and no more lockdowns and restrictions.

Exactly. The US states with the lowest vax rates are higher than us and their hospitals are full. We will be worst off if Delta is spreading with the low rates we have.

There still won't be anymore lockdowns or restrictions. The PM will come out and say they've done everything, the vaccines are available and the reason why these cases are rising is because people refuse to be vaccinated.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Lol if jamaica could have strict restrictions who are we Lol....you in a bubble yes....well let's see our spike coming up
DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

There still won't be anymore lockdowns or restrictions. The PM will come out and say they've done everything, the vaccines are available and the reason why these cases are rising is because people refuse to be vaccinated.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2021, 4:08 pm

If the healthcare system is put under pressure and becomes overcrowded there may be no choice but to lockdown again.

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2021, 4:15 pm

-‐‐------
Last edited by redmanjp on August 14th, 2021, 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2021, 4:19 pm

DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

He was asked by a reporter about that self and he said he can't give any assurances that that will not happen again.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 4:21 pm

6 deaths.
FB_IMG_1628972460952.jpg

Postby De Dragon » August 14th, 2021, 4:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:If the healthcare system is put under pressure and becomes overcrowded there may be no choice but to lockdown again.

The LFD RFD PNM reasoning for all the lockdowns has been potential overload of the H.C system, so let's keep jackarsing the scene, not vaccinating/distancing/washing and go into a perpetual lockdown/ease cycle.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 4:50 pm

Yea cuz lockdowns only happen in trinidad this PNM Government is the worst
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:If the healthcare system is put under pressure and becomes overcrowded there may be no choice but to lockdown again.

The LFD RFD PNM reasoning for all the lockdowns has been potential overload of the H.C system, so let's keep jackarsing the scene, not vaccinating/distancing/washing and go into a perpetual lockdown/ease cycle.

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2021, 5:17 pm

*BREAKING NEWS*

At a Media Conference hosted by the Office of the Prime Minister today (Aug14), the following developments / decisions have been announced:

1. It was revealed that there has been a noticeable increase in infections among children. At present, there are three severely ill children in the system. This makes it all the more important that children get vaccinated at the soonest.

2. By the end of today, Trinidad and Tobago should have 300,000 fully vaccinated citizens. Given the projections that this number will move to 400,000 within the next 7-10 days. That represents roughly 40% of our adult population.

3. Prime Minister Rowley recognized the fact that Trinidad and Tobago has begun to live with the Covid-19 virus. As we vaccinate more, the easier this will be in the future.

4. With over 1.6 million doses received to date, and the announcement of the imminent arrival from Johnson and Johnson shortly, the majority of citizens can now access vaccines with some degree of ease. Citizens are encouraged to take advantage of this at the soonest so that collectively we can starve the virus of hosts.

5. If you have already received a 1st dose, please come out and receive your 2nd dose at your appointed time. You are only fully vaccinated two weeks after receiving both doses.

6. To date, only 50% of the nurses in the public health system have been vaccinated. The Prime Minister is encouraging this group to come forward and do what is needed.

7. In the prisons, 20% of prisoners and 35% of prison officers have been vaccinated. Just 35% of the Defence Force and 43% of police officers have been vaccinated to date. We must do better.

8. The Pfizer Vaccine is the only approved by WHO for use by adolescents. The 305,000 doses received this week are for use in this group before all others. We need to do so expeditiously in order to ensure that classes resume physically in September. This program begins on Monday.

9. The retail sector will open on Monday as planned. With it CEPEP and URP will also be allowed to restart. Also personal care services ie salons, etc from August 23. All are asked to continue to observe all health protocols.

#vaccinateTT #beavaccinehero

FB_IMG_1628975756662.jpg

Postby De Dragon » August 14th, 2021, 5:19 pm

hover11 wrote:Yea cuz lockdowns only happen in trinidad this PNM Government is the worst

Did I say or imply that? Did you see a comparison to something or another country in there?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2021, 5:24 pm

Dining in services when?

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 5:32 pm

LOL gotta love this guy enthusiasm....bro you know we still in a pandemic right , how can we resume dining in services so sudden, when we expecting the delta variant?
DMan7 wrote:Dining in services when?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 14th, 2021, 5:37 pm

All I care about is gyms, open up for vacinated people please

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 14th, 2021, 5:48 pm

I trust the vaccine more than this PNM government.

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2021, 5:59 pm

wtf wrote:I trust the vaccine more than this PNM government.
But they support it too

Postby De Dragon » August 14th, 2021, 6:26 pm

hover11 wrote:LOL gotta love this guy enthusiasm....bro you know we still in a pandemic right , how can we resume dining in services so sudden, when we expecting the delta variant?
DMan7 wrote:Dining in services when?

Maybe he's a 2 percenter, anti vaxxer like you :wink:

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2021, 6:51 pm

Rowley really mentioned "horny goat weed" in the presser today??????

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 6:55 pm

He said it to make a point , ppl studying the side effects but the best sellers in pharmacies are things that are not even fda approved, yet ppl take them religiously and they are taken with no hesitation
bluefete wrote:Rowley really mentioned "horny goat weed" in the presser today??????

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2021, 6:59 pm

Arcoxia rings any bell?

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 7:06 pm

Which leads me to believe the government does not care about our health so many products that are not fda approved, unknown side effects are knowingly sold to the citizens but when it comes to the vaccine ....we care about your health please take the jab
hover11 wrote:He said it to make a point , ppl studying the side effects but the best sellers in pharmacies are things that are not even fda approved, yet ppl take them religiously and they are taken with no hesitation
bluefete wrote:Rowley really mentioned "horny goat weed" in the presser today??????
Last edited by hover11 on August 14th, 2021, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 7:08 pm

Alot of non fda approved products on our market but then again we are a 3rd world country this is where their products thrive
aaron17 wrote:Arcoxia rings any bell?

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2021, 7:11 pm

health care system overloaded as in the normal health care or the parallel covid health care? cause sando, "THE healthcare system" was always overloaded, before covid. days to wait for bed, people lining the corridors.
when other countries showed their covid response in the hospitals, everyone who knows bout sando said that sando is normally like that.

and last year, with how itally and spain were, we needed over 5000 covid spaces to deal with outbreaks on par with those. that 1000+ covid beds they touted, was woefully low, and then with the april vaccine roll out, where they went down to 500 spaces and struggling to find back more spaces... that is simply just under capacity.

other places had higher numbers than us, but

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 14th, 2021, 7:12 pm

K74T wrote:*BREAKING NEWS*

At a Media Conference hosted by the Office of the Prime Minister today (Aug14), the following developments / decisions have been announced:

1. It was revealed that there has been a noticeable increase in infections among children. At present, there are three severely ill children in the system. This makes it all the more important that children get vaccinated at the soonest.

2. By the end of today, Trinidad and Tobago should have 300,000 fully vaccinated citizens. Given the projections that this number will move to 400,000 within the next 7-10 days. That represents roughly 40% of our adult population.

3. Prime Minister Rowley recognized the fact that Trinidad and Tobago has begun to live with the Covid-19 virus. As we vaccinate more, the easier this will be in the future.

4. With over 1.6 million doses received to date, and the announcement of the imminent arrival from Johnson and Johnson shortly, the majority of citizens can now access vaccines with some degree of ease. Citizens are encouraged to take advantage of this at the soonest so that collectively we can starve the virus of hosts.

5. If you have already received a 1st dose, please come out and receive your 2nd dose at your appointed time. You are only fully vaccinated two weeks after receiving both doses.

6. To date, only 50% of the nurses in the public health system have been vaccinated. The Prime Minister is encouraging this group to come forward and do what is needed.

7. In the prisons, 20% of prisoners and 35% of prison officers have been vaccinated. Just 35% of the Defence Force and 43% of police officers have been vaccinated to date. We must do better.

8. The Pfizer Vaccine is the only approved by WHO for use by adolescents. The 305,000 doses received this week are for use in this group before all others. We need to do so expeditiously in order to ensure that classes resume physically in September. This program begins on Monday.

9. The retail sector will open on Monday as planned. With it CEPEP and URP will also be allowed to restart. Also personal care services ie salons, etc from August 23. All are asked to continue to observe all health protocols.

FB_IMG_1628975756662.jpg

God is truly on our side ... Dunno how else to explain that somehow just as vaccines arrive for children, they start dropping like flies.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 7:14 pm

How convenient....
drchaos wrote:
K74T wrote:*BREAKING NEWS*

FB_IMG_1628975756662.jpg

God is truly on our side ... Dunno how else to explain that somehow just as vaccines arrive for children, they start dropping like flies.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 14th, 2021, 7:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:All I care about is gyms, open up for vacinated people please

SO yawl can spread it among yourselves and create variants?

Yall need to mask up and sit yuh ass down in yuh forking house and doh ever come out.

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2021, 7:18 pm

^^ Noticed that as well. But what pissed me off was when I heard on the news that Rowley said children with covid in the hospital were face-timing their parents to tell them good-bye.

Is that Les Couteaux obeah he wukking again?

Is that a scare tactic? Well is now plenty people are not going to let their children take the vaccine.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2021, 7:19 pm

That "news" about children in hospital is nonsense. Since last year there has been several children battling the virus. Trying to push an agenda using that narrative is very weak!!

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 14th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Maybe this is the depopulation we need. 3-4 yrs of constant Covid & Covid-Plus/variants with global financial instability and hoarding depleting resources, then Global Conflict. When people can't hear, let them feel.

Postby hover11 » August 14th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Fear mongering is how you control the masses, the vaccines here so force your child to take it so they don't end up in ICU. So what happens when a child wants to vaccinate but the parents refuse or vice versa or one parent is pro vaccine and the other is anti vaxx lol that is going have a societal fall out.