Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby hydroep » January 26th, 2019, 6:43 am

"We love so we take good care of you, only the PNM understands"...:|

Khan: Petrotrin’s closure an act of love, not hate
Yvonne Webb

ENERGY Minister Franklin Khan accepted a notion that “political interference” could have caused the demise of state-owned Petrotrin, and pledged that his government would stay away from the day-to-day operations of the restructured companies.

Months after Petrotrin was closed and its employees, the majority who lived in the fence line communities, were retrenched, Khan promised, “the south-west peninsula will boom again. I give you that assurance.”

He was put in the hot seat on Thursday at the Conversations with the PM event at the Palo Seco Government Primary School, when the Prime Minister was a no-show. Dr Rowley was involved in a teleconference Caricom heads of government meeting on the crisis in Venezuela.

Responding to a barrage of questions, Khan apologised to residents affected by Petrotrin’s closure, saying it was an act of love, not hate. He even took blame for some of the temporary and causal workers being sent home without any benefits.

Khan identified the former Trinmar as “the goose that laid the golden egg” but did not get the capital injection it required. He said the aim, by the end of the year, is to boost oil production from 34,000 to 42,000 barrels of oil per day, up to 60,000 2022.

He said opportunities will be created through the new companies created from the restructuring exercise – Guaracara Refining Company, Paria Fuel Trading Company, and Heritage Petroleum Company Ltd. He said it did not matter if people would be working for Petrotrin or Heritage, but what mattered was that they were working in the energy sector.

Khan said special privileges would be given to people in the fenceline communities as government develops other industries, including the dry-docking facility at La Brea. However, he advised there would be no handouts. He urged potential employees not to go after “menial” jobs alone, but get certified, as highly technical skills would be required.

Most importantly, he said, what is required is a change in attitude and good work ethics.

Promising to give truthful and honest answers as to the state of play, Khan took personal blame for former employees who “slipped through the cracks,” including one man who said he worked for 33 years but went home “without a cent.”

“I take the blame,” Khan said, explaining a fair formula was used to determine who among the temporary and causal workers were entitled to termination benefits.

“The company could not afford to pay every single person who made a ten-days in Petrotrin, a termination benefit.” He promised to look into a similar complaint brought by Althea Bruno who worked at the Petrotrin Sports Club for 27 years, but also went home with her “hands swinging.” Bruno said the company was attempting to “disown” employees who worked at the various clubs at Fyzabad, Pointe-a-Pierre, Forest Reserve and Point Fortin, claiming they were not Petrotrin employees. The minister said he was aware of the situation in a letter which was copied to him.

Sharing the platform with Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte, Housing Minister and Point Fortin MP Edmund Dillon and La Brea MP Nicole Olivierre, Khan stoutly denied the claim by one contributor who said Petrotrin was profitable.

“Petrotrin was not making a profit. Petrotrin was losing approximately $2 billion a year because it was an integrated oil company involved in marketing, refining and exploration and production. When we analysed the entire business, we realised it was not sustainable in that construct.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/26/khan-petrotrins-closure-an-act-of-love-not-hate/

wing

Postby wing » January 30th, 2019, 6:42 pm

Encouraging
IMG-8a0e5d1ba66641f33581911d1ca9c143-V.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » January 31st, 2019, 8:14 am

Let's see what Roget going to do now

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2019, 9:00 am

The_Honourable wrote:Let's see what Roget going to do now
Give false hope, sing, clap, march and take de ppl money...

Postby tr1ad » January 31st, 2019, 10:27 am

The_Honourable wrote:Let's see what Roget going to do now

tek yuh refinery an go

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2019, 3:42 pm

Someone might take it and go guyana with it. It has better use there. Best they take me there with them one time.
Guyana = the promised land.
Here following venezuela and we on a sure trip there

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 31st, 2019, 5:14 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Someone might take it and go guyana with it. It has better use there. Best they take me there with them one time.
This... Men have no idea..

Those who know me know some of my clients and with their new establishment being launched, it's just the start. Guyana is going to be an industrial stronghold and business hub very soon

Postby Slartibartfast » January 31st, 2019, 6:56 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Someone might take it and go guyana with it. It has better use there. Best they take me there with them one time.
This... Men have no idea..

Those who know me know some of my clients and with their new establishment being launched, it's just the start. Guyana is going to be an industrial stronghold and business hub very soon
Yeah I'm getting a kind of "China of the Caribbean" vibe from them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 1st, 2019, 8:08 pm

Postby The_Honourable » February 5th, 2019, 12:47 pm

The Point a Pierre Refinery could be reopened soon. The announcement came from Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley while speaking at the 2019 Energy Conference at the Hyatt this morning, hosted by the T&T Energy Chamber.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 5th, 2019, 12:59 pm

OK woohoo, so what about AV drillin? everybody done forgot about how much fake oil we had?

Postby gastly369 » February 5th, 2019, 1:05 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:OK woohoo, so what about AV drillin? everybody done forgot about how much fake oil we had?
Sweep under mat....get back field.....

Prob said to much dey but aaaa is Trinidad

Postby Redman » February 5th, 2019, 2:16 pm

Case does fall apart when witness dead.
Others fall apart when files disappear.

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2019, 4:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The Point a Pierre Refinery could be reopened soon. The announcement came from Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley while speaking at the 2019 Energy Conference at the Hyatt this morning, hosted by the T&T Energy Chamber.

I said all this last year.

It was just a purging excuse to get rid of dead weight and Ramlal ppl.

Aim is to restock with PNM ppl that follow orders

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2019, 5:23 pm

go through with that, it have potential to launch the largest industrial court case in history.

u cant lay off permanent people, then hire back new staff. albeit, its a new company now, the business was only shut down for a short period, and nothing integral to the company had changed, justifying a shut down in the first place.
so, the shut down could be unnecessary, rendering the layoffs illegal.

selling of the operations to a different company, to do the same thing the previous company did, would show that the previous management did not do all that is in their power to keep the company running... cause the new one doing the same thing!

and that now, depending on who take it over, could lead to charges surrounding corruption, selling off state assets to freinds and family....

u can fire people if u close ur business, but if u open back up soon, u didnt need to fire, especially if u doing the same thing u was doing before.

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2019, 5:25 pm

sMASH wrote:go through with that, it have potential to launch the largest industrial court case in history.

u cant lay off permanent people, then hire back new staff. albeit, its a new company now, the business was only shut down for a short period, and nothing integral to the company had changed, justifying a shut down in the first place.
so, the shut down could be unnecessary, rendering the layoffs illegal.

selling of the operations to a different company, to do the same thing the previous company did, would show that the previous management did not do all that is in their power to keep the company running... cause the new one doing the same thing!

and that now, depending on who take it over, could lead to charges surrounding corruption, selling off state assets to freinds and family....

u can fire people if u close ur business, but if u open back up soon, u didnt need to fire, especially if u doing the same thing u was doing before.
Bullchit, it was done with BWIA and Caroni.

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2019, 6:02 pm

well caroni was not reopened.

Postby The_Honourable » February 5th, 2019, 7:57 pm

Caroni cost taxpayers 10 Billion and counting btw...

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2019, 8:16 pm

sMASH wrote:well caroni was not reopened.
Yes it was under the name of the Sugar manufacturing company Ltd.

It was set up with PNM ppl.who knew nothing about the Sugar industry and went buss in 2007.

Such short memories ppl have

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2019, 10:10 pm

^^wtf,, never knew that...

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2019, 11:15 pm

sMASH wrote:^^wtf,, never knew that...

No scene bro, there are those that knew about it but turn a blind eye to the truth.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2019, 6:11 pm

OWTU company signs a management team to run Petrotrin refinery

A company set up by the OWTU to acquire and operate the Petrotrin refinery claims to have secured a world class management team but has not divulged any names.

The Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co. Ltd is assuring all stakeholders that the refinery will be safely operated and maintained.

OWTU President Ancel Roget and Chief Education and Research Officer Ozzi Warwick, visited Spain last week to close the agreement.

Patriotic also says it will return it to profitability under total local ownership and international management expertise.

It claims the management team is highly qualified with over 100 years of experience in refinery management and operations in multiple continents.

Yesterday, the OWTU announced that it met all the requirements to bid for the refinery which was shutdown in November 2018.

http://103fm.tt/news/owtu-company-signs ... -refinery/

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 16th, 2019, 8:40 pm

The Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co. Ltd

Who are they exactly?
Key people?

Postby zoom rader » February 16th, 2019, 8:46 pm

These new folk better be careful once they start making a profit the PNM will buss tax in their arse.

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Postby De Dragon » February 16th, 2019, 9:53 pm

Now Guy Smiley talking subsidizing super for fishermen pending PT's restart. This place really not real nah.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 17th, 2019, 12:21 am

So ho have the info on no of employees working at all the new companies
the refinery not open yet so the staff will be less. what about the total number of managers ? is there any cost savings or are we going to have more employees than when it was named petrotrin?
What about owtu ? are they going to operate the refinery and represent the workers working for them ?

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2019, 1:18 am

Numb3r4 wrote:The Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co. Ltd

Who are they exactly?
Key people?

It's an LLC created by the OWTU with the aim to acquire the refinery, and will run under that name if selected. Don't know the other partners yet.

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2019, 6:20 am

we hadda be biggest jackass in the world.

kstt

Postby kstt » February 17th, 2019, 6:40 am

If you give the union the company, who going to fight the government in court for sending home workers and fight for them and against fake oil?