***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 2nd, 2019, 4:53 am

pugboy wrote:I find the white grapefruit this year real nice, not loaded with seeds like them orange and portugal

a lot of the big farmers using venes for harvesting and paying per basket harvested

seeing this on my end as well......them men wukkkking way better than our locals who think farming is "slave" wuk...

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2019, 5:36 am

It works out good for them since they basically work half day for same pay as a slow local and get rest of day to do what they want

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:I find the white grapefruit this year real nice, not loaded with seeds like them orange and portugal

a lot of the big farmers using venes for harvesting and paying per basket harvested

seeing this on my end as well......them men wukkkking way better than our locals who think farming is "slave" wuk...

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2019, 9:27 am

They're not slow... they are just pacing themselves.
pugboy wrote:It works out good for them since they basically work half day for same pay as a slow local and get rest of day to do what they want

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » April 13th, 2019, 8:12 pm

Who would like to join the chuna farmers Whatsapp group? Pm me your number

Postby SR » April 14th, 2019, 8:28 am

No pesticides used here

Bundling today
20190413_202545.jpeg
20190413_202941.jpeg
IMG-20190413-WA0051.jpeg
20190413_221528.jpeg
20190413_221532.jpeg
20190413_221536.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2019, 8:58 am

Nice man

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2019, 9:08 am

That's awesome
Especially a spot free celery

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2019, 11:11 am

SR wrote:No pesticides used here

Bundling today20190413_221536.jpeg20190413_221532.jpeg20190413_221528.jpegIMG-20190413-WA0051.jpeg20190413_202941.jpeg20190413_202545.jpeg

Yuh gt..

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2019, 11:32 am

hydroponics?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 14th, 2019, 1:31 pm

Lovely SR from Sq to gardening , Bess

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2019, 5:20 pm

pugboy wrote:hydroponics?
It looks that way with the long clean chive roots
And it's probably impossible to grow celery in the soil without using fungicides

ftitan

Postby ftitan » April 14th, 2019, 6:28 pm

Anybody know if there's a local market for tonka bean still? Just about everyone I know has no idea what it is...I just cleared some land and realized it has about 10 trees bearing right now.

Kish

Postby Kish » May 5th, 2019, 8:00 pm

Hydroponic Scorpions. People afraid to use these peppers.
20190505_175308.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2019, 4:58 am

Kish wrote:Hydroponic Scorpions. People afraid to use these peppers.20190505_175308.jpeg

all you need is a pinch of that :lol:

Kish

Postby Kish » May 6th, 2019, 7:26 pm

Kish wrote:Hydroponic Scorpions. People afraid to use these peppers.20190505_175308.jpeg

all you need is a pinch of that :lol:

lol I used 1/3 in a pot one day. Was very interesting.

sn95

Postby sn95 » May 22nd, 2019, 2:20 pm

Guys need advice on planting pak choi any advice would be helpful. Anyone willing to leave their number so I can call?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 23rd, 2019, 6:55 am

Has anyone used Bulrush soil products?

HSA

Postby HSA » May 24th, 2019, 8:00 am

sn95 wrote:Guys need advice on planting pak choi any advice would be helpful. Anyone willing to leave their number so I can call?

Hydro or in the ground??

call me 2869165

sn95

Postby sn95 » May 24th, 2019, 9:20 am

On the ground
HSA wrote:
sn95 wrote:Guys need advice on planting pak choi any advice would be helpful. Anyone willing to leave their number so I can call?

Hydro or in the ground??

call me 2869165

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 29th, 2019, 10:35 am

guys i looking for a couple goat kids to buy . looking for the bigger breeds
any one know who selling and prices

popozan

Postby popozan » May 31st, 2019, 8:29 pm

adnj wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Fellas I dunno who could guide me...

I now backfill a lot of land, what's the quickest or recommended way for me to get some soft lawn/Savannah type grass to grow ( easy Ting for lawnmower to push)

Advise meh before mud and bamboo grass take over.

The easiest grass to grow locally in a well lit area is digitaria ciliaris (also called tropical finger grass) or most any digitaria subtype. These are some of the most aggressive grasses in the world.

The fastest and easiest way is to cut some turf from an area that has it growing well. Cut and plant two inch squares about a foot apart.

Water it lightly everyday for about two weeks or wait to plant during the rainy season. Afterward, water as required.

You will need to spray a 2,4-D Amine or Actril DS solution (4 ml per liter) every 4 to 6 weeks. Spot treat unwanted weeds with paraquat. Fertilizer is not required and digitaria outcompetes most grasses in poor soils.

The grass runners will spread above (stolons) and below (rhizomes) ground. If you don't cut the grass for a few weeks it will go to seed (inflorescence) and also spread that way.

But y'all comfortable using 2-4 d? The side effects on Wikipedia is slightly frightening

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 11th, 2019, 2:19 pm

Anyone ever used this for termites? Reviews ?
20190610_130212.jpeg

Postby adnj » June 11th, 2019, 3:28 pm

popozan wrote:
adnj wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Fellas I dunno who could guide me...

I now backfill a lot of land, what's the quickest or recommended way for me to get some soft lawn/Savannah type grass to grow ( easy Ting for lawnmower to push)

Advise meh before mud and bamboo grass take over.

The easiest grass to grow locally in a well lit area is digitaria ciliaris (also called tropical finger grass) or most any digitaria subtype. These are some of the most aggressive grasses in the world.

The fastest and easiest way is to cut some turf from an area that has it growing well. Cut and plant two inch squares about a foot apart.

Water it lightly everyday for about two weeks or wait to plant during the rainy season. Afterward, water as required.

You will need to spray a 2,4-D Amine or Actril DS solution (4 ml per liter) every 4 to 6 weeks. Spot treat unwanted weeds with paraquat. Fertilizer is not required and digitaria outcompetes most grasses in poor soils.

The grass runners will spread above (stolons) and below (rhizomes) ground. If you don't cut the grass for a few weeks it will go to seed (inflorescence) and also spread that way.

But y'all comfortable using 2-4 d? The side effects on Wikipedia is slightly frightening
Read the label and use the recommended clothing, gloves, boots, goggles, and respirator.

Postby adnj » June 11th, 2019, 3:35 pm

Curtms wrote:Anyone ever used this for termites? Reviews ?
20190610_130212.jpeg
Very widely used. Lots of info on the web.This is a pyrethoid insecticide and related to the same active ingredients as used in Bop.

There are different ways to treat termites. Diluting and spraying will work. You may need to reapply every 3 to 6 weeks until your problem is eliminated.

You have a pic of a 7.9% solution. That is the generic version of Talstar Professional.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 13th, 2019, 11:43 am

Best defense for termite are wood geckos yes.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 30th, 2019, 6:12 pm

Alright so update, not a pretty job but there was some accidental progress...

I went and happen to get this bag of Bermuda seeds for like 10us in home Depot last month, didn't expect anything to come of it tbh.

But as rain started I throw a couple handful of seeds, on the unprepped and weed laden dirt.

THERE IS LIFE!!!

2 weeks no care in the world and they have sprouted. I'll finish off the bag just for the heck of it, Next year dry season is carded for more work on the land . So the topsoil layer and rescraping process will happen ,I'll do it properly maybe with the same seeds even.

Let's see how they survive

adnj wrote:Finger grass grows well in compacted soil and clay, needs very little fertilizer and tolerates dry and overly wet conditions better than most grasses.

Start the planting now by planting only a section of the lot. You can add top soil in four inch spots and plant your plugs there and/or use high phosphorous starting fertilizer if you want faster results.

Once the grass starts to grow, you can cut from the established grass and use that to fill in bare spots. You can cut runners that have more than four shoots and plant them a couple of inches in the ground even if they have no roots.

When it's time to level, scape the ground or add soil. The finger grass will cover it in a few weeks once established. Continue to spot-spray weed killer on weeds that are actively growing.

When it's time to cut the grass, use a mower with a sharp blade. Cut at the highest level that you can (about 4 inches) during the dry season. Don't cut below 2 inches or scalp the grass and don't cut away more than 1/3 of the height of the grass in any one cutting.

nick639v2 wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Thanks for the info bro. I'll look around and keep my eye out

the finger grass looking like the way to go for me...

Ground is bare and needs a ton of prep work and levelling. And sadly the entire lot needs to be done by hand now because fencing went up..

This is the mess that it's in atmIMG_20190221_193851.jpeg

That dirt looking like sapate....maybe im wrong, but is pressure to get good stuff to grow in that
Sapate it is... It's the only thing I could've gotten to fill that land within the timeframe before bricks get layed. Price of dirt and transport these days ridiculous

only thing I could think about trying is getting some good top soil when you ready to plant the lawn...it's 50-50 but you could try it...
IMG_20190630_175628.jpeg
IMG_20190630_175502-01.jpeg
IMG_20190630_180021.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 30th, 2019, 6:30 pm

You get trouble to bring that bag? Or smuggle in thy suitcase

Postby adnj » June 30th, 2019, 7:15 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Alright so update, not a pretty job but there was some accidental progress...

I went and happen to get this bag of Bermuda seeds for like 10us in home Depot last month, didn't expect anything to come of it tbh.

But as rain started I throw a couple handful of seeds, on the unprepped and weed laden dirt.

THERE IS LIFE!!!

2 weeks no care in the world and they have sprouted. I'll finish off the bag just for the heck of it, Next year dry season is carded for more work on the land . So the topsoil layer and rescraping process will happen ,I'll do it properly maybe with the same seeds even.

Let's see how they survive

adnj wrote:Finger grass grows well in compacted soil and clay, needs very little fertilizer and tolerates dry and overly wet conditions better than most grasses.

Start the planting now by planting only a section of the lot. You can add top soil in four inch spots and plant your plugs there and/or use high phosphorous starting fertilizer if you want faster results.

Once the grass starts to grow, you can cut from the established grass and use that to fill in bare spots. You can cut runners that have more than four shoots and plant them a couple of inches in the ground even if they have no roots.

When it's time to level, scape the ground or add soil. The finger grass will cover it in a few weeks once established. Continue to spot-spray weed killer on weeds that are actively growing.

When it's time to cut the grass, use a mower with a sharp blade. Cut at the highest level that you can (about 4 inches) during the dry season. Don't cut below 2 inches or scalp the grass and don't cut away more than 1/3 of the height of the grass in any one cutting.

nick639v2 wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Thanks for the info bro. I'll look around and keep my eye out

the finger grass looking like the way to go for me...

Ground is bare and needs a ton of prep work and levelling. And sadly the entire lot needs to be done by hand now because fencing went up..

This is the mess that it's in atmIMG_20190221_193851.jpeg

That dirt looking like sapate....maybe im wrong, but is pressure to get good stuff to grow in that
Sapate it is... It's the only thing I could've gotten to fill that land within the timeframe before bricks get layed. Price of dirt and transport these days ridiculous

only thing I could think about trying is getting some good top soil when you ready to plant the lawn...it's 50-50 but you could try it...
IMG_20190630_180021.jpeg
IMG_20190630_175502-01.jpeg
IMG_20190630_175628.jpeg
Good to see that you have some ground cover growing.

In your photos I can see digitaria and sedges growing. The Bermuda will grow for a year or two but will start to disappear when the soil nitrogen levels drop.

The sedges and digitaria will do better in damp, low nitrogen, clay soil, also.

If you want to keep the Bermuda, spread some sand and start to add high-nitrogen fertilizer. Bermuda needs about 1/2 kilo of nitrogen per 10 square meters per year. After that comes the mowing (with a lawn mower not a whacker) and the herbicides.

Depending on what you plan to do with the property, some extra attention and a bit of work can get you a fabulous, emerald green lawn.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 30th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Yup as dry season hit it's scraping and screening, the rain helping the dirt settle quickly.

For now im leaving the softer cover to grow a bit to prevent extra runoff while removing bamboo/hard grass. Thanks for the heads up on soil requirements for it to strive.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2019, 9:27 pm

At least you can use 24d to kill most of the other weeds.
Zenith zoysia is a nice turf too that grows from seed.

Turf is headache to cut when long.
You can cut them with a wacker fitted with a metal blade.
If using a lawn mower the blade should be sharp or it will put serious load on the engine if it is slightly overgrown.
I have a zoysia backyard and found the metal blade wacker more effective than mower unless it was low.

Plenty of them landscape fellas does cut it long for that reason which is not ideal since it leaves it puffy with brown u dergrowth.