Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 14th, 2011, 6:41 pm

lol :lol:

Postby M_2NR » April 14th, 2011, 9:28 pm

So what is ulyuh view on putting your desktop PC to sleep? I merely plan/do this to save power so what ulyuh think? Is it safe?

I have it connected to a UPS so hopefully if it does indeed suffer power loss, it wont die but does this impact any components? like the motherboard or PSU?

and no im not even going to use hibernate. I dont even use that on my laptop either. Did it once in ubuntu and it messed up my entire multiboot.

Virus

Postby Virus » April 15th, 2011, 5:47 am

But why you want the pc to sleep anyways, if you want to save power take it to hell off :)

What you can do is go to power options drop the power settings ie disabling NIC turning down fans even under clock CPU

Matter of fact M_M2NR thats too much work yes

And yes you are correct hibernation is a waste - i use SSD's so i disable to get back my much needed space lol

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 22nd, 2011, 5:46 pm

If i have to put a computer to sleep it be my laptop but i sometimes leave to desktop to sleep. Sometimes the laptop produces a great amount of heat when it's sleeping so these days i take it off. Not to sure about the desktop though

Postby M_2NR » April 22nd, 2011, 5:57 pm

heat? when sleeping? wtf...

oh and hybrid sleep is a flamz eh... that's just hibernation with different wording

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 22nd, 2011, 7:34 pm

Yea idk why it stays so hot even though its on a cooling pad . It's an inspiron 1525. Sometimes when i shut it down it restarts itself :/ anyone knows how to fix it? Also the left button for the mouse on the laptop has gotten stiff, it's almost unclickable. I don't use the left button, I use the touchpad so idk why it's feeling like this. Is there any way i can fix this?

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » April 23rd, 2011, 11:00 am

well some of the parts reach

.. still waiting on mobo, 1055t chip..and i have 12 gb of 'komputerbay' ram but i think i will end up going with the 16g ocz or kingston

still studying case and cooling options

lemma know your opinions..because i seriously studying applying a rotary tool to my previous case and modifying accordingly to save the cash
that antec (air cooled all the way) and nzxt cases looking real good though..

thoughts?

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?S=1341&ID=2039
http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=MjQ1Mg
http://www.nzxt.com/new/products/crafted_series/phantom

and cooling
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?S=1138&ID=1904#Tab0
http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1444&ID=1616
Image0109.jpg

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » April 23rd, 2011, 11:01 am

gracen wrote:Yea idk why it stays so hot even though its on a cooling pad . It's an inspiron 1525. Sometimes when i shut it down it restarts itself :/ anyone knows how to fix it? Also the left button for the mouse on the laptop has gotten stiff, it's almost unclickable. I don't use the left button, I use the touchpad so idk why it's feeling like this. Is there any way i can fix this?

might want to get some canned air and scrap the laptop and give it a good cleaning..same for the button - you'll be amazed how much rubbish accumulates

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » April 23rd, 2011, 11:06 am

SPRANG_A wrote:well some of the parts reach

.. still waiting on mobo, 1055t chip..and i have 12 gb of 'komputerbay' ram but i think i will end up going with the 16g ocz or kingston

lemma know your opinions..because i seriously studying applying a rotary tool to my previous case and modifying accordingly to save the cash

thoughts?

and cooling

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: i seein 2 6950 dey???

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 23rd, 2011, 11:44 am

The antec lan boy is a no-no, too much areas for dust to get pulled in.

Dunno what to say abt the Thermaltake though, though the NZXT has a good air cooling system.

The Thermaltake LCS systems not so good, if u wanna go liquid cooling just for the cpu alone is best to get a Corsair H50/60/70 all in one system for simplicity.

Is it an amd system you're building with those two 6950's? Shoulda go intel (seriously).

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » April 23rd, 2011, 11:46 am

jeevdude199 wrote:
SPRANG_A wrote:well some of the parts reach

thoughts?

and cooling

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: i seein 2 6950 dey???

yup...

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » April 23rd, 2011, 11:57 am

HCCA wrote:The antec lan boy is a no-no, too much areas for dust to get pulled in.

Dunno what to say abt the Thermaltake though, though the NZXT has a good air cooling system.

The Thermaltake LCS systems not so good, if u wanna go liquid cooling just for the cpu alone is best to get a Corsair H50/60/70 all in one system for simplicity.

Is it an amd system you're building with those two 6950's? Shoulda go intel (seriously).

hmm
i agree with the nzxt over the antec...but them prices..

for some reason i have a triton70 heatsink lying around the house. so i might go with that for the hour

as for the system.. yes amd :phenomII 1055t on a m4a89td pro board

i jus partial to amd for some reason

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 12:15 pm

I like the layout of this case, though i dont care for the alien/stealth fighter looking exterior

Silverstone Raven

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 23rd, 2011, 12:18 pm

^^Well you can always try a Coolermaster cm 690 or something, mid tower but has excellent cooling capabilities and video card space.

Also own a 1055T with two radeon 5850s in crossfire mode. The only pro so far is that the cpu runs very cool, the con is that it bottlenecking the cards pretty bad. Waiting to put those cards in my i7 system and my gtx 295 into the amd system to reduce the bottlenecking.

Supposed to get a 1090T as well to replace an x4 965 BE in my third system but not sure when i will get it.

The three cases i currently own are a Thermaltake armor, Antec 1200 and a Thermaltake Kandalf LCS. The Antec 1200 so far is the best air cooled case i own, the Kandalf's lcs performs well for what it is and is easily upgradeable.

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » April 23rd, 2011, 12:37 pm

^what board is the crossfire on? is the pci slots dual 16x, or 8x8? that also causes the bottleneck and makes you think its the chip, ive done that already on a another build

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 23rd, 2011, 1:24 pm

SPRANG_A wrote:^what board is the crossfire on? is the pci slots dual 16x, or 8x8? that also causes the bottleneck and makes you think its the chip, ive done that already on a another build

The slots are 16x + 4x. The i7 system has dual 16x + 8x slots.

Honestly it simple to just yank out one card and run one alone in the system eh, just the whole system liquid cooled and it a bit troublesome to disconnect all them tubes to take out one of the cards.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 23rd, 2011, 9:42 pm

I own the CM690...great case. There's supposed to be a version II out now, so check that. Also check the HAF 932 or HAF X.

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 10:26 pm

CM690's are baller. We gotten a CM690 II for my padna setup with the 5850 and the space is GREAT! you can wire a lot of stuff to the back and even the 4/8pin can be sent through the back.

I also got my other padna a Nvidia edition, I'd say they are similar in terms of design and space (minus the green clear side and color of the fan leds + the yuck gray interior) because a 6870 fit perfectly as well with same space. It also has lots of cooling options. I was quite impressed with both variations of the 690's.

Just remember one thing, make sure if you buying it from Circuit Zone (Which i did for both), you should call AND visit them to see if they have in stock. I asked especially for the CM690 II and they said they have in stock, dropped by and all they had were nvidia ones. I do recommend buying it from them as the price is great!

If I ever have to buy another case it might be the HAF's but my buddy was telling me there is some issue of shorting/grounding? HCCA might know about it or not? or Chiney i think either one of them had/has a HAF

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 23rd, 2011, 10:42 pm

^^I had both the HAF 922 and 932 before. No grounding issues with either.

Actually never had a grounding issue with any case i owned. Probably a misplaced standoff or misaligned backplate can cause that issue.

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 11:19 pm

Didnt happen to anyone i knew either, he was telling me he was reading up about it online and he didnt go too much in depth.
I just remembered, I think if the guy search the thread, he will see where we talked about that case more as well.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 24th, 2011, 12:46 am

no grounding issue either
cousin has one for the longest i can remember them being out and no grounding either

well i did totally paint the inside with 3 layers of flat black and clear coat..

Humes

Postby Humes » April 24th, 2011, 4:40 am

If you're buying any CM case, though...bring a few Scythes down one time. CM fans is waste. At least 2x120mm for top-mounted exhaust and a 80mm for behind the motherboard. There's space for another 2x120mm or 2x140mm for side intake too, but that most likely unnecessary if you're in AC...you can stick with the included CM fans for those.

Next case will definitely be a full tower CM.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 24th, 2011, 12:55 pm

My CM sniper is a Mid-Tower but it offers great cooling and is really roomy inside. Full tower isn't always the answer.... only big difference is that they have more HDD & drive bays and support for eatx mobos

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 24th, 2011, 3:59 pm

^^ technically you just went again what you said there...

"full tower isnt always the answer"

difference is that they hold more HDDs and use support eatx ( which is the answer )

im sure u meant full tower doesnt always mean better..

its all up for your needs

if u can afford a full tower..go for it.. cooling is always engineered better in full atx cases.

indianlove

Postby indianlove » April 26th, 2011, 3:18 pm

tuners i need some help, i upgrading my board, ram and gpu. currently using phenom ii x4, a basic biostar board, 4gigs kingston ddr2 ram and a gtx 260 core 216. any suggestion?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2011, 3:39 pm

budget?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 26th, 2011, 4:00 pm

The GPU sounds like a keeper :D :P

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 26th, 2011, 4:07 pm

A full tower case is one of the best investments one can make
and will last for multiple builds.

indianlove

Postby indianlove » April 26th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Chiney wrote:budget?

$2500ish since i using back the processor.
and i might sell the gpu, want to upgrade to dx11

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 26th, 2011, 6:16 pm

ordering online?