COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Mmoney607

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby Mmoney607 » August 9th, 2021, 9:46 am

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Well said there are are hundreds of thousands that survived covid even delta and gamma with NO medical intervention or vaccines , yes some died but that doesn't mean it is a death sentence
elec2020 wrote:.

source?

Yup. hover11 is 100% wrong. It's not hundreds of thousands, it's hundreds of millions

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 9:56 am

Look at the statistics on Google it is free information
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Well said there are are hundreds of thousands that survived covid even delta and gamma with NO medical intervention or vaccines , yes some died but that doesn't mean it is a death sentence
elec2020 wrote:.

source?

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 9:58 am

203 million persons contracted covid 4.3 died, stop treating this like a death sentence just follow the protocols to safeguard yourself
Screenshot_20210809-095652_Samsung%20Internet.jpg

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2021, 10:10 am

elec2020 wrote:so everyone who gets covid has long-form covid? So over 40,000 people in Trinidad and Tobago have long-form covid? Why the scare tactics?

About 7,500 (18%) of all who tested positive.

How common is long covid?

Significant numbers of people are enduring the condition—and some may never recover

Britain’s Office for National Statistics (ONS) has found that 21% of people testing positive for covid-19 continue to have at least one symptom five weeks after infection, and 14% still have symptoms at 12 weeks. Other studies have come up with estimates that are substantially higher or lower. The variation of results is probably caused by things such as how broad the questions about symptoms are and who is included in the studies (some, for example, are dominated by people who have been admitted to hospital). Approved medical tests for long covid to settle the matter do not yet exist. But a recent study of data from people who wear fitness trackers found that 14% of people testing positive for covid-19 developed an irregular heart rate that persisted for at least four months—which is consistent with the ONS estimates. An irregular heart rate can induce breathlessness and light-headedness, which are two of the most common long-covid symptoms.

How quickly, and even whether, people recover remains unclear. Several studies have found that the probability of having long covid drops off more rapidly in the first three months after infection (meaning that lots of people recover) and starts to plateau around six months after infection. In Britain, the ONS estimates that as of June 6th about 385,000 people had had self-reported long covid for more than a year.

Some are more debilitated than others by the illness. Two-thirds of Britons with long covid that drags on longer than four weeks say that their symptoms adversely affect their daily activities, including 18% who say their activities are “limited a lot”. In countries that have had big covid-19 epidemics, or will do so in the coming months because they are lagging on vaccination, long covid will be a burden on health-care systems for years to come.

https://www.economist.com/the-economist ... long-covid

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 10:16 am

Sooo what really to do?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 10:21 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:so everyone who gets covid has long-form covid? So over 40,000 people in Trinidad and Tobago have long-form covid? Why the scare tactics?

Significant numbers of people are enduring the condition—and some may never recover

Britain’s Office for National Statistics (ONS) has found that 21% of people testing positive for covid-19 continue to have at least one symptom five weeks after infection, and 14% still have symptoms at 12 weeks. Other studies have come up with estimates that are substantially higher or lower. The variation of results is probably caused by things such as how broad the questions about symptoms are and who is included in the studies (some, for example, are dominated by people who have been admitted to hospital). Approved medical tests for long covid to settle the matter do not yet exist. But a recent study of data from people who wear fitness trackers found that 14% of people testing positive for covid-19 developed an irregular heart rate that persisted for at least four months—which is consistent with the ONS estimates. An irregular heart rate can induce breathlessness and light-headedness, which are two of the most common long-covid symptoms.

How quickly, and even whether, people recover remains unclear. Several studies have found that the probability of having long covid drops off more rapidly in the first three months after infection (meaning that lots of people recover) and starts to plateau around six months after infection. In Britain, the ONS estimates that as of June 6th about 385,000 people had had self-reported long covid for more than a year.

Some are more debilitated than others by the illness. Two-thirds of Britons with long covid that drags on longer than four weeks say that their symptoms adversely affect their daily activities, including 18% who say their activities are “limited a lot”. In countries that have had big covid-19 epidemics, or will do so in the coming months because they are lagging on vaccination, long covid will be a burden on health-care systems for years to come.

whats the stats for local?

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 10:21 am

Bro at the end of the day it's your choice, it all comes down to you really, if you decide to make to make the decision to get vaccine secretly that's up to u.....just make sure and consult with your doctor before you take that plunge. You can't force your wife it sounds like she is against the vaccines for whatever reason, if you believe the vaccine will protect you take it but at the end of the day vax or no vax , please make sure you and your wife adhere to the protocols, mask wearing , sanitizing and social distancing when out
aaron17 wrote:Sooo what really to do?

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 10:22 am

Ok thanks much.

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2021, 10:24 am

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Extrapolate.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 10:25 am

somebody said it before. To tell the person to seek their doctor's advise. However, if they know they not healthy or immunocompromised then best they take it (thats my advise). If you not then don't as, at the end of the day, you have no clue if you will have an adverse reaction nor what the long-term side effects of this vaccine are. So if you know you always have been able to fight of infections easy then take your chances. But if a little cold wind blow and you get the cold that you does be battling for weeks on end even after taking all kinda medication. Then take the vaccine as it supposedly raises your chances of dealing with this much more intensive flu.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 10:27 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Extrapolate.

So basically no local stats. Ok

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 10:32 am

elec2020 wrote:

somebody said it before. To tell the person to seek their doctor's advise. However, if they know they not healthy or immunocompromised then best they take it (thats my advise). If you not then don't as, at the end of the day, you have no clue if you will have an adverse reaction nor what the long-term side effects of this vaccine are. So if you know you always have been able to fight of infections easy then take your chances. But if a little cold wind blow and you get the cold that you does be battling for weeks on end even after taking all kinda medication. Then take the vaccine as it supposedly raises your chances of dealing with this much more intensive flu.
She say all those docs still gonna let u say take it ..and that is why ppl dying.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 9th, 2021, 10:35 am

All other Caribbean countries protesting while we sit down and taking what we get?
We like it so?

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 10:38 am

Freedom day September 1st , let the soe lift and you will see protest
wtf wrote:All other Caribbean countries protesting while we sit down and taking what we get?
We like it so?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 10:44 am

aaron17 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

She say all those docs still gonna let u say take it ..and that is why ppl dying.

yup. Thats the agenda. Benefits outweigh the risks. So vaccinate to operate else no freedom for you u damn slave.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 10:45 am

hover11 wrote:203 million persons contracted covid 4.3 died, stop treating this like a death sentence just follow the protocols to safeguard yourself Screenshot_20210809-095652_Samsung%20Internet.jpg

1.21 B have been fully vaccinated worldwide so far. one could argue that a significant fraction of those who contracted covid and survived were vaccinated.

stop trying to spread misinformation about covid. it is your choice to not take the vaccine, we respect that. we not FORCING you to take the vaccine, but you coming to coerce everyone not to take it. if having a fractured ego due to some insecurities is causing you to post 'facts' about 'facts' without sources so u can feel relevant (about yourself), then people around you must see you as a toxic person they doh wanna be around. :roll:

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 10:50 am

wtf wrote:All other Caribbean countries protesting while we sit down and taking what we get?
We like it so?

They protest when it reach to them pushing mandatory vaccination. The PM mentioned considering it. But we haven't reached to it going before parliament. If that was to happen I am sure protests will start. Even so, turnout may be low as people fear reprisals. And we know the government and police would do all they can to publicize the protestors as this will jeopardise protesters livelihoods. Thus reducing the willingness to protest.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 10:56 am

What are you talking about , take a step back from global stats and let's look locally trinidad got vaccines very late.....our death toll is less than 1200 with caseload about 40k...what significant impact of vaccines are you talking about..we had Wuhan and gamma....yall speak about stats 1200 out of 40000 with a population less than 14 percent fully vaccinated I will take my chances with the protocols
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:203 million persons contracted covid 4.3 died, stop treating this like a death sentence just follow the protocols to safeguard yourself Screenshot_20210809-095652_Samsung%20Internet.jpg

1.21 B have been fully vaccinated worldwide so far. one could argue that a significant fraction of those who contracted covid and survived were vaccinated.

stop trying to spread misinformation about covid. it is your choice to not take the vaccine, we respect that. we not FORCING you to take the vaccine, but you coming to coerce everyone not to take it. if having a fractured ego due to some insecurities is causing you to post 'facts' about 'facts' without sources so u can feel relevant (about yourself), then people around you must see you as a toxic person they doh wanna be around. :roll:

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 11:12 am

st7 wrote:

As at December 31 2020 (before vaccination). There were 83,559,601 covid-19 cases and 1,824,953 deaths globally (https://covid.ourworldindata.org/data/o ... ata.xlsx... link to the xlsx file is https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus/ ... d-each-day). So once you got the virus there was a 2 per cent chance that you would die from it. Like I said before, covid-19 is not a death sentence. Also, what is interesting is that, covid-19 cases globally is now 202,936,214 and deaths are 4,298,483 (https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html). So, there has been 119,376,613 additional cases and 2,473,530 deaths despite 1.21 billion people being fully vaccinated. Makes you wonder.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 11:13 am

hover11 wrote:What are you talking about , take a step back from global stats and let's look locally trinidad got vaccines very late.....our death toll is less than 1200 with caseload about 40k...what significant impact of vaccines are you talking about..we had Wuhan and gamma....yall speak about stats 1200 out of 40000 with a population less than 14 percent fully vaccinated I will take my chances with the protocols
st7 wrote:

i provided some global stats. Waiting keenly on how they will try to contradict my data. Maybe they will question the source :drinking:

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 11:21 am

hover11 wrote:What are you talking about , take a step back from global stats and let's look locally trinidad got vaccines very late.....our death toll is less than 1200 with caseload about 40k...what significant impact of vaccines are you talking about..we had Wuhan and gamma....yall speak about stats 1200 out of 40000 with a population less than 14 percent fully vaccinated I will take my chances with the protocols
st7 wrote:

u cited 203 million persons with 4.3 mil dying... i was referring to the same global stats u were --- now you're taking it to local? man, your arguments are weak.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 11:26 am

elec2020 wrote:
st7 wrote:

As at December 31 2020 (before vaccination). There were 83,559,601 covid-19 cases and 1,824,953 deaths globally (https://covid.ourworldindata.org/data/o ... ata.xlsx... link to the xlsx file is https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus/ ... d-each-day). So once you got the virus there was a 2 per cent chance that you would die from it. Like I said before, covid-19 is not a death sentence. Also, what is interesting is that, covid-19 cases globally is now 202,936,214 and deaths are 4,298,483 (https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html). So, there has been 119,376,613 additional cases and 2,473,530 deaths despite 1.21 billion people being fully vaccinated. Makes you wonder.

damn, thanks for the research, i really didnt have the time to go in depth atm lol ... while the stats say it is not a death sentence, i not willing to take that chance. i have NO idea if i'll survive or not after contracting covid, and i really dont want to take that chance because the long term effects are fked up.
delta raping everybody this year though, and variants are stemmed from unvaxxed populous because it treats a susceptible body as a breeding ground.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 11:39 am

^ fair enough. I respect your choice and decision. I have never been one to discourage vaccination (as seen with my comments to aaron). What irks me is when people making out the vaccine to be a wonder drug and those who refusing it are stupid and the biggest threat to society since ISIS. My comments are just to highlight that concerns on the vaccine are just as warranted as concerns to get the vaccine. Stay safe brother.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2021, 11:45 am

elec2020 wrote:^ fair enough. I respect your choice and decision. I have never been one to discourage vaccination (as seen with my comments to aaron). What irks me is when people making out the vaccine to be a wonder drug and those who refusing it are stupid and the biggest threat to society since ISIS. My comments are just to highlight that concerns on the vaccine are just as warranted as concerns to get the vaccine. Stay safe brother.

I mean, vaccines are the closest thing to a magic bullet we have in fighting covid. It literally reduces your chance of dying to almost zero.

If you choosing not to take it, fine, just do the responsible thing and isolate as much as possible and maintain all public health measures. And yes vaccinated people can spreat it, but it's greatly reduced and spread from vaccinated to vacinated is a very low probability event.

Don't object to a new normal that is catering to ONLY vaccinated people though.

Remember the more unvaccinated we have the more probable variants become and the higher risk we have of starting over in this pandemic from square one.

Want out of this pandemic? Vaccination is literally the only solution we have.

The other is opening up everything and going back to normal with an attitude of who dead dead.....that will end up being at least 14,000 more people, possibly more.

Not to mention tens/thousands of thousands with harsh long term effects reducing their quality of life and leading to shorter lifespans.

So honestly, what else do we do?

Spend a few more years like this and devastate economies and lives? Or use what science and decades of reserch has bestowed us...magic bullets aka vaccines.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on August 9th, 2021, 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 9th, 2021, 11:49 am

Persons rush to get AZ at Tacarigua and SAPA

Right now Orange Grove road is impassable with the line of vehicles trying to access the Racquet Center in Tacarigua causing epic Traffic at Orange Gove, Macoya and Pasea Intersection on the CRH and EMR.

I also understand there is a similar rush at SAPA.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 11:52 am

Everybody rushing for AZ because they don't want to quarantine in Canada and Europe
cornfused wrote:Persons rush to get AZ at Tacarigua and SAPA

Right now Orange Grove road is impassable with the line of vehicles trying to access the Racquet Center in Tacarigua causing epic Traffic at Orange Gove, Macoya and Pasea Intersection on the CRH and EMR.

I also understand there is a similar rush at SAPA.

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 11:54 am

elec2020 wrote:^ fair enough. I respect your choice and decision. I have never been one to discourage vaccination (as seen with my comments to aaron). What irks me is when people making out the vaccine to be a wonder drug and those who refusing it are stupid and the biggest threat to society since ISIS. My comments are just to highlight that concerns on the vaccine are just as warranted as concerns to get the vaccine. Stay safe brother.

i mean it's not making you immunized (which sucks), but it's helping reduce the short and long term effects of covid. i respect anyone's decision to take or not take it.

like you, i'm just peeved when people are forcing their opinion but in this case, with not taking the vaccine. no one is fighting them to take it, but they keep pushing for others not to take it. it looks like they need validation for the decision they made not to take it and seeking it on a local public forum.

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Well...if i cant take it ..i would have to live in a bubble in fear.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Not true man just do the same as if you were vaccinated, you still have to wear a mask, sanitize as often as possible and social distance.....nothing changes just keep to the protocols and you will be safe
aaron17 wrote:Well...if i cant take it ..i would have to live in a bubble in fear.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 12:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

I mean, vaccines are the closest thing to a magic bullet we have in fighting covid. It literally reduces your chance of dying to almost zero.

If you choosing not to take it, fine, just do the responsible thing and isolate as much as possible and maintain all public health measures. And yes vaccinated people can spreat it, but it's greatly reduced and spread from vaccinated to vacinated is a very low probability event.

Don't object to a new normal that is catering to ONLY vaccinated people though.

Remember the more unvaccinated we have the more probable variants become and the higher risk we have of starting over in this pandemic from square one.

Want out of this pandemic? Vaccination is literally the only solution we have.

The other is opening up everything and going back to normal with an attitude of who dead dead.....that will end up being at least 14,000 more people, possibly more.

Not to mention tens/thousands of thousands with harsh long term effects reducing their quality of life and leading to shorter lifespans.

So honestly, what else do we do?

Spend a few more years like this and devastate economies and lives? Or use what science and decades of reserch has bestowed us...magic bullets aka vaccines.

hypocrite please leave me alone. Get the hint nah.