COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2021, 9:31 pm

hover11 wrote:Question when someone especially in a hospital catches the virus like his friend do they quarantine even if fully vaccinated like a 2 or 3 days nothing substantial ?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:some rather interesting news on my end(scratches head). One of my friends(MD) in SGGH tested + for the virus. She is fully vaccinated with the AZ. Today is day 2 since testing, she has the cough and fever. Would update accordingly

Once you have the virus...full quarantine until you test-. Vaccinated or not!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 9:34 pm

I was concerned because I'm seeing certain employers reputable might I add that are playing it off and telling their staff to come to work even if positive simply because the staff are vaccinated just was curious how it worked in the public health domain
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hover11 wrote:Question when someone especially in a hospital catches the virus like his friend do they quarantine even if fully vaccinated like a 2 or 3 days nothing substantial ?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:some rather interesting news on my end(scratches head). One of my friends(MD) in SGGH tested + for the virus. She is fully vaccinated with the AZ. Today is day 2 since testing, she has the cough and fever. Would update accordingly

Once you have the virus...full quarantine until you test-. Vaccinated or not!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 8th, 2021, 10:03 pm

hover11 wrote:I was concerned because I'm seeing certain employers reputable might I add that are playing it off and telling their staff to come to work even if positive simply because the staff are vaccinated just was curious how it worked in the public health domain

hover11 wrote:The same personal responsibility that we didn't have since 2020 March we supposed to miraculously obtain now, far from it, I have seen vaccinated persons walk the street with no masks and saying they immune what's the point , you seeing the level of thinking we have. I believe things will hit south yes we need to open up however our culture and mentality as a people does not factor in obedience

Provide evidence of your claims otherwise you are just making up scenarios to try to make a point.

Minion_Stuart

Postby Minion_Stuart » August 8th, 2021, 10:21 pm

Evaluation of the effectiveness and safety of adding ivermectin to treatment in severe COVID-19 patients

A total of 66 patients, 36 in the study group and 30 in the control group were included in the study. Mutations affecting ivermectin metabolism was detected in genetic tests of six (16.7%) patients in the study group and they were excluded from the study.
Last edited by Minion_Stuart on August 8th, 2021, 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 40104 cases, 1129 deaths, 5966 active, 33009 recovered in T&T

Postby RedVEVO » August 8th, 2021, 10:23 pm

hover11 wrote:I believe things will hit south yes we need to open up however our culture and mentality as a people does not factor in obedience

Hover11 is very correct in his astute observation .

Xtra GB Supermarket had a tremendous crowd this weekend . As you enter the Trini door attendants
inclusive of the security guards had NO MASKS .

They encourage peeps to take the temperature test - which in " their protocol " meant you were COVID free !

Evidence is a broad brush used by many people especially politicians.

Trini do not have the obedience but this is very similar to the USA population now faced with Delta . First the CDC told the population you can take off the mask but now the command is in reverse .

In the USA - You are mandated to wear masks now - Is this obedience ?

Trini MoH is actually doing a great job !

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2021, 10:34 pm

pugboy wrote:Source ?
What about flu?

adnj wrote:Projected causes of death in Trinidad and Tobago
January 1, to December 1, 2021

Coronary Heart Disease 1,956
Covid-19 1761
Diabetes Mellitus 1,702
Stroke 1,007
Violence 529
Influenza was passed as a cause of death in May 2021.

1886 deaths projected by December 1, 2021.

Take a look at the link for a nice little animation of the rankings of TTO's causes of death for the entire pandemic for a more thorough appreciation of the data. Note that the screen capture for selected causes of death is from the start of the pandemic.

https://www.worldlifeexpectancy.com/cou ... dad-tobagoImageImage

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 8th, 2021, 11:14 pm

^ thanks for that link!

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2021, 2:19 am

Venezuela grapples with rise in delta variant COVID cases

The Delta variant is delaying plans to lift COVID-19 restrictions in Venezuela. Businesses will continue operating one week on, one week off.

Public health experts are worried about this highly transmissible variant. Fewer than 4 percent of Venezuelans are fully vaccinated.

https://newsus.cgtn.com/news/2021-08-09 ... index.html

Postby Kenjo » August 9th, 2021, 3:09 am

aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Bros..is this real ? Inhalable vaccine?

She rather take that...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convidecia

Apparently it went through phase 3 trials?
And can be used for emergency use?

What’s her logic behind the mode or delivery though , is she just afraid of injections ? It absorbs through her mucus membranes anyway and goes into get blood

She told me it is safer than the vaccines.

She seems to be making stuff up now . If you have made your decision you might as well go get the vaccine because she doesn’t seem like she will change her opinion. It’s quite alright if she is so afraid of needles that she doesn’t want the vaccine

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 3:33 am

Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Bros..is this real ? Inhalable vaccine?

She rather take that...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convidecia

Apparently it went through phase 3 trials?
And can be used for emergency use?

What’s her logic behind the mode or delivery though , is she just afraid of injections ? It absorbs through her mucus membranes anyway and goes into get blood

She told me it is safer than the vaccines.

She seems to be making stuff up now . If you have made your decision you might as well go get the vaccine because she doesn’t seem like she will change her opinion. It’s quite alright if she is so afraid of needles that she doesn’t want the vaccine
I think religion is a factor because she rather be treated than hell. For me its tough, its like willing to die for your faith.

death365

Re: ALL retail will be opened from 16th and Lotto on 9th August

Postby death365 » August 9th, 2021, 5:51 am

So far is 36 and 6. 24 was the last mark to play, so 15 too

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2021, 6:04 am

4 and 5 is the marks to play.

Be careful people.

Think about how a play whe machine operates.
Alot of people sharing the same pen and counter and confined space to play a mark.
Realistically it can't be sanitised regularly.
Alot of elderly people who not wearing masks properly and who not sanitizing lining up 4 times a day to play mark.

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 8:24 am

This is a question is especially for dohplaydat...anyone can answer it.

Is early treatment and prophylaxis better than the vaccine? Or is there high of a risk of hospitalization and dying?

She telling me home treatment is better than hospitals when attacking the virus early.

Also she said since there are protests all over the world....why there are no spikes (cases in thousands)?

Need these answers asap!

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 8:38 am

Bump

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2021, 8:47 am

aaron17 wrote:This is a question is especially for dohplaydat...anyone can answer it.

Is early treatment and prophylaxis better than the vaccine? Or is there high of a risk of hospitalization and dying?

She telling me home treatment is better than hospitals when attacking the virus early.

Also she said since there are protests all over the world....why there are no spikes (cases in thousands)?

Need these answers asap!

there is no approved prophylaxis for covid19. Some people are using Ivermectin based on a pre-print study. Ivermectin is long-time medication for non-covid treatments, but you should call a doctor to get the OK before you start using it. Do not self-medicate.

Ideally you should get the vaccine. The vaccine will boost your antibody response and provide better protection than any home treatments.

The vaccine is not a treatment option. You need to get it before you get covid19. Vaccines take a few weeks to have any effect.

SARS-2-CoV can't always be treated home. The main feature of COVID19 is the drop in oxygen levels. Get a pulse oximeter (available at the pharmacy) and learn how to use it. If you see that your blood oxygen is dropping below 95, you should go to the hospital because that is serious and you need the hospital people to put you on oxygen.
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 9th, 2021, 8:54 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby eliteauto » August 9th, 2021, 8:49 am

Saw that they were adding $2M to the lotto jackpot bringing it to $7.2M, this is to encourage gamblers and even non-gamblers to "take a chook". NLCB is one of the easiest ways the state gets money from people, I hope they resist and keep their hard-earned cash for necessities. State-run lottos target the poorest levels of the society with dreams and fallacies, save allyuh money

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2021, 8:51 am

aaron17 wrote:This is a question is especially for dohplaydat...anyone can answer it.

Need these answers asap!

Only vaccine is recommended. It is a strong recommendation based on evidence.

Use of ANY known prophylaxis is NOT recommended - it is a strong recommendation based on expert opinion and some clinical evidence for use of hydroxychloroquine.

Prevention and Prophylaxis of SARS-CoV-2 Infection

Last Updated: July 8, 2021

Summary Recommendations

The COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines Panel (the Panel) recommends that health care providers follow recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices when using SARS-CoV-2 vaccines (AI).

The Panel recommends against the use of any drugs for SARS-CoV-2 pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), except in a clinical trial (AIII).

The Panel recommends against the use of hydroxychloroquine for SARS-CoV-2 post-exposure prophylaxis (PEP) (AI).

The Panel recommends against the use of other drugs for SARS-CoV-2 PEP, except in a clinical trial (AIII).

Rating of Recommendations: A = Strong; B = Moderate; C = Optional

Rating of Evidence: I = One or more randomized trials without major limitations; IIa = Other randomized trials or subgroup analyses of randomized trials; IIb = Nonrandomized trials or observational cohort studies; III = Expert opinion

https://www.covid19treatmentguidelines. ... ars-cov-2/
Last edited by adnj on August 9th, 2021, 8:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2021, 8:56 am

Need these answers asap!

Lord have mercy on these people.

Is she willing to live with long-form Covid? It seems so to me based on some of the questions being asked.

If religion is in play, her mind is closed forever. Only God can change it.

So you do you and protect yourself. If anything happens, she only has herself and family to blame.

My cousin who lives in NY called me last night. She is a total anti-vaxxer. It is like talking to a brick wall because she has an excuse for every reason why not to take the vaccine.

Worse yet, her mum is flying up soon without taking the vaccine either.

Talk about playing Russian roulette!

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 8:57 am

She firmly believes in this....a doc would visit home and give you this.....

dr. Anand Chattergoon
He said it can be treated successfully at home...You can get the same drugs ( antibiotics and steroids). Zinat and azytromycin. Other drugs...for inflammed lunges dezermetozone

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2021, 9:02 am

aaron17 wrote:She firmly believes in this....a doc would visit home and give you this.....

dr. Anand Chattergoon
He said it can be treated successfully at home...You can get the same drugs ( antibiotics and steroids). Zinat and azytromycin. Other drugs...for inflammed lunges dezermetozone
Bro, she might just need a new doctor and a new pastor.

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2021, 9:06 am

adnj wrote:Venezuela grapples with rise in delta variant COVID cases

The Delta variant is delaying plans to lift COVID-19 restrictions in Venezuela. Businesses will continue operating one week on, one week off.

Public health experts are worried about this highly transmissible variant. Fewer than 4 percent of Venezuelans are fully vaccinated.

No need to worry.

As Trinis were previously rejoicing, the Venezuelans and leaving, not coming in.

What we have to be mindful of are erroneous test results, Trini quarantine breachers and fake vaccination cards.

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2021, 9:08 am

bro you can't convince everyone but at least make sure you get a pulse oximeter in your home and know how to use it, ask the pharmacist.

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2021, 9:11 am

paid_influencer wrote:bro you can't convince everyone but at least make sure you get a pulse oximeter in your home and know how to use it, ask the pharmacist.
And she is an essential worker...

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 9:20 am

its her choice. Um on one hand the vaccine claims to mitigate the impact of COVID-19. Reducing the need for hospitalization as well as possible death. On the other hand, there is evidence of adverse reactions (some quite severe) as well as the fact that the unintended long-term effects (good/bad) of the vaccine are unknown. Added to that we getting vaccines from countries that no longer want to use it on their own populace (google the Johnson and Johnson debacle in the US and Astrazeneca getting dropped i think for certain age groups in Canada in June/July). Alongside the fact that you can't sue anyone for damages related to the vaccine as it is not fully approved then yh concerns on the vaccine are warranted regardless of what anyone tells u (its your body). Still, the person in question has to do what they think is best. For example, are they in good health, in a job that requires constant interaction with the public, are they immunocompromised, etc? If yes to immunocompromised and being in constant interaction with the public or not in good health and yes to being in constant interaction with the public then it may be best for them to take the vaccine. If otherwise, then they can take there chances (like me) and hope for the best and continue doing what they have been doing to protect their health during the pandemic. COVID-19 has not suddenly become a death sentence. Still, if you know you not in the best of health then to protect yourself best you take the vaccine as there is good research that found causality between poor health (obesity, hypertension, diabetes, etc) and covid-19 deaths.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 9th, 2021, 9:21 am

bluefete wrote:

Need these answers asap!

Lord have mercy on these people.

Is she willing to live with long-form Covid? It seems so to me based on some of the questions being asked.

If religion is in play, her mind is closed forever. Only God can change it.

So you do you and protect yourself. If anything happens, she only has herself and family to blame.

My cousin who lives in NY called me last night. She is a total anti-vaxxer. It is like talking to a brick wall because she has an excuse for every reason why not to take the vaccine.

Worse yet, her mum is flying up soon without taking the vaccine either.

Talk about playing Russian roulette!

so everyone who gets covid has long-form covid? So over 40,000 people in Trinidad and Tobago have long-form covid? Why the scare tactics?

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 9:32 am

Need these answers asap!

dude, honestly... we arent doctors/medical professionals.

seek the guidance of your GP... we cannot accurately answer these questions for you

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 9:34 am

Well said there are are hundreds of thousands that survived covid even delta and gamma with NO medical intervention or vaccines , yes some died but that doesn't mean it is a death sentence
elec2020 wrote:its her choice. Um on one hand the vaccine claims to mitigate the impact of COVID-19. Reducing the need for hospitalization as well as possible death. On the other hand, there is evidence of adverse reactions (some quite severe) as well as the fact that the unintended long-term effects (good/bad) of the vaccine are unknown. Added to that we getting vaccines from countries that no longer want to use it on their own populace (google the Johnson and Johnson debacle in the US and Astrazeneca getting dropped i think for certain age groups in Canada in June/July). Alongside the fact that you can't sue anyone for damages related to the vaccine as it is not fully approved then yh concerns on the vaccine are warranted regardless of what anyone tells u (its your body). Still, the person in question has to do what they think is best. For example, are they in good health, in a job that requires constant interaction with the public, are they immunocompromised, etc? If yes to immunocompromised and being in constant interaction with the public or not in good health and yes to being in constant interaction with the public then it may be best for them to take the vaccine. If otherwise, then they can take there chances (like me) and hope for the best and continue doing what they have been doing to protect their health during the pandemic. COVID-19 has not suddenly become a death sentence. Still, if you know you not in the best of health then to protect yourself best you take the vaccine as there is good research that found causality between poor health (obesity, hypertension, diabetes, etc) and covid-19 deaths.

Postby hover11 » August 9th, 2021, 9:39 am

Lotto operators will not be forced to vaccinate

RHIANNA MC KENZIE 8 HRS AGO[https://newsday]File photo
President of the Electronic Lotto Agents Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ELAATT) Allen Campbell said lotto agents will not be forced to take the covid19 vaccine.
In a phone interview with Newsday on Sunday, Campbell said taking the vaccine is a personal choice and the association will not make the vaccine mandatory for employees.
“We cannot alter the terms and conditions of an employee and force that employee to take the vaccine,” said Campbell.
He said under the Industrial Relations Act, vaccines cannot be made mandatory. “Since the vaccine is still in experimental stages, under no circumstance can we adversely alter the terms and conditions of any existing employees.”
He also said under the International Convention of Human rights, to which TT is a signatory, employees cannot be forced to take any experimental medication which can adversely affect his or her employment by coercion.

“Unless this country goes to Parliament and make it law, the vaccine cannot be made mandatory. It is because of this we are saying it is a personal issue. It is up to the individual to take it or not.”
He said the association has taken a stand against mandatory vaccinations. Several organisations in recent weeks have chosen to make vaccinations mandatory for employees. Those who chose not to be vaccinated are being required to present negative PCR tests to their employers on a weekly basis at their own expense.
He said what lotto operators are being instructed to do, however, is enforce covid19 protocols and state of emergency rules for themselves and for customers. “That is what we will be strict on. We will insist on it.”
He said the agents are pleased to be prioritised for reopening before other sectors. “We should have never been taken off the essential list,” he said. “The National Lotteries and Control Board (NLCB) is essential to the economy of TT.”
He said the NLCB was a “cash cow” that contributed a profit of $320 million into the Consolidated Fund.
“The NLCB usually generates $48 million every month with its various games.”
He said the NLCB also gives donations and contributions to non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and other organisations involved in sport and community affairs.
“This is a statutory body that generates capital, and the government does not have to pay. The government looks forward to the money generated by the NLCB.”
He said there are over 1,200 outlets where customers can also pay bills, which have contributed to less crowding at utility agencies such as Flow, and TT Electricity Commission (T&TEC).

He said operators have been in a difficult position as they have had to continue paying rent to landlords during the lockdown. “Because we are custodians of the (NLCB) equipment, if we do not pay rent, and are evicted, we are still responsible for the equipment.”
He said a grant of $4 million was requested from NLCB by operators to assist in keeping them afloat, which they have not received.
He said he was advised the money was available through a $20 million surplus

Postby st7 » August 9th, 2021, 9:44 am

hover11 wrote:Well said there are are hundreds of thousands that survived covid even delta and gamma with NO medical intervention or vaccines , yes some died but that doesn't mean it is a death sentence
elec2020 wrote:.

source?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 9th, 2021, 9:45 am

adnj wrote:Venezuela grapples with rise in delta variant COVID cases

No need to worry.

As Trinis were previously rejoicing, the Venezuelans and leaving, not coming in.

What we have to be mindful of are erroneous test results, Trini quarantine breachers and fake vaccination cards.

As the country starts to reopen, they will be back