COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Chimera » March 19th, 2020, 11:15 pm

Watching that vid, everyone with rakhi tie around their hand need to cut it off and discard it. Most people avoid getting it wet when washing hands

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 19th, 2020, 11:25 pm

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 19th, 2020, 11:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ Keith said NO conggggggregating....

Dunno why Trinis so harden.

Steups it’s our duty to ignore Keith

zorced

Postby zorced » March 19th, 2020, 11:30 pm

All of California on lockdown after midnight; only essential operations to be in effect....

https://www.wsj.com/articles/china-reports-no-new-domestic-coronavirus-infections-for-the-first-time-since-outbreak-started-11584611233

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 19th, 2020, 11:52 pm

K74T wrote:
IMG-20200319-WA0032.jpeg

Since this government is mostly targeting bars how are these people going to pay rent and loans?
Dotish Rowley strikes again.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 20th, 2020, 12:04 am

carluva wrote:Good advice there.

Hello carluva,

You are absolutely correct. As i mentioned before, the worst thing in battling Covid19 is the Trinidadian mentality. But the govt keeps saying...”We” are going to get through this as if there is order, togetherness and unity. Pricemart just sent out an advisory...no refunds on TP, wipes, paper towels, water etc....People eye too big and went on greed and selfish panic buying, and now want to return it.

It have no “WE” here in T&T.

The population is NOT putting enough effort. HAD Trinis been more responsible and stay dey harden ass home, the govt would not have closed the bars and restaurants etc...but they still congregated leaving the govt no choice. The same way u buy a beer in the grocery and leave, you could have done that in a bar. But no, allyuh must sit down and make a lime boldly going against Keith and Stuart’s instructions.

Trinis better pray this does not get worst, because they are incapable of working together.

so y dey returning it ? they rush for it and they dont want it ? do they believe the govt and think this is small ting or it will go away by april 20th? watch CNN/BBC/AL jazeer this sheit not going away. if they want to get rid of the hand sanitizer they can contact me but i not paying more than $10 for the regular pump bottle.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 20th, 2020, 12:05 am

Gladiator wrote:Just a reminder... this was the video that opened some of our eyes and others (especially those in Govts all over the world) refused to believe

Do we really trust China and their miraculous eradication of COVID-19

this video looking like something out of walking dead yes.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » March 20th, 2020, 12:07 am

toyota2nr wrote:
K74T wrote:
IMG-20200319-WA0032.jpeg

Since this government is mostly targeting bars how are these people going to pay rent and loans?
Dotish Rowley strikes again.
Well is the kinda ppl who does linebar and ppl who does lime in the river...... whoever that is

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 12:16 am

Death Toll reach 10,000+ people.... nearly 250,000 cases confirmed.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 20th, 2020, 12:33 am

Gladiator wrote:Death Toll reach 10,000+ people.... nearly 250,000 cases confirmed.

Yup, it's gonna get much worse over the next two months, hope allyuh ready.

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 1:07 am

Boy...go and get some rest... Before you become a statistic yourself.

If you really feel you have it pay the $900 by st Augustine private and get Yuh test. Fleck away with Deyalsingh and CARPHA. Take care of your family
Dohplaydat wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Death Toll reach 10,000+ people.... nearly 250,000 cases confirmed.

Yup, it's gonna get much worse over the next two months, hope allyuh ready.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2020, 1:27 am

zorced wrote:All of California on lockdown after midnight; only essential operations to be in effect....

https://www.wsj.com/articles/china-reports-no-new-domestic-coronavirus-infections-for-the-first-time-since-outbreak-started-11584611233

As much as we may not like it, that’s what needs to be done to stop the spread. Total lockdown. That’s what worked in China.

People in T&T commuting, going to work, shopping, etc etc and then going back home to do it all again the next day is NOT going to stop the spread.

You can be asymptomatic and spreading it all over including taking it home to your family and the elderly. Then 14 days later they are in need of hospitalization.

The longer we take to conform, the longer we will have to suffer for.

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 1:31 am

They getting ready to release the Carnival stats...

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19- ... o.facebook

COVID-19 victim interacts with 66 other people
by

Shaliza Hassanali
14 hours ago
Thu Mar 19 2020

Ministry of Health Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram.

ANISTO ALVES

A contact tracing undertaken on one of the country’s nine comfirmed COVID-19 cases has revealed that the individual had contact with 66 people while carrying the virus.

The information was revealed by chief medical officer Dr Roshan Parasram during Thursday’s post-Cabinet media briefing at the Diplomatic Center, St Ann’s.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh, who addressed the media on the COVID-19 pandemic, meanwhile said there was a feeling by the public that his ministry was hiding information about the virus by releasing the updates late at nights, which “was annoying the media.” As a result, he said his ministry has taken a position to provide the media with updates on the number of confirmed cases at 10 am and 4 pm daily.

Parasram then intervened, saying, “I think we would have given out too much, to be honest. We are walking a thin line when we are dealing with persons who are ill.”

He said the only person who should be issued information on a patient is the patient him/herself and their direct relatives.

He said the details the ministry shared to the media about the confirmed cases has been sufficient.

So far, Parasram said 150 tests were done on individuals who displayed symptoms of the virus, with nine people testing positive. He said contact tracing undertaken on one of confirmed cases also showed that the person had come into contact with 66 people.

Postby bluefete » March 20th, 2020, 4:10 am

This x 1,000,000.

This is an insidious disease that attacks your respiratory system. It is not nice at all.

CAL only now put out an ad for people who travelled on an infected aircraft one week ago to get in touch with them.

zorced wrote:All of California on lockdown after midnight; only essential operations to be in effect....

As much as we may not like it, that’s what needs to be done to stop the spread. Total lockdown. That’s what worked in China.

People in T&T commuting, going to work, shopping, etc etc and then going back home to do it all again the next day is NOT going to stop the spread.

You can be asymptomatic and spreading it all over including taking it home to your family and the elderly. Then 14 days later they are in need of hospitalization.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 5:21 am

bluefete wrote:This x 1,000,000.

This is an insidious disease that attacks your respiratory system. It is not nice at all.

CAL only now put out an ad for people who travelled on an infected aircraft one week ago to get in touch with them.

but, if u dont test, the numbers will remain low, so we can continue to be a model cuntry for other countries to emulate.

lets do this!!!

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 6:46 am

I got a call last night, after which I feel compelled to say the following.

In the coming months, brace for shortages and get used to doing more with less.
Skilled hunters, survivalists, and boat owners might just end up being some of the most sought after people in this place.
July will NOT be long enough to get a handle on this if our infected reach into the '00's in the coming months. Think Feb.-Mar. 2021

Be ready, when the proverbial SHTF, it will splatter.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 7:09 am

july is to get over the hump of the virus, not to recover the economy

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 7:10 am

that is inevitable, supply chains around the world are being disrupted/stopped
shortages in north america worse than here
so the disruption must be felt at some point in time
hopefully at least the supply of basic items will not run dry before things stabilize

keep some stock of basics, carbs/rice/pasta etc
and some canned proteins

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 7:11 am

the govt needs to make sure certain supply chains dont get disrupted
eg fuel supply on the ground and Paria's suppliers

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 7:14 am

pugboy wrote:the govt needs to make sure certain supply chains dont get disrupted
eg fuel supply on the ground and Paria's suppliers

fuel supplies are going to be the least of our problems.

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2020, 7:18 am

pugboy wrote:that is inevitable, supply chains around the world are being disrupted/stopped
hopefully at least the supply of basic items will not run dry before things stabilize

and some canned proteins

Meanwhile there are those who are saying " stop panic buying" . We should wait until stocks run low or run out and have no food and supplies for our family ? Remember we don't know how long it will last .

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 7:27 am

we really dont know

but it not hard to buy a 10kg rice/flour or two this week
If you have freezer stock basic meats
canned stuff

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:that is inevitable, supply chains around the world are being disrupted/stopped

and some canned proteins

Meanwhile there are those who are saying " stop panic buying" . We should wait until stocks run low or run out and have no food and supplies for our family ? Remember we don't know how long it will last .

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 7:30 am

rspann wrote:Meanwhile there are those who are saying " stop panic buying" . We should wait until stocks run low or run out and have no food and supplies for our family ? Remember we don't know how long it will last .

Ask yourself this
If there is a food shortage, and that shortage outlasts your panic bought food supplies by a couple months, then what do you do between when your food done & supply chains being restored, besides starve or fall into chaos with everybody else?

Like I said, get used to doing more with less, and be prepared mentally, strategically, & physically, not just with stockpiles of necessities.
Worse comes to worst, you may need those first 3 to defend the last one

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 20th, 2020, 7:31 am

How is the lines at supermarkets, pricesmart now? Are there still crowds of people at these places? Or things settled down now?

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 7:34 am

rspann wrote:Meanwhile there are those who are saying " stop panic buying" . We should wait until stocks run low or run out and have no food and supplies for our family ? Remember we don't know how long it will last .

Ask yourself this
If there is a food shortage, and that shortage outlasts your panic bought food supplies by a couple months, then what do you do between when your food done & supply chains being restored, besides starve or fall into chaos with everybody else?

Like I said, get used to doing more with less, and be prepared mentally, strategically, & physically, not just with stockpiles of necessities.
Worse comes to worst, you may need those first 3 to defend the last one

so all the retrenchments were training, lol

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 7:40 am

pricesmart was normal yesterday
did not look like any panic buying

fokhan_96 wrote:How is the lines at supermarkets, pricesmart now? Are there still crowds of people at these places? Or things settled down now?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 20th, 2020, 8:03 am

I haven't been to a supermarket or pricesmart for about 2 weeks, trying to avoid those places. Would probably give it another week fir things to settle down before going.
pugboy wrote:pricesmart was normal yesterday
did not look like any panic buying

fokhan_96 wrote:How is the lines at supermarkets, pricesmart now? Are there still crowds of people at these places? Or things settled down now?

abbow

Postby abbow » March 20th, 2020, 8:07 am

screwbash wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Just a reminder... this was the video that opened some of our eyes and others (especially those in Govts all over the world) refused to believe

You think Walking Dead and similar shows are just for entertainment??

Basically they prepping you for whats to come.

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 8:25 am

It's Called Mental conditioning:

Walking dead
Avengers end game
Contagion
Birdbox
Colony
I am legend
World War Z
abbow wrote:
screwbash wrote:

You think Walking Dead and similar shows are just for entertainment??

Basically they prepping you for whats to come.