Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby crazybalhead » November 3rd, 2011, 1:55 pm

Duane WHAT KINDA TROLLY ANSWER IS DAT??

Anyhow:

http://www.soundstage.com/index.php?opt ... s&Itemid=4

Having owned the V.2 of this speaker I can vouch for everything said. Bought in 1999, they have been one of my most cherished purchases.

I'm extremely excited to get the new versions reviewed here. Even if they will "just" be surrounds.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2011, 11:36 pm

^ hope I get invited for an audition of those new speakers!

Postby Razkal » November 7th, 2011, 10:06 am

yunno i never really checked this thread out..should post what i have and see what y'all could suggest.

i'll check the exact models but its infinity LR towers and centre, bose surrounds, denon rec and d-box sub 500.

they're positioned like sheit currently, the living room got rearranged and nothing is replaced on the cabinet

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 7th, 2011, 4:41 pm

Decided to rice it up a lil bit...

The light isnt actually that intense though...thats the cell phone cam doing that...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 7th, 2011, 5:04 pm

^ cool - what did you use?
Ikea has a readymade one called Dioder, but it just cycles through colours like neons for your car

Phillips Tvs had something called Ambilight which are lights behind the TV that actually show colours based on what is showing on the TV, this added that extra impact when watching movies etc.

This guy did it using some circuit boards and a patch-through the HDMI signal on a regular TV
http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/05/ardu ... ome-ambil/

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » November 7th, 2011, 5:13 pm

I did the same last year. See attached pic. Sorry I dont have a full pic but I will try to get one and post it up.
293267_10150259472801863_595641862_8019683_4158948_n.jpg

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 7th, 2011, 5:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ cool - what did you use?
Ikea has a readymade one called Dioder, but it just cycles through colours like neons for your car

Phillips Tvs had something called Ambilight which are lights behind the TV that actually show colours based on what is showing on the TV, this added that extra impact when watching movies etc.

This guy did it using some circuit boards and a patch-through the HDMI signal on a regular TV
http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/05/ardu ... ome-ambil/

I used this
http://www.amazon.com/PPA-OLSHARGB-Acce ... d_sim_hi_1

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 11th, 2011, 10:36 am

Anyone know who has Electric Projection Screens selling?

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2011, 8:32 pm

i need one of those digital audio out cables
anyone has an extra to sell?

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » November 13th, 2011, 10:48 am

rmtuner wrote:Anyone know who has Electric Projection Screens selling?

circuitzone...check online

their price pretty descent

15devils

Postby 15devils » November 14th, 2011, 9:07 am

hey,i noticed while i playing games etc,my home theater system gives off a humming noise for a 30secs and then dies.after probing online,i found that if you have other plugs and wires close to the setup you get grounding problems.How can i resolve this ? separate the wires ? cause they just jumble up @ the back.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 14th, 2011, 9:34 am

^ Keep your power wires away from your signal wires (HDMI, coaxial and RCA leads)

Also an A/V power component will help to solve that problem
like the Panamax M5300-PM
http://www.panamax.com/Products/A-V-Com ... 300-PM.php
units like these regulate voltage and clean out any noise and hums that come from a/c power.

there are also some more affordable units like the Monster power strip with clean power

Monster HTS 950 8 Outlet PowerCenter with Clean Power Stage 1
http://www.amazon.com/Monster-Outlet-Po ... 742&sr=8-7

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2011, 9:39 pm

RapToR wrote:
HCCA wrote:^^Trader's Club in gulf view had some Monster cable 6 ft for $35. Circuit Zone have as well but more like $200 for it.

I had for $50

Might still have 1 or 2 left

yuh still have the digital audio cables?
when next u up st augustine ?

casper

Postby casper » November 23rd, 2011, 2:15 pm

wish i cudda read through this entire thread but it's 77 frickin pages :o

lookin for somn good to run on my ps3 and a 40" LED tv...help a bro out nah...right now i leaning towards okyo and pioneer...never really liked yamaha that much for other stuff...and well i initially liked the sony that price smart selling but as i do more research on this i nuh seeing mentioning on sony AV recievers at all...so i guess sony out of the list :lol:

Anton

Postby Anton » November 23rd, 2011, 3:56 pm

Was going through my phone and found a couple pics of my Dayton Audio B652. Thought I would share

IMG-20110927-00202.jpg

IMG-20110927-00203.jpg

IMG-20110927-00205.jpg

IMG-20110927-00206.jpg

Taken from Parts Express
Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair

The B652's two-way design features a 6-1/2" polypropylene cone woofer and a 5/8" polycarbonate ferrofluid cooled dome tweeter to accurately reproduce audio from 70 through 20,000 Hz. Complement the low-end with a Dayton Audio subwoofer for an audio experience rivaling many high priced speaker systems. Installation features include quick connect speaker terminals and key-hole hanger. Removable grill. These small, powerful speakers make a great addition to any living space.

Specifications: • Woofer: 6-1/2" polypropylene • Tweeter: 5/8" polycarbonate ferrofluid cooled • Power Handling: 40 watts RMS/75 watts max • Impedance: 8 ohms • Frequency Response: 70-20,000 Hz • Sensitivity: 87 dB 1W/1m • Dimensions: 11-13/16" (H) x 7-1/16" (W) x 6-7/16" (D) • Sold in pairs.

These little speakers have been making a lot of noise among audiophiles and recreational speaker enthusiasts alike.

My Impression
The cabinets came well packaged, the cabinets are constructed well and are quite attractive. The grills are removable.
They sound quite good considering the price point ($400tt per pair landed courtesy raptor)
Currently have a pair wired in series for my center channel and a pair for my L and R mains on my pioneer VSX-820 receiver, high-passed at 80Hz. They handle the 65 watts rms per channel with ease. For movies they fit the bill quite nicely with excellent tone and vocals. For music, audiophiles might wish they were a little less bright and maybe a bit more transparent, but it is after all a $400 pair of speakers.

In summary the B652s are excellent value for money! Will be ordering another pair soon to replace my rear surrounds.

Will review the Dayton Audio 10" powered sub-100 when it gets here
8-)

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 24th, 2011, 8:22 am

People, I was doing some research on the Panamax 5100 and came across a review that said the following under the "cons" - "Does not provide voltage regulated output. In other words, the voltage that comes in, is what goes to your components. The M5100-PM does not up-step or down-step the voltage to maintain a constant 120 volt flow to your components"

Now I'm thinking shouldn't that be a basic function of a HT Power Management system?

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2011, 9:02 am

^ the 5400 does that

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 24th, 2011, 9:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the 5400 does that

Read that, but to me spending 400+USD on a unit (5100) that doesn't even do that isn't very smart.

casper

Postby casper » November 24th, 2011, 10:23 am

AGENT RORO wrote:People, I was doing some research on the Panamax 5100 and came across a review that said the following under the "cons" - "Does not provide voltage regulated output. In other words, the voltage that comes in, is what goes to your components. The M5100-PM does not up-step or down-step the voltage to maintain a constant 120 volt flow to your components"

Now I'm thinking shouldn't that be a basic function of a HT Power Management system?

That come like an unregulated power supply for a car audio amp....some ppl prefer this cuz it enables them to give the amp more voltage and get more power from it...of course it's downfall is the fact that if ur voltage drops to less than the voltage the manufacturers rated the system at u'll get less power...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2011, 6:04 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Read that, but to me spending 400+USD on a unit (5100) that doesn't even do that isn't very smart.
unless your voltage at home goes higher than 120v and lower than 105v often you really wont need a voltage stabilizer or regulator according to alot of A/V and HT forums

I think the added price is for the capacitors that store extra power to ensure the voltage stays the same - however the power from stabilizers can be slightly lower due to resistance, unless amplified.

read here
http://www.ehow.com/how-does_5037887_vo ... -work.html

a UPS may not work in place of this since a UPS only goes to battery power in the event of a power loss - it does not feed off the battery otherwise.

The two more important features I think then are surge suppression and line filters to clean a clean and noise free power supply.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 24th, 2011, 6:57 pm

casper wrote:wish i cudda read through this entire thread but it's 77 frickin pages :o

lookin for somn good to run on my ps3 and a 40" LED tv...help a bro out nah...right now i leaning towards okyo and pioneer...never really liked yamaha that much for other stuff...and well i initially liked the sony that price smart selling but as i do more research on this i nuh seeing mentioning on sony AV recievers at all...so i guess sony out of the list :lol:

I have a sony. I like it because it has three HDMI inputs and it sounds good too. The guys in here are pretty hardcore though. Read customer reviews and listen to the systems at stores if you can. You may be very satisfied with a system that costs a lot less than half the stuff posted in here

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2011, 9:19 am

AGENT RORO wrote:

unless your voltage at home goes higher than 120v and lower than 105v often you really wont need a voltage stabilizer or regulator according to alot of A/V and HT forums

I think the added price is for the capacitors that store extra power to ensure the voltage stays the same - however the power from stabilizers can be slightly lower due to resistance, unless amplified.

read here
http://www.ehow.com/how-does_5037887_vo ... -work.html

a UPS may not work in place of this since a UPS only goes to battery power in the event of a power loss - it does not feed off the battery otherwise.

The two more important features I think then are surge suppression and line filters to clean a clean and noise free power supply.
Well Duane, I've checked with a multimeter, and my triplite voltage regulator has a display. Typically with low loads in the morning Voltage is 120-127v

Around 5-6PM when everybody and they aunty, pappy and grandpa reach home and put on their dryers, AC's etc, voltage can sag as low as 104v.

Humes

Postby Humes » November 25th, 2011, 9:23 am

Humes

Postby Humes » November 25th, 2011, 9:25 am

CBH, which Tripplite do you have? Watching one in PriceSmart...

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2011, 9:27 am

Humes wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004OVECU0?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Harmony 650 on sale in an hour eh.

One ah them local sites have them in stock for a good price. sheit...trying to remember which site.

The same triplite in Pmart, with the UPS and blue voltage display.

Humes

Postby Humes » November 25th, 2011, 9:31 am

That self. Great.

Postby pioneer » November 25th, 2011, 9:41 am

I have dat same one an all...it de bess

Humes

Postby Humes » November 25th, 2011, 10:17 am

That remote sell out before my eyes yes. It dropped to $40.

casper

Postby casper » November 25th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Humes the tripplite with the blue digital display in price smart works really good...i have one too for 2 years going strong...and current does rel go and come back one time where i live...it protected all my units i have hooked up on it :)

Humes

Postby Humes » November 26th, 2011, 7:33 pm

Ok, I was looking forward to playing around and figuring this out myself, but I figure I better ask first since my purchases might determine the results.

I'll be working with:
- TV (obviously)
- HTPC
- Cable box
- Lava lamp
- A/V receiver with speakers

How exactly will I be putting these together? Just plug everything into the receiver? It's mostly the HTPC I'm wondering about.