COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2021, 7:35 pm

hover11 wrote:There is a reason why even vaccinated persons must still adhere to the protocols, face masks are still a priority and social distancing......note that at the moment children in trinidad are among the unvaccinated not by choice .....no word on pfizer.
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:What I'm saying is people who get the vaccine and believe they are immune will be our downfall .....simple
hover11 wrote:The same personal responsibility that we didn't have since 2020 March we supposed to miraculously obtain now, far from it, I have seen vaccinated persons walk the street with no masks and saying they immune what's the point , you seeing the level of thinking we have. I believe things will hit south yes we need to open up however our culture and mentality as a people does not factor in obedience
toyolink wrote:Unfortunately, the lock-down strategy coupled with other measures and the vaccination drive has not achieved the required levels of transmission suppression and the financial impact is just no longer sustainable.
The opening up of T&T will certainly mean that each citizen will have to voluntarily demonstrate a significant level of personal self discipline to avoid the pandemic and its mutations from causing us all grave harm.
In our hands will be placed a greater control of our destiny.
As it stands today our economy and our lives have been at a stand still for 1 1/2 years and the pain and suffering is undeniable and most especially our children.

So what that has to do with you protecting yourself?
Yet you don't want to get vaccinated?
Are you saying that you lack the discipline that is described wrt Covid-19?

Our biggest problem will still be the unvaccinated. They get sicker, spread more and lead to more hospitalizations and death. Keep thinking that the vaccinated are the bigger problem.

I agree vaccinated still need to follow protocols but you talking like if unvaccinated people are some group of persons who follow all protocol.
The more vaccinated people you have the better…… you think the majority of unvaccinated people are the model of mask wearing and social distancing ?

PariaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39577 cases, 1117 deaths, 5823 active, 32637 recovered in T&T

Postby PariaMan » August 7th, 2021, 7:42 pm

Antivaxxers think either

A. Virus not serious

B. Virus serious but there immune system is such that they will not get sick

Hence they are the ones who most likely will be lax in terms of precautions

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:There is a reason why even vaccinated persons must still adhere to the protocols, face masks are still a priority and social distancing......note that at the moment children in trinidad are among the unvaccinated not by choice .....no word on pfizer.
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:What I'm saying is people who get the vaccine and believe they are immune will be our downfall .....simple
hover11 wrote:The same personal responsibility that we didn't have since 2020 March we supposed to miraculously obtain now, far from it, I have seen vaccinated persons walk the street with no masks and saying they immune what's the point , you seeing the level of thinking we have. I believe things will hit south yes we need to open up however our culture and mentality as a people does not factor in obedience
toyolink wrote:Unfortunately, the lock-down strategy coupled with other measures and the vaccination drive has not achieved the required levels of transmission suppression and the financial impact is just no longer sustainable.
The opening up of T&T will certainly mean that each citizen will have to voluntarily demonstrate a significant level of personal self discipline to avoid the pandemic and its mutations from causing us all grave harm.
As it stands today our economy and our lives have been at a stand still for 1 1/2 years and the pain and suffering is undeniable and most especially our children.

Our biggest problem will still be the unvaccinated. They get sicker, spread more and lead to more hospitalizations and death. Keep thinking that the vaccinated are the bigger problem.

I agree vaccinated still need to follow protocols but you talking like if unvaccinated people are some group of persons who follow all protocol.
The more vaccinated people you have the better…… you think the majority of unvaccinated people are the model of mask wearing and social distancing ?

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2021, 11:18 pm

PariaMan wrote:Antivaxxers think either

A. Virus not serious

B. Virus serious but there immune system is such that they will not get sick

Hence they are the ones who most likely will be lax in terms of precautions

j.o.e wrote:

You went wrong at antivaxers think

Re: ALL retail will be opened from 16th and Lotto on 9th August

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2021, 11:31 pm

^ there will still be spread with workers being in close contact for hours at a time and every day and i sure some of them eh business with mask

BUG

Postby BUG » August 7th, 2021, 11:39 pm

Rovin wrote:i predict no business or business place will ram out with ppl

jes a few wks ago some tort it wud happen with fast food places but it didnt

about half d country was unemployed over d past 3 mths so it will take at least 1 wk for ppl to start back earning some $ for d economy to slowly gradually restart ...

It didn't happen for the very reason you just said lol: "about half d country was unemployed over d past 3 months." You fill up workplaces again and they in turn will fill up the takeaways etc.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 8th, 2021, 12:06 am

Why didnt we enforce pcr testing for everyone long before as criteria for jobs like they want to do now for unvaccinated people?

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2021, 12:09 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Gyms??

For ppl to exhale more covid germs when they breathing hard with masks off?

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2021, 12:19 am

eitech wrote:Why didnt we enforce pcr testing for everyone long before as criteria for jobs like they want to do now for unvaccinated people?

Because now we are forced to choose between a prolonged lockdown and massive spread due to variants becoming more and more contagious so protocols have to increase. And also America doing it with federal workers so we are following suit.

I can see labs offering package deals now on pcr tests.

If you are a medical lab and u not offering pcr tests u missing out on a lot of revenue.

Postby RedVEVO » August 8th, 2021, 3:56 am

De Dragon wrote:Stocking up this week for an extended work-home only routine, so next week when the dummies run out like Covid over, and start jackarsing the scene, I safe.

Sounds like a logical plan to stock up on food items NOW :D

Delta is causing havoc internationally !

Can T&T Peeps handle ANOTHER wave and shut down ?

1,129 Dead

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 8th, 2021, 5:55 am

stocking up for about 3 years worth of food is the best thing to do. think 6 hundred pound bags of supplies such as beans, flour, rice and vinegar and salt to pickles vegetables and meat, i tried to grow regular aloo in buckets and get about 15 pounds per plant in 4-5 months. in 3 years covid should level off and a proper vaccine delivered and the economies of the world should bounce back.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 8th, 2021, 6:04 am

monday is 9th so the mark is 6, belly. nlcb have to make back 3 months of lost revenue so we know the next lotto will not be won till end of years and that play whe go be playing hard.

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2021, 7:20 am

band allyuh belly

stock up on the pricey stuff u like to eat
vacuum freeze pack etc

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2021, 7:28 am

eitech wrote:Why didnt we enforce pcr testing for everyone long before as criteria for jobs like they want to do now for unvaccinated people?

Simple, now we need to reopen and we have a solution that reduces spread and virtually eliminates Covid death (the vaccine).

And btw many front line workers did have to take weekly Covid tests prior the vaccine.

Another thing, the more vacinated people are the less likely we are to develop new and dangerous variants.

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2021, 7:37 am

also vaxxed persons if they get infected are sick much shorter timeframe

so less time to be spreadable and less strain on human resources being shutdown

but they don’t see it this way

they only studying vaxxed can still spread

Dohplaydat wrote:
Another thing, the more vacinated people are the less likely we are to develop new and dangerous variants.

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2021, 7:47 am

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2021, 8:44 am

FB_IMG_1628426192649.jpg

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » August 8th, 2021, 8:47 am

pugboy wrote:also vaxxed persons if they get infected are sick much shorter timeframe

Dohplaydat wrote:

Divide and conquer, vaccination style.

Postby De Dragon » August 8th, 2021, 9:39 am

Carbon12 wrote:
pugboy wrote:also vaxxed persons if they get infected are sick much shorter timeframe

Dohplaydat wrote:

Well this is a new one from the anti vax camp. :?
Soldier there are many, many proven ways to divide people like race, religion politics etc. Why TF would BILLIONS of people create a pandemic to do what has been successfully done via other means for hundreds of years? Division Immunity? :roll:

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 9:47 am

Being vaxxed doesn't take away that you can still be a carrier, regardless of less or more, you can still pass the virus onto others

Dohplaydat wrote:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2021, 9:51 am

hover11 wrote:Being vaxxed doesn't take away that you can still be a carrier, regardless of less or more, you can still pass the virus onto others

Dohplaydat wrote:

You're far less likely, 80% less in fact. Reason enough for me.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 8th, 2021, 9:52 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:Being vaxxed doesn't take away that you can still be a carrier, regardless of less or more, you can still pass the virus onto others

Dohplaydat wrote:

And if you fall in the other 20%?

Postby hover11 » August 8th, 2021, 9:56 am

We just forget about them lol
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Postby De Dragon » August 8th, 2021, 9:57 am

eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

A successful risk mitigation strategy would make you take the 80% almost every time.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2021, 10:12 am

hover11 wrote:We just forget about them lol
eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

No No.

80% less likely means that your probability of spreading it is 80% less than a unvaccianted person. There is no '20%'. It's an average reduction of risk.

Think of it like this.

100 people go by a barber for a trim.....he's covid positve, and unvaccinated. He ends up infecting 30 of his clients.

If he was vaccinated he would have infected only 6 people versus 30 as 30 * (1-0.8) = 6. Now new results from the Uk with Delta show 3 times less chance of infection. So worse case 10 would be infected.

Now, if he was vaccianted the odds of him being covid+ would be greatly reduced.

Now if half of his clients were vaccinted, possibly much less would be infected.

So now you seeing the difference vaccination makes.

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 10:36 am

Guys i seeing the benefits but right now my other half does not see it...she wants to wait til idk when effects pop up in population and safe. For me it might be too late. If i go against her ...it might be a fallout with both of us....trust issues etc and eventually marriage related. So what to do in that situation? I told her is my choice.

New: And she saying it have treatments like ivermectin. So she good to take this rather than vacc. I told her everthing that the vacc. does rather than treatment.
Last edited by aaron17 on August 8th, 2021, 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 10:39 am

if it bears repeating (antivaxxers love this revolving door bs) ... being vaccinated PREVENTS you from serious illness, hospitalization and death. u are also LESS LIKELY to spread the virus since the VIRAL LOAD is waaay lower than the viral load of an UNVAXXED person.

have a look at this article dated on Friday:
https://edition.cnn.com/2021/08/06/heal ... index.html

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2021, 10:43 am

aaron17 wrote:Guys i seeing the benefits but right now my other half does not see it...she wants to wait til idk when effects pop up in population and safe. For me it might be too late. If i go against her ...it might be a fallout with both of us....trust issues etc and eventually marriage related. So what to do in that situation? I told her is my choice.

New: And she saying it have treatments like ivermectin. So she good to take this rather than vacc. I told her everthing that the vacc. does rather than treatment.

ask her 'what if effects do not pop up?' how long is she willing to wait?

also tell her that you and her are not medical professions and scouring the internet looking for something to confirm your personal theories do not count. seek the advice of your doctor and see what they say.

that's the best i can do

Postby aaron17 » August 8th, 2021, 10:49 am

She trusting flccc site

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » August 8th, 2021, 10:54 am

Carbon12 wrote:

Dohplaydat wrote:

Well this is a new one from the anti vax camp. :?
Soldier there are many, many proven ways to divide people like race, religion politics etc. Why TF would BILLIONS of people create a pandemic to do what has been successfully done via other means for hundreds of years? Division Immunity? :roll:

In the psychology information vid I posted confirms what you are saying, mass psychosis.
In chess the pawns go first, your point is?

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2021, 10:59 am

aaron17 wrote:She trusting flccc site

Show her this:

https://www.miamiherald.com/news/corona ... 90108.html

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-02081-w

If she still insists, then you take your jab and let her take ivermectin whenever it is approved beyond clinical trials.

And then you will have some tough decisions to make.

Always remember that your health is your wealth.