COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39345 cases, 1110 deaths, 5781 active, 32454 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » August 5th, 2021, 8:19 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Plenty local entertainers in New York right now for concerts/shows.

I personally fraid to travel for a 2 years.
pugboy wrote:everybody I know knows somebody who is presently out,had or planned to go usa to get jab or vacay

Yea I saw some of the first people to fly out were some of them radio DJs - Travis World, Major Penny and Voice.

Then thereafter the Chutney crew leave. But KI, Riki Jai and Ravi B reside in the US and Canada so they were there already anyhows.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39345 cases, 1110 deaths, 5781 active, 32454 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 5th, 2021, 9:56 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Plenty local entertainers in New York right now for concerts/shows.

I personally fraid to travel for a 2 years.
pugboy wrote:everybody I know knows somebody who is presently out,had or planned to go usa to get jab or vacay

UK soca scene picking up pace too....

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2021, 10:01 am

I does real miss liming but d risk eh worth it.

I went blanchi 2 weekends ago and one of my padnas went on the beach and was bathing.
Police run in the house a while after looking for him because he run when he see them coming

I mean Daz their job eh...but 8 heavily armed police in 2 vehicles to stop a man from bathing in the beach in a secluded area

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39162 cases, 1101 deaths, 5756 active, 32305 recovered in T&T

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2021, 11:23 am

PariaMan wrote:If there was a vaccine for stupid there would be no anti vaxxers

Cambridge-educated anti-vaxx solicitor, 58, recorded video saying Covid 'is nothing to be afraid of' and explaining why he is still against the vaccine - nine days before dying from the disease

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... sease.html

Mmoney607

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 39162 cases, 1101 deaths, 5756 active, 32305 recovered in T&T

Postby Mmoney607 » August 5th, 2021, 11:45 am

bluefete wrote:

Cambridge-educated anti-vaxx solicitor, 58, recorded video saying Covid 'is nothing to be afraid of' and explaining why he is still against the vaccine - nine days before dying from the disease

He is 58? Really?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 5th, 2021, 12:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I went blanchi 2 weekends ago and one of my padnas went on the beach and was bathing.
Police run in the house a while after looking for him because he run when he see them coming

Yuh fren is a fag? Why he run for? Right he is bad man and want to break the law? He should have stood up to them and tell them that his civil liberties are being violated and they could go eff themselves.

Phone Surgeon wrote:I mean Daz their job eh...but 8 heavily armed police in 2 vehicles to stop a man from bathing in the beach in a secluded area

Do you really think that they were patrolling only to see the law breaking beach bathers? They could not be just on a general patrol for any other law breaking activities, for example, illegal drug shipments coming up on the coastline?

In my opinion, the TTPS should have shot your friend for being a fag and running away.

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2021, 12:25 pm

I doh like mailonline

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2021, 12:27 pm

He was drunk and high out of his mind lol.
And I feel the marine patrol was out calling them in because every time someone went in the water from any house near to us..Police show up a 20 mins later.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I went blanchi 2 weekends ago and one of my padnas went on the beach and was bathing.

Yuh fren is a fag? Why he run for? Right he is bad man and want to break the law? He should have stood up to them and tell them that his civil liberties are being violated and they could go eff themselves.

Phone Surgeon wrote:I mean Daz their job eh...but 8 heavily armed police in 2 vehicles to stop a man from bathing in the beach in a secluded area

Do you really think that they were patrolling only to see the law breaking beach bathers? They could not be just on a general patrol for any other law breaking activities, for example, illegal drug shipments coming up on the coastline?

In my opinion, the TTPS should have shot your friend for being a fag and running away.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Wanting to bathe in the beach don't mean yuh is a bad man eh. It could just mean yuh like the beach and want to bathe in it lol
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 5th, 2021, 12:33 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Wanting to bathe in the beach don't mean yuh is a bad man eh. It could just mean yuh like the beach and want to bathe in it lol

What does it mean then when, at present, bathing in beaches and rivers is illegal?

TTPS should have shot yuh fren for (1) being a fag and running away and (2) for not being able to hold his alcohol.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2021, 12:35 pm

plenty ppl fishing and boat liming drinking normal
ttps can’t check them for masks and ting out at sea

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2021, 12:38 pm

Okay rory . Next time you see police bracing someone for breaking the law make sure and jump out yuhself and tell them shoot them. Don't forget eh.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 5th, 2021, 12:41 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Okay rory . Next time you see police bracing someone for breaking the law make sure and jump out yuhself and tell them shoot them. Don't forget eh.

8-) Will do for sure! Do have a nice day.

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 12:59 pm

Vaccine-Resistant Epsilon Variant of Covid-19 Detected in Pakistan, Raises Alarm For India

Researchers have said that the Epsilon strain of Covid-19 is resistant to all available vaccines.

Published: August 1, 2021

New Delhi: Another variant of coronavirus, Epsilon, which was first identified in California in 2020, has reached closer to home. The highly transmissible covid variant has been recently detected in Pakistan, making it a cause of concern for India, which shares its border with the country. Researchers have said that the Epsilon strain of Covid-19 is resistant to all available vaccines.

https://www.india.com/news/world/epsilo ... w-4857023/

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Lambda variant shows vaccine resistance - study

By REUTERS   

AUGUST 2, 2021

The Lambda variant of the coronavirus, first identified in Peru and now spreading in South America, is highly infectious and more resistant to vaccines than the original version of the virus the emerged from Wuhan, China, Japanese researchers have found. 

In a paper posted on Wednesday on bioRxiv ahead of peer review, the researchers warn that with Lambda being labeled a "Variant of Interest" by the World Health Organization, rather than a "Variant of Concern," people might not realize it is a serious ongoing threat. 

In laboratory experiments, they found that three mutations in Lambda's spike protein, known as RSYLTPGD246-253N, 260 L452Q and F490S, help it resist neutralization by vaccine-induced antibodies. 

https://m.jpost.com/health-science/lamb ... udy-675674

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2021, 4:20 pm

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2021, 4:22 pm

7 dead

Postby bluefete » August 5th, 2021, 4:24 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

He is 58? Really?

Yup.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 5th, 2021, 4:28 pm

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 4:32 pm

Last edited by adnj on August 5th, 2021, 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 4:33 pm

Last edited by adnj on August 5th, 2021, 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 4:34 pm

1500 dead projected by October 2021.

Postby goalpost » August 5th, 2021, 4:37 pm

So nice you said it thrice?

Anyways, imagine if we had stuck to the criteria of opening certain sectors once we dropped below 15 cases?

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2021, 5:09 pm

why dont they ever put the deaths figure on this document ?

DMan7 wrote:Image

Postby st7 » August 5th, 2021, 5:35 pm

^ ent

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 5th, 2021, 5:36 pm

goalpost wrote:So nice you said it thrice?

Anyways, imagine if we had stuck to the criteria of opening certain sectors once we dropped below 15 cases?

in other countries the AG would have had to resign for talking untruths, other ministers would have had to resign for not bring the cases down to 15 a day after all the fan fare about it. but here they skin and grin and bully the citizens and business as normal.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2021, 5:49 pm

adnj wrote:1500 dead projected by October 2021.

and that's only with gamma spreading. delta probably way worse.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2021, 6:04 pm

pugboy wrote:why dont they ever put the deaths figure on this document ?

232 new cases and 7 deaths

Postby De Dragon » August 5th, 2021, 6:16 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
goalpost wrote:So nice you said it thrice?

in other countries the AG would have had to resign for talking untruths, other ministers would have had to resign for not bring the cases down to 15 a day after all the fan fare about it. but here they skin and grin and bully the citizens and business as normal.

And shamelessly more outraged than citizens when you point out these things

Postby adnj » August 5th, 2021, 6:20 pm

pugboy wrote:why dont they ever put the deaths figure on this document ?

232 new cases and 7 deaths
It's posted by the ministry on page 2... apparently few bother to post it.

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... QKwDHL.jpg

https://health.gov.tt/sites/default/fil ... XrWyWD.jpg