COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 6:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Angostura to make hand sanitiser to curb shortage

Angostura Holdings Limited has announced plans to use its alcohol to manufacture hand sanitisers and sanitiser liquids in an effort to combat the current shortage in Trinidad and Tobago.

In a statement on Thursday, Angostura said their products will be distributed to public hospitals, members of the protective services and health centres.

http://www.looptt.com/content/angostura ... b-shortage

well if the bars closed, u hadda find some way else to sell the ethanol. :lol: :lol:
we need it now, hopefully it woudl be at good prices.

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Kudos to them on diversifying, those are the ones that would not close doors and still provide employment for some.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 19th, 2020, 7:02 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Also, I strongly suspect I have Covid-19 right now, as well as my wife, sister, neighbor. I was refused testing on account of:
1. No travel history in the last 14 days
2. Symptoms all of us are exhibiting are mild

I was told to self-quarantine and call and give an update if any of our symptoms get worse.

If only we had a good opposition who was on top of things.

You is not the same man that was boasting to everybody that you jump up in 10 fete and knock glass with all the yankee that come down for carnival and that you feeling just fine...

Oh the irony!!!

The death rate computing closer to 4.1% now eh...[/quote]

Death rates are being calculated incorrectly. And I'm pretty sure I didn't get it from Carnival, I have been in contact with two people who recently travelled so perhaps it's dem.

Also, we were extremely lucky that we had Carnival when we did, any later could have been bad. In the US Covid-19 outbreaks weren't happening until 2 weeks ago.

And my arguement for holding Carnival still was that it wasn't that many visitors. Cancelling carnival without closing borders would have been nonsensical.

And I kept telling everyone postponing it would be impossible as there's no date we can predict when it would be safe. All the calls for a May carnival was absurd.

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2020, 7:02 pm

I thought local companies like V&S Pharmaceuticals, Christle Limited and Langston Roach Industries Limited could have easily made hand sanitizer here without much fuss.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2020, 7:03 pm

^^ thank you for that... maj.tom
Last edited by Gladiator on March 19th, 2020, 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2020, 7:04 pm

and wait, so daran make 3 accounts and playing different people and replying to himself?

This man doh learn nah. He and RedVevo should play dollhouse together in a Montessori school.

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2020, 7:06 pm

vs is an importer

making alcohol requires brewery
ie license and ting

maj. tom wrote:I thought local companies like V&S Pharmaceuticals, Christle Limited and Langston Roach Industries Limited could have easily made hand sanitizer here without much fuss.

Postby meccalli » March 19th, 2020, 7:07 pm

Idk why people are going bonkers over hand sanitizer. Alcohol based sanitizers are indeed more effective when it comes to killing bacteria. Virus surface mating lipid structures are impeded by plain old soap..

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2020, 7:10 pm

K74T wrote:IMG-20200319-WA0032.jpeg

why dey using d old name 2019nCov?

Postby adnj » March 19th, 2020, 7:26 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
hydroep wrote:
Devourment wrote:
Gladiator wrote:BTW... How safe is into eat outside food? What are the chances of contracting it through food if the handler or cook is infected?
hydroep wrote:Fuss time I gone in KFC and didn't have to line up. Place dead, dead, dead...:|

Low once they not actually touching, coughing on the food. But on the bag and box etc it can be transmitted.

It's a risk yes.

KFC (at least the one I went to) has the staff wearing gloves and the food was kept warm under heat lamps. The only other thing to probably take a chance with is establishments/ vendors where the food is made to order, none of that sweating in glass cabinet chupidness this rounds...:|

How about nuking it in the microwave for a 2 mins before eating it.... would that make it safe?

No. Viruses aren't bacteria. You can't "kill" them as they are not alive in the first place. It is known that the coronavirus can remain active on surfaces for quite a few hours. So if food workers who are infected transmit a few viruses onto the already cooked food through aerosolized spittle or even breathing too hard on the food it it not known what can happen.
If you suspect food is contaminated with a virus, throw it away.

However, to date I have not seen any warnings about it. Several authorities say coronavirus cannot be transmitted through food. But the scenario i outlined above could be possible for fast food places like KFC because the food is cooked and then is handled and stored for some time before reaching the customer.

Transmission through food is unlikely and there is no evidence of this occurring with COVID-19 to date, however investigations into how the virus spreads are continuing.

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has released a statement noting there is currently no evidence that food is a likely source or route of transmission of the virus.
https://www.foodstandards.gov.au/consum ... AFETY.aspx

Can COVID-19 (coronavirus) be passed on through food?
There is no evidence to suggest that COVID-19 is passed on through food.

Coronaviruses need a host (animal or human) to grow in and cannot grow in food. Thorough cooking is expected to kill the virus.
https://www.fsai.ie/faq/coronavirus.html
Heating your food to 75°C for more than a minute will kill most viruses.

---------------

What temperature kills germs? How to use heat properly to get rid of bacteria and viruses

Germs — like viruses, bacteria, and fungus — respond differently to cold and hot temperatures. For example, the flu virus thrives in colder weather, which is why flu season is in the winter. 

In general, hot temperatures are better suited to killing germs, but that doesn't mean you should start sterilizing everything with heat. "It's not realistic or necessary," says Manish Trivedi, director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at AtlantiCare. "The most effective intervention to prevent the spread of germs is proper hand-washing."

In fact, for the COVID-19 virus, the World Health Organization (WHO) warns against using temperature methods to 'prevent' or 'kill' infection: spending time in cold weather or snow, taking a hot bath, using hot hand dryers, or ultraviolet lamps has no effect on this new Coronavirus strain.

But there are other cases where high temperatures can kill germs — boiling water to kill off bacteria in food products, using a dishwasher to sterilize plates, or washing and drying clothes to decontaminate them. Here's what you need to know. 

Hot water kills germs, though it has to be very hot

According to WHO, temperatures of 140°F to 150°F are enough to kill most viruses, and boiling water makes it safe from pathogens like bacteria, viruses, and protozoa. Trivedi recommends a temperature of 160°F or greater when heating water or food products, to kill off bacteria like Legionella, a common bacteria found in water.

If you have contaminated clothes or fabrics that need to be disinfected, the UK's National Health Service (NHS) recommends washing at a high temperature (140°F), along with a product containing bleach, which will maximise the disinfectant effect. 

However, that's only for high-risk clothing, like when you're sick. For regular clothing, it's the drying that counts. That's because the heat of a tumble dryer ranges from 135 to 150°F, and while a washing machine provides damp places for bacteria and fungus to spread, the dryer doesn't. 

"When washing clothes and household items, most harmful microorganisms are actually killed in the dryer on high heat as opposed to the washing machine," says Trivedi. 

Despite the fact that high temperatures do kill most germs, washing your hands in hot or cold water doesn't make a difference. The hot water doesn't get warm enough, and cold water is just as effective because washing your hands with soap and water is more about removing dirt and germs — rather than killing them.

The same is true of washing dishes: it's unlikely you'll get the water hot enough during a manual hand-wash to properly kill bacteria on dishes. However, an automatic dishwasher is usually hot enough to sterilize the dishes inside. 

If you do hand wash your dishes, food safety guidelines suggest washing with detergent at 113°F or higher, rinsing, and sanitizing with a solution, which can be a chemical sanitizing solution or clean water of 171°F or higher.

Cooking at high temperatures can kill most germs 

Most bacteria thrive in temperatures of 40°F to 140°F, or what the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) refers to as the 'danger zone'. This is when bacteria grow, multiplying by two every 20 minutes. 

To avoid this, make sure food isn't left out of the refrigerator for more than two hours (or for more than one hour, if temperatures are 90°F or above). For reference, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recommends that refrigerators are kept at 40°F or below, to stay out of the danger zone for bacteria. 

"All bacteria have their own optimum environmental surroundings and temperatures in which they thrive the most," says Trivedi. "Some germs, known as hyperthermophilic bacteria, grow in very hot temperatures up to 250°F. However, most bacteria and viruses that are pathogenic to humans can be killed through a heat of 165ºF or higher within minutes of cooking."

According to the New York Department of Health. heating food breaks the structure of germs, which makes them unable to function. Heat kills most food-borne bacteria and viruses, like Salmonella, which is a bacteria contracted from undercooked poultry and eggs, and can cause diarrhea and vomiting. 

When cooking food, it's important to ensure it's heated properly all the way through, or what's called an 'internal temperature', which you can determine with a food thermometer. 

According to US Food Safety guidelines, raw meat and poultry should be heated to at least 145°F for steaks or whole cuts of beef, pork, lamb and veal, 160°F for those meats ground, and 165°F for all poultry. 

Foods that are reheated, like leftovers, must be heated to at least 165ºF, and need to be stored properly within two hours of cooking, by placing it in a small container in the fridge to allow optimal cooling and prevent bacteria from growing.

Freezing temperatures don't kill germs, it just slows them down 

It's a common misconception that freezing food kills bacteria. While it 'slows down' the bacteria and makes them dormant, the bacteria will begin to multiply again when it's brought back to room temperature.

E.coli, a bacteria that can cause food poisoning, is an example of a bacteria that doesn't die when frozen but is 'inactive' until brought back to room temperature. This is why cooking food to a proper temperature is important, and the FDA recommends thawing foods in the fridge, too, so that even when the food defrosts, it still doesn't enter the room temperature danger zone. 

"Some sensitive germs will die when frozen," says Trivedi. "However, many pathogens will start reproducing when thawed and temperatures start to increase."

While freezing will keep food unspoiled for longer and prevent bacteria growth, it still needs to be properly handled once it's thawed. Make sure you're storing and cooking food at proper temperatures — and remember that the best way to get rid of germs in day-to-day life is by washing your hands with soap and water or using hand sanitizer when soap and water are not available. 

[URL]https://www.insider.com/what-temperature-kills-germs
[/URL]

Postby adnj » March 19th, 2020, 7:33 pm

meccalli wrote:Idk why people are going bonkers over hand sanitizer. Alcohol based sanitizers are indeed more effective when it comes to killing bacteria. Virus surface mating lipid structures are impeded by plain old soap..
Soap contains fat-like substances known as amphiphiles, some of which are structurally very similar to the lipids in the virus membrane. The soap molecules “compete” with the lipids in the virus membrane. This is more or less how soap also removes normal dirt from the skin.

The soap not only loosens the “glue” between the virus and the skin but also the Velcro-like interactions that hold the proteins, lipids and RNA in the virus together.

Alcohol-based products, which pretty much includes all “disinfectant” products, contain a high-percentage alcohol solution (typically 60-80% ethanol) and kill viruses in a similar fashion. But soap is better because you only need a fairly small amount of soapy water, which, with rubbing, covers your entire hand easily. Whereas you need to literally soak the virus in ethanol for a brief moment, and wipes or rubbing a gel on the hands does not guarantee that you soak every corner of the skin on your hands effectively enough.

So, soap is the best, but do please use alcohol-based sanitiser when soap is not handy or practical.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... infectants

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 7:49 pm

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Gladiator wrote:BTW... How safe is into eat outside food? What are the chances of contracting it through food if the handler or cook is infected?

Careful with those lose napkins that they giving you.

Stink

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 8:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:
K74T wrote:IMG-20200319-WA0032.jpeg

why dey using d old name 2019nCov?
that is not even a name, just a place holder at the time when they were still trying to figure out what they were dealing with.

they observed it was a corona virus, then observed it was a new one.... a novelcoronavirus. and because they stopped naming those things after places or people, the wuhan strain was not acceptable name.

Postby paid_influencer » March 19th, 2020, 8:12 pm

iirc,

the disease is COVID19. (the "d" stands for disease)

the virus that causes COVID19 is SARS-CoV-2

sauce https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/technical-guidance/naming-the-coronavirus-disease-(covid-2019)-and-the-virus-that-causes-it

Postby Dizzy28 » March 19th, 2020, 8:25 pm

Langston Roach does manufacture hand sanitizer. Work bought some bottles last week. Soft and Silky brand iirc.
maj. tom wrote:I thought local companies like V&S Pharmaceuticals, Christle Limited and Langston Roach Industries Limited could have easily made hand sanitizer here without much fuss.

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2020, 8:27 pm

Gladiator wrote:
hydroep wrote:
Devourment wrote:
hydroep wrote:Fuss time I gone in KFC and didn't have to line up. Place dead, dead, dead...:|

Low once they not actually touching, coughing on the food. But on the bag and box etc it can be transmitted.

It's a risk yes.

KFC (at least the one I went to) has the staff wearing gloves and the food was kept warm under heat lamps. The only other thing to probably take a chance with is establishments/ vendors where the food is made to order, none of that sweating in glass cabinet chupidness this rounds...:|

How about nuking it in the microwave for a 2 mins before eating it.... would that make it safe?

Since you asked and nobody answered-The short answer is yes heating food in a microwave can kill the COVID-19 virus, but only if the food in question can be heated to reach an internal or core temperature of a minimum of 190*F for at least 3 minutes.
But if you suspect your food may have been contaminated, I strongly discourage eating it, even if you can get it to reach and maintain an internal temperature of 100*C for 10 minutes because you can't be sure of the temps of the utensil you might be heating it on, and that utensil may have been contained by your own hands by transfer or the hands of your servers.
Regardless of how tasty it might be, or how hungry you might be, or how badly you craving that particular dish, if you buying food outside, and you suspect it may be contaminated, discard it, don't eat it. Your life and health should be more important to you than the taste or price of a box of food.

Alternative-cook what you want to eat at home and walk with lunch. It takes a bit more time and effort, but you get what you want, tasting how you want, with none of the risks you DON'T want.

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2020, 8:36 pm

A small reminder to you fellas.
We know many of us try to eat healthy by consuming fruits and vegetables that we may buy from vendors and supermarkets.
Whilest we're now mindful of washing our hands frequently, please remember to wash your fruits and vegetables thoroughly before consuming, especially those we eat that don't require cooking.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 19th, 2020, 8:55 pm

88sins wrote:A small reminder to you fellas.
We know many of us try to eat healthy by consuming fruits and vegetables that we may buy from vendors and supermarkets.
Whilest we're now mindful of washing our hands frequently, please remember to wash your fruits and vegetables thoroughly before consuming, especially those we eat that don't require cooking.
On that note, I've seen people take can drinks out of the freezers in supermarkets and drink it.....please don't for many reasons not only our present situation.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2020, 9:05 pm

Gladiator wrote:
hydroep wrote:
Devourment wrote:

It's a risk yes.

Since you asked and nobody answered-The short answer is yes heating food in a microwave can kill the COVID-19 virus, but only if the food in question can be heated to reach an internal or core temperature of a minimum of 190*F for at least 3 minutes.
But if you suspect your food may have been contaminated, I strongly discourage eating it, even if you can get it to reach and maintain an internal temperature of 100*C for 10 minutes because you can't be sure of the temps of the utensil you might be heating it on, and that utensil may have been contained by your own hands by transfer or the hands of your servers.
Regardless of how tasty it might be, or how hungry you might be, or how badly you craving that particular dish, if you buying food outside, and you suspect it may be contaminated, discard it, don't eat it. Your life and health should be more important to you than the taste or price of a box of food.

Alternative-cook what you want to eat at home and walk with lunch. It takes a bit more time and effort, but you get what you want, tasting how you want, with none of the risks you DON'T want.

Thanks for the response man... good advice here.

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2020, 9:06 pm

Boi ppl doesn't know the risks they take till it's too late.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2020, 9:15 pm

Look Look... CNN answer the same thing. 88 was right on the ball...

Town hall: Can you contract the coronavirus through food packaging?
Question: Zofia Scully, a communications executive, asked if someone who works in a restaurant has the virus -- but is not aware they have it -- then comes in contact with the food or the packaging, is it then possible for the person receiving the food to catch the virus?

Answer: CNN's Dr. Sanjay Gupta and Dr. Celine Gounder, a CNN medical analyst and professor at New York University, both agreed that the biggest risk is contracting the virus from whoever is delivering the food.

"You're not going to get it from the food," Gupta said.
Gupta said when he and his family have been ordering food, they've been taking it out of the packaging on the porch, wiping down any surfaces of any remaining packaging, then washing their hands.

Gounder said the "highest-risk" moment is the "face-to-face" interaction.

"Ideally, you would be able to pay them online, tip them online on whatever platform you're using for ordering food and then have them leave it outside your door," she said.

Why this matters: Restaurants around the globe have closed their doors, either voluntarily or due to orders from government. Many have switched to a delivery-only model and use third-party services like Uber Eats or Deliveroo. Some of them are now offering users the option of asking delivery people to leave the food outside their doors.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Just a reminder... this was the video that opened some of our eyes and others (especially those in Govts all over the world) refused to believe

Do we really trust China and their miraculous eradication of COVID-19

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 9:32 pm

88sins wrote:A small reminder to you fellas.

In addition to Reek’s positive input, let me take the time to enlighten some of you on personal and public hygiene.

Friends, we have reiterated over and over the importance of washing hands. But let us be reminded to cut our nails as well. This long nail thumb or pinky...cut it out as it is a harvest for bacteria.

Reek just mentioned washing fruits, let us not be like Stanky who blatantly stated for 40 years he eats dirty fruits and goes straight to the dinner table after playing in the drain...we must cut out these nasty habits.

I would like to make aware, for those who do not know, that the packaging on grocery items are beds for germs. Imagine someone sneezing heavy matter on their hands, and touching items only to put it back on the shelves. Then comes you, with your clean hands to pick up the same items and take it home. How many of us wipe each and every item from the grocery? I use 2 damp bountys with a clorax wipe in the middle to wipe my items, it comes out brown every single time.

We have to be alot more germ conscious and considerate for others. Let it be a automatic reaction to cover your mouths when you cough and sneeze, preferably with a rag. When you use the washrooms, all this hawking and spitting....wash down the sink properly after, use a paper towel to wipe the area around the sink when you are finished. Flush the damn toilet and ensure there is no remanence of your numbers on the seat and on the ground.

We have a long road ahead T&T, you have to decide how you want to walk it.

Keep well.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 19th, 2020, 10:01 pm

Good advice there.

I stepped out to the grocery today to get a few items as well as to pennywise to get some soap and toothpaste. Btw, I felt a bit like Rick Grimes from walking dead when he's going on one of his foraging missions.

Anyhow, it's amazing how people are not following social distancing. Even before this, I always maintain a personal space around me and if you consistently ventured into that space, you'd likely get a sharp elbow as I'd pretend to get my phone or wallet out of my pocket. Or a butt shove as I pretend to fix my socks or shoes or something... But it's so irritating to see how people just moving as normal and stick up in each others' backside while in the lines at the cashiers.

There is no wonder that T&T cannot move forward as a nation... People just too stubborn even in these times where they shouldn't. And government knows that trinis harden. I won't be surprised, that if people keep being harden and ignoring the calls of those in authority, the government declares a SOE. If things escalate with COVID-19 (God forbid) and people continue with their selfish and ignorant behaviour, a few bad eggs could make a SOE for everyone else. And if that happens, it's real stress and pressure.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 10:30 pm

carluva wrote:Good advice there.

I stepped out to the grocery today to get a few items as well as to pennywise to get some soap and toothpaste. Btw, I felt a bit like Rick Grimes from walking dead when he's going on one of his foraging missions.

Anyhow, it's amazing how people are not following social distancing. Even before this, I always maintain a personal space around me and if you consistently ventured into that space, you'd likely get a sharp elbow as I'd pretend to get my phone or wallet out of my pocket. Or a butt shove as I pretend to fix my socks or shoes or something... But it's so irritating to see how people just moving as normal and stick up in each others' backside while in the lines at the cashiers.

There is no wonder that T&T cannot move forward as a nation... People just too stubborn even in these times where they shouldn't. And government knows that trinis harden. I won't be surprised, that if people keep being harden and ignoring the calls of those in authority, the government declares a SOE. If things escalate with COVID-19 (God forbid) and people continue with their selfish and ignorant behaviour, a few bad eggs could make a SOE for everyone else. And if that happens, it's real stress and pressure.

Hello carluva,

You are absolutely correct. As i mentioned before, the worst thing in battling Covid19 is the Trinidadian mentality. But the govt keeps saying...”We” are going to get through this as if there is order, togetherness and unity. Pricemart just sent out an advisory...no refunds on TP, wipes, paper towels, water etc....People eye too big and went on greed and selfish panic buying, and now want to return it.

It have no “WE” here in T&T.

The population is NOT putting enough effort. HAD Trinis been more responsible and stay dey harden ass home, the govt would not have closed the bars and restaurants etc...but they still congregated leaving the govt no choice. The same way u buy a beer in the grocery and leave, you could have done that in a bar. But no, allyuh must sit down and make a lime boldly going against Keith and Stuart’s instructions.

Trinis better pray this does not get worst, because they are incapable of working together.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 19th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Saw t&tec deferring disconnection

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Hello carluva,

You are absolutely correct. As i mentioned before, the worst thing in battling Covid19 is the Trinidadian mentality. But the govt keeps saying...”We” are going to get through this as if there is order, togetherness and unity. Pricemart just sent out an advisory...no refunds on TP, wipes, paper towels, water etc....People eye too big and went on greed and selfish panic buying, and now want to return it.

The population is NOT putting enough effort. HAD Trinis been more responsible and stay dey harden ass home, the govt would not have closed the bars and restaurants etc...but they still congregated leaving the govt no choice. The same way u buy a beer in the grocery and leave, you could have done that in a bar. But no, allyuh must sit down and make a lime boldly going against Keith and Stuart’s instructions.

Trinis better pray this does not get worst, because they are incapable of working together.

I hear yuh Max, buh when you have the Health Minister accompanied by Dr. Trotman telling the nation on live TV "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD"

People would just not take it seriously...

Postby shogun » March 19th, 2020, 11:03 pm

Simple, but let's everyone understand the science behind the reason for the duration of hand washing.

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 11:11 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Hello carluva,

I hear yuh Max, buh when you have the Health Minister accompanied by Dr. Trotman telling the nation on live TV "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD" "IT MILD"

People would just not take it seriously...

True eh,

Thats so annoying.