Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » June 23rd, 2018, 11:21 pm

At least he making a case and not making mindless comments from pro-pnm "journalists" saying "if yuh could pay for a carnival costume, you could pay d tax"

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 23rd, 2018, 11:45 pm

Just trying to combat misinformation. Not just posting while eating grass in POS.

I know that the government playing the ass and don't tell the public anything when it come to this tax. And that is what does frighten people. I could understand speculation, but when men posting nonsense and playing wrong and strong, it does vex me.

I don't advocate for this tax. There are many things I despise about it. Namely the way they will treat apartments and mixed use buildings, or anything with an external staircase to it. Things like that, I go be glad when people sue the government over the inequitability of it.

Postby Gladiator » June 24th, 2018, 12:14 am

Postby The_Honourable » June 24th, 2018, 12:32 am

Gladiator wrote:https://www.facebook.com/kickoutpnm/videos/1353504618127846/

Somebody embed for me please

Done

Postby zoom rader » June 24th, 2018, 2:12 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Just trying to combat misinformation. Not just posting while eating grass in POS.

I know that the government playing the ass and don't tell the public anything when it come to this tax. And that is what does frighten people. I could understand speculation, but when men posting nonsense and playing wrong and strong, it does vex me.

I don't advocate for this tax. There are many things I despise about it. Namely the way they will treat apartments and mixed use buildings, or anything with an external staircase to it. Things like that, I go be glad when people sue the government over the inequitability of it.
Misinformation my arse.

It's is nothing but an injun tax.

PNM ppl will pay jack chit

Orders from bailiser house is to tax injuns more.

What taxes laventille and Beetham going to pay?

What about those PNM hdc housing gettoes, who paying those?

Kool Lee ppl living there?

Stop you PNM bill chit propaganda, you dim wit.

You are nothing but a paid PNM blogger

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 24th, 2018, 1:05 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Misinformation my arse.

It's is nothing but an injun tax.

PNM ppl will pay jack chit

Orders from bailiser house is to tax injuns more.

What taxes laventille and Beetham going to pay?

What about those PNM hdc housing gettoes, who paying those?

Kool Lee ppl living there?

Stop you PNM bill chit propaganda, you dim wit.

You are nothing but a paid PNM blogger

And you are a race baiting puppet lodged firmly over Sat Maharaj's nasty penis.
You disgust me

TriP

Postby TriP » June 25th, 2018, 5:01 pm

During their Manifesto launch on August 20, 2015 Keith Rowley told the audience Prakash Ramadhar and the UNC was lying when they said “PNM would bring back the dreaded Property Tax” Fast forward to March 2, 2018 the PNM passed the Property Tax Bill.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 25th, 2018, 7:00 pm

2:10
"76:04 be now read in parts say Aye"
"aye"
"Any against?"
"NOOO"
"I think the ayes have it"
Vex.png

Postby sMASH » June 25th, 2018, 8:40 pm

TriP wrote:During their Manifesto launch on August 20, 2015 Keith Rowley told the audience Prakash Ramadhar and the UNC was lying when they said “PNM would bring back the dreaded Property Tax” Fast forward to March 2, 2018 the PNM passed the Property Tax Bill.

misdirect and word play champian shitkicker... no wonder why he deal so much oman.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2018, 5:18 am

my parents guesstimating a tax of at least $2300 for the year........so my question....where do pensioners stand in this?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 7:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:my parents guesstimating a tax of at least $2300 for the year........so my question....where do pensioners stand in this?

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /76.04.pdf
Read section 23 on page 16. The assessment wont have anything to do with that, they will have to wait 1-3 years when BIR start sending out notices/invoices to send in a request under section 23.

Remember it would be a deferral, not exemption.

What area your parents live in? If is anywhere other than St Clair or Westmoorings, that figure would be a wrong estimate.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2018, 7:46 am

So the tax is based on where you live?? Or the size of house...they live far east

Postby 88sins » June 26th, 2018, 3:02 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:my parents guesstimating a tax of at least $2300 for the year........so my question....where do pensioners stand in this?

What area your parents live in? If is anywhere other than St Clair or Westmoorings, that figure would be a wrong estimate.

Interesting you know how much tax liability they will or won't have, particularly without knowing the size, or condition, or location, or ARV of the structure or structures that are on said property, but quick to say unless they living in St. Clair or Westmoorings it won't be that high.

Carry on

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 5:15 pm

ProtonPowder wrote::roll:

Interesting you know how much tax liability they will or won't have, particularly without knowing the size, or condition, or location, or ARV of the structure or structures that are on said property, but quick to say unless they living in St. Clair or Westmoorings it won't be that high.

Carry on

Unless they live in a 3200+ square foot exec mansion with a pool and servants quarters inside Grande proper, it wont be that high.

Postby rspann » June 26th, 2018, 5:36 pm

Proton, I've just rebuilt my workplace by adding another level for storage. There are no rooms inside except for an office, the workshop is downstairs. It's joined to my house ,so from outside it looks like a 6000+ sq ft two story house, because I did over the roof making everything in one. How are they going to classify this. The other thing is, over the years I've bought equipment for my job. Is it true they are going to value the machinery too?

Postby maj. tom » June 26th, 2018, 5:47 pm

yuh eh know in PNM country yuh supposed to live the Rwanda dream?
Cyah have nothing for yourself. Massa say so!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 5:58 pm

Sounds nice and complicated honestly.
The likely course of action would to draw up separate valuations would be made up for the residence and business/workplace. This means that you would get separate pin#s for them. This is usually how they treat mixed use properties.

The house would be classified and rates calculated using the regular method.
Plant and machinery valuations are only considered for industrial land use, not commercial. They would likely get the usage class from your utility bills, if not from T&C approvals.

If is commercial then it would be valued at the same method as residential, just different rates per square foot, and 5% of 90% of the ARV, vs 3% of 90%.
If is industrial, I cant answer that part yet, not too versed in it.

Postby De Dragon » June 26th, 2018, 6:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:yuh eh know in PNM country yuh supposed to live the Rwanda dream?
Cyah have nothing for yourself. Massa say so!

The only exception being Massa of course, because JUHN Scarfy has his OWP apartment. Any bets on his paying property tax on it?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2018, 7:02 pm

Proton stones...when my folks get the real figure id tell you...in the mean time...I go rock back and tell pnm mites...h deh mc

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 7:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Proton stones...when my folks get the real figure id tell you...in the mean time...I go rock back and tell pnm mites...h deh mc

We have a long time to wait then
good thing i not pnm

Postby 88sins » June 26th, 2018, 7:41 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:We have a long time to wait then
good thing i not very bright

fixed it for ya

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 7:44 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:We have a long time to wait then
good thing i not very bright

projected my insecurities on ya

Postby The_Honourable » June 26th, 2018, 9:59 pm

FYI...
36260445_2131499240198140_7367852315652390912_n.jpg
36200026_2131499236864807_1638050112368279552_n.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 10:30 pm

http://gafarrell.com/property-tax-self-estimate/
Property taxes are not determined via rent passing.

And also, this
ISTT.PNG

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 26th, 2018, 10:35 pm

Forgot to highlight the second important bit. In green is the method i keep telling yall about.
ISTT.PNG

Postby 88sins » June 27th, 2018, 5:41 am

pt.jpg
pt.jpg (66.36 KiB) Viewed 4949 times

yuh see that #4, that is madness
Last time around, it was established that the submission of VRF's was a voluntary procedure, it was determined to be so by a magistrate, in addition to impsbert himself admitting to this.
So, how the fricketyfrack can anyone be liable to pay a penalty of $5000 for their failure or refusal to submit information when the submision of that information via VRF is completely voluntary & they are not obligated to by law.
Was there an alteration to make the timely submission of completed VRF's mandatory by law that many of us missed?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 29th, 2018, 4:38 am

would this property tax serve to cause chaos and havoc with the population ?
if when the valuators come to check the property and see a man running a lil business from under he house example a garage would he then be switched to commercial electricity rate, commercial water rate ,commercial property tax although he sleeping upstairs?
all of these people that operate business from under their house example,
garage - mechanic and body
food sales- doubles, pie man, roti shops, even bbq
landlords
a lil shop/parlor
barber shop
etc

all of them using residential rates to make money that they dont pay income tax on and they making plenty. just check the heads when you go by the barber

Postby aaron17 » June 29th, 2018, 5:28 am

Wait , is the old form invalid and would you have to fill this 'so call' new form?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 29th, 2018, 6:33 am

aaron17 wrote:Wait , is the old form invalid and would you have to fill this 'so call' new form?

Whoever filled out an old one will not have to resubmit

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 29th, 2018, 6:44 am

screwbash wrote:would this property tax serve to cause chaos and havoc with the population ?
if when the valuators come to check the property and see a man running a lil business from under he house example a garage would he then be switched to commercial electricity rate, commercial water rate ,commercial property tax although he sleeping upstairs?
all of these people that operate business from under their house example,
garage - mechanic and body
food sales- doubles, pie man, roti shops, even bbq
landlords
a lil shop/parlor
barber shop
etc

all of them using residential rates to make money that they dont pay income tax on and they making plenty. just check the heads when you go by the barber

You giving the assessors too much credit lol, they cannot switch your utility rates, they do not have that power. They pulling tape and making a site sketch. The residential part goes at residential rates and the commercial goes at commercial rates.
They not going inside so if only part of a downstairs mixed use building is commercial and the back and upstairs is residential, then they use your word as the owner.
However when they do up the report and the supervisor feel it not making sense, they themselves going back with one of the valuation assistants that do stamp duty matters, so if the owner pulling a fast scene where he want to say only 20 square metres out of a 150sqm mixed use building is commercial, he tail getting revisited.