.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby 16 cycles » October 27th, 2014, 6:24 pm

Last edited by 16 cycles on October 27th, 2014, 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » October 27th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Actually the PF h'way is funded from the treasury and not loans like Couva Hospital and aquacentre. Loans ensures a steady money while treasury depends on revenues.

I heard from a Brazilian OAS engineer that the h'way is behind and will be completed by 2016. This drop in revenues making that look more possible.

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2014, 6:35 pm

LOLOLOLOL@vision 2030

And is only monday

Postby RASC » October 27th, 2014, 7:37 pm

Oil Price dipped below $80...but doh worry excuses coming:

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2014, 7:44 pm

Tourism not even once

Let's just sell carnival and scrunt for the rest of the year

Postby UML » October 27th, 2014, 8:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:BTW the price of oil just dropped below $80 a barrel

PP pegged the budget at $80

Borrowing money to build box drains and paved road can only go so far, a real government can make money for the future...just so UNC can squander it again.

You forget to mention it was under for approximately an hour. Why not mention when it is over $80 for the entire year?

Postby Habit7 » October 27th, 2014, 10:00 pm

UML wrote:You forget to mention it was under for approximately an hour. Why not mention when it is over $80 for the entire year?

Because when we look at global commodity prices we look at trends. Rising, falling, stable.

We don't look at a falling oil price and think that because it dipped below our arbitrary mark, it hit a trampoline and will go skying back up again.

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2014, 1:54 am

Borrowing money to build box drains and paved road can only go so far, a real government can make money for the future...just so UNC can squander it again.

When did the PP/UNC squander?

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2014, 5:08 am

Habit7 wrote:
UML wrote:You forget to mention it was under for approximately an hour. Why not mention when it is over $80 for the entire year?

Because when we look at global commodity prices we look at trends. Rising, falling, stable.

We don't look at a falling oil price and think that because it dipped below our arbitrary mark, it hit a trampoline and will go skying back up again.

GSachs has it at $75 @,years end.

Is PP gonna revisit and readjust the budget accordingly?
Or we gonna run another deficit for the sake of pandering to the masses and the continuous of gimme gimme syndrome!?!

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2014, 5:46 am

RASC wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

GSachs has it at $75 @,years end.

Is PP gonna revisit and readjust the budget accordingly?
Or we gonna run another deficit for the sake of pandering to the masses and the continuous of gimme gimme syndrome!?!

I think they should stop all these Cepep & URP programes and then them PNM ppl will have to fend for themselfs and do some real work.
After this these same PNM ppl gonna blame the PP for not giving them a wuk. Protess after protess will follow and then Rowley will say the goverment fail in giving poor ppl a wuk.
In a land of free education PNM ppl look for cepep and a URP wuk and them blame the goverment for their mishaps.
Illegals coming in here and making a name for themselfs.

Postby rfari » October 28th, 2014, 6:58 am

Cepep budget more than doubled under pp tho

Postby j.o.e » October 28th, 2014, 7:01 am

^^^^ yup handouts in general have increased under the PP...... wish they would stop, but I izza PNM i like dem ting...what do I know?

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2014, 7:11 am

On the issue of falling oil prices, the Prime Minister said Finance Minister Larry Howai had given assurances that the country could survive. “We will continue to monitor oil prices...we are optimistic that we can weather the storm, but should things change, certainly we will come back to the public at large.”  The PM reiterated that the Finance Minister had indicated that whatever revenue shortfall was being incurred from lower oil prices was being compensated by revenues from natural gas. She said she was certain Howai would give a further update at Cabinet on Thursday. “Thus far he has said there is no need for us to go into further deficit or further borrowings because...the gas pricing was assisting us in maintaining our budgeted prices for goods and services,” she said.London said while he was concerned by oil prices, “if our Minister of Finance gives us an assurance, you will be less apprehensive”.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/ROW ... lmob=y&c=n

No need to worry guys. Howai is admitting that we might have a shortfall in revenue but it can be made up by natural gas.

Let's hope one of the largest countries in the world don't continue tapping into their numerous shale splays, utilising horizontal drilling and fracturing the shale to increase permeability. Thus flooding the market with previously in accessible natural gas and driving the prices down.

But that might never happen.

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2014, 8:29 am

Habit7 wrote:
On the issue of falling oil prices, the Prime Minister said Finance Minister Larry Howai had given assurances that the country could survive. “We will continue to monitor oil prices...we are optimistic that we can weather the storm, but should things change, certainly we will come back to the public at large.”  The PM reiterated that the Finance Minister had indicated that whatever revenue shortfall was being incurred from lower oil prices was being compensated by revenues from natural gas. She said she was certain Howai would give a further update at Cabinet on Thursday. “Thus far he has said there is no need for us to go into further deficit or further borrowings because...the gas pricing was assisting us in maintaining our budgeted prices for goods and services,” she said.London said while he was concerned by oil prices, “if our Minister of Finance gives us an assurance, you will be less apprehensive”.

No need to worry guys. Howai is admitting that we might have a shortfall in revenue but it can be made up by natural gas.

Let's hope one of the largest countries in the world don't continue tapping into their numerous shale splays, utilising horizontal drilling and fracturing the shale to increase permeability. Thus flooding the market with previously in accessible natural gas and driving the prices down.

Yeah man we SAFE!!

PP surely have us on the right track! We have a CLEAR vision for the future!

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2014, 8:32 am

UML wrote:
you asking me, your guess as good as mine! :lol: :lol:

but I would assume it is to take the country forward

Translation: "I have NO FUCKINGIDEA lolz...but ah really just hoping for the best oui *nervous laugh*"

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 28th, 2014, 8:44 am

lol at you guys trying to sound smart. like habit7 take a crash course from wikipedia on shale gas

Postby UML » October 28th, 2014, 8:58 am

Habit7 wrote:

Oil price drops below US$80

Suzanne Sheppard

Published:
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The price of oil yesterday slipped below the US$80 a barrel price on which T&T’s national budget is based. The drop in price came after Goldman Sachs, a leading global investment banking, securities and investment management firm, slashed its forecast for prices, predicting that West Texas Intermediate (WTI) crude—the price of T&T’s oil—will spend the better part of 2015 at US$75 a barrel. In early trading on the New York Mercantile Exchange yesterday, the price of WTI slid US$1.20, or 1.5 per cent, to US$79.79 a barrel. Brent crude on London’s ICE Futures exchange dropped US$1.26, or 1.5 per cent, to US$84.88 a barrel.

WTI prices recovered slightly, ending the day at US$80.95 in New York trading, while Brent crude, which is used by many US refineries, was at US$84.93 in London. Since June, oil prices have dropped steadily from a high of US$107 a barrel. Goldman Sachs was the latest Wall Street bank to lower its forecast for oil prices, saying that Opec was unlikely to cut exports to try and push prices back up. The bank’s analysts are predicting that WTI crude will average US$75 a barrel for the first quarter and second half of 2015, down nearly 17 per cent from US$90 a barrel, previously. They cut their Brent forecast by 15 per cent, to $85 a barrel, from $100 a barrel, previously. The 2016 and long-term forecasts for those oil prices are US$80 a barrel WTI and $90 a barrel for Brent.
In an immediate response, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday expressed confidence that T&T’s economy will not be adversely affected by the falling oil prices.

Speaking at a joint news conference with Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Chief Secretary Orville London at her St Clair Office, Persad-Bissessar said Finance Minister Larry Howai had recently reported to the Cabinet that the shortfall from reduced oil prices will be made up in gas sales. She said Howai indicated that there was no need “to go into further deficit or to go into further borrowings.” Howai is expected to give a further update on the situation to the Cabinet on Thursday. “We are very optimistic that we can weather it, we can weather the storm. Should things change we will come back to the public at large (but) at this point we have been given the assurance that we can survive,” Persad-Bissessar said.

Howai said last week that an exercise is already in progress to address expenditure and it will be accelerated if the price of oil slips below the US$80 on which the 2014-2015 budget is based. He also expressed the view that lower oil prices will not be a “prolonged situation”, suggesting that there will not be need for concern unless “the price of gas and related derivative commodities also show a significant decline.” The minister told the T&T Guardian that the ministry will closely monitor the price of oil but Government’s response will depend on whether the reduction in oil price is prolonged and there is a change in gas prices. Howai explained that gas prices make a bigger contribution to T&T’s budgeted revenues than oil and that has been “so far partially offsetting the effects of lower oil prices.”

—With additional reporting by Richard Lord
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2014 ... below-us80

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2014, 3:17 pm

I love how RASC and Habit casually ascribe the oil price drop to the Government :lol: :lol: All the while equally ignoring that the Finance Minister acknowledged that adjustments may have to be made, Hell, even Orville London acknowledged that“if our Minister of Finance gives us an assurance, you will be less apprehensive”, thus acknowledging that he is the competent authority on these matters.

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2014, 3:38 pm

Do you even read what was said or did just glance at the avatars and allow your perception to create the rest?

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2014, 3:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:Do you even read what was said or did just glance at the avatars and allow your perception to create the rest?

Clearly he did. But this is what they do... They never read... Just like the laughable manifesto circa 2010...they operate on emotion.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 28th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Easy examples

1. Ten million to pull out a fire truck. Contractor gone with that!
2. 34 million to teach english . No English taught and man still have the money

Postby desifemlove » October 28th, 2014, 4:07 pm

Er....so another Kamlaguy/mamaguy?

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,202139.html

Is all dis woman know what to do, mek promise and buy people to vote for she?

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2014, 4:09 pm

PariaMan wrote:

Easy examples

That's all, PNM bust two oil booms with two summits which we still waiting to see benefits from.
Don't forget that eyesore Cricket stadium down in San do.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2014, 4:17 pm

PariaMan wrote:

Easy examples

That's all, PNM bust two oil booms with two summits which we still waiting to see benefits from.
Don't forget that eyesore Cricket stadium down in San do.

Both ZR and Habit you all do realize that there is no clear winner except for financiers and friends regardless of who is in power?
PNM has mismanaged the largesse of the country and have had questionable projects
UNC has mismanaged the largesse of the country and have had questionable projects

What other criteria do you all use to justify your support of your party??

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2014, 4:25 pm

You see engaging in the who waste more than who? I supporting the present party with the best policies.

Postby De Dragon » October 28th, 2014, 5:20 pm

RASC wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Do you even read what was said or did just glance at the avatars and allow your perception to create the rest?

Clearly he did. But this is what they do... They never read... Just like the laughable manifesto circa 2010...they operate on emotion.

Apparently even you guys cannot understand what you typed............. You are clearly trying to imply that the Government has no plan for potential revenue loss from lower oil prices, when that position has clearly already been articulated by the MoF. Yet, with a seemingly straight face you accusing someone of emo behavior? Please try better than that, your pro party brethren waiting tuh jump een!

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2014, 5:36 pm

2007 called...they want their slang back.

Postby zoom rader » October 28th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:You see engaging in the who waste more than who? I supporting the present party with the best policies.

That would be the PP as the PNM has had more chances than any other government and made a total mess of it..

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2014, 6:27 pm

De Dragon wrote:I love how RASC and Habit casually ascribe the oil price drop to the Government :lol: :lol:

Nobody is blaming the TT govt for the price drop :roll:

If you read my earlier posts my concern is being able to support our current spending. I even quoted the Howaii. Again, your perception.

Postby 16 cycles » October 28th, 2014, 7:06 pm

See roget saying he had some fruitful talks with rowley on issues affecting workers agenda