The Religion Discussion

bluesclues

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby bluesclues » June 2nd, 2017, 2:58 pm

@sMASH

i like that you took the time to eplain your view. and you are quite correct about most of the pinned behaviours except you need to refactor one thing about the 'assumptions' you state i made.

in the case u used christopher columbus bringing back wealth and other evidences to prove to the crown his discovery in his journey. but why do believe this is true? you werent there. you read abut it in a book. but you believe it to be 100% fact not so? you are thus trusting the testimony of a recognized authority who is vouching for the truth of the stories presented by christopher columbus and the proof THEY RECEIVED but not you.

the same applies to Jesus and the prophets. but indeed, they did provide evidence. and even GOD was required to provide evidence of HIS claims if the prophets were to trust him. the prophets in the beginnings of the relationship with GOD all tested him, doubted and disbelieved. and God stuck with them repeatedly proving himself and his power so that their faith would become unwaivering eventually. these prophets were normal men at one point like any other who rose to authority. stating they did so by the power of GOD and then also ruled with God's power and taught the masses also how to access this power. THEY WERE THERE. and they believed. and they recorded writings which their entire society waas based upon which they attest is true. just like the crown and columbus. you now are reading a book that says the very same thing. that those words were vouched for by the authority of the time, and was repeatedly re-assessed through history for validity in truth before being recompiled into the bible books.

so you yourself may not have seen a proof. but that those who did in a whole region, swear it is true and we choose whether or not we believe them.

next assumption. noone went to heaven and come back? this is an incorrect statement. as each prophet met GOD and were even taken up to heaven and shown many of it's rooms and returned to life. the prophets had 'seen the face of God and lived'. when it is generally accepted that 'noone can see the face of God and live'. there is an explanation for this but post is long enough. i can explain in another post if you want.

again we both have to go on what is said in the books. we choose to believe whether the testimony presented is real and true. we choose whether we accept the word of those who vouch for the truth contained in the book because they have some direct personal connection. but we... we ourselves never saw christopher columbus killing and enslaving any natives.

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2017, 5:02 pm

The merit of a record of historical events is significantly different from what the bible is.

And I made a grave error in saying that nobody ever went to heaven. What should have been said more blatantly is that nobody went to heaven and came back with physical proof. They came back with stories.

But, just like the travel in the movie 'contact' although no recordable evidence is available, there was a detail surrounding the event that warrants a raised eyebrow when thought about from the scientific standpoint.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 2nd, 2017, 6:12 pm

The bible is full of verifiable history. The gospel accounts were also verified and vouched for by various authority figures from right after christ's death up to being included in the bible. That's why they're there. Because what has been included in the bible has been verified at least to a reasonably acceptable level through history and that's why there are so many who believe.

As long as you don't get caught up in distractions. Examining any religious doctrine you will find that it simply proposes that just like there is opposites, up/down, left/right, male/female that this rule of opposites reveals that since this world is finite and decaying, their is an opposite world to that that is infinite and eternal. That man has a finite attribute, AND an infinite attribute. That discovering the infinite attribute requires living in harmony with nature and universal intention. It goes on to define what those intentions are so you are not left in the wilderness. And the rest... is up to you. A path is defined already and vouched for that it works if you follow the instructions. The path that is defined is the same in all religions modern and ancient.. though the congregates interpretations of the path throughout history may have been skewed and giving rise to death cults etc. The knowledge presented was accurate and so survived, encrypted and backups made with multiple religions, each with special knowledge or focus on a particular aspect of spiritual knowledge. Keepers of parts of a secret each hold. But all are talking about the same secret. Each religion verifies the other, and each story is the same. Each claim is the same, the explanations are the same and the possibilities are the same. Each have just gone about their own way of recording that which their ancestors vouched for.

Religions claim of an infinite existence as a mirror opposite of this finite world encourages man to reach higher and remove any limits he has set on his self as to what he is capable of. That we can access the power of the creator of this world and thus mold it as we wish. But in our powerless and weak spirited state, we bicker, cheat, steal and murder and drive the world towards turmoil because of selfishness and desire. Religion thus teaches us how to create peace and many feel that peace is made at the negotiation table. But not according to religion. According to all religion.. world peace will be achieved when...

A)You stop horning your wife/husband and honour your promises and commitments
B)help the downtrodden and lift them up(give to the poor)
C)stop taking advantage of people and do fair and honourable business
D)not participate in corrupt practices when in positions of authority
E)judge not our fellow man as we don't live in his/her shoes
F)forgive trespasses and don't seek murderous revenge for every little thing(civility/control)
G) there is more but last but not least.. Love and serve God as he instructed.

Just like the greatest effect of negating crime is not hiring more police and buying more vehicles, but facilitating low unemployment rates and high gainful employment opportunities. The way to peace and bridging of the intercontinental and cultural divide is just in truly following the instructions given. The morals and values that the stories are meant to instill in the reader above all will make both the world and the person... better.

Postby timelapse » June 3rd, 2017, 10:30 am

You know , If I say I met God last night ,the religious would be the first to doubt me

Postby matr1x » June 3rd, 2017, 11:31 am

bluesclues wrote:The bible is full of verifiable history. The gospel accounts were also verified and vouched for by various authority figures from right after christ's death up to being included in the bible. That's why they're there. Because what has been included in the bible has been verified at least to a reasonably acceptable level through history and that's why there are so many who believe.

As long as you don't get caught up in distractions. Examining any religious doctrine you will find that it simply proposes that just like there is opposites, up/down, left/right, male/female that this rule of opposites reveals that since this world is finite and decaying, their is an opposite world to that that is infinite and eternal. That man has a finite attribute, AND an infinite attribute. That discovering the infinite attribute requires living in harmony with nature and universal intention. It goes on to define what those intentions are so you are not left in the wilderness. And the rest... is up to you. A path is defined already and vouched for that it works if you follow the instructions. The path that is defined is the same in all religions modern and ancient.. though the congregates interpretations of the path throughout history may have been skewed and giving rise to death cults etc. The knowledge presented was accurate and so survived, encrypted and backups made with multiple religions, each with special knowledge or focus on a particular aspect of spiritual knowledge. Keepers of parts of a secret each hold. But all are talking about the same secret. Each religion verifies the other, and each story is the same. Each claim is the same, the explanations are the same and the possibilities are the same. Each have just gone about their own way of recording that which their ancestors vouched for.

Religions claim of an infinite existence as a mirror opposite of this finite world encourages man to reach higher and remove any limits he has set on his self as to what he is capable of. That we can access the power of the creator of this world and thus mold it as we wish. But in our powerless and weak spirited state, we bicker, cheat, steal and murder and drive the world towards turmoil because of selfishness and desire. Religion thus teaches us how to create peace and many feel that peace is made at the negotiation table. But not according to religion. According to all religion.. world peace will be achieved when...

A)You stop horning your wife/husband and honour your promises and commitments
B)help the downtrodden and lift them up(give to the poor)
C)stop taking advantage of people and do fair and honourable business
D)not participate in corrupt practices when in positions of authority
E)judge not our fellow man as we don't live in his/her shoes
F)forgive trespasses and don't seek murderous revenge for every little thing(civility/control)
G) there is more but last but not least.. Love and serve God as he instructed.

Just like the greatest effect of negating crime is not hiring more police and buying more vehicles, but facilitating low unemployment rates and high gainful employment opportunities. The way to peace and bridging of the intercontinental and cultural divide is just in truly following the instructions given. The morals and values that the stories are meant to instill in the reader above all will make both the world and the person... better.

Here is the problem with religion : it takes real history and skews it in a particular way to make itself favorable. The Roman Empire for example. More equitable rights and infrastructure compared to when Christianity came in. No rights, and deplorable conditions.

Mix in imaginary characters like Mohammed and Jesus and you have a party. Funny how instead of dying they "ascent to heaven " and no genetic relatives to trace back. Convenient.

Religions do not teach about peace. They teach you why they are better than everyone else if you follow them. The lessons they teach are nothing different than what society teaches anyways.

Let's not forget that most of the most times, people and criminals are actually deeply religious beliefs.

Interfering with little children and blowing up people and ruling over people as God kings is the order of the day in religious societies. Want to ruin progress in a society? Introduce it to religion.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 3rd, 2017, 2:55 pm

@matrix... you blame the religions. I blame the human beings who use religion to manipulate ppl and take advantage of them. Let's put it this way... by all religion those kind of ppl reserved to 'bun'. So i mean.. you not going to take a book where it has GOD himself saying... 'thou shalt not murder' and use it to convince me that murder is ok to come help you on a murderous plot because GOD say to do so. Bullshhhhh..
Is just like government. Ppl vote them in to espouse democratic values and empower ppl and what do the men who get elected do? Pad their own pockets and only do their job of serving the ppl halfway... if at all.

Is man to blame pal. Man and himself alone not the books and the knowledge they contain. The power of God allows for those who try to mislead to end up surely misled themselves. They will never know God's power or the power of the spirit coarsing through their veins. But they will delude themselves to recognize all the aspects of power over men they do have and inflate their egos.... and guess what... that is the complete opposite of what you have to do if you want to succeed in spirituality.

Like me i dont ever assume command. I have no interest in power and manipulation of men. All i ever want to do is lead my self and follow noone. But when i look up and around i see all those around me staring at me like 'what do you want us to do next leader'. And i am like.. 'wow when did i become their leader'? Happens all the time. And every time i teach i empower and i leave them to lead themselves when i believe the job is done. Hence all my friends are powerful in mind and facing of struggle.. both rich and poor. I dont encourage followers and try to force them to learn to lead and rely on themselves and try to set the best example i can at making decisions so that they can recognize the reasons for my success. I do not keep it a secret to keep my fellow man down etc etc.

So is all about what in the heart of the man you choose to follow. When you relinquish your free spirit to be guided by someone else... you had better be sure that person is on the right path... otherwise..both of you will go down the same lizard hole at judgement. Unfortunate.. but.. lead yourself... follow God. All the instructions in the book you can read for yourself.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 3rd, 2017, 3:01 pm

The long and short is that religious knowledge comes from a much more intelligent and evolved source than the men that oversee it these days and since the departure of the ancient prophets. It's like a genius inventing a remote control and giving it to a monkey in the wild. Take no surprise that the monkey decides the remote is the best tool to dig his bottom with and not recognize it's true design intention. It is not the tool's fault. It was designed for one thing, but of course, a man can find other uses for it.

eitech

The Religion Discussion

Postby eitech » June 3rd, 2017, 7:47 pm

timelapse wrote:You know , If I say I met God last night ,the religious would be the first to doubt me

There was a time when God used to communicate directly with man at various times and manners. In these last days he speaks to us through his Son.

So of course i know for a fact you did not meet God last-night. Lol

I have the truth so i am in a position to judge that statement you made as being untrue.

Any religious person saying ur experience was true is not practicing sound speech or rightly dividing the word. Not Rightly dividing the word is one of the major reasons there are so many Christian denominations in the world. Then the atheist would look on and laugh thinkin it all to be jokey and he is right...but whatever he thinks it does not take away from the fact that the truth is still there among all the lies

Postby matr1x » June 3rd, 2017, 8:43 pm

A book written by humans, guided by a divine hand. Do you know how mental that sounds?

Religious people try to separate the atrocities from the religion to trap others. Lines like the person not the religion of blame are cop outs to excuse the danger of religion

eitech

Postby eitech » June 3rd, 2017, 8:49 pm

matr1x wrote:A book written by humans, guided by a divine hand. Do you know how mental that sounds?

Religious people try to separate the atrocities from the religion to trap others. Lines like the person not the religion of blame are cop outs to excuse the danger of religion

Lol. As compared to humans evolving from ape, or the big bang theory and the earth came into existence by some scientific method? Lol

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2017, 9:05 pm

Didn't a man recently kill his son because god told him to do so?

eitech

Postby eitech » June 3rd, 2017, 10:00 pm

sMASH wrote:Didn't a man recently kill his son because god told him to do so?

Really? Explain?

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 4:47 am

Like u don't watch news... he heard a voice in his head. First reports said it was Jesus, later reports said god.

When he hearing god, and allyuh hearing god, and in the bible god killed more people than the devil... what is one to believe....

eitech

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 7:01 am

sMASH wrote:Like u don't watch news... he heard a voice in his head. First reports said it was Jesus, later reports said god.

When he hearing god, and allyuh hearing god, and in the bible god killed more people than the devil... what is one to believe....

And this is the same point i made above. Firstly, i know for a fact he didn't hear God or Jesus. Secondly, u the atheist find it jokey and made ur comment cuz u still aint know any better. And thirdly, those of us who rightly divide the word know how to judge situations whether it be from ppl claiming to see God, or angels, or dying and going to hell or heaven and coming back.

Of course u can only rightly divide the word if you have the truth. Anything else and u will be propagating lies like that man or making jokey comments like an atheist like urself.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 7:23 am

U know for a fact, the same way any other average person knows.

Ur word against his.

Many people in the past said that Jesus appeared to them in troubling times and brought them out. What if that Jesus they spoke of actually caused the trouble, in order to appear to save them, just to get bragging rights and more converts?
What if that knife wielding person did see that same Jesus figure, but the Jesus figure was just not up got the saving part of the gimmick?

Hoss, ur knowledge is as substantial as any other person. What u claim as facts is just ur beliefs, ur faith, and basically ur opinion.

There is nothing to distinguish between the Jesus that he saw and the Jesus that other people saw.

In the bible, god killed more people than the devil did... he told Abraham to kill his beloved son, he causes job to loose all his family throguh death, he killed his own son on the cross!!!

That stabbing guy was probably seeing the real god of the bible.

U know for a fact,,, ur facts,,, in ur head. Not readily reproducible.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 7:31 am

eitech

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 7:47 am

sMASH wrote:U know for a fact, the same way any other average person knows.

Ur word against his.

Many people in the past said that Jesus appeared to them in troubling times and brought them out. What if that Jesus they spoke of actually caused the trouble, in order to appear to save them, just to get bragging rights and more converts?
What if that knife wielding person did see that same Jesus figure, but the Jesus figure was just not up got the saving part of the gimmick?

Hoss, ur knowledge is as substantial as any other person. What u claim as facts is just ur beliefs, ur faith, and basically ur opinion.

There is nothing to distinguish between the Jesus that he saw and the Jesus that other people saw.

In the bible, god killed more people than the devil did... he told Abraham to kill his beloved son, he causes job to loose all his family throguh death, he killed his own son on the cross!!!

That stabbing guy was probably seeing the real god of the bible.

U know for a fact,,, ur facts,,, in ur head. Not readily reproducible.

Lol. Ur last sentence made me crack up. You atheist will never get it.

eitech

The Religion Discussion

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 8:09 am

sMASH wrote:

Sigh. So tell me something If a bandit breaks into ur house 3 times wont you forgive him? But that doesn't exclude him from punishment. He may very well break into ur house over and over. Yes forgive him but he still gets punished. He still sins. There is no change in his heart. I am sure if ur female cousin was doin somethin wrong u will forgive her, yes dats ur family,but punishment is inevitable if she doesnt want to learn.

God forgives us but if we don't change our sinful habits, dat doesn't exclude us from the wages of sin, only a change of heart will.

I am disappointed again by u. You chose that video urself? Not because the crowd clapped meant the muslim man was right. Jus meant that's d wisdom of the world.... foolishness. try pickin a better video nah

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 8:32 am

Not because th crowd clapped, but because it makes no sense for God to kill himself or his son to get rid of sin or even remove the punishment. That is what judgement day is for.

Islam teaches that pharoah was given the afflictions of the pests and diseases and calamities to change his ways. Each time he begged forgiveness and was forgiven. When the calamity was removed, he went back to his previous self important belief. Then he was given another calamity. And so on.

Each time he begged he was forgiven.

Until the last time, when he was drowned, and did not have the chance to get for forgiveness.

Just like the prodigal son, as long as the father wants to forgive, all he has to do is forgive. If he wants to wave the penalty of punishment, he can do so. He is not bound to inflict any penalty or exact any recompense.
All he has to do is say ur are forgiven to ur transgressions, and mercy has been granted from any punishment, and it is so.

No need to kill urself or ur son for any sin.

Simple. Effective.

Killing of one's son or one's self, eating if the flesh and drinking of the blood, washing with the blood, filled with spirits,,, all very contrived and convoluted, unnecessarily so.

Say u on Israel god is one!
Father, son and holy ghost...
Who is blasphemous there?

Oh yes, u and many others have answered it many times before.

Just like clapping doesn't means he is correct, producing words doesn't mean it was a sufficient or logical explanation.

Islam does it best; god is one, indivisible, with out predecessors, progeny or partners.

Simple. Effective.

Let me put it this way.

If Islam says that god is one and Christianity says god is rather son and holy ghost, which is more resembling the statement that god is one?

It is obvious, that the declaration that Islam says that god is one, is closer in meaning to god is one, then what Christianity says by god is one made up of father son and holy ghost.

The explanations that modern Christians provide to explain how rather son and holy ghost can still be one god, can make sense,,,, if u think about it in certain ways.
But if god is one and comes says that god is one, then that seems the easiest way to think about it.

Think about it.

eitech

The Religion Discussion

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 8:46 am

sMASH wrote:Not because th crowd clapped, but because it makes no sense for God to kill himself or his son to get rid of sin or even remove the punishment. That is what judgement day is for.

Islam teaches that pharoah was given the afflictions of the pests and diseases and calamities to change his ways. Each time he begged forgiveness and was forgiven. When the calamity was removed, he went back to his previous self important belief. Then he was given another calamity. And so on.

Each time he begged he was forgiven.

Until the last time, when he was drowned, and did not have the chance to get for forgiveness.

Just like the prodigal son, as long as the father wants to forgive, all he has to do is forgive. If he wants to wave the penalty of punishment, he can do so. He is not bound to inflict any penalty or exact any recompense.
All he has to do is say ur are forgiven to ur transgressions, and mercy has been granted from any punishment, and it is so.

No need to kill urself or ur son for any sin.

Simple. Effective.

Killing of one's son or one's self, eating if the flesh and drinking of the blood, washing with the blood, filled with spirits,,, all very contrived and convoluted, unnecessarily so.

Say u on Israel god is one!
Father, son and holy ghost...
Who is blasphemous there?

Oh yes, u and many others have answered it many times before.

Just like clapping doesn't means he is correct, producing words doesn't mean it was a sufficient or logical explanation.

Islam does it best; god is one, indivisible, with out predecessors, progeny or partners.

Simple. Effective.

Let me put it this way.

If Islam says that god is one and Christianity says god is rather son and holy ghost, which is more resembling the statement that god is one?

It is obvious, that the declaration that Islam says that god is one, is closer in meaning to god is one, then what Christianity says by god is one made up of father son and holy ghost.

The explanations that modern Christians provide to explain how rather son and holy ghost can still be one god, can make sense,,,, if u think about it in certain ways.
But if god is one and comes says that god is one, then that seems the easiest way to think about it.

Think about it.

So would you still punish ur cousin if she continued doing wrong? Or will you jus forgive her each time without punishment over and over?

You used the story of the prodigal son from the bible? The same book u bad talking? Lol the father realised the son had learnt his lesson and he was forgiven. There was no need for punishment there cuz of the change of heart.

God loves us and made a way out for us. It's each person choice. Take it or leave it but dont blame him in the end. You will have eternity to ponder your bad decision.

Fear not, the God i know still loves you sMASH and he is merciful and forgiving. But if you deny his Son he will deny you.

Don't think about that too long. You can die anytime. Now is the time of salvation.
Last edited by eitech on June 4th, 2017, 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 9:02 am

He who drinks the koolaid

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 10:33 am

If u deny his Son he will deny you?

bible wrote:I Never Knew You

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

that's because when god tells u all not to associate partners with him, what u all do?
Allyuh gone an give god a son... begotten no less, and give him a pet ghost.

Jesus isn't good, only the father is good.
The father is greater than him.
And nothing can happen through him except by the will of the father.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 10:39 am

sMASH wrote:If u deny his Son he will deny you?

bible wrote:I Never Knew You

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

that's because when god tells u all not to associate partners with him, what u all do?
Allyuh gone an give god a son... begotten no less, and give him a pet ghost.

Jesus isn't good, only the father is good.
The father is greater than him.
And nothing can happen through him except by the will of the father.

BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. boy what nonsense u copy and paste they and worse yet try to interpret. U drinkin dem RC koolaid too? BAHAHAHAHAHA

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 10:46 am

I posted stuff from ur bible

eitech

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 11:01 am

sMASH wrote:I posted stuff from ur bible

Boi. Stop playin na. U go make me ignore you. Where in the bible it says that?

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 11:03 am

Matthew 7. 21-23

eitech

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2017, 12:07 pm

sMASH wrote:Matthew 7. 21-23

Lol. U not really smart, are you? Second time i have done you this jus to give you the benefit of the doubt. And for the second time you have proven ur self quite incompetent. So i have confirmed ur really a madman. Such misinterpretation. U almost as dense as a jehovah witness...don't feel bad... almost

Scriptures instruct the BELIEVER to put on the whole amour of God.... the scriptures being part of the amour is used for offense and defense in spiritual warfare. Imagine u the UNBELIEVER trying to use scriptures against a believer. How retarded is that? Lol. It is like u giving a baby weapons to go fight war....sorry.. not even a baby cuz ppl young in the faith are called babes in christ. So a babe is far off better than you. It' s more like you giving a dead person weapons, literally. They cannot use it to their benefit much-less interpret. I really will try to not respond to you after this cuz your reasoning is jus "mental" jus to quote ur fellow atheist friend.

Oh and btw, you don't have to get personal and post pictures of ur self. I don't know who that is.

Postby bluefete » June 4th, 2017, 12:53 pm

matr1x wrote:Here is the problem with religion : it takes real history and skews it in a particular way to make itself favorable. Mix in imaginary characters like Mohammed and Jesus and you have a party. Funny how instead of dying they "ascent to heaven " and no genetic relatives to trace back. Convenient.

So Muhammed and Jesus never existed?

But the Bible gives the lineage of Jesus and, ironically, that of Muhammed as well.

So are you saying that all that information is made up?

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 7:56 pm

Lol, I actually resemble that pic somewhat.. good catch.

Postby matr1x » June 5th, 2017, 12:43 am

bluefete wrote:
matr1x wrote:Here is the problem with religion : it takes real history and skews it in a particular way to make itself favorable. Mix in imaginary characters like Mohammed and Jesus and you have a party. Funny how instead of dying they "ascent to heaven " and no genetic relatives to trace back. Convenient.

So Muhammed and Jesus never existed?

But the Bible gives the lineage of Jesus and, ironically, that of Muhammed as well.

So are you saying that all that information is made up?

What I am saying is they never existed. Where are their descendants? Surely uncles and aunts and such. Great great grand nieces and nephew.

Religion makes up crap all the time. They take real places and events and have some weird twist to fit some divine bs