aaron17 wrote:Sooo.. coaches and double length buses supposed to have their windows open right ? But i don't see that.
aaron17 wrote:Was thinking if...the whole country shut down for 2 weeks straight. What that will do pandemic -wise?
Ambulance can work normal for any serious situations etc. Households hadda stock up for preps in advance. We hadda curb the mad rush on the last days...enforcement.
aaron17 wrote:Was thinking if...the whole country shut down for 2 weeks straight. What that will do pandemic -wise?
Ambulance can work normal for any serious situations etc. Households hadda stock up for preps in advance. We hadda curb the mad rush on the last days...enforcement.
pugboy wrote:the only place that was successful with they kind of lockdown is china, they of course are most stringent with lockdowns and movement plus the personal movement tracking via phone
redmanjp wrote:pugboy wrote:the only place that was successful with they kind of lockdown is china, they of course are most stringent with lockdowns and movement plus the personal movement tracking via phone
i heard they used to lock u in your house early in the pandemic so u cyah even come out![]()
we could implement the phone tracking just like the UK - if it keeps infected ppl away from everyone else then it could prevent a lockdown
hover11 wrote:I think the culture different most trinis like zess and gatherings , they not gonna care if their phone tells them a carrier is there
adnj wrote:"Impending negative impact of the Delta variant"
Hmph.
st7 wrote:are health centers administering vaccine shots to walk-ins?
aaron17 wrote:Hey at least we masking...unlike usa
shake d livin wake d dead wrote::agrue:
adnj wrote:CDC internal report says Delta variant as contagious as chickenpox - NYT
July 30 (Reuters) - The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has described the Delta variant of the coronavirus to be as contagious as chickenpox and could cause severe illness, the New York Times reported, citing an internal CDC document.
The variant was also more likely to break through protections afforded by the vaccines, the report said, adding that the agency's reverse course on masking guidelines for fully vaccinated Americans on Tuesday was based on this document.
However, CDC's figures show that the vaccines are highly effective in preventing serious illness, hospitalization and death in vaccinated people, the report said, citing experts.
New research showed the vaccinated people infected with the Delta variant carried tremendous amounts of the virus in the nose and throat, CDC Director Rochelle Walensky told the Times.
The Delta variant is more transmissible than the viruses that cause MERS, SARS, Ebola, the common cold, the seasonal flu and smallpox, the report said.
The immediate next step for the agency is to "acknowledge the war has changed," the report cited the document as saying.
https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-07-30/
"The CDC presentation says the Delta variant is about as transmissible as chickenpox, with each infected person, on average, infecting eight or nine others. The original lineage was about as transmissible as the common cold, with each infected person passing the virus to about two other people on average.
That infectivity is known as R0.
"When you think about diseases that have an R0 of eight or nine -- there aren't that many," Walensky told CNN.
And if vaccinated people get infected anyway, they have as much virus in their bodies as unvaccinated people. That means they're as likely to infect someone else as unvaccinated people who get infected."
https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/29/poli ... index.html
hover11 wrote:When u say masks , you mean we wearing it on our chins, eyes and ears, below our noses ....a whole year later and we can't wear a mask rightaaron17 wrote:Hey at least we masking...unlike usa
How u sure usa aint doin the same thinghover11 wrote:When u say masks , you mean we wearing it on our chins, eyes and ears, below our noses ....a whole year later and we can't wear a mask rightaaron17 wrote:Hey at least we masking...unlike usa
NYTimes wrote:Not in control
Consider these Covid-19 mysteries:
In India — where the Delta variant was first identified and caused a huge outbreak — cases have plunged over the past two months. A similar drop may now be underway in Britain. There is no clear explanation for these declines.
In the U.S., cases started falling rapidly in early January. The decline began before vaccination was widespread and did not follow any evident changes in Americans’ Covid attitudes.
In March and April, the Alpha variant helped cause a sharp rise in cases in the upper Midwest and Canada. That outbreak seemed poised to spread to the rest of North America — but did not.
This spring, caseloads were not consistently higher in parts of the U.S. that had relaxed masking and social distancing measures (like Florida and Texas) than in regions that remained vigilant.
Large parts of Africa and Asia still have not experienced outbreaks as big as those in Europe, North America and South America.
How do we solve these mysteries? Michael Osterholm, who runs an infectious disease research center at the University of Minnesota, suggests that people keep in mind one overriding idea: humility.
“We’ve ascribed far too much human authority over the virus,” he told me.